Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Walled Garden Caravan & Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Ayrshire > Maybole > Walled Garden Caravan & Camping Park Reviews

Walled Garden Caravan & Camping Park
Kilkerran Crosshill
Maybole
Ayrshire   (Browse area)
KA19 7SG
Tel: 01655 740323
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 35
Open: 01/04/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 85 Reviews
                9/10 from 85 Reviews

Photos (10)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 No Shop   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  85 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: March 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Helen.harrison2 16 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for 6 nights the week before the Easter bank holiday weekend. For most of the time we were the only tourer unit (other than the owners friends), the site is mainly seasonal pitches.

The road to the site is single track and if you meet someone, one of you will have to reverse as the ground to either side of the road is too soft for a vehicle - luckily it was a car coming the other way when we were on our way in.

The site is well kept and spotless with homely toilets which were heated, although slightly old fashioned. I wasn't keen on having to get ready for my shower then nip out of the cubicle to put my 20p in the slot (or 40p if I was washing my hair). In fact the pricing structure overall was complicated with electricity and awnings being charged extra (we ended up paying just over 20 per night with electric and awning) then a discount for CCC members.

We visited Glasgow on the train, parked our car in Maybole (free outside the train station) and paid 23 return for two people. We also visited Culzean Castle (free for NT members) and Ayr - all we'd revisit.

Jim the owner was very friendly along with his friends who were helping out. There was a clubhouse on site which was warm and welcoming although not licensed so you take your own drinks. I believe there's entertainment on at weekend. There's a small but well stocked shop with fresh hen, turkey (yum) and duck eggs.

We took our bikes - the roads around the site are poor and full of potholes so I wouldn't recommend riding from the site however we picked up a booklet with the National Cycle Network and did a couple of those - we'd highly recommend the route down the side of Loch Doon, undulating but not too taxing, very peaceful and wonderful views.

Overall (despite the gale force winds, rain, hail. ) we'd return to the site if we were visiting the area again in future. 


Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Anne lowrie 2 reviews from this member

 This is the most friendliest site we have visited on arrival cathy welcomed us and gave us the lowdown on what happens the hall at the weekend is a great wee idea take your own drink and snacks and either carpet bowls bingo or a bit of dancing will keep you amused. Although most of the caravaners have been there for years they were very friendly and made us feel we wanted to go back. You can order papers rolls etc the night before and they get delivered to your caravan the next morning. Shower block was cold but adequate. Would definitely recommend this site for quite relaxing holiday and friendly atmosphere 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sunset2 7 reviews from this member

 We decided to visit this site again as we enjoyed our last visit. We are pleased to say that it has not changed in any way. The owner is still as helpful in every way as are the regular visitors who spend most weekends there. Site is spotless and very peaceful with some great scenery and wildlife to be seen and heard. The hall is a great place to meet on a Saturday night with bingo and dancing. A great variety of music to suit everyone. A couple of the regulars sang songs at the end of the night which we had never heard of before which was a great way to end another amazing visit to Kilkerran. A big thanks to the owner and all his regulars for making us feel so welcome and making us feel a part of the site. Please never change anything about this wonderful place. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Clareym 2 reviews from this member

 Absolutely spot on! Booked into another site in Barrhill, which was on a main road and unsuitable for young children. Quick call to the owner and bish bash bosh. Spot available for tent. What an absolute gem this site is. Infact so good I don't want to promote it too much, for fear of bringing it to the attention of others! Yes it is hardstanding, but the owner provides pegs (and kindly told us to keep them) so no problems there. Surroundings are beautiful and you are made to feel part of the community the minute you arrive. Regulars offer refreshments, advice and assistance. What more could you ask? The sit is in an old walled garden and this provides protection from the elements. Site is on a slight slope but simply pitch your tent to suit.

There is a spotless laundry unit which encompasses a kitchen and cleaning facilities. So if the weather is bad, there is a cooker indoors to use. There is also a washer and tumble dryer all at a very reasonable cost.

In the games room there is table tennis, pool table and table football. Also sky tv in comfort if the weather is poor. There is also a small pitch n put for the kids (foc).

Activities are also on each night at the club house and these range from bingo night to x-box kinect bowls. There is no liquor licence so take your own bottle.

There is also a safe and secure park for the kids, however 'beware of the pandas' in the bamboo field!

The owner is a real gem. He is there constantly to help or advise. He makes you feel like part of his family.

Other static campers also help out and this is a community effort.

As for other comments about noise on this site, well that is complete and utter bull! It is quiet time between the hours of 11pm and 8am, no movement of vehicles during this period or loud noises. In fact at 11am you could hear a pin drop, and I a surprised the resident owl wasn't evicted due to the noise!

We spent 4 nights here with electrical hook up and only cost us 54p in electricity charges so cannot complain.

We will be back, having had a brilliant but soggy 5 days with two children under the age of 7, who loved every minute.

To the owner, you're an absolute gem, thanks :-) x 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mischka 66 reviews from this member

 Lovely peaceful site run by super helpful owner. There are quite a lot of vans which look like they are on seasonal pitches. The centre of the site is gently sloping and most of the pitches are hard standing. You pay separately for the electricity at 18p per unit. For us in our van that came to c1. 60 for lights/ TV/ chargers/fridge (but no heating) for a weekend.

The toilet block is clean and well lit. In the ladies there are plenty of loos, 2 showers, 5 sinks in privacy cubicles plus one sink for hand washing. The showers take 20p coins, giving c3 minutes per 20p. (Similar for the gents).

There is a good dish washing/ laundry room plus a large games room with a TV, table tennis table etc. We were warmly invited to join in a carpet bowls night and a social night, but we chose not to.

The owner takes orders for papers/ milk/eggs which are delivered to your pitch in the morning.

We had a great time here and would definitely recommend the site. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: AliceW 1 review from this member

 Lovel charming independent site and hospitable with lovely facilities. Quiet, clean and very reasonable. Lovely touch is ordering fresh rolls, milk and bread each day.

Site is very clean. I camped with five yr old. Very safe for children. Not a lot of traffic unlike some larger sites with transport on and off the site. TV rooom, laundry with cooker, fridge etc is great for campers. Stayed mid week so never got to experience the weekend carpet bowls and bingo/music night in the wee hall just outside the garden. Would def return.

Have stayed in many a site from corporate big boys like haven who offered disgusting hovels to stay in to small independents and I much prefer the wee ones. The Walled garden stands up no problem. The estate is also lovely and there are man walks in the immediate area. Highly recommended. Rural location so if you want a Town on your door step get yourself to Haven. Camping on hard standing so make sure you have an airbed or padding. Makes putting our tent down easy and so less muck in poor weather. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Gez122 1 review from this member

 This year was the 3rd year that I have visited the Walled garden and each year I am impressed by its stunning location.

Set in the heart of South Ayrshire, the site is secluded, serene and well looked after. The owner (who runs the park) is always friendly and up for a chat as well as a good source of information on local things to see and do.

There is a small play park on site to keep the kids amused and a community hall which has activities on during weekends. It also has an activities room for those rainy days which has a pool table, table tennis table, table football and tv/dvd player. There is also a small collection of books that can be borrowed, a small donation to the current charity is all that is asked for borrowing books.

The toilet blocks are set in some older buildings along the outside of the wall but only a very short distance from the pitches. Housed along side the toilets is a utilities room which has 2 washing machines, 3 or 4 sinks and 2 tumble driers. There is also an iron/ironing board and a cooker which is available to use (handy if the gas bottle runs out). The toilets and utilities rooms are always kept clean and tidy.

Electricity is paid for by what you use and is easy to work out at 18 pence per unit. This often works out cheaper than paying a standard charge. We stayed for a week and due to weather had the 2000 watt hot air heater on most evenings and mornings (and through the night) and paid only 18 for the whole week.

The pitches (all electric serviced) are of a decent size and well looked after, slightly on a gradient but nothing to sinister that either a tent or caravan would notice that much.

If visiting please make sure and take plenty of change as the utilities all use pound coins and the showers take 20 pence pieces. However this is excellent value for money.

If quiet and secluded are what you are after then the Walled Garden is the place for you. However you are not very far from the large towns of Ayr (nice beaches) and Kilmarnock (good shopping) if you want more to see and do.

We had another great week here and would thoroughly recommend a visit. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Yorkshire lassie 1 review from this member

 I would like to point out to readers of this forum that when beachbums visited the site in April it was just after the proprieter had been taken to hospital with a broken pelvis. Relief wardens were soon in place, and the toilets and facilities were always in an immaculate condition. I am also surprised about an earlier comment about noise at 3am, as there is a strict rule when leaving the hall about not making any noise at all to disturb other campers. We have been visiting this site for over seven years and cannot find fault with it at all, the people are friendly, the position is excellent for walking, visiting other areas of Scotland and shopping. Nothing is too much trouble for the owners and others too numerous to mention. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Oliver10 1 review from this member

 Just returned from the Walled Garden Caravan and Camping park in Ayrshire and had to let everyone know about this fantastic wee gem of a place! From the minute you arrive on site, the owner and the park caretakers can't do enough to help you settle in comfortably. We had plenty of room on our pitch for our tent and didn't feel crammed in close to other tents. We were given a tour of all the facilities on site and were impressed with how spotless the toilets and showers were. There is also a laundry room with coin-operated washers and dryers adjacent to a large kitchen area and you can use the fridge and freezer to store your food and you can even use the cooker if you don't fancy cooking in your tent! They really have thought of everything to make your stay memorable and there is a well equipped children's playpark and a games room with television. We had a leak in our tent on the second night and everyone on site helped out to make sure we were wind and watertight and able to enjoy our holiday, so thanks for that guys it really was the most relaxing holiday we hoped for and we have already booked to go back in a few weeks time. Can't recommend this beautiful place enough you really must see it for yourself. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Chope 1 review from this member

 It was a pleasure to holiday at this site. The owner is a gem. The wardens are exceptional and the regulars are the salt of the earth(john and Gladys). The toilets and shower block were always immaculate and clean. There is a recreation room with table tennis, pool, table football, books and a television. Children can play in the park and green secure area. The owner was extremely helpful with ideas of places to visit and dine out. We were made to feel part of the community and would return without hesitation.

Do join in with the community get-togethers in the hall, very entertaining and a true taste of scottish hospitality. Visit culzean castle and willie wastle resteraunt.

The Hope family. 


Previous     85 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Walled Garden Caravan & Camping Park child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Is Walled Garden Caravan & Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Maybole      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Ayrshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show Stratford 23/07 to 25/07
New and used motorhomes & campervans with camping on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5442 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement