Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Walled Garden Caravan & Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Ayrshire > Maybole > Walled Garden Caravan & Camping Park Reviews

Walled Garden Caravan & Camping Park
Kilkerran Crosshill
Maybole
Ayrshire   (Browse area)
KA19 7SG
Tel: 01655 740323
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 35
Open: 01/04/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 85 Reviews
                9/10 from 85 Reviews

Photos (10)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 No Shop   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  85 in total, now showing 71 to 80                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ghostpiper 8 reviews from this member

 Spent 3 nights at the walled garden and could not fault it in any way. Jim, the owner works very hard keeping the park in excellent condition and keeping everyone very happy. Nothing whatsoever is a problem to him. Had a great time there on the Saturday night, a great wee ceilidh and some brilliant entertainment. We'll definitely be back on a regular basis. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Luvchaq Crew 1 review from this member

 What a gem of a site this is!

We can only echo all the comments of the previous entry by Debsupea. The owner Jim and his regulars made us very welcome, and encouraged us to join in the activities held in the on site hall & provided us with local information, ie local walks,surrounding area etc. Our teenage boys loved all the facilities in the games room, table tennis,pool, tv etc and we adults loved the clean toilet & shower block, laundry room, and beautiful surroundings. There has been much thought put into this site and it is a credit to Jim. Hopefully we will return soon. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hunnybun 3 reviews from this member

 Reviews are spot on! We had a lovely time and would definitely return. On arrival we recieved a warm welcome by Jim who personally showed us around a well maintained site. Having a large tent we pitched on hard standing which is slightly sloping but not a problem. Jim even supplied us with an extra ground sheet and lots of info on the surrounding area. It rained during our stay and we used the rec room which housed the TV, pool table, table tennis and a considerable amount of books. There was lots to see and do although Heads of Ayr Farm Park was a little disappointing as the park was gauged at 3-8 yr olds and the animals were a little sad and neglected looking. Culzean castle was a must, the grounds, gardens and wildlife make for a great day out especially if you go armed with a picnic as the food and drink are quite expensive. 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Debsupea 2 reviews from this member

 We just returned from a three-day stay at the Walled Garden campsite and truly cannot fault it.

This is a beautifully kept site in a lovely setting, with a warm and generous owner in Jim. Great facilities including immaculate toilets, showers, dishwashing and laundry, and even all-weather play facilities, so there is never any danger of boredom setting in.

Our three-year-old, Joey, loved the place and we were made to feel very welcome.

The site is in an ideal location for some great walks, it is close to the lovely sandy beaches of Girvan and Maidens, as well as numerous tourist attractions and towns/villages. We can also vouch for the fantastic Tandoori restaurant at Minishant.

It's the small things that make this campsite special, mainly down to the way it is run, and we would be very happy to return one day in the future. Oh, and we found the Scots to be the friendliest people we've ever met on holiday! 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dmgeorge 1 review from this member

 I visited this campsite with my partner and two friends after seeing it on this site.

The campsite is VERY quiet and peaceful and has a relaxed and friendly atmosphere. The owner Jim was friendly and accomodating and supplied us with a wealth of information and maps of the area.

The facilities were excellent, the pitch was spacious, the toilets/showers were very clean and pleasant, there was a washing machine and dryer and iron available to use for a small charge which came in handy as the weather was wet whilst we were there.

The leisure facilities were excellent there is a spacious play area for kids and an area for football/ball games. The recreation room had a pool table, tv and table tennis and a huge library of books and because the place was so quiet with most people being based in caravans we had the rec room to ourselves both nights which was nice.

The local amenities were also good, with some local walks near by and Crosshill is very close which has a post office and shop. There is an excellent Indian restaurant in Minishant reccommended to us by the owner Jim who even gave us discount vouchers - well worth a visit.

Other attractions close by include Burn's cottage and the Tam 'O Shanter experience, electric Brae, Colzean castle and the heads of Ayr. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: C5boy95 3 reviews from this member

 This was a great site. The owner Jim was extremly pleasant and helpful also the toilets were great as was the whole site the pitch was also very spacious. I would highly reccommend this site as a peaceful get away! 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: PreeceFamily 33 reviews from this member

 What an amazing site!

During our visit Jim the owner said "It's no bother" when asked for anything - and indeed nothing bothers him and nothing is a problem for him or anyone else at the site - from the simplest request to any demand!

(I actually felt ill while there and it was 'no bother' for Jim to even take me to the local surgery and back to the site - how many other site owners would do that for you?)

The site is immaculate - from the pitches to the facilities. The area around the site is great for a walk too and not too far from villages.

The shop has just enough sweets, etc, to keep the kids happy and things are also fresh each day - milk, bread, newspapers, etc.

If you want peace and quiet - this is the site! 


Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Nixbird 1 review from this member

 This campsite is beautiful. The facilities are excellent. On our arrival we were met by Jim, whose office was teeming with local info, and he promptly organised someone to escort us to our pitch, which had electrical hook-up.
 
During our stay at the campsite, he was extremely helpful and obliging. His regular maintenance of the facilities meant that everything was working well and he was available virtually continuously.
 
Just outside the walled garden, stood the toilet/shower, kitchen, laundry, recreation block, not only scrupulously clean but very picturesque and with nice little touches such as piped music, vases of flowers, curtains and carpets. As the site used a septic tank, Jim had even supplied washing up liquid which did not contain formaldehyde.
 
The nearest village [Crosshill] was quite small but had it's own post office cum store and a nice little 'local'.  The Electric Bray a phenomena creating an optical illusion, has to be visited! 


Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Linz1lou 1 review from this member

 Had a fantastic time at this lovely campsite, this was our very first time camping and although the weather wasn't great we really enjoyed our stay.
The toilet and shower blocks are very clean,  and there is facilities for cooking, washing dishes and also a washing machine and tumble dryer available for use at a small cost. 
The campsite itself is very quiet, I was worried about disturbing other campers in the evening and felt I should have been whispering.
The site is a short distance from both Ayr and Girvan, and there is a fantastic indian resturaunt a few miles away. 


Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Karen2310 4 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from our very first family camping trip. What a great choice we made coming to this particular site. Staff/proprietors on site were really nice and very helpful and couldn't do enough for us. Site is situated a slight slope but we managed fine, didn't cause any problems for us (even as first timers!). Also was a bit of a walk to the toilets/showers, kitchen, laundry, etc - again no big deal - all facilities were spotless! Cleanliness was a worry for me but certainly had no complaints here. There is a playpark for young children which was relatively close to us, along with playing fields for football, etc, leading to a woodland area which was great for the dog to run about in. Great base if you want to travel about Ayrshire/Ayrshire Coast. We were only there for a couple of days and managed to find our way around the area no problem. 10/10 - no complaints from us! Will definitely go back. 


Previous     85 Reviews in total, now showing 71 to 80      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Walled Garden Caravan & Camping Park child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Is Walled Garden Caravan & Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Maybole      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Ayrshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show Stratford 23/07 to 25/07
New and used motorhomes & campervans with camping on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3733 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement