Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Walled Garden Caravan & Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Ayrshire > Maybole > Walled Garden Caravan & Camping Park Reviews

Walled Garden Caravan & Camping Park
Kilkerran Crosshill
Maybole
Ayrshire   (Browse area)
KA19 7SG
Tel: 01655 740323
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 35
Open: 01/04/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 85 Reviews
                9/10 from 85 Reviews

Photos (10)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 No Shop   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  85 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Babywhale 26 reviews from this member

 Set in a rural location, this is truly a walled site. Mostly for statics and season tourers and only a few tents.

Owner showed us to a pitch. Wasn't the best pitch as it was hard standing and next to the toilets and chemical waste point. Felt that there were a lot of weaknesses of being in a tent at this site. It was as though there were residents and less welcome tourers.

The toilets and showers were clean, although the 4 minute allowance is annoying. I understand that some people could leave the shower running and waste hot water, but how about more sites use the ones which cut out after a minute or two, before starting again if you press a button. Having to nip out and put another coin in the box is annoying.

Overall its a well managed site, but if you prefer more of an open pitch instead of feeling as though you're pitched in between people's houses then in my opinion this site won't suit you. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: BluenoseRab 5 reviews from this member

 Just back from a terrific two week stay at the Walled Garden Caravan Park, & enjoyed it so much we'll certainly be back. Lovely site, great location, excellent facilities.

We loved it, the kids loved it & even the dog loved it! The shower block is spotlessly clean, plenty hot water, & the whole park is equally clean & tidy, thanks to the unceasing efforts of Jim and his team.

Nothing seems to be too much trouble for them, we felt very well looked after.  


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mik+Lynette 1 review from this member

 Well what can I say about this site. Its our little peace of heaven.

We were here in July in the tent, and loved it so much we came back in September for a couple of nights in the caravan and have also booked for 2012.

The toilets are immaculate and there is individual cubicles at the wash hand basins, there is also a games room with pool table and table tennis, a tv and a couple of couches.

The kitchen was a life saver as our wee gas cooker gave up the ghost on the first night so Jim warranted this would definitely be the time that someone could use the kitchen cooker, there is also a spacious washing area for the dishes and laundry machines as well as a kitchen table, saved us traipsing back to the tent with our food.

There is a play park for young kids and also a bit of the park walled off for the kids playing football, which is great as it saves the young ones battering the footballs of the side of anyone’s tent or caravan. We thought our 13yr old son would get a bit bored as its literally in the middle of nowhere, he was well entertained with his bike back and forward the quiet surrounding country roads and playing baseball and football with his dad.

Jim has social evenings at the site as well, we haven’t been to one yet but hopefully they are still on when we go back in July.

The residents and the owners are all lovely people and made us all more than welcome, this is definitely our favourite site by far. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Babswindsor 1 review from this member

 We've stayed here a couple of times with various friends and family, I'd highly recommend it for novice campers, not least because Jim or the caravanners will help out with putting up tents if they see you struggling.

Great for children as well, it feels nicely contained because of the walls so they can run around and enjoy the freedom while you as an adult know that there are really only a couple of places they're likely to be.

The shop is small, but well-stocked for emergencies, the loos are clean and heated but take a couple of twenties with you if you enjoy a relaxing shower. Highly recommend. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Gina1972 5 reviews from this member

 Me, my partner, son and very placid dog had a lovely stay at this site towards the end of July. We stayed for nearly a week and we were greeted by a few regular visitors and given ideas of where to go and what to do and given a menu of a local Chinese takeaway that delivered to the park.

Jim the warden gave us extra groundsheets to put under our tent because the site is mainly gravel pitches and tents are mixed in where they can be with the tourers and motorhomes.

Jim also loaned us a longer hook up as ours is just 10 metres and it didn't quite reach but the pitches are very well spaced out and there was no noise really after 10pm. The pitches are on a slight slope, but that wasn't really a problem. Regulars to the site are very friendly.

There's a small park outside the wall with a couple of swings, a seesaw and sandpit but a lot of children preferred going round the site on scooters/bikes - if they want to play with balls - they have to go into the park area in case of hitting tourers etc which is fair enough.

There's a recreation room with pool table, table tennis table, football table, tv and plenty of books to read but it was a bit damp smelling and badly lit.

Even though the site was nearly full during our stay, neither I nor my partner had to queue for a shower each morning and there are 2 showers in both female and male blocks and numerous toilets and the wash basins have their own cubicles. The showers take 20p pieces for 4 minutes and the water is nice and hot but you can change it to suit your needs. Just remember to get ready for your shower before you insert money into boxes which are situated outside of the showers but notices in the showers inform you of this. The showers/toilets were always clean and classical music was playing constantly, which was soothing. There's also a hairdryer which takes 10p coins I think.

There's also a separate kitchen area where 2 washing machines, 2 tumble dryers and 2 cookers are situated. The washing machines take 2 x £1. 00 coins for a 2 hour wash and the dryers were a pound for half an hour and a few sinks for your washing up.

As others have said, Jim will bring you fresh rolls, eggs and newspapers if you order before 8pm the night before (or what you want each morning for the length of your stay), we had some of the rolls and they were lovely and fresh. Jim just leaves what you order outside of your tent etc between 8. 30 and 9. 30 the next morning.

There's a barrier on the entrance of the park, this has a coded padlock attached and visitors are given the code to get in and out with your cars etc. There is also a security camera focused on people entering and leaving for added security.

The reception is just a small wooden building and nothing much is sold in there apart from gas bottle fittings etc, sweets, pop etc for kids. But this wasn't a problem as there is an Asda store a few minutes drive away towards Girvan.

While we were there, we visited Girvan, Ayr, Largs, The Isle of Cumbrae and Loch Lomond - we wanted to go to Fort William but that was about a 4 hour drive away. Surrounding areas are beautiful to see.

The site is definitely a suntrap and it was fabulous weather while we were there - we were sweating putting the tent up, each morning we were woken by the heat of the sun and again taking the tent it down at the end of our stay.

There are midgies as the sun sets but there are a few machines on site trying to get rid of them - but they love me and I was bitten 5 times around the face and neck. We used citronella candles on an evening when we sat outside and Jim permitted us to use special firelogs in a bbq bucket and this seemed to keep them away as well, he does not normally allow fires on the site in case they become out of control and damage the grass etc which is really well maintained.

Overall the site is lovely and people are friendly and helpful - if Jim isn't there, there are other regulars to the park who will go out of their way to assist you.

We would definitely recommend this site, the tariffs are good value and we would go again and more regularly if it was a bit closer to home - it was a 3 hour drive for us (we definitely wish the park was closer to us or that we owned a helicopter!) 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tarasadog 5 reviews from this member

 Stayed with 2 kids an a Saturday night in June.

The site has a gentle slope with frequent EHU, and is absolutely immaculate. Very tidy and clean with great toilet, shower and washing facilities.

There is a recreation room with pool and table tennis equipment, and a play area with swings etc for the kids. There's also an area where ball games and the like can be played away from the accommodation.

There's also a small hall which is used for social activities on the site, which seems to be used often.

The focus is very much on the regular visitors and residents, who seem to make up a large proportion of the site, but everyone was very pleasant to us.

Jim, the site owner, couldn't have been any nicer. He seems to run a very tight ship and obviously (and rightly) takes a great deal of pride in the site.

There are quite a few site rules designed to keep the site orderly, and I suspect that the more raucous camper might attract a few frowns, but we had no problems at all.

If you're looking for a quiet, child-friendly site, this would be ideal. 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: DONALDPLUS 1 review from this member

 I spent a weekend in May at the Walled Garden Caravan Park, a beautiful place. I had been once before to the park a long time ago but I should not have left it so long. We had a great weekend. The park was beautifully looked after and the people were so friendly.

On the Saturday night I was encourage by a chap called Alasdair to go to a Fund raising Gala Night to be held on the site ( in a smashing little hall ). The night was one of the best I have ever been to, and the site owner, although it was his night off came along with his mother just to add to the enjoyment.

The night, run by the assistant wardens Alasdair and Brian gave us entertainers, horse racing, sing a long, dancing, and loads for the children, a marvellous combination, all for a small donation to the Parks chosen charity. A night to remember;

I saw camping families using the spotless kitchen, sitting round making sausage and egg, a family gathering a super site facility.

I will be back, just to do the walks from the site, to enjoy the people and the superb location. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pinktentgirl 1 review from this member

 I have just returned from a 3 night stay at the Walled Garden, I loved this place! It is a fantastic site and although the conditions were monsoonal, the shelter afforded by the walls of the garden made the trip much more pleasant. I am single parent camper and have sometimes felt vulnerable in camp sites, but this place made me feel very safe and relaxed. This is not only due to the wonderful location but to the fantastic owner who couldn't have been more helpful. He provided us with additional groundsheets to keep the bottom of the tent dry. He was also great with my 8 year old daughter who cried when we left because she had enjoyed it so much.

As we were there ‘off season’ the campsite was very quiet, but it did mean that we had the recreation room to ourselves which was also great to use to get out of the rain. All the facilities (toilets, showers etc.) were immaculate and the water from the tap in the dishwashing room was hot enough to fill our hot water bottles without boiling the kettle!

The site is very child friendly as the walls seem to keep them contained and there is a little park area just outside the walls. We had plenty of room to play Frisbee and there are some interesting wooded paths to explore. My daughter also played her first ever game of pool (30p) and there was table tennis and table football which were great fun.

The location is stunning and was fantastic for visiting Culzean Castle and the whole Robbie Burns experience.

My daughter has made me promise to take her back so we hope to visit again before the end of the season and I would recommend to all. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Karenmcmillan 10 reviews from this member

 Fab site. Well kept, the manager Jim is on site all the time and is very helpful. I went with my girlfriend and her 2 kids (7 &11) and my 4 kids, 4,6,10 and 13. We booked for May bank holiday and Jim was most helpful in accommodating us as we couldn't get booked anywhere else. We took our tents although I also have a caravan. The pitches are restricted and at peak times can't accommodate larger tent units so I had to make do with my smaller 6 man tent. My girlfriend had a 4 man.

Site was very clean and excellent facilities for campers.All pitches had access to EHU charged by usage( a lot cheaper!)Jim only allows breathable ground sheets so if you want to stay for more than a week, be prepared to move but for a long weekend, that was fine. The utility room had cookers, fridges, freezers, washing machines and tumble driers, all free to use, with the exception of the last two. Lovely walks from the site to the river Girvan and a separate, grassed children's play area, enclosed and totally safe.

A scout type hut on site where you can bring your own food and drink and where games and sing alongs are organised. Showers a bit old fashioned and 20p a shot. You needed about 80p for a decent shower and that was the only fault.( especially with 4 kids) Great fish and chip shop in nearby Maybole, close to Ayr, co-op in Maybole and ATM's. Indian and chinese takeaways also available. I was worried there wouldn't be enough to occupy the children but we hardly saw them and they didn't come back until it was dark. Lot's of woods to explore- result. I've camped all my life and this is one of the best sites I've ever stayed at.( Small word of caution, the access roads are single lane and very winding. I wouldn't attempt my twin axle 6b caravan, which is a shame but maybe that's just me. There are no overtaking laybys so you would need to be very good at reversing your van) kids desperate to go back and we will be booking for next year. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Gingerjo 4 reviews from this member

 This was our third summer at the Walled Garden and as usual we had a fabulous time. We spent 2 weeks there with our tent. We had a meter for the EHU and it cost us less than £2 for the 2 weeks, just shows how much other sites make!

We arrived for the Highland games which were great fun and took part in many of the games. Meeting the regulars again was like meeting old friends. Nothing is too much trouble for anyone on the site especially Jim and Sylvia.We had a problem with our car and Jim arranged for a garage to do the work and lent us his car whilst it was being done.

My children are now 13 and 15yrs and they have no problem finding things to do on the site. There are plenty of walks to go on through the woods, a field to play ball games and the games room is great when its bad weather. Table tennis, table football, pool and a TV available. There is also a small park for the younger children. The children are welcome in the Orchard Hall also at the weekend. So I do not agree that there is little for the children to do.

Jim runs a tight ship and it succeeds, as the park is a wonderful peaceful place to be. So if its parties all night and somewhere you can let your children run riot then this is NOT the place for you.

There are plenty of places in the surrounding area to visit and a visit to the Chinese restaurant 'Po King' in Maybole is a must. WE will be back next year that's for sure. The Cooks. 


Previous     85 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Walled Garden Caravan & Camping Park child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Is Walled Garden Caravan & Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Maybole      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Ayrshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show Stratford 23/07 to 25/07
New and used motorhomes & campervans with camping on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5440 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement