Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Walled Garden Caravan & Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Ayrshire > Maybole > Walled Garden Caravan & Camping Park Reviews

Walled Garden Caravan & Camping Park
Kilkerran Crosshill
Maybole
Ayrshire   (Browse area)
KA19 7SG
Tel: 01655 740323
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 35
Open: 01/04/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 85 Reviews
                9/10 from 85 Reviews

Photos (10)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 No Shop   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  85 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jon + Emma 1 review from this member

 Having just returned from a 10 day stay at the Walled Garden, we'd highly recommend it to other campers!

The owner was only too happy to help throughout our stay. When we arrived he gave us extra groundsheets to put under our tent to keep it dry, we had newspapers and milk delivered to our tent every morning (which we paid for, but delivery was free of charge!), we were even given some of the owner's home-grown tomatoes and plums he was picking one morning!

The campsite is quite literally in a walled garden so felt very safe and sheltered from the elements. There was a lovely community feel to the place with lots of regulars there, who were all very welcoming and friendly.

It provided a good base for us to explore Ayrshire and Dumfries & Galloway, lots of good walking to be had (Galloway Forest was a highlight for us, as was a trip down the coast to PortPatrick). Although there were a few short walks from the campsite itself we'd recommend having a car to make the most of the area.

There are plenty of village shops and a few pubs etc within a few miles and an Asda supermarket 20 mins away in Girvan saw our needs met for shopping; petrol stations within a few miles as well.

The toilet and washing facilities were excellent, come prepared with 20p pieces though as you'll need one for each 4 minutes of shower time!

We don't have children so can't really comment on the child-friendliness of the site - however, there was a small play area (climbing frame etc) and a games room (pool, table tennis), neither of which we used but worth mentioning. The children that were there seemed to be having a great time!

All in all we had a fantastic stay, and would highly recommend it to anyone wanting to explore Ayrshire and south-west Scotland! 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Weejanet 33 reviews from this member

 I stay only a few miles from this site and dropped in to hand a poster in for a forthcoming attraction in our village, I met Jim the owner who said no problem and put my poster up, I got talking to him and said that we had a touring caravan and the result of our conversation was that Jim gave me a guided tour of his site. What can I say, it is beautiful, a fabulous setting with plenty of space between caravans, very well kept grass and a good shop.

My guided tour included the ladies and gents toilets and showers (first time I have been in the gents) all of which were spotlessly clean, good showers and private wash hand basin cubicles.

If you had a tent and were staying here then the facilities are great, there is a cooker with all utensils and a fridge and freezer, great washing up area and washing machine and spin dryer and also a drying rack for you clothes.

Now if you are a young person or teenager then you can play pool, table tennis and even have a television that you can hook up your games, in the games room there is even a log burning stove for the colder winter nights, and talking of winter nights the toilets are heated.

I could go on and on about this site so I may just have to drive 5 miles down the road with my caravan and stay the night or two, and if you were wondering what my poster was about then here is the advert part.

Garden Snoop in Kirkmichael Village on the 18th July 2010, there will be around 12-15 village gardens open with teas being served and something for the children. Proceeds to Kirkmichael Village Renaissance, if you are in the area please come along for a lovely day out. £3 per person or £5 for a family. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Chimesclassics 4 reviews from this member

 I have to agree with all the other reviews on the quality of this site and its over helpful owner.

They offer metered EHU which offer a substantial saving on any other site, costing me only £0.65 for a night stop. A bench mark for other sites to follow.

All pitches are sloping and chocks are required.

Shower block is a right at the end of the site outside the walled area, a fair distance from the far side of the site.

Now against all other reviews, two things put me off. Firstly the entrance barrier has a very fiddly combination lock, not good on a wet morning and a pain on a sunny afternoon. Secondly, instruction signs, everywhere and I'm not denying a need to inform, but in the laundry / pot wash, whist doing my dishes, I counted 23 separate written instructions!

Stayed here before and would stay again. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Beachbums 8 reviews from this member

 Visited this site once again and we had another enjoyable stay there. The park was looking lovely and we were told it was the regular visitors that all helped to get it to this fine standard.

Although the site was busy it was still nice and quiet at night after 10 or so. Children all seemed to be enjoying themselves on their scooters and bikes. The reservations we had about taking children in the last review were obviously unfounded as they were all having a great time.

Saturday night proved to be a bit disappointing in the orchard hall. Everyone was expecting a cabaret / karaoke night. The artist that turned up was nowhere near professional enough and hardly anyone enjoyed the entertainment. As far as we are led to believe most other Saturday evenings are better when everyone joins in and make their own entertainment.

We will be visiting this site again whenever we can. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jmh17 2 reviews from this member

 My husband and I were touring Scotland and this site was our first stop, we stayed for 2 nights and I can honestly say I didn't want to leave.
The site is more than well looked after and the facilities are superb,the owners obviously took a lot of time and consideration for their guests when they planned the site.
The toilets and showers are very clean and the ladies have individual vanity units complete with mirror, sink and hot and cold water with locking door on each unit.
Jim the owner is lovely and cannot do enough to help in any way he can. I cannot think of any area of criticism at all for this site,the only thing I would say is although there were children on the site I don't think we would take ours as there isn't too much for them to do.
We will definitely be returning for many child free relaxing short breaks. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Momac 1 review from this member

 We have visited this site several times each year since we got our van 5 years ago.

The site is well maintained in beautiful surroundings.

The facilities are excellent and always clean and tidy. The site is child friendly and Jim, the owner, canít do enough to help.

On site there is the Orchard hall where dances and carpet bowling is held during certain nights.

This last visit was the best yet when Jim and his regular caravanners held a Highland Games, almost everyone took part in some way from children to pensioners, regulars to visitors including the visitors from oversees, the day finished in the evening with a karaoke for the kids, a prize giving from the afternoon, a game of bingo followed by a dance.

A great day, which raised almost £400 for charity.

This park is a great base for visiting the small towns and historical buildings around Ayrshire. The Galloway Forest is only a short drive away if you enjoy walking.

As everybody states this is a great site and I would recommend the Walled Garden to caravanners and campers. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Beachbums 8 reviews from this member

 First impressions of the site were good with everything being kept neat and tidy. We were given an electricity meter and a man showed us our pitch. The site has quite a slope to it but a chap came over with a couple of blocks of wood to fit under the van front legs, that was us sorted. We went for a walk around the site to find our bearings.
Toilets were very clean with piped in music which was a very nice touch. The laundry was well kept and had everything you needed in it, including washing up liquid. This was environmentally friendly liquid. A green chemical has to be used in caravan loo as well. This is available from the small shop on site.
The children's playpark was nice with 4 swings, seesaw, slide and rocking animals. This is a very child friendly site although we were just there ourselves.

All the staff were very friendly and nothing was a problem to any of them. Same goes for some of the regulars there. Friday night was a games night in the Orchard hall where indoor bowls was laid on. This was fun to watch and everyone was requested to join in. Saturday night was bingo night and a few dances when that was finished. A good couple of nights was spent there. We must admit we had reservations about electricity being metered but when it came time to settle the bill. It was worked out that we had used less than £1 a night! So miles cheaper than £2.50 to £4.00 a night at most other sites.

We had a most enjoyable visit to Kilkerran and will return in the future. The only downside to our stay at The Walled Garden was the showers. 20p for 4 minutes, hubby just managed in this time but I struggled. I don't think you get 4 minutes so a bit of advise, put in a couple of 20's if you don't want to be cut off in mid wash. Perhaps 50p would be better for 10 minutes. I am sure no one would mind paying this as the campsite is excellent value for money. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Sarahburns 2 reviews from this member

 We stayed at this site during the summer as part of a tour and found it to be of a high standard. The facilities were clean and services on site adequate. We were surprised by the number of seasonal caravans on site which and 'regulars' who used the site as as holiday home, something that we did not expect on a touring site.

The local area did not offer much to do if we where staying for a longer period but was fine as we were only using it as a stop over.

We would use the site again. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pmcc 1 review from this member

 Fantastic site. Owner very helpful. Stayed for 8 nights while attending British open. Very high standards maintained even when visitor numbers increased. Site very clean and orderly.
Toilets and showers cleaned throughout day and night without closing. Games room with pool table, table tennis, tv etc. Couldn't praise the whole set up enough. There has been much thought put into this site 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Garyshaw67 1 review from this member

 We arrived without booking in advance. Although the owner expected the campsite to be very busy due to the golf tournament at Turnberry, he was very friendly and accommodating and found room for our tent.
The site is very well maintained and is in a very peaceful setting, and contained mainly caravan pitches. I would definitely recommend this site.
The toilet block was clean and tidy. Although the site is quite small, there are water and rubbish / recycling points at various places. The only drawback was the lack of on site shop, but that didn't detract from our enjoyment. 


Previous     85 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Walled Garden Caravan & Camping Park child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Is Walled Garden Caravan & Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Maybole      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Ayrshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show Stratford 23/07 to 25/07
New and used motorhomes & campervans with camping on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4079 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement