Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Walled Garden Caravan & Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Ayrshire > Maybole > Walled Garden Caravan & Camping Park Reviews

Walled Garden Caravan & Camping Park
Kilkerran Crosshill
Maybole
Ayrshire   (Browse area)
KA19 7SG
Tel: 01655 740323
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 35
Open: 01/04/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 85 Reviews
                9/10 from 85 Reviews

Photos (10)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 No Shop   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  85 in total, now showing 61 to 70                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ljw69 3 reviews from this member

 What a marvellous site. We turned up on spec and asked to book in for one night, en route to another area - added bonus electrical hookup for campers. Jim, the owner, couldn't have been more helpful or informative about the area. We turned up quite late and put up the tent quite late, whereupon we then visited the Chinese that Jim had told us about - lovely!

After a lovely peaceful night's sleep we decided to stay, and extended our one night to three nights and could have stayed for longer.

The site is very very well maintained and cared for. The toilet and shower block were always clean and tidy - Classic FM piped in an added bonus!. We used the recreation room. Because it was early on in the season we had the whole area to ourselves, it kept us very well amused for a few hours. The basics can be ordered from Jim and hand delivered the next morning in time for breakfast. It is a very quiet and respectful site.

I cannot recommend this site enough. It was a pleasure to stay there and if we visit Scotland next year (which we are hoping to) we will try our hardest to make a stop there. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: SHANIESE 1 review from this member

 This was the first time I had went camping, I took my daughter with me. It was great, it was easy to find and Jim was great, he showed us about. The toilets were very clean and warm and there were lots of them. There were only two showers but that was ok. People were very helpful and made you welcome. There wasn't much of a shop but they could get you rolls and a paper the next day. I never saw my daughter she was always away playing. We want to go back I hope over the summer holidays, the best camping trip. 


Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bruce Millar 1 review from this member

 If you’re looking for a place to stay,
A day, a week, or maybe more,
Come and enjoy this forest gem,
A welcome there you’ll find for sure.

Jim McCosh is the man to know
To get things done with a smile and style,
Walled Garden is the place to go,
The best in many a long Scots mile. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Dieseldan 7 reviews from this member

 We visited this site recently and can only say what a surprise it was. We have been camping and touring for many years but have never come across a site like this. Everyone we spoke to was very friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble for anyone.
Facilities on site were always clean and tidy. Jim, the owner was always on hand and could not do enough for us, he is a real credit to the site. Our visit was made all the more special by the presence of a piper. Although we never found out where he was the sound of the pipes echoing through the woods was beautiful, so relaxing and peaceful. Magnificent site ! If you are ever down in Ayrshire pay it a visit. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Cara89 30 reviews from this member

 Unique, memorable site. It is in lovely countryside. Lots of walks round about, sheltered. However, you are still within a nice drive to the coast. Very good playpark. Games room in an old cottage kept the children amused too. Hardly any cars to be heard or seen on site.There are many lovely, friendly regulars. It is right what previous visitors have said also about the owner-Charming and makes you laugh. There is the Orchard hall, away from the caravans where you can take a bottle and snack along and enjoy games, music etc. Great idea for this credit crunch! Peaceful back at your caravan if you choose not to. Showers and loos were never closed for cleaning (thank goodness for a change) but always very clean and warm! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Student_davy 2 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from this site after going there to spend my 60th birthday. I couldn't have asked for a better place to do this, the site is peaceful in its setting, surrounded by trees and wildlife / birds, the amenities are excellent warm and clean.
On the Saturday night Jim McCosh the owner his son and friendly company put on a show (Mama Mia) in the on site Orchard Hall for the visitors, we were amazed at this mans versatility, he never stops working, shopping and tending to the needs of each and every person on site.
We cannot find fault with this site and strongly recommend you stay at this site, and visit the stunning surrounding areas. This site is also very child safe. 


Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Vic74 1 review from this member

 Just returned from a two night stay at this site and we were really impressed. It was our first time camping with 2 very young children and it was a lovely quiet safe site for families. The site itself was beautifully kept, nice small play area for the kids and shower block lovely and clean and warm.
Jim was great, friendly and helpful, even offered to find us a pole when one of ours broke in a strong gust of wind, and delivered rolls end eggs to our tent in the morning. Looking forward already to going back when it warms up a wee bit! 


Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sourlink 1 review from this member

 Walled garden had everything to offer us and more. Such a peaceful area surrounded by trees, the toilets were so very clean with music and flowers and the rec room was such a great bonus it had a pool table, table tennis, table football, a library of books and a couch with tv.
All this and the history and walks around the woods kept us very occupied with very amusing and interesting facts about them, such as the bawbee seat. Jim the owner, will become your best friend and a power house of information. Such a friendly and informative person, always willing to help, he made us feel very welcome.

The surrounding areas were nice to visit and we recommend you visit a few of these places , such as Culzean castle which is so beautiful with amazing history and a view of the sea that can not be missed. Jim was on hand to recommend places to us, and he never was wrong, we found the chinese restaurant in maybole the best Chinese we have ever tasted.

We are counting the days til are return with a hunger for adventure, culture, history and some Chinese food!. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cbreddie 7 reviews from this member

 We visited this site when we did a charity motorcycle ride, we stayed here for a night. The area is beautiful, very scenic. Access to the site is along a winding single track road with plenty of places to pass.

We were made very welcome by the owner of the site, he maintains a very picturesque site within what used to be a huge walled garden.

There is a small shop on site selling bread and milk etc. There are many pitches on site most are slightly sloping.

The toilet facilities are second to none, they are set within the very thick garden walls, are very clean.

There is a clubhouse, where the site residents hold carpet bowls and scottish dancing events. Its all clean family fun, organised by a gentleman who clearly loves what he does and the people he does it for. Nothing was too much trouble for him. Even looking after 10 very tired and hungry bikers.

There is a basic play area for the kids with a slide and swings, also an area to play football (which we were camping on so as not to disturb the other residents when we set of early in the morning).

I wish we could have stayed longer.

A most beautiful and relaxing site to visit. I look forward to going there again. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Rusty64 3 reviews from this member

 We found this site to be very peaceful with lovely walks around and a bit of history to it.

Jim(owner) did everything in his power to please everybody, nothing was too big or small.

If ordered fresh rolls, eggs, saugages papers etc will be at your door in time for breakfast.

Toilet/shower block very clean with music and flowers. Recreation room with TV and games. Laundry with facilities for cooking and cleaning dishes. 


Previous     85 Reviews in total, now showing 61 to 70      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Walled Garden Caravan & Camping Park child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Is Walled Garden Caravan & Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Maybole      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Ayrshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show Stratford 23/07 to 25/07
New and used motorhomes & campervans with camping on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5571 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement