Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Walled Garden Caravan & Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Ayrshire > Maybole > Walled Garden Caravan & Camping Park Reviews

Walled Garden Caravan & Camping Park
Kilkerran Crosshill
Maybole
Ayrshire   (Browse area)
KA19 7SG
Tel: 01655 740323
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 35
Open: 01/04/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 85 Reviews
                9/10 from 85 Reviews

Photos (10)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 No Shop   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  85 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Beachbums 8 reviews from this member

 This is the second time we have visited this site, the last was a couple of years ago. The site seems to have went downhill after our last visit which is a pity. Have to agree with fiferfolk about the toilets, they are still in the same state. According to some of the people we met the site is not open all year now. Not as many visitors either. There are many better sites in the area, Girvan, Barrhill, and culzean castle, cheaper as well so have a look at them. It is a real shame as the site is in a lovely location. We wont be back. 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Wigtowner 19 reviews from this member

 Just spent the weekend in the walled garden. Due to the wet weather we have experienced this year it did spoil what would have been some lovely woodland walks through the grounds. Jim, the owner, appeared to be on the go the whole time fetching papers, rolls etc for the campers on site and generally keeping everyone happy.

The ladies toilet block could do with being upgraded. If you don't like spiders and dead flies be warned.

Try the Willie Wassel Inn at Crosshill. Superb value for money. Buy one get one free on all meals. Willie Wassel was a drinking buddy of Rabbie Burns. A very funny poem about Willies wife adorns the table mats with a translation for visitors.

The campsite is close to Ayr with all the amenities of a seaside town. There are numerous coastal villages well worth a visit too and some good sandy beaches.

There is a children's playground near the hall on the site situated at the rear of the walled garden. A huge area of bamboo is growing there with a Beware of the Pandas sign. Thank goodness I never saw any, or maybe I did - but from a distance!

Possibly will return next year when the sun is shining. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Honk Honk 2 reviews from this member

 Great relaxing site for weekends or weeks. Seems to have its own weather system as rain in other places but sunny in the walled garden.

If you like lovely woodland walks through the grounds its a perfect place. Myself it is great for cycling up over the many hills nearby.

Perfect for kids to just stroll about as the barrier is always down, with cars never going faster than 5 mph.

The owner bends over backwards to keep everyone happy as he seems to be always on site fetching papers, rolls etc 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rochfordsmissus 4 reviews from this member

 What can I say, what a wonderful campsite, so clean well kept and very friendly.

Jim the owner, come paperboy and milkman, happy to deliver to your tent every morning with a smile.

Toilet facilities spotless at all times as were the showers.

The only down side of the site was the pitch for tents was quite rough and although we were offered extra tarpaulins to put under the tent it was still very uncomfortable under foot, but other than that it truly is a gem of a campsite it is such a pity it is so far away. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sunset2 7 reviews from this member

 We picked this site because of the reviews it had received on this site. As it was our first camping trip we thought it best to go somewhere where the reviews were good. What a beautiful site this turned out to be, although the weather was not great there was plenty to do here. After pitching the tent with the assistance of some of the regular visitors we went a walk to see what the park had to offer.

Toilets were spotless as was the laundry/dishwashing room. The park was very tidy and well kept, a great credit to Jim, the owner. Only point I could find is that the recreation room is in need of a facelift. It has a damp smell and a little bit of tlc is required.

The playground was ample, all the kids that we saw playing there were enjoying themselves. We saw other kids enjoying playing in the woods quite happily. The site has a few regular visitors who have seasonal pitches.

All of the people we met were very friendly and helpful. Nothing was to much trouble for Brian the assistant warden who was always glad to help us out seeing as we had never been camping before. Another person we met was big John the piper, we loved listening to him playing his pipes. It was so relaxing and added a great touch to our outing. He even took the time to explain the workings of the bagpipes to us. So a big thanks to these 2 people for making our holiday special. I doubt if we'll ever find another place like this, no doubt we'll be back whenever we can. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: NettieG 5 reviews from this member

 I stayed at the Walled Garden for a couple of nights and was very impressed.

When I initially spoke to Sylvia to book my pitch, I was treated like an old friend. She and Jim are very friendly and knowledgeable people and they have thought of everything.

The park is made up mostly of permanent standing touring caravans but there is plenty of space for visitors. It is absolutely immaculate and Jim takes pride in his grass! I was offered a hard stand but Jim gave me a tarpaulin to put under the tent and helped me with the final elusive pin. I liked that you had a clear area which was your own and it was a generous size.

There is a large utility room for washing dishes but it also has a fridge, freezer washing machines and tumble driers for those staying a little longer. There is also a cooker for when the weather isn't so good along with a small dining table. As mentioned in other reviews the toilet and shower block is a little dated but is very clean. I loved the old fashioned meter for the hairdryer! There is a large children's play area with small football pitch which is again immaculately kept.

I was informed there is also a service for walking dogs if you wish to off for a day but would rather leave your pet behind. Like I said, they seem to have thought of everything.

The Walled Garden is in the middle of the Ayrshire countryside but don't let that put you off if you have a young family as Girvan and Ayr are within easy reach and offer lots of activities for kids.

I was really impressed with the Walled Garden and can't wait for my next visit. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Fiferfolk 2 reviews from this member

 Site looks good when you arrive pitches are good size but you need levelling blocks, hookups are metered on site. The site is run by the seasonal campers. Toilets are adequate but need upgrading and someone to get rid of the spiders webs and also give them a deep clean.

At weekends you have to go to the hall as things get quite noisy particularly when the campers come out, this can go on till the small hours (3am).

The owner delivers rolls and papers from the local shop to your van.

In all a fairly good site but not up to Camping Club or Caravan Club standards and at similar prices. Good walks but you have to drive if you want to visit Culzean, Ayr or Girvan, all of which have closer sites. 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Brickiemum 6 reviews from this member

 What a fantastic little gem of a campsite this really is. Nestled deep in the woods next to a country house the site is surrounded by an ancient high wall and jaw dropping trees (they really are that big!) This gives a lovely private feel and really makes it a safe place for young children to explore. The site is well signposted on approach and incredibly well signposted within the site. The private approach road has been relaid so it is very easy to tow on.

On arrival the well mentioned Jim was on great form in reception. He gave us lots of info about the site, including some history and leaflets showing local walks in the grounds outside the walls. Pitches are hardstanding but Jim provides tarps for your tent for protection. The walks are brilliant fun for the children and each has a bit of local info/folklore. The kids loved fording the stream at the waterfall and climbing the rocks. Quite the adventure!

Facilities are slightly aged but in good working order and spotlessly clean. Located on the exterior wall the block has a laundry/potwash/campers kitchen room (just use your own gas) a gents toilet/shower block, a ladies toilet/shower block and a games room with tv/pool table etc. Showers take 20p but are hot and 40p does a very long shower.

There is also a children's playground and football field on the left of the site. In this area is the Orchard Hall. A social room where there is bingo and dancing on Saturday nights (byob and snacks) 50p entry per adult.

The seasonal residents are incredibly friendly and helpful, there is a real community feel here and they welcome visitors and encourage them to get involved.

Staff are all incredibly helpful (especially Jim who loves a wee chat!) We were given loads of local advice and information. Papers, milk, bread and tattie scones can be pre ordered in the evening and Jim delivers them in the morning. Ice lollies (30p) and ice poles (10p) are available from reception.

The site is reasonably close to Maybole where there is a cooperative supermarket and garage.

I think the fact that this is the first time I have not bothered to put up a windbreak is indicative of how friendly and peaceful this site is. I also let my 5 and 2 year old wander over to reception to buy ice poles, they really were so safe. Hardly any vehicles moving and when they were everyone observed the 5 mph limit and took great care to look out for children.

We will definitely be back. 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Greented 7 reviews from this member

 Just back from staying at the quietest campsite ever. There place was full though but no noise. All facilities were so clean and I particularly liked having the classic fm on in the toilets.

Owner Jim so friendly and helpful. There is a bit of a slope to the field but not so much that would cause a problem and all the caravans there had blocks provided to even out the slope.

Nearby there is a fantastic pub that has just opened doing the most gorgeous food. The wastle something. Ask when booking for their number because you do have to eat there.

There was a play area outside the walled garden for children and there was even a play room. You pay for whatever electricity you use and we now realise that the usual EHU fee is a lot. It was much cheaper that way. We had the fan heater on and still spent less than the usual fee in other sites. This site is perfect for wet weather because you are on a special pitch that doesn't get waterlogged.

Not only the quietest site but also the best signposted site we have ever visited.

Would love it to be nearer to where we live. 


Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Maureengd 2 reviews from this member

 Just came back from here and thoroughly enjoyed our weekend. The site is very well run and Jim the Warden takes orders for milk, bread, rolls, eggs and daily papers up until 8pm at night and delivers them to you next morning, he even leaves them outside your unit so as not to disturb you if you are not up!

Toilets and showers were spotless with plenty of hot water. The shower takes 20p but is well worth it. There is a laundry which is fully equipped with washing machines, tumble dryers and and ironing board. There is also 2 gas cookers and a table and chairs for the tents to use. A lot of thought has went into this site.

There are 3 sinks with boiling hot water for your dishes and even the washing up liquid is provided.

There is a games room - which we didn't use so cant comment. On a Friday and Saturday there is a Hall on site where there is carpet bowls, bingo and dancing - you bring your own bottle/glasses and snacks.

All in all a brilliant site and will definitely be back soon I hope 


Previous     85 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Walled Garden Caravan & Camping Park child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Is Walled Garden Caravan & Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Maybole      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Ayrshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show Stratford 23/07 to 25/07
New and used motorhomes & campervans with camping on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4811 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement