Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Heathland Beach Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Lowestoft > Heathland Beach Holiday Park Reviews

Heathland Beach Holiday Park
London Road
Kessingland
Lowestoft
Suffolk   (Browse area)
NR33 7PJ
Tel: 01502 740337
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 63
Open: 01/04/2022 to 31/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 111 Reviews
                9/10 from 111 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis On Site 
 Beach On Site   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  111 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kbeat195 3 reviews from this member

 Went to this site for a week. Had a great time our two kids loved it. Site was clean although the toilet blocks could do with more attention during the day. Large Supermarket, petrol station short drive from the site. Definitely go back here again. Onsite shop, fishing, tennis and swimming pool. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Richardpenson 1 review from this member

 This is a fantastic campsite, clean, quiet, small, but with excellent facilities for children.

The staff are so friendly, toilets are amazing.

We have been twice now and will be definitely coming again. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: JoJo19 7 reviews from this member

 This is a very pleasant site indeed, probably helped by the lovely weather we had. But even without the sunshine there is no getting away from the fact that this site is spotlessly maintained with top notch facilities.

We arrived on a Saturday afternoon to be met with the weekend getaway crowd in full swing. Make no mistake this is a very popular site but it's not hard to see why. It was almost standing room only in the central play area for younger children. Not that this worried my daughter. She was delighted with the younger children's big sandy play area which is sited centrally between both sets of shower blocks and surrounded by tents. This enabled parents to chill out with a beer and keep a beady eye on the play area. The play area is fenced so very self contained and you can easily see what the little people are up to from the comfort of your tent porch on many of the surrounding pitches. So it's very well thought out if a bit hectic with so many small children getting down to the important business of sandcastles and the like. For those seeking a less frenetic camping experience there are pitches around the outside of the circular tarmac site road which are much quieter - each with trees behind them and the road acting as a bit of a buffer zone.

Our stay was one of contrasts. By late Sunday afternoon the site was virtually deserted - we were staying outside of the state school holidays so pretty well everyone had packed up and headed off ready for Monday morning. Our only companions were the odd touring caravan and those hiring the static caravans on the other side of the site. Oh and let's not forget the ducks that wandered through the site on a daily constitutional. Being woken by the sound of insistent quaking on our first morning was something brilliantly memorable '. No I must be dreaming, it sounds like ducks, can't possibly be, must be over tired. Oh yes there are loads of ducks!' The stuff of memories, which is what it's all about isn't it? In fact during this quieter time there were lots of different birds dropping in for bread crumbs so it was very pleasant indeed. If anything it as bit too quiet with a small person to entertain but luckily by about Wednesday reinforcements had arrived and new friendships were forged leaving mummy and daddy to make cups of tea and read their books in relative peace.

I digress! The site has another well equipped and modern play area a short walk away for older children as well as a large playing field and a rather pleasant small lake or maybe it's a very large pond. That'll be where the ducks live then! Somewhat unexpectedly you will also come across the odd peacock. Seriously I am not making this up. My daughter was ecstatic to find the odd beautiful tail feather lying on the ground. As I said the stuff of memories.

But let's not forget the heated outside pool with water flume and some nice, clean changing rooms. It is only open at certain times as it needs to be staffed but it's free and you can lie around on the sun loungers for a snooze while the children fly down the flume. There is also a small pool for toddlers too.

The site has a small shop for the basics and the usual stuff children need. Small plastic toys, teddies and ice cream and did I mention small plastic toys? There is also a local information room where you can also borrow books and videos which made me smile. For those of you who don't remember these they used to be high tech and one day you will experience the same feeling when you see a DVD. And I bet you smile too.

The site does not have a café or restaurant but it does have a very child friendly, convivial bar which does a fine line in crisps, cider and fizzy apple juice. There is a TV so we all watched the football complete with shouting in unison when we scored/failed to score. The owners are really friendly and relaxed making the whole experience very pleasant indeed. We made very good use of the BBQ area and there is a supermarket five minutes up the road in the car and a good chip shop in the rather lovely Kessingland village so you won't starve.

Oh and let's not forget the beach! You can walk to the beach in about 10-15 minutes - small children permitting, along a quite track beside the site next to a field. If you just want to lie around with buckets and spades and watch more birds this is the place for you. We saw some Turns nesting in a protected area and flying so very exciting if you are a twitcher which I seem to becoming if this review is anything to go by. Such was the quality of the play area of site though our daughter wasn't keen to go to the beach very often which was a pity as it is a lovely beach. You can also drive to Kessingland beach which is down past the aforementioned chip shop.

On the more mundane aspects of the site there are the usual recycling areas, spotless laundry and pot washing area. We had an electric pitch with shared water tap. The whole site is flat so there is no issue with battling the terrain.

The shower blocks are at each end of the tenting area but both are a short walk no matter where you are pitched. My only small gripe was that the outer door to the ladies would bang shut at all hours and as we were very nearby it was bit annoying when trying to drop off. That aside though both sets of showers were spotless. One set was a bit older but very well maintained with the other set being very new and totally integrated affairs with loo, basin and shower in a private room. There were four of these for the ladies so, nice as they were, you might have to hot foot it over to the older block on a busy day with it's very practical row of loos and basins. Hot water was plentiful in both blocks. The site was also well lit at night with a light point between various pitches which made getting up in the middle of the night a pretty straight forward affair although some of you might like the challenge of locating the torch and stumbling around in the dark as it can make for an exhilarating experience in the early hours. Me? I quite liked the fact that I could take my six year old to the loo at night without any torch induced stress.

Come the weekend again it was back to the mad influx of the getaway brigade, which I am actually hoping to join this summer. Little persons nirvana! lots of playmates and mayhem. Fantastic! It was only marred on our last night by the people in the newly arrived tent behind us who were up to three in the morning parting with very small children who were understandably exhausted and beside themselves with tiredness. I told them to be quiet and they duly were for all of an hour, then someone from way across the site gave them a dressing down. A short respite followed but it was only the third person that got the desired result in the early hours. Why do people have to be so inconsiderate I wonder? Despite the hectic weekends everyone else was in bed by ten at the latest so this was a small issue and I can't fault the site for the behaviour of one set of people.

All in all a really lovely time was had by all with lots to see and do within 30 minutes drive. Go visit you'll like it. Just remember to choose the right time of year and avoid weekends in the summer if you like a really quite time. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sarah_Sayers 3 reviews from this member

 Can't fault this site.

The site is beautifully kept, and well laid out. The toilet blocks are immaculate. A friendly warm welcome upon arrival. The shop is small but well stocked, and there is a supermarket nearby. 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Hrvey08 7 reviews from this member

 The first time we have visited this 'spot on' site.

We are a family of four with two kids aged 15 yrs and 12 yrs.

Our family stayed over the May Bank Holiday for 4 days and arrived on a lovely sunny Friday afternoon as the kids had a half day at school.

Very friendly arrival by the owner who was in the shop/reception. Well stocked small shop with newspapers and local info to hand. Morrisons supermarket a 5 minute drive away.

Large wide pitches separated by hedges. Good EHU. Water tap shared by every two pitches. Extremely well maintained site. Smooth paths for kids to whizz around on their bikes and scooters. Large play areas which include football pitch/basketball/tennis courts/table tennis. Play park for small children on fenced sand area.

Two shower/loo blocks at each end of site. One is brand new with 4 family rooms. Both modern/clean and spotless. Good warm showers.

Two dish washing facilities, one outside undercover and one indoors. Washing machine/dryer available.

Good size heated outdoor swimming pool. No additional charges. We had a lovely swim time. There is a flume which is operated during certain times for a few hours. Baby pool. Sun loungers/picnic benches/table tennis and changing rooms available. All clean and well looked after.

Small fishing lake. (£4 per day) We (well hubby !) caught 6 small to medium common and mirror carp. The kids were even impressed and that doesn't happen often ! We had a lovely sunny spot.

You can walk to the beach in about 10/15 minutes through static caravan area and farmers field. There is a few ways to go. This is a natural beach location. Grassy sand dunes with wild bird conservation. High winds. Super for kite flying which we did. The beach is reached by going down steps built within the cliffs. No good for buggies/pushchairs or elderly folk.

On site there is a low key bar with a couple of pool tables. During our stay one night had bingo and the other a female vocalist. Reasonable prices.

Overall the whole site had a really pleasant feel about it. All fellow campers were respectful of each other and friendly. No noisy neighbours for us. I cannot find fault with this site at all ! I have tried. ;] Kids would of liked a games room / air hockey / pin ball machine. That sort of thing buts that's it.

We are off to France for the summer but will definitely return for a short break sometime.

Happy Camping everyone ! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mark26 22 reviews from this member

 This is one of our favourite sites. It has everything we want for a holiday.

Outdoor pools, one with a flume which the kids love. Two play parks, one on the touring site for the younger children and a larger one by the pool. The shop is in Reception and sells the basics at a reasonable price, but there is a supermarket just up the road. The bar on site will serve drinks in plastic cups so you can take to the pool.

The staff were brilliant, esp this year as my wife went into hospital after our 1st week and they managed to arrange pitches for me (in the summer hols) for an additional 2 weeks until my wife was discharged. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Coral67 12 reviews from this member

 We have been to this site a few times and really love it here and the kids want to just keep coming back, the pitches are level, large and very well maintained with a shared water tap on pitch, and the roadway around the pitches is great making it easy for wheel chairs, The are two shower/toilet blocks and a disabled shower/toilet, dishwashing area, and 2 play parks one for the smaller children and a larger one for the older children, There are 3 pools a baby one a larger one and one that has a flume into it, making great fun for all the family. There is also a bar on site and a small shop which compared to many is quite cheap esp if you run out of things. There is a Morrisons just down the road and an Asda not far away either, there is also a chip van that comes around once or twice a week. It is also on the beach which is situated behind the site but there are a lot of steps. You are close to Lowestoft and Great Yarmouth for great days out. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Klippie 1 review from this member

 We just came back from our first family camp at Heathland Beach. We had a fabulous stay. The pitches is really well maintained and very spacious. The facilities were cleaned often and we always had hot water no matter what time we went for a shower. It is a lovely place for a family holiday. There's 3 heated swimming pools and the kids loved the flume. There is lots to do on site. They have 2 large play areas with climbing frames for the kids and a big field where my sports enthusiasts played football, rugby and cricket. Their tennis court was also a winner. We didn't fish this time but will in the future. The beach is only a few minutes walk away and we went every day for a swim and play. On site there is a shop that is reasonably priced and a bar. We played pool at the bar the one night. They had mini disco for the kids and bingo and quiz nights as well during the time we visited. We are definitely planning on going back again. Most of the other campers that were there during our stay were campers that came yearly and for me that said a lot about the campsite. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Claireapril26 12 reviews from this member

 It may have been the weather or it could just have been that this camp site ticked all the boxes for our 2 primary school age children. Two good play grounds, ball games allowed, five minute walk to the beach, a shop stocking lots of pocket money toys and an outdoor swimming pool with slide. We also enjoyed the option of visiting the site's bar and participating with the bingo (and winning twice). Pitches are generous and well kept. Toilets and showers are off a high standard. My son keeps asking to go back and although we say never go back to the same place, secretly we all want too. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Amandabriggstemple 5 reviews from this member

 We have just spent the weekend at Heathland and it was brilliant, the tent pitches are nice and big and plenty of room, do not feel like you are being looked over as hedges in between. The washing and toilet facilities were always nice and clean. The main ones have a hairdryer. Always hot water. Used the smaller ones at other end and again always clean and tidy. On arrival the staff/owners were very pleasant and welcoming, told us everything we needed know. Unfortunately didn't get to use the swimming pool as weather not great but did have a walk round and were really clean. The play areas were very nice too and our little one enjoyed them and made friends. The beach is just a 5-10 minute walk steep steps down to beach and 77 of them as our child decided to count them, feels more like 177 coming back up, but the beach is lovely and the walk down was pleasant. Didn't use the bar or food facilities as we always take everything we need. All in all this is a great campsite and will be returning in the near future 


Previous     111 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Heathland Beach Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Heathland Beach Holiday Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Heathland Beach Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Heathland Beach Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Lowestoft      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Suffolk

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2438 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement