Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Gate House Wood Touring Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Kent > Sevenoaks > Gate House Wood Touring Park Reviews

Gate House Wood Touring Park
Ford Lane
Wrothah Heath
Sevenoaks
Kent   (Browse area)
TN15 7SD
Tel: 01732 843 062
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 56
Open: 1st Marchto 31st October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 81 Reviews
                9/10 from 81 Reviews

Photos (7)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf 1 mile   Tennis 5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  81 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: March 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Arma3 5 reviews from this member

What a great little campsite!

Small but Spacious, Sunny yet protected from the wind.

The campsite is set in what Appears to be an old quarry But please don't let this fool you as the grass is green and soft.

There's a play area for the kids, Bins and water nearby.

Toilets and showers even a Laundry room all clean and Well kept.

The staff are great and helpful what more can you ask for!

Only down side I can find would be the 18 per night for a touring caravan 1person with electric Which puts it in the peak season rates for March and well over the prices of the C&CC and the CC.

Overall a nice and pleasant campsite

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: MadMum1972 11 reviews from this member

This was our third visit to this fantastic site. Yet again, very friendly and easy booking system, the owners were extremely welcoming as always and allowed me on the pitch earlier.

The gentleman who owns Gate House (Dave) even unhitched the van for me and asked me if I needed any further help.

I just adore this site. It is close to home but feels a million miles away as it is so peaceful and relaxing. My children and I walked around the footpath above the trees again (jungle walk, as my children have named it).

The shop on site is fantastic and so reasonably priced! Lots of pocket money toys to keep the children happy.

The amenities are always clean and the site looked beautiful with the hanging baskets. The dustbins are regularly emptied and never overflowing.

Not much else to say really. The site is just perfect, I have already booked to come back next month.

There are lots of attractions in the area but as I am local, I don't step off site once I am there so do not visit any.

Oh, one more benefit is that it doesn't involve driving down narrow lanes. It is very accessible from the main road.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Joflo2 7 reviews from this member

We visited this site with another family of campers as a base to visit diggerland. We arrived and were greater by the owners, who immediately advised us that they had no water due to a local problem and all the local area was out, we were offered the option of leaving to find another site but decided, as they hoped to have water again by the morning, that we could manage (our friends who were yet to arrive agreed). we were shown to out pitch, lovely grass serviced pitch, overlooking the children's play area, with just the right amount of equipment to keep our 3 & 6 yr old happy while we set up. We were also brought a large amount if bottled water to compensate for the temporary loss & an extension for our electric hook up as ours, although long, wasn't quite long enough to stretch, this was offered freely before we'd even set up, so I guess they are used to being asked.

There was no regimented way to pitch, they were happy so long as you were inside the area, which was nice. The toilets as it turned out were only not flushing for the first hour or so there and as it was a quiet weekend and there were only 2 other tents there it really was no problem. All the caravanners were using their own facilities during the outage

The campsite was lovely, the kids loved the play area and wanted to play in the woods surrounding but we only found out as we left that they are very safe and accessible for the kids, we shall use next time as I feel sure we will return.

The toilets and shower block was clean, water was hot and the showers had a decent pressure, not a dribble like some we've encountered. There was a mop to clean down after use which we did.

The wash up / laundry area was clean also and indoors, with a full sized rotary airier outside and a fridge freezer for the guests use, which we used to keep kids ice cream frozen for after tea as bought earlier before shop closed.

Shop seemed well stocked and and had everything we needed, the vacuum packed seasoned chicken escalope was very tasty bbq'd and the sausages and burgers were also very tasty and reasonably priced.

We found the owners very pleasant and helpful, we had a lovely time and said before we are likely to use again if camping in the area again.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tony1103 5 reviews from this member

We stayed here with our friends and had five children between us.

The owners were fantastic, such genuine lovely people.

The site was immaculate with a good playground in the middle of all the pitches.

There is a great wooded area which the children can explore around the campsite.

The toilets and shower blocks were good, clean and the water hot.

The shop on site was plentiful.

There wasn't a bar or clubhouse but this wasn't needed.

We all had a great camping experience and would return.

Date of Visit: October 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Keith and Lyn 2 reviews from this member

We have been visiting Gate House Wood for 4 seasons now, and compared to other sites we have used is way out infront for cleanliness and facilities. Dave and Karen are very friendly and helpful. The site is always clean and tidy. There is always hot water for showers and washing up. The shower block is cleaned regularly and well kept. The on site shop has wicked burgers and sausages along with essentials. Sweets and low priced toys to keep the kids happy when the weather is bad, which seems to be every time we visit! A play area for liitle ones, and a walk around the site up in the woods. You will be hard pressed to find a better site. No club house, hooray! No animals, so no surprises in the well kept grass. 3 water points, 3 bin areas ( emptied regularly) Elsan disposal point ( not smelly and dirty)What else can we say. A gem.

Date of Visit: October 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Jw1992 2 reviews from this member

Saw this site on Motorhome channel & thought it would be ideal for our first trip in recently purchased motorhome as only 40 minutes from home & we weren't wrong!

The site is very pretty & well cared for, we received a warm welcome & were not only shown to our pitch but guided in as well.

The shower/toilet block was very clean & the water piping hot.

As site in quarry need good booster/aerial to receive tv signal. Electric hook up was fair way luckly we had long lead, looking around we saw this depended on which plot you were on. Although we didn't have children with us the playground was well placed for those that do right in middle.

The site shop is open 9am til 5pm & although we didn't purchase anything it seemed to have all the essentials & more.

Less than 10 minutes walk from site is restaurant, a Beefeater/pub, The Ming-chinese restaurant & a petrol station. There are bus stops near site but at this time of year there is no weekend service on any of the routes :-( but we managed to get to Knowle House Sevenoaks by walking & 2 trains as we didn't want to drive (all part of the adventure)!

Thoroughly recommend this site.

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Thewizard 4 reviews from this member

What a great site. Flat pitch good size, facilities very clean warm and loads of hot water. Great shop well stocked and the owners are always there if needed. We felt very secure here. The kids loved the play ground and we witnessed the owners dealing with a very drunk and disturbed individual, they put themselves at risk and dealt with him very professionally to protect the site and its visitors, we have to commend them and will be here again very soon. All round great site

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Suziejat27 1 review from this member

We have just returned from Gate House Wood Touring Park. We were very dubious about camping as this was our first time. The owners were very friendly and welcoming from the start and made us feel at ease. We were guided to our pitch, which was huge for our 6 berth tent and the electric hook up was close for access and lit up so we did not fall over it in the night!

Toilet/shower block was amazingly clean, bright and smelt pleasant too. Washing up area was clean with washers and dryers plus added bonus of fridge freezer. The site also featured a play area for the children which was well maintained.

The owners recycle most waste and bins are clearly marked. There are also two brick bbq's located on site. There is a shop on site which was very well stocked and reasonably priced. Site is situated in an old quarry and is sheltered by trees, if using a tent I would suggest stronger tent pegs as the ground is very hard in some areas and many of our pegs bent.

Overall we had a great time and the site was very pretty. We are definitely going again next year.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Keelere 2 reviews from this member

This was our first ever camping trip. We didn't go too far from home, about 45 mins drive.

We forgot lots of stuff, but learnt lots for next time, and met lots of nice people.

Loved the layout of the site with a play park in the middle, so we could see our children whilst putting up the tent. (Note we didn't argue putting tent up or down. Bonus! Considering we were complete novices).

Stayed 3 nights.

Excellent facilities. Toilets were cleaned regularly and cleaned well. My daughters (5&8 years) enjoyed mopping the floor after their showers (even if they'd not showered they wanted to mop the floor! Perhaps I should keep a mop and bucket in the corner at home?).

We had fab weather which made it special.

The shop was good and reasonably priced if you forget anything.

Unfortunately the first night there was a party in the neighbouring field which had music blaring and DJ speaking (we could hear every word) until 2am.

We took our bikes but not many local places to cycle - without driving first.

We did go to shorne woods country park to cycle one day but got eaten alive by swamp bugs! Please take lots of mozzie spray with you if you go there. It has a lovely cafe though; we had amazing pizzas!

We also visited Tonbridge swimming pool one day - it's an outside and inside one - connected! Tonbridge castle is close by and beautiful. The pool has a small steam train out the front run by volunteers - very sweet.

Wouldn't recommend the local beefeater (royal oak) either as we went there one evening; we all had horrid meals and then we were overcharged for the experience!

Would definitely recommend campsite: most fun!

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: MadMum1972 11 reviews from this member

I have just had my first solo run away with my two children, aged six and four. I chose Gate House Wood as the reviews all looked good and it was only 20 minutes from home, should I encounter any problems.

We had a fantastic time, the children loved the play area and were very quick to make friends. The staff were friendly, the pitches a good size, the toilets and showers were clean and there were good washing up and laundry facilities. There was also a nice touch with magazines and books for campers to use.

My four year old loved the little on site shop, which had an amazing amount of useful stock in there! She particularly loved the different mix of sweets and being able to pick them out herself, just like the old 10p mix ups we all used to have!

Although we live near to the area we discovered a beautiful park in West Malling that we have never been to. It had a great play area for the children, and a nice cycle track and footpath along the side of the lake.

We had a perfect visit, my children cried when we had to leave. We had a walk around the woods in the top of the site, which was looked upon as a jungle adventure by my two!

I couldn't have wished for a more pleasant experience and we will definitely be returning.

Previous     81 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Kent

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2487 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019