Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Gate House Wood Touring Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Kent > Sevenoaks > Gate House Wood Touring Park Reviews

Gate House Wood Touring Park
Ford Lane
Wrothah Heath
Sevenoaks
Kent   (Browse area)
TN15 7SD
Tel: 01732 843 062
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 56
Open: 1st Marchto 31st October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 87 Reviews
                9/10 from 87 Reviews

Photos (7)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  87 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

We are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Keith and Lyn 2 reviews from this member

 Clean and tidy site. Friendly team running site.

Clean shower block with plenty of hot water.

Indoor washing up facilities, and a laundry.

Second hand books in laundry room.

Small play area for kids.

Well stocked shop for essentials. Sausages and burgers from local butcher, delicious I might add.

Dead easy to find site, close to A20, M20, M26.

All major supermarkets within easy driving distance, plus local shops in Borough Green, not too far away.

Fresh bread and papers available to order.

What more can I say.

That's why we always come here. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Karee5 5 reviews from this member

 Just spent a week at this lovely campsite. The site is very sheltered, we arrived the same day as Bertha(much overhyped but still fairly breezy!). The treetops at the top of the quarry were blowing around a fair bit but we were fine on the campsite. Good size pitch and fairly flat. Nice clean washrooms and very peaceful, yes you could hear the motorway but far enough away not to cause a problem(actually found it quite a good background noise if I woke up during the night).

Owners are lovely and you can order fresh bread and croissants for breakfast and pizza van on the Friday night was good.

Lots of things to do in the area, would definitely recommend 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mrandmrsmac 1 review from this member

 We used this site as it was only a couple of miles from where we purchased our new caravan, an ideal first time using the van.

The couple who own the site are so friendly and welcoming and are happy to lend advice or help if needed.

This is a lovely site, beautifully clean & tidy, lovely hot showers and washup facilities.

The children's play area being in the centre of the pitches meant that children can play & never be far away from the pitch.

Our children loved the walk through the woods surrounding the site, this is perfectly secure and great fun!

There is a well stocked shop on site, the pastries which we ordered for breakfast were delicious!

Even though this is very local to our home, we will certainly stay here again, its peaceful, friendly and very relaxing for a short break! 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Freckles63 58 reviews from this member

 Spent one night here without electric, to enable us to get nearer to the M25 Dartford crossing to carry our journey onto another area the early the next day. Was pleased to find a vacancy for 1 night over the bank holiday weekend, plus we were allowed to turn up earlier than the 2pm arrival time. O

Not keen on being ushered onto our pitch by warden who cycles ahead of you, husband says it puts pressure on him when reversing the caravan into place. The warden seemed a bit OCD about patrolling the site on his cycle/4X4.

Too much noise from motorways nearby to stay for a holiday but ok for a stop off.

Showers ok but with only 2 of them in both mens and womans, plus with tents this seemed too few and a queue quickly formed.

Tried the pizza wagon out on the Friday, if you like soggy wet pizza's then go for it, we didn't eat it and should of took it back!

Expensive at 20 a night without electric but served it's purpose for us for the night. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: NickNumpty 1 review from this member

 Excellent site, we visited just for a night to test out our gear, and found a really peaceful well looked after site, that had spotless toilets/showers and a great little shop. The couple that run it are really friendly and helpful, its ideal for a relaxing break, there is a little park for smaller kids to play on, its secluded and secure but easy to get to. If you not wanting to cook there is a beefeater 5 minutes up the road. Will definitely be visiting again. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Acspencer 8 reviews from this member

 Just returned from spending a bank holiday weekend on this site.

The site is very easy to access from the M26 and easy to find.

The owners gave us a good welcome and showed us to our pitch. Everything was explained and we were left to set up. A lovely clean site with reasonable size pitches, and a play area for small children.

Surrounded by by trees and woodland and with most pitches on fairly flat ground, this site is really very pleasant.

The toilet blocks are kept very clean and hot water is free.

The waste and water points are easily accessed.

There is a shop on site for the essentials, and toys and bits for the kiddies. You can hear the motorway noise but it is mostly in the background. We did not find it distracting.

The owners are obviously very passionate about their site and go the e

Extra mile to make you fell very welcome. It ticked all the boxes for us. Being so close to so many tourist attractions is also a big plus. We found the site fees to be good value. 


Date of Visit: March 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Arma3 5 reviews from this member

 What a great little campsite!

Small but Spacious, Sunny yet protected from the wind.

The campsite is set in what Appears to be an old quarry But please don't let this fool you as the grass is green and soft.

There's a play area for the kids, Bins and water nearby.

Toilets and showers even a Laundry room all clean and Well kept.

The staff are great and helpful what more can you ask for!

Only down side I can find would be the 18 per night for a touring caravan 1person with electric Which puts it in the peak season rates for March and well over the prices of the C&CC and the CC.

Overall a nice and pleasant campsite 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: MadMum1972 11 reviews from this member

 This was our third visit to this fantastic site. Yet again, very friendly and easy booking system, the owners were extremely welcoming as always and allowed me on the pitch earlier.

The gentleman who owns Gate House (Dave) even unhitched the van for me and asked me if I needed any further help.

I just adore this site. It is close to home but feels a million miles away as it is so peaceful and relaxing. My children and I walked around the footpath above the trees again (jungle walk, as my children have named it).

The shop on site is fantastic and so reasonably priced! Lots of pocket money toys to keep the children happy.

The amenities are always clean and the site looked beautiful with the hanging baskets. The dustbins are regularly emptied and never overflowing.

Not much else to say really. The site is just perfect, I have already booked to come back next month.

There are lots of attractions in the area but as I am local, I don't step off site once I am there so do not visit any.

Oh, one more benefit is that it doesn't involve driving down narrow lanes. It is very accessible from the main road. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Joflo2 7 reviews from this member

 We visited this site with another family of campers as a base to visit diggerland. We arrived and were greater by the owners, who immediately advised us that they had no water due to a local problem and all the local area was out, we were offered the option of leaving to find another site but decided, as they hoped to have water again by the morning, that we could manage (our friends who were yet to arrive agreed). we were shown to out pitch, lovely grass serviced pitch, overlooking the children's play area, with just the right amount of equipment to keep our 3 & 6 yr old happy while we set up. We were also brought a large amount if bottled water to compensate for the temporary loss & an extension for our electric hook up as ours, although long, wasn't quite long enough to stretch, this was offered freely before we'd even set up, so I guess they are used to being asked.

There was no regimented way to pitch, they were happy so long as you were inside the area, which was nice. The toilets as it turned out were only not flushing for the first hour or so there and as it was a quiet weekend and there were only 2 other tents there it really was no problem. All the caravanners were using their own facilities during the outage

The campsite was lovely, the kids loved the play area and wanted to play in the woods surrounding but we only found out as we left that they are very safe and accessible for the kids, we shall use next time as I feel sure we will return.

The toilets and shower block was clean, water was hot and the showers had a decent pressure, not a dribble like some we've encountered. There was a mop to clean down after use which we did.

The wash up / laundry area was clean also and indoors, with a full sized rotary airier outside and a fridge freezer for the guests use, which we used to keep kids ice cream frozen for after tea as bought earlier before shop closed.

Shop seemed well stocked and and had everything we needed, the vacuum packed seasoned chicken escalope was very tasty bbq'd and the sausages and burgers were also very tasty and reasonably priced.

We found the owners very pleasant and helpful, we had a lovely time and said before we are likely to use again if camping in the area again. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tony1103 5 reviews from this member

 We stayed here with our friends and had five children between us.

The owners were fantastic, such genuine lovely people.

The site was immaculate with a good playground in the middle of all the pitches.

There is a great wooded area which the children can explore around the campsite.

The toilets and shower blocks were good, clean and the water hot.

The shop on site was plentiful.

There wasn't a bar or clubhouse but this wasn't needed.

We all had a great camping experience and would return. 


Previous     87 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Gate House Wood Touring Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Gate House Wood Touring Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Gate House Wood Touring Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Sevenoaks      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Kent

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...





Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2786 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement