Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Gate House Wood Touring Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South East > Kent > Site Reviews

Gate House Wood Touring Park
Ford Lane
Wrothah Heath
Sevenoaks
Kent   (Browse area)
TN15 7SD
Tel: 01732 843 062
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 56
Open: 1st Marchto 31st October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 79 Reviews
                9/10 from 79 Reviews

Photos (7)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  79 in total, now showing 61 to 70                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Shed Unit 2 reviews from this member

Me and a friend stayed here for one night over the 'War And Peace Show' week. We both thoroughly enjoyed it! We are both amateurs when it comes to camping and everything was nice and simple for us.
Grass was nice and short. The plots were nice and big, plenty of room for our car and the tent. Was slight noise from the main road nearby, but only a terrible sleeper would have been kept awake, and how many of them go camping?!.
There is two showers, two cubicles, plus urinals in the mens, and it was never full, usually I was the only one in there when there seemed to be many groups camping there. Very clean! Made use of the BBQ, may have been a little too close to the washing line as someone had clothes out. We had to eat though!
There's a pub half a mile down the road but we didn't try it. ASDA is a couple of miles away, but I think there is a Tesco's extra closer than that.
The owner was very helpful. He answered all our questions on nearby shops and even the next days weather! If we make the five hour trip again for the show next year we shall certainly be staying here again!

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Leo + Nat 4 reviews from this member

Good points: Nice site, more or less flat, tidy and clean, surrounded by trees, beautiful countryside. A laundry room contains a freely accessible fridge and freezer which is very helpful. There are picnic tables dotted around the site which is nice.

Downsides: We could hear the noise of the M20, but I didn't think it was too bad. Shop was poorly stocked. Showers were cold, although facilities were otherwise good and clean.

Shop: There was a caravan shop on A20 - when travelling east it's tucked away on the left just before the roundabout into West Malling. We picked up camping gas there, but they also sell tables, chairs and all sorts (including caravans!).

Places to go: Lots of places to visit. West Malling, Kemsing and Otford had several pubs. There is a restaurant on the A20 2 minutes from the site and a pub over the road, but they didn't tempt us.

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mmg2604 1 review from this member

Visited this site during May half term with our rather large tent. Nice and flat pitches which were well tended. Electric Hook Up available. As previously mentioned was once a quarry. Ground quite hard for banging the tent pegs in though. Apparently it drains very well if you happen to have rain.
Quite a few caravans, some I think were long term users. Nice well kept play area in the middle with slide, seesaw and swings. Area for washing up which also had a fridge freezer for people to use, plus washing machines, dryer and ironing board. One rotary line outside this block. Ladies loos and 2 showers (water not very hot first thing in morning) and four toilets. Also a hair dryer which was coin operated (20p). Overall nice and clean (this could change in bad weather). I presume the men's were similar.
Small site shop that had pocket money sweets for the children plus basic provisions. There's a Tesco Express 3 miles away plus numerous Petrol Stations with small shops. Very close to the motorway, didn't notice the noise so much during the day but did at night. But soon got used to it. Plenty of places around to visit. Knoll Deer Park nice to take the children for a run around and picnic. Lots of deers wandering around. Knoll House itself very nice but cost £10 p.P. To get in.

Date of Visit: September 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ldawes6 1 review from this member

Only live 5 mins down the road but are first time campers and wanted to try out the new tent! Had a pitch next to our friends (also 1st timers). We had an Outwell Utah 6 which fitted fine on the pitch, the owner did say that he had a few larger ones if needed.
Very well kept site, showers, toilets, washing up area etc very clean. We walked up the steps and around the top of the quarry, made us realise how low down & sheltered we were. Will definitely stay again as it's perfect for a weekend get together with friends and all the kids.

Date of Visit: September 2007 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Carryoncampers 1 review from this member

What a wonderful campsite! Extremely friendly and welcoming owners, who saw to our every need during the whole 10 night stay. Nothing was too much trouble, and considering that the site was busy the whole time of our stay (we can understand why!) we had no problems at all with waiting for showers or hot water etc. Very clean and well kept in all areas, lovely large pitches and also very reasonable pitch prices too, compared to some other much lesser quality more expensive local sites we have stayed in. In fact we have returned twice since and look forward to next season where we will be sure to be visiting again.

Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Weekend_ray 6 reviews from this member

We find this site ideal because it is 45 minutes drive from home in South London and although we travel about, we are always keen to spend the occasional weekend here. There is always someone about to help, the staff are always welcoming.
The facilities are as good as anywhere and the atmosphere is relaxed.
It is sited in an old quarry, so the chalk can be awkward on those precious pegs, but look at it this way - it drained pretty well during the wet weather. It's a nice pleasant walk for the children. In addition, there are two pubs very nearby and a Chinese restaurant for good measure - that is if you want a break from the camp fire.
If you've young children, they'll love it. The playground's nothing special, but there's room for them to play and have fun.
Yes, we can think of advantages of other sites, but we'll return here

Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Lucas 5 reviews from this member

A lovely clean site with very helpful friendly owners. 
We used this site as an emergency stopover as we has broken down on the way to France and had to stay over until the car was fixed.
The owners were very friendly and slotted us in very last minute. They also offered us help if we needed to contact anybody, eg ferry or campsite in France due to our delay.
 
The site itself was nice and flat with grass cut well and the pitches were spacious and well set out around the play area in the middle.  Toilet block was clean, as was the washing up area.  Only complaint was the showers (cold) but when you are desperate who cares!
 
Shop had the usual essentials and came in handy.
 
The site is situated just off a very busy road and the country lane it was on also seemed busy with no proper pavement to walk up to the pub.  This didn't bother us as we were just so grateful for somewhere to stay but I do not know what it would have been like staying there for a long holiday as we do not know the area as are from Manchester.  However, you don't seem to notice the traffic noise from the main road as the site is surrounded by high banking (I take it was a disused quarry), this made it seem like a little haven away from the main road.
 
Would definitely use again and would recommend especially for short stopovers enroute to other places (eg Dover ferry port)!

Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Debbie1971 6 reviews from this member

We have just returned from ten fun filled, relaxing days at this site.

Contrary to the previous review we found this site welcoming and friendly. The owners seemed more than happy to accommodate our individual needs, even reopening the site shop at night to allow us to replenish our stock of washing up liquid! The whole team at this site were always ready to assist with helping the holiday run smoothly.

The pitch sizes are very spacious, a distance between units is obligatory but the owners were more than happy to help with the siting of the tent. The pitches drained very quickly and the whole site is kept very clean and tidy, bins emptied twice a day when necessary.

The children were made to feel very welcome and were allowed to be children too - riding bikes, playing on the play area and exploring the surrounding wooded area. They were also allowed to play ball games or similar as long as they respected the other campers on the site.

There is a washing up and laundry room that has fridge freezer, washing machines and tumble dryers in (there is a charge for the machines). There was plenty of available space to dry the clothes: washing line and numerous airers. The fridge freezer facilities were free and I have to say none of our items walked.

The site shop stocks the essentials for both food and camping. There is also an information centre that holds tourist leaflets, takeaway menus and emergency telephone numbers.

The local shops were a short car ride away in West Malling, local shops and a Tesco Express. The owners recommended 'The George' a local pub, the food was good quality with a home cooked style. The pub also offered a play area for the children too.

For bad weather, the local swimming pool - Larkfield - has shoots and flumes.

I would highly recommend this site for families and couples alike. We will be returning!

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Aston666 3 reviews from this member

Visited site with friends - site not very busy. Found new owners quite unfriendly and not very helpful or accommodating. There were alot of aggressive wasps around because the site is set in a quarry; most of us got stung and some more than once.
The facilities were good - but could be cleaner and better maintained. The fridge freezer was filthy with quite alot of old food in which we had to throw out. The washing line was broken and us campers tried to rig up a makeshift one with the half that was left! It is not really possible to go for walks around this area as there is a main road in one direction and a country road that has heavy goods vehicles that drive down it which was dangerous for walkers. Shops and pubs nearby are more easily accessible by car.

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Kath Galloway 3 reviews from this member

 Site peaceful despite the fact that you are not far from the motorway. The owners are very friendly and helpful. The pub in the next village called The George serve great meals. The one criticism was there were only 2 showers, which we had to queue for and the wait got longer when the bank holiday weekend arrived, and the site became full. Our granddaughter loved the play area that was in the middle of the park which meant we could keep sight of her without having to move.
Chessington Adventure Park great fun and within travelling distance of park.  Good rail link into London from Borough Green, just 2 miles from campsite and only cost £6.20 per adult and £1.00 per child for a day pass which included the underground as well. If any one goes into London and decides to go for a meal at Planet Hollywood be prepared for 12.5% service charge to be automatically added to your bill - ours was over £15 - don't mind giving a tip but I like to decide for myself how much and if deserved.
Overall had a good week.

Previous     79 Reviews in total, now showing 61 to 70      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Kent   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win a Weeks Holiday at Stafford Moor Fishery

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan, Camping & Motorhome Show 19th to 24th Feb, NEC
See the latest ranges of motorhomes, caravans, holiday homes, tents, awnings and accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3226 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019