Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Gate House Wood Touring Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Kent > Sevenoaks > Gate House Wood Touring Park Reviews

Gate House Wood Touring Park
Ford Lane
Wrothah Heath
Sevenoaks
Kent   (Browse area)
TN15 7SD
Tel: 01732 843 062
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 56
Open: 1st Marchto 31st October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 87 Reviews
                9/10 from 87 Reviews

Photos (7)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  87 in total, now showing 61 to 70                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

We are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rentokil123 2 reviews from this member

 What a hidden gem. As a family with small children the design of the campsite couldn't have been better. Being a natural bowl we could sit by our tent and let them safely wander around the play area and site being able to see them the whole time.

The play area was in the centre away from the caravans and adult pitches so you didn't feel you were disturbing anyone. I have never seen cleaner facilities in any campsite and not having to queue or pay extra for hot water was great.

The owners were fantastic in happily arranging our pitch next to our friends. Having large marked pitches was a great touch and meant you had plenty of space and privacy.

They were also refreshingly honest at time of booking informing us that there were cadets on site and would we mind! There are a few walks straight from the campsite but you do need a car really to see all the sites. We were happy to just sit and watch the children have a great weekend.

Obviously your enjoyment of a campsite depends so much on the other campers but everyone was friendly and out most of the day so we had the site to ourselves!

We will be coming back for weekends whenever we want to escape for a night or two.

You can hear the M20 faintly but I didn't notice it after the first 5 minutes of arriving and was completely peaceful at night. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Skinnerc 2 reviews from this member

 This was my first camping trip for many years and we had a blissful weekend here. The new owners (taken over just recently) were incredibly friendly and informative, shame no dogs allowed but they had a dog themselves, lets hope this rule is changed in time.

The site very clean and tidy, the showers and toilets always neat and tidy, hot / warm shower no problem. Washing, washing up, refrigeration facilities available, would definitely return. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Anonamous 7 reviews from this member

 I have just got back from a very nice bank holiday weekend camping trip with my partner at this campsite. It was the 1st time I have been to this campsite and was very pleased with my stay.

The new owners are very nice, easy going and helpful, the plots are very big which it had to be for us as we take an 8 berth huge tent away.

The whole campsite is very clean, well kept and organised. The toilet and shower block is even equipped with a hair dryer which is 20p to use and it has a fridge freezer in the laundry / washing up room which anyone is welcome to use, it also has a nice mostly well stocked shop on site.

When the campsite is busy, you are at close quarters to your neighbours but it didn't bother us very much. What slightly bothered us is that you campsite around the play area so you hear the children shouting and playing all day long but then there is no such thing as a perfect campsite,

You can hear the motorway traffic at night when the campsite goes quiet but that didn't worry us in the slightest, if nothing else I found it quite soothing.

The best pub in the area is called the george but it is about a mile down a dark road but there are 2 closer restaurants that have a bar which are walking distance. I would definitely go back and stay at this campsite because I really enjoyed my 3 night stay here 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Pauln44 1 review from this member

 Had a fantastic time at Gate house wood touring park. A very well kept park, Very clean shower / toilet block with free showers, Spotless laundry / washing up room, well stocked shop, play area looked almost new, consisted of slide swings and see-saw.

Owners were excellent, very friendly and helpful! (even lending us a plug in lead). Would recommend it and hope to visit again. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Peepaul 1 review from this member

 Just stayed one night merely to try out new awning on caravan, not been here before. Found the camp to be well kept, amazed how clean it was evident that pets were not allowed. Loos and showers well equipped and very clean.

No cars allowed to enter after 11pm was a great feature being an ex tenter where other sites have no restrictions to time and for any tenters out there will be very aware of being disturbed with headlights shining in tent and cars wooshing past till early hours whilst trying to sleep.

Family run business who live on site very helpful and very pleasant,so yes looking forward to our next and longer stay. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hever 5 reviews from this member

 Just spent 3 nights in not the best weather but the area seems very sheltered so when the sun came out it was boiling.

Found the whole site to be very clean and tidy, and very nice to see everyone keeping to the quiet time between 11pm and 7am. The pitches were very clearly marked and you were shown to your pitch by the owners.

Have already booked to go again and think this will be a regular place to go. 


Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mugglewuffin 1 review from this member

 Visited this site over Easter, first time back in a couple of years and really pleased to see there are new owners.

The site now has a 'Friendly' 'relaxed' feel about it and Dave and Karen go out of their way to help. The site has been freshened up and is clean and tidy with great facilities.

We will be returning many times this summer and have booked for May Bank Holiday. Highly recommended. 


Date of Visit: October 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jasonshort 5 reviews from this member

 Just got back from a short weekend visit at this site,this is a lovely site with level well spaced pitches,very friendly staff,very clean throughout the site,nice free hot showers,nice area for the kids to play in,shops about 3 miles away,petrol stations at the end of the road,2 pubs which do very nice food within walking distance,i could not fault this site and look forward to another visit 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Shed Unit 2 reviews from this member

 Me and a friend stayed here for one night over the 'War And Peace Show' week. We both thoroughly enjoyed it! We are both amateurs when it comes to camping and everything was nice and simple for us.
Grass was nice and short. The plots were nice and big, plenty of room for our car and the tent. Was slight noise from the main road nearby, but only a terrible sleeper would have been kept awake, and how many of them go camping?!.
There is two showers, two cubicles, plus urinals in the mens, and it was never full, usually I was the only one in there when there seemed to be many groups camping there. Very clean! Made use of the BBQ, may have been a little too close to the washing line as someone had clothes out. We had to eat though!
There's a pub half a mile down the road but we didn't try it. ASDA is a couple of miles away, but I think there is a Tesco's extra closer than that.
The owner was very helpful. He answered all our questions on nearby shops and even the next days weather! If we make the five hour trip again for the show next year we shall certainly be staying here again! 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Leo + Nat 4 reviews from this member

 Good points: Nice site, more or less flat, tidy and clean, surrounded by trees, beautiful countryside. A laundry room contains a freely accessible fridge and freezer which is very helpful. There are picnic tables dotted around the site which is nice.

Downsides: We could hear the noise of the M20, but I didn't think it was too bad. Shop was poorly stocked. Showers were cold, although facilities were otherwise good and clean.

Shop: There was a caravan shop on A20 - when travelling east it's tucked away on the left just before the roundabout into West Malling. We picked up camping gas there, but they also sell tables, chairs and all sorts (including caravans!).

Places to go: Lots of places to visit. West Malling, Kemsing and Otford had several pubs. There is a restaurant on the A20 2 minutes from the site and a pub over the road, but they didn't tempt us. 


Previous     87 Reviews in total, now showing 61 to 70      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Gate House Wood Touring Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Gate House Wood Touring Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Gate House Wood Touring Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Sevenoaks      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Kent

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...





Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1759 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement