Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Gate House Wood Touring Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Kent > Sevenoaks > Gate House Wood Touring Park Reviews

Gate House Wood Touring Park
Ford Lane
Wrothah Heath
Sevenoaks
Kent   (Browse area)
TN15 7SD
Tel: 01732 843 062
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 56
Open: 1st Marchto 31st October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 86 Reviews
                9/10 from 86 Reviews

Photos (7)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  86 in total, now showing 71 to 80                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: September 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ldawes6 1 review from this member

 Only live 5 mins down the road but are first time campers and wanted to try out the new tent! Had a pitch next to our friends (also 1st timers). We had an Outwell Utah 6 which fitted fine on the pitch, the owner did say that he had a few larger ones if needed.
Very well kept site, showers, toilets, washing up area etc very clean. We walked up the steps and around the top of the quarry, made us realise how low down & sheltered we were. Will definitely stay again as it's perfect for a weekend get together with friends and all the kids. 


Date of Visit: September 2007 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Carryoncampers 1 review from this member

 What a wonderful campsite! Extremely friendly and welcoming owners, who saw to our every need during the whole 10 night stay. Nothing was too much trouble, and considering that the site was busy the whole time of our stay (we can understand why!) we had no problems at all with waiting for showers or hot water etc. Very clean and well kept in all areas, lovely large pitches and also very reasonable pitch prices too, compared to some other much lesser quality more expensive local sites we have stayed in. In fact we have returned twice since and look forward to next season where we will be sure to be visiting again. 


Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Weekend_ray 6 reviews from this member

 We find this site ideal because it is 45 minutes drive from home in South London and although we travel about, we are always keen to spend the occasional weekend here. There is always someone about to help, the staff are always welcoming.
The facilities are as good as anywhere and the atmosphere is relaxed.
It is sited in an old quarry, so the chalk can be awkward on those precious pegs, but look at it this way - it drained pretty well during the wet weather. It's a nice pleasant walk for the children. In addition, there are two pubs very nearby and a Chinese restaurant for good measure - that is if you want a break from the camp fire.
If you've young children, they'll love it. The playground's nothing special, but there's room for them to play and have fun.
Yes, we can think of advantages of other sites, but we'll return here 


Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Lucas 6 reviews from this member

 A lovely clean site with very helpful friendly owners. 
We used this site as an emergency stopover as we has broken down on the way to France and had to stay over until the car was fixed.
The owners were very friendly and slotted us in very last minute. They also offered us help if we needed to contact anybody, eg ferry or campsite in France due to our delay.
 
The site itself was nice and flat with grass cut well and the pitches were spacious and well set out around the play area in the middle.  Toilet block was clean, as was the washing up area.  Only complaint was the showers (cold) but when you are desperate who cares!
 
Shop had the usual essentials and came in handy.
 
The site is situated just off a very busy road and the country lane it was on also seemed busy with no proper pavement to walk up to the pub.  This didn't bother us as we were just so grateful for somewhere to stay but I do not know what it would have been like staying there for a long holiday as we do not know the area as are from Manchester.  However, you don't seem to notice the traffic noise from the main road as the site is surrounded by high banking (I take it was a disused quarry), this made it seem like a little haven away from the main road.
 
Would definitely use again and would recommend especially for short stopovers enroute to other places (eg Dover ferry port)! 


Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Debbie1971 6 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from ten fun filled, relaxing days at this site.

Contrary to the previous review we found this site welcoming and friendly. The owners seemed more than happy to accommodate our individual needs, even reopening the site shop at night to allow us to replenish our stock of washing up liquid! The whole team at this site were always ready to assist with helping the holiday run smoothly.

The pitch sizes are very spacious, a distance between units is obligatory but the owners were more than happy to help with the siting of the tent. The pitches drained very quickly and the whole site is kept very clean and tidy, bins emptied twice a day when necessary.

The children were made to feel very welcome and were allowed to be children too - riding bikes, playing on the play area and exploring the surrounding wooded area. They were also allowed to play ball games or similar as long as they respected the other campers on the site.

There is a washing up and laundry room that has fridge freezer, washing machines and tumble dryers in (there is a charge for the machines). There was plenty of available space to dry the clothes: washing line and numerous airers. The fridge freezer facilities were free and I have to say none of our items walked.

The site shop stocks the essentials for both food and camping. There is also an information centre that holds tourist leaflets, takeaway menus and emergency telephone numbers.

The local shops were a short car ride away in West Malling, local shops and a Tesco Express. The owners recommended 'The George' a local pub, the food was good quality with a home cooked style. The pub also offered a play area for the children too.

For bad weather, the local swimming pool - Larkfield - has shoots and flumes.

I would highly recommend this site for families and couples alike. We will be returning! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Aston666 3 reviews from this member

 Visited site with friends - site not very busy. Found new owners quite unfriendly and not very helpful or accommodating. There were alot of aggressive wasps around because the site is set in a quarry; most of us got stung and some more than once.
The facilities were good - but could be cleaner and better maintained. The fridge freezer was filthy with quite alot of old food in which we had to throw out. The washing line was broken and us campers tried to rig up a makeshift one with the half that was left! It is not really possible to go for walks around this area as there is a main road in one direction and a country road that has heavy goods vehicles that drive down it which was dangerous for walkers. Shops and pubs nearby are more easily accessible by car. 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Kath Galloway 3 reviews from this member

  Site peaceful despite the fact that you are not far from the motorway. The owners are very friendly and helpful. The pub in the next village called The George serve great meals. The one criticism was there were only 2 showers, which we had to queue for and the wait got longer when the bank holiday weekend arrived, and the site became full. Our granddaughter loved the play area that was in the middle of the park which meant we could keep sight of her without having to move.
Chessington Adventure Park great fun and within travelling distance of park.  Good rail link into London from Borough Green, just 2 miles from campsite and only cost £6.20 per adult and £1.00 per child for a day pass which included the underground as well. If any one goes into London and decides to go for a meal at Planet Hollywood be prepared for 12.5% service charge to be automatically added to your bill - ours was over £15 - don't mind giving a tip but I like to decide for myself how much and if deserved.
Overall had a good week. 


Date of Visit: May 2006 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Viper2006 4 reviews from this member

 After purchasing a Folding Camper, we chose Gate house as our first location for using it. Not far from home, easy access, nice & quiet, good facilities - kids loved the children's play area. Only saw them a couple of times during the day as they made loads of friends. Owners were polite & helpful (as were all the campers). Would recommend to anyone. Going back shortly 


Date of Visit: May 2006 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Minnie1 4 reviews from this member

 Just picked up our folding camper and wanted to try it out for the night not far from home, hence gave this site a go. What a nice surprise. Friendly welcome on arrival which is always a good sign. It is perfect for small children, nice and quiet. Playground in the middle so you can see them all the time. Barrier entrance so you feel secure. Showers nice and powerful and good hairdryer. Even have a fridge freezer campers can use. Washing machines etc and a shop on site. Plenty of food places nearby including a Beefeater. Also only a few miles from a huge Sunday bootfair. We will definitely be regulars now. To think we usually drive about 90 minutes to the coast and this was only 20 minutes from home for us. Ideal for a relaxing break. 


Date of Visit: September 2005
Reviewer: Shaleylla 2 reviews from this member

 I have just spent a very enjoyable weekend at this site. The owners are really friendly and helpful. When I told them I was backpacking, and asked about local bus services, the woman printed off loads of bus routes and timetables for me, and had them ready before I arrived!

The toilets and showers are really clean and have shower curtains and a seat too. The pitches are a really good size and are all flat. Drainage is good. There are some with ehu and some without.
There is a play park for children in the middle so you can see the children at all times. There is a laundry room and washing up room, with bowls too. They have a fridge freezer that you may use, free of charge. The shop sells gas and a limited amount of food items. They also ask if you want a paper ordered for the next day.

There are buses to various places which stop on the main road, with links to stations. But please note, No buses on Sundays. There are two petrol stations near by. Shops are: a co-op in Borough Green and a small Tesco in West Malling, so buy what you need on the way or take with you.

Igtham Mote is a short journey away and a really nice day out, and also down the other end of seven mile lane, there is the Hop Farm. This not only is a great day out on it's own, but often hosts special events, like War and Peace, Monster Truck show and many others.

All in all a lovely site, lovely owners, and I will be going back again. 


Previous     86 Reviews in total, now showing 71 to 80      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Gate House Wood Touring Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Gate House Wood Touring Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Gate House Wood Touring Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Sevenoaks      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Kent

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 09/10 to 11/10
A three day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties set in Looe in Cornwall. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2548 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement