Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Gate House Wood Touring Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Kent > Sevenoaks > Gate House Wood Touring Park Reviews

Gate House Wood Touring Park
Ford Lane
Wrothah Heath
Sevenoaks
Kent   (Browse area)
TN15 7SD
Tel: 01732 843 062
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 56
Open: 1st Marchto 31st October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 86 Reviews
                9/10 from 86 Reviews

Photos (7)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  86 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Dave+trace 17 reviews from this member

 We cant recommend this site enough, we've had 2 stops here in 12 months,

We use it as an overnight stop on the way to Dover as it is only 1 hour away, its so convenient, just off the M25/M20,

The owners cant do enough for you, great facilities, and a beefeater pub, Chinese restaurant and garage a short walk away.

In our experience the nearby motorways do not cause any disturbance. For longer stays the site is located to several local attractions including brands hatch.

The owners have set up an arrangement for the local Indian restaurant to deliver ! We are guaranteed to return. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Seaswig 1 review from this member

 This was our first trip out in our camper van. We arrived to the sun shining, and very friendly, and helpful owners.

Nothing was too much trouble and we were made very welcome.

The shop is very reasonable, with a good supply of everything you need.

The showers are immaculate,and there is constant hot water.

Also the utility room is wonderful. You can wash up, or use the washing machines for your clothes.

They even let you use a fridge freezer for your stuff free of charge.

The owners are experienced campers & have met all the essential criteria that you need when out in the sticks.

Nice part of the country with lots to see and do.

Would highly recommend to all.

We met some lovely people on the site too! Everybody was great.

Thank you for a lovely weekend. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rubyrose 2 reviews from this member

 We spent two nights here last year in a tent.

First overall impressions were good, site was clean, well kept.

After pitching our tent, with two young children, we found the site to be 'not too child friendly'! Owner complained to us that the kids had left balls outside the play area, which was situated in the centre of the field! Also, complained and turned the children away for visiting the site shop alone, even though they were in view of our tent and no more than a few feet away. Also, after using the shower block, the owner seemed to be right behind us with his mop and bucket, waiting to clean up behind us.

Very pressured stay, won't be returning! 


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Lloyd Ball 1 review from this member

 Just returned from a fantastic weekend at this site. The owners are very friendly and helpful, no complaints when my 3 yr old dropped the soap down the drain.Enclosed amongst trees, the feeling of being in the middle of nowhere yet 2 mins from a major motorway was a spectacular feeling. The toilet/shower blocks are warm and clean (they even SMELL clean). Lots of room for the little 'un to play and run about as well as the walk up round the site through the woods. Be aware! a thief operates in the site (me thinks a fox) as a pair of flip flops mysteriously disappeared.If you like to get out on the bikes be prepared for some hills as we found out halfway up one.Would recommend this site to all who likes a bit of peace and quiet or for somewhere to park up and go exploring. 


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bolandx6 1 review from this member

 This was our first camping experience. It was a very clean and tidy site. Staff were friendly. Showers/toilets were clean. The playground was good for older children but not for younger ones. You can hear the M20 which could be quite loud if the wind was going in your direction. It was great having the picnic benches dotted around for people to use. Only criticism was that on the second time we visited, when we went to wash up our plates etc. On the day we left, there wasn't any hot water so we had to take it home dirty. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Linda B11 5 reviews from this member

 We really enjoyed our eleven nights stay in August. The owners could not have been more friendly and helpful throughout our visit. The site itself is ideally located close to the M20 but in a country location. There is some traffic noise but we did become accustomed to it and it did not bother us.

There is a wooden play park in the central area of the site which our three year old enjoyed and we were able to keep a watchful eye from our pitch. The shower and toilet block were cleaned daily, were always warm and although only two showers I never had to queue. There is a dish washing area, washing machines, dryer and outdoor clothes airer. The shop was well stocked.

All was quiet on an evening by 11.00 pm. We would love to return next year and I would not hesitate to recommend. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Hever 5 reviews from this member

 This was our third visit to this site and have previously gone before just as a couple but this time went with grandchildren and although previously found it ideal I think at busy times like bank holidays etc this site really could do with more than two showers, queued for 40 minutes one morning,

The toilets and showers are shut at 11am for cleaning and had too wait approx two hours for them to re-open although there was a small toilet block near the reception.

The playground is aimed at older children, maybe it would be better just being an adult site as it really more suited for adults who want to just sit back and relax.

Found asda which was only a couple of miles away. Maidstone is not far either but you do have to drive everywhere.May return but certainly wouldn't take the grandchildren again. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lsj34 9 reviews from this member

 An excellent site I can backup all the good points made on previous reviews some really nice touches such as communal fridge freezer, washing line, brick bbq's and the owners are really great and nothing is too much trouble.

A beefeater pub in short walking distance and the road noise mentioned on previous reviews really was not a prob and we live in a quiet cul de sac so thought it might be to us. I did'nt get to the showers untill about 10am and they were tepid at best so probably good idea to get there earlier.

Only two things that may stop us returning their rules of no ball games allowed (don't think this would have hurt in the playground area as there was enough space around) and no burning of wood allowed as we like a good campfire but to be fair these rules were clearly posted on their website so we knew this in advance. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: PinkLizzy73 4 reviews from this member

 This was my very first ever camping trip & the site was just great for us & I also got the bug for camping now

We was welcomed by friendly staff & then was showed to our pitch & told us where everything was, it seemed a friendly site for people with family’s, as there was a good few family’s there while we was, there was a play area for the kids.

We used it to visit eagle heights while also meeting one of my friends who lives in the area. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rentokil123 2 reviews from this member

 What a hidden gem. As a family with small children the design of the campsite couldn't have been better. Being a natural bowl we could sit by our tent and let them safely wander around the play area and site being able to see them the whole time.

The play area was in the centre away from the caravans and adult pitches so you didn't feel you were disturbing anyone. I have never seen cleaner facilities in any campsite and not having to queue or pay extra for hot water was great.

The owners were fantastic in happily arranging our pitch next to our friends. Having large marked pitches was a great touch and meant you had plenty of space and privacy.

They were also refreshingly honest at time of booking informing us that there were cadets on site and would we mind! There are a few walks straight from the campsite but you do need a car really to see all the sites. We were happy to just sit and watch the children have a great weekend.

Obviously your enjoyment of a campsite depends so much on the other campers but everyone was friendly and out most of the day so we had the site to ourselves!

We will be coming back for weekends whenever we want to escape for a night or two.

You can hear the M20 faintly but I didn't notice it after the first 5 minutes of arriving and was completely peaceful at night. 


Previous     86 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Gate House Wood Touring Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Gate House Wood Touring Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Gate House Wood Touring Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Sevenoaks      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Kent

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 09/10 to 11/10
A three day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties set in Looe in Cornwall. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2730 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement