Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Gate House Wood Touring Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South East > Kent > Site Reviews

Gate House Wood Touring Park
Ford Lane
Wrothah Heath
Sevenoaks
Kent   (Browse area)
TN15 7SD
Tel: 01732 843 062
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 56
Open: 1st Marchto 31st October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 81 Reviews
                9/10 from 81 Reviews

Photos (7)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf 1 mile   Tennis 5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  81 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Linda B11 5 reviews from this member

We really enjoyed our eleven nights stay in August. The owners could not have been more friendly and helpful throughout our visit. The site itself is ideally located close to the M20 but in a country location. There is some traffic noise but we did become accustomed to it and it did not bother us.

There is a wooden play park in the central area of the site which our three year old enjoyed and we were able to keep a watchful eye from our pitch. The shower and toilet block were cleaned daily, were always warm and although only two showers I never had to queue. There is a dish washing area, washing machines, dryer and outdoor clothes airer. The shop was well stocked.

All was quiet on an evening by 11.00 pm. We would love to return next year and I would not hesitate to recommend.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Hever 5 reviews from this member

This was our third visit to this site and have previously gone before just as a couple but this time went with grandchildren and although previously found it ideal I think at busy times like bank holidays etc this site really could do with more than two showers, queued for 40 minutes one morning,

The toilets and showers are shut at 11am for cleaning and had too wait approx two hours for them to re-open although there was a small toilet block near the reception.

The playground is aimed at older children, maybe it would be better just being an adult site as it really more suited for adults who want to just sit back and relax.

Found asda which was only a couple of miles away. Maidstone is not far either but you do have to drive everywhere.May return but certainly wouldn't take the grandchildren again.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lsj34 9 reviews from this member

An excellent site I can backup all the good points made on previous reviews some really nice touches such as communal fridge freezer, washing line, brick bbq's and the owners are really great and nothing is too much trouble.

A beefeater pub in short walking distance and the road noise mentioned on previous reviews really was not a prob and we live in a quiet cul de sac so thought it might be to us. I did'nt get to the showers untill about 10am and they were tepid at best so probably good idea to get there earlier.

Only two things that may stop us returning their rules of no ball games allowed (don't think this would have hurt in the playground area as there was enough space around) and no burning of wood allowed as we like a good campfire but to be fair these rules were clearly posted on their website so we knew this in advance.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: PinkLizzy73 4 reviews from this member

This was my very first ever camping trip & the site was just great for us & I also got the bug for camping now

We was welcomed by friendly staff & then was showed to our pitch & told us where everything was, it seemed a friendly site for people with family’s, as there was a good few family’s there while we was, there was a play area for the kids.

We used it to visit eagle heights while also meeting one of my friends who lives in the area.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Rentokil123 2 reviews from this member

What a hidden gem. As a family with small children the design of the campsite couldn't have been better. Being a natural bowl we could sit by our tent and let them safely wander around the play area and site being able to see them the whole time.

The play area was in the centre away from the caravans and adult pitches so you didn't feel you were disturbing anyone. I have never seen cleaner facilities in any campsite and not having to queue or pay extra for hot water was great.

The owners were fantastic in happily arranging our pitch next to our friends. Having large marked pitches was a great touch and meant you had plenty of space and privacy.

They were also refreshingly honest at time of booking informing us that there were cadets on site and would we mind! There are a few walks straight from the campsite but you do need a car really to see all the sites. We were happy to just sit and watch the children have a great weekend.

Obviously your enjoyment of a campsite depends so much on the other campers but everyone was friendly and out most of the day so we had the site to ourselves!

We will be coming back for weekends whenever we want to escape for a night or two.

You can hear the M20 faintly but I didn't notice it after the first 5 minutes of arriving and was completely peaceful at night.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Skinnerc 2 reviews from this member

This was my first camping trip for many years and we had a blissful weekend here. The new owners (taken over just recently) were incredibly friendly and informative, shame no dogs allowed but they had a dog themselves, lets hope this rule is changed in time.

The site very clean and tidy, the showers and toilets always neat and tidy, hot / warm shower no problem. Washing, washing up, refrigeration facilities available, would definitely return.

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Anonamous 7 reviews from this member

I have just got back from a very nice bank holiday weekend camping trip with my partner at this campsite. It was the 1st time I have been to this campsite and was very pleased with my stay.

The new owners are very nice, easy going and helpful, the plots are very big which it had to be for us as we take an 8 berth huge tent away.

The whole campsite is very clean, well kept and organised. The toilet and shower block is even equipped with a hair dryer which is 20p to use and it has a fridge freezer in the laundry / washing up room which anyone is welcome to use, it also has a nice mostly well stocked shop on site.

When the campsite is busy, you are at close quarters to your neighbours but it didn't bother us very much. What slightly bothered us is that you campsite around the play area so you hear the children shouting and playing all day long but then there is no such thing as a perfect campsite,

You can hear the motorway traffic at night when the campsite goes quiet but that didn't worry us in the slightest, if nothing else I found it quite soothing.

The best pub in the area is called the george but it is about a mile down a dark road but there are 2 closer restaurants that have a bar which are walking distance. I would definitely go back and stay at this campsite because I really enjoyed my 3 night stay here

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Pauln44 1 review from this member

Had a fantastic time at Gate house wood touring park. A very well kept park, Very clean shower / toilet block with free showers, Spotless laundry / washing up room, well stocked shop, play area looked almost new, consisted of slide swings and see-saw.

Owners were excellent, very friendly and helpful! (even lending us a plug in lead). Would recommend it and hope to visit again.

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Peepaul 1 review from this member

Just stayed one night merely to try out new awning on caravan, not been here before. Found the camp to be well kept, amazed how clean it was evident that pets were not allowed. Loos and showers well equipped and very clean.

No cars allowed to enter after 11pm was a great feature being an ex tenter where other sites have no restrictions to time and for any tenters out there will be very aware of being disturbed with headlights shining in tent and cars wooshing past till early hours whilst trying to sleep.

Family run business who live on site very helpful and very pleasant,so yes looking forward to our next and longer stay.

Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Hever 5 reviews from this member

Just spent 3 nights in not the best weather but the area seems very sheltered so when the sun came out it was boiling.

Found the whole site to be very clean and tidy, and very nice to see everyone keeping to the quiet time between 11pm and 7am. The pitches were very clearly marked and you were shown to your pitch by the owners.

Have already booked to go again and think this will be a regular place to go.

Previous     81 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Kent

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3770 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019