Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Gate House Wood Touring Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Kent > Sevenoaks > Gate House Wood Touring Park Reviews

Gate House Wood Touring Park
Ford Lane
Wrothah Heath
Sevenoaks
Kent   (Browse area)
TN15 7SD
Tel: 01732 843 062
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 56
Open: 1st Marchto 31st October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 85 Reviews
                9/10 from 85 Reviews

Photos (7)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  85 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Katyed85800mah 1 review from this member

 We picked this site as we were visiting family in the area. We found the facilities to be very clean and the owners had organised well according to covid restrictions.

The site has a quiet rule between 10pm and 7am and we were relieved to find that this was indeed the case. We could hear traffic but it was far enough away not to disturb our sleep.

The kids enjoyed the swings! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Thewizard 5 reviews from this member

 Another great week at Gate House really lovely site clean facilities lovely welcoming staff

Aside from another couples dog being of the lead and leaving us a parcel we had a good week here wardens dealt with dog but dog owners were not very co operative some people spoil it for other dog owners. The wardens diplomacy was admirable

Looking forward to next season 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Michel16869vwc 5 reviews from this member

 This site is very clean and tidy and pleasant to the eye. It is just off the motorway which has it's for and against. The shop is very well stocked.

The pitches were a good size and the walks around and about were lovely. However, we didn't have a good experience at this site as we found it not to be dog nor child-friendly.

Our children were very well behaved and we were all in bed by 8. 30 and off-site for 5 out of the 6 days. The constant reminder of rules left us walking on eggshells even asking the children not to laugh to loud.

The site is surrounded by busy roads and you can hear both the A20 and the M26 as well as being in the Gatwick flight path.

I would not recommend this site if you are a family with young children, a women on your own or friends wanting a laugh. It is ideal for older couples.

There are many extras you have to pay for too. Had I read the reviews I would have known that it would not be suitable. Lesson learnt, do your homework. 


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Denisebr 9 reviews from this member

 This was our second visit to this site and we were not disappointed.

Once again we arrived early at noon and were able to go to our pitch as they were not busy. This was very helpful and we were meeting a friend for lunch.

The staff were very friendly and indicated where everything was. All facilities were very clean. We did not use any of the waste points.

We pitched on the grass which was firm and had no problem when leaving. 


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Ivanharding 1 review from this member

 This review is mainly for dog owners - if you don't have a dog then the other reviews here describe this nice little caravan park well.

If you do own a dog, we wouldn't recommend this park. Whilst dogs are allowed, it is not particularly dog friendly. You are not allowed to walk your dog on a lead anywhere outside of your pitch unless you are walking offsite. This is not an idle warning, it is enforced by the warden! Late night wees require you to leave the park or somehow cajole your dog to do their magic in your pitch.

There is advertised as a woodland walk adjacent to the park. However to get there, you have to walk 150m down an unlit road that has no path and traffic can travel fast. This wasn't suitable at all for our nervous dog, particularly at night when the road was pitch black. Once you get to the woodland footpath, it's only about 400m long before you hit another main road (the A20) and have to walk back to the site. If you have an energetic dog that needs to be off lead, then the walk isn't going to be enough for them and you need to hop in a car to go somewhere else.

The owners are friendly enough and helpful but we got the feeling they would prefer dogs weren't here, really. Perhaps they've had trouble in the past.

It's a really nice family friendly park so feel confident if that's what you're looking for but if you have one or more dogs, definitely ring up and chat about the facilities before you commit. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mikey Pat 9 reviews from this member

 The site is in an old quarry and a bit run down just off the A25. The elsan disposal was quite honestly disgusting, dilapidated and filthy.

The waste water disposal was outside the gate and impossible to use, seemed others felt the same and just dumped water in the vicinity. The facilities block was dated but acceptable.

After dark the poor lighting felt a bit worrisome. A few pubs, restaurants nearby, ranging from expensive high quality to Beefeater style.

The staff were very friendly 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lilsy25 1 review from this member

 This is our second time staying at Gate house wood and again we were very happy with our stay. Even though there is a very busy road near by feels very peaceful and calm.

The owners were very welcoming and was happy to help me in the right direction of the nearest supermarket. The site has a small shop which is very useful if your forgotten anything and has great sweets and toys that will keep the kids entertained.

Also there’s a small play area which you can see the kids from anywhere on the site. The toilet and showing block are very clean and the chemical toilet disposal point, has a hose pipe to help with cleaning your waste and had hand wash near by to wash hands after which was a lovely touch !

The pitch sizes are great to, will definitely be returning there in the future. Thank you Gate house wood for another great weekend. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Taylor-Dadd Family 1 review from this member

 We have stayed on this site several times before both as a couple and as a family and have always enjoyed our time here.

We find everyone here friendly and polite. The facilities are always very clean and tidy, no matter what time of day. It is not too noisy and not so big that you are wondering where your children have wandered off to. Both my children loved the play area.

On this occasion we required medical help and the staff couldn't have been more helpful. They really went that extra mile to help us. Thoroughly recommend this site. 


Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Denisebr 9 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for one night after visiting friends for lunch. We arrived at noon before the office opened so parked in the 'Late Arrivals' car park. Fortunately the owners arrived half an hour later as another motorhome had arrived so we were able to pitch before going out for lunch.

Grass pitch was level. The hardstandings seemed to be mainly taken by storage caravans. Site very quiet. Toilet and showers were very clean. There is a room marked 'Laundry' containing two washing machines, two driers and two sinks.

One for hand washing clothes the other for washing up.

All were very clean. There are also play facilities for children. Water and Chemical waste disposal available. Grey water goes on the plants.

Easy access from A20 and there is also a brown camping direction sign just before the turning. 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Thewizard 5 reviews from this member

 Another great long bank holiday weekend at this great family friendly site. The wardens are so friendly.

We love it. Very busy and apart from a couple of birthday celebrations, who thought the rules didn't apply to them, it was great and we look forward to being back in August. 


Previous     85 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Gate House Wood Touring Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Gate House Wood Touring Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Gate House Wood Touring Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Sevenoaks      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Kent

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4540 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement