Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Gate House Wood Touring Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Kent > Sevenoaks > Gate House Wood Touring Park Reviews

Gate House Wood Touring Park
Ford Lane
Wrothah Heath
Sevenoaks
Kent   (Browse area)
TN15 7SD
Tel: 01732 843 062
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 56
Open: 1st Marchto 31st October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 81 Reviews
                9/10 from 81 Reviews

Photos (7)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf 1 mile   Tennis 5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  81 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Katemi01 3 reviews from this member

What a lovely place. Very very clean and small enough that the children can have a lot of independence. Showers always very hot and toilets always very clean.

Lovely wooded surround, shop stocks everything one needs in an emergency. We only stayed for two nights and was great for everything we needed.

The owners clearly care very much about the service they provide. Lovely little touches like a fridge and washing line provided.

Really enjoyed it here - top tip, only soft foam footballs are allowed for children to play with!

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Nitaylor02 1 review from this member

Stayed at this campsite for 2 nights with my husband and son. We were visiting Brands Hatch for the weekend and this site was only a 10 minute drive from the circuit.

The site itself was very well maintained, lovely big pitches (no worries that our 8ft tent might not fit!) Shower/toilet block was lovely and clean, nice hot powerful showers!

The little play park was perfectly situated in the middle so no matter where you pitch, you can watch the children.

A folder is available in the kitchen area with sample menus from local pubs and takeaways and another with local places to visit, as well as a good choice of books for you to borrow.

When we arrived, Dave showed us to our pitch and explained some of the site rules. He even lent us a mains hook up after we brought the wrong one! Both Dave and Karen are very welcoming and helpful.

Overall this was a lovely, well kept and welcoming campsite and we will definitely be returning!

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Momoses 1 review from this member

My son has stayed here a couple of times and said it's really nice.

So we came down for the weekend with our unit as well and yes it is a very well kept site very clean and tidy toilets are spotless the owners work very hard to make your stay relaxing and friendly.

The shop is very well stocked and keenly priced no need to go shopping for anything. They have all the info for eating out and visting local places.

And their local butcher does some wicked burgars, chicken lamb and do try the sausages note always fresh delivered you can order the papers as well for next day.

If your leaving Mon or Tues you can buy a sausage & bacon Freshly cooked bap for a £1 saves all the cooking just another lovely touch to a lovely site

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mitchell1 1 review from this member

We have just spent 3 nights at Gate House Wood and can confidently say we will be returning to this campsite. We received a very warm welcome from Dave and Karen on arrival and they were on hand throughout our stay if needed.

On arrival Dave guided us to our pitch and explained the site rules and facilities.

The site is well taken care of and the kitchen and toilet / shower blocks were always clean with plenty of hot water.

Our daughter (9) made new friends quickly and the play area was ideally located allowing parents to watch from afar whilst given her a little independence. In an ideal world a few more toddler friendly play equipment would have been great for our 19 month old but having said that it certainly didnít spoil our stay.

On our departure day Dave organised a leavers breakfast. This consisted of large Sausage or bacon baps for a £1. The smell of this cooking first thing in the morning was heaven especially as it was wet and a bit cold. This was great value for money considering the quality products used. This was a real treat at the end of a lovely break.

The site has a well stocked shop but major towns are close by if you want to venture out.

Keep up the good work and we hope to be back very soon.

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Sweetenham 1 review from this member

We have just returned from two nights at this site. The owners were exceptionally helpful and pleasant, nothing was too much trouble.

The site itself was perfect for us. Facilities were clean, site was quiet at night, shop particularly good, eating places within walking distance if needed.

The setting is rural but with access to main routes and being an old quarry there was no need for hard standing even though we had a motorcaravan.

Although we no longer holiday with children the site was perfect for families with five to ten year olds who just want to play together safely with new found friends.

A visit to Ightham Mote rounded off the weekend.

Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Cufcbarside 68 reviews from this member

That will teach us for not following the instructions for the campsite on the website. The prince of darkness knew it was arrivals from 1400 only and arrived at 1330 and had to wait. Read the instructions ! !

What do we think then, some thoughts to share with you all.

Watch the sat nav directions to here. Make sure you use the main road and not the side road off the main drag from the motorway down to the campsite

Some site bits then, water could have been a bit warmer it was ok but a couple of degrees warmer would have been nice, water pressure is excellent though so get ready for a good dosing !

Some of the site rules were not enforced as others so watch out for the site football matches

We did find this a good site although, the pitches were big and well sized, the shop looks well stocked with bits, the site owners seemed pleasant enough and its nicely located in a good area to explore around. There is some noise from the motorway but its not that bad

'Woody' is an interesting item for the site. He is a fox that appears and has been known to remove articles from pitches for his personal collection such as shoes / flip flops etc. There are warnings up asking not to feed him or thrown food out and to advise the site if he is seen.

We didn't see hear but we heard him ! he is quite noisy

There is a well thought out play area for the kids with the soft landing material and what appeared to be soft bark type which helps avoid those grazed knees and subsequent tears

There is an interesting walk around the top of the quarry which overlooks the campsite

The curry delivered to the site was really nice as well and within walking distance is a pub and chinese as well

This is a good value for money site that is in an old quarry, the owners have done some good work on it and its on the way up. One or two little bits and it has the potential to be an excellent campsite.

The big question then is would we go back, we think so

Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ddmjackson 1 review from this member

We made our first trip in our new caravan over the bank holiday weekend and chose the site at Gate House Wood as it had pretty good write ups. Access to the site was easy to negotiate and we were happy with the initial 'look' of the site - tidy and well kept.

After booking in, the owner, Dave, guided us to our pitch. He then helped me get the new van into our pitch by giving some directions (welcome for a new caravan owner).

The pitch itself was more than ample for us and was clearly marked out. The site itself is set in a deep bowl, well sheltered from the wind.

The play area in the centre of the camping area enabled us to keep an eye on our 6 yr old without 'cramping her style' with her new friends.

Other points worth noting were that the toilet/shower block was one of the cleanest we have experienced in the UK and the other facilities such as the EHU, waste disposal and shop all met our needs.

As I mentioned before, this was the first time we had used our new van and was an opportunity to test all the new gadgets, etc. Dave was really helpful with a couple of teething problems on the van, even to the point of finding me a couple of waste pipes from his garage so that I could test and use the wastemaster.

All in all a good weekend (even though the weather was pants) and we even managed to fit in a Chinese lunch buffet at Mings, which was a 10 min walk from the campsite.

Keep up the good work

Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Unibrow123 4 reviews from this member

I decided only last minute to have a couple of nights away with just myself and my daughter over the bank holiday weekend. Firstly to get out of London for a couple of days into the fresh country air but also to give my wife a bit of time to herself. Being the easter bank holiday weekend I did not expect many sites to have vacant pitches.

After speaking to a very nice and helpful lady over the phone she assured me they would have pitch ready for me within the hour. Just a short drive from where I live I arrived and was very happy with what I saw.

Not the biggest of sites but perfectly situated in the middle of what I think was a disused quarry, surrounded by trees and shrub land it is ideal.

Very clean and tidy reception and equally clean and tidy shower blocks all within easy walking distance from your unit.

The lady at reception who I believe to be the owner was very polite and helpful and even assisted me back my caravan into the appropriate space.

After little more then 20 minutes my young daughter of only 4 had made friends with the other children on site and she was gone for most the day. Being surrounded by steep hillsides I felt very happy to let my daughter run off and play as I felt the site was very secure.

I would definitely stay at this site again and would say it ideal more for families and less for the older folk who want quiet child free zones.

Date of Visit: March 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Allun13 16 reviews from this member

This was a 'first of the year to check out our new bits we've bought trip'

We decided to use Gate House Wood Touring Park as the reviews have praised it and it's only 35 Mins from home.

Also it looked just the type of site we like - basically in a Forest!

We were met by one of the owners and shown to our pitch. He was very charming and informed us of the do's and don'ts.

The electric Hook up was a fair way from the tent and we did struggle with it reaching. Make sure the hookup is within reasonable reach or you'll be on Batteries.

There is a well stocked shop and the Toilets/Shower Block were absolutely immaculate. Washing up facilities are first class and it has washer, driers Ironing board and iron etc.

Make sure you are off site by 1pm as the owners are at lunch from 1-2 and you will have to wait for your £10 deposit return on the the barrier Key.

A very good site.

Date of Visit: October 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Kevin Fear 11 reviews from this member

Just returned from this site having spent 2 nights there with our RV style motor-home and must say we were very impressed.

The owners could not have been more helpful in siting our large camper (9. 5m) on a very firm pitch overlooking the site. Easy access from the M20/M26 and a very convenient stopover for Dover/Folkestone.

The facilities were both modern and very clean; there is also access to clothes washing facilities should you require them. 2 pubs/restaurants within easy walking distance.

Motor-home dump station is a welcome addition and even has the proper connection for the RV sewer hose! On site shop selling all essentials and more (Cumberland sausages are great!)

Childrens play area ideally located in the centre of the park. Would happily recommend this site and hope to visit again.

Previous     81 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Kent

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3861 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019