Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Gate House Wood Touring Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Kent > Sevenoaks > Gate House Wood Touring Park Reviews

Gate House Wood Touring Park
Ford Lane
Wrothah Heath
Sevenoaks
Kent   (Browse area)
TN15 7SD
Tel: 01732 843 062
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 56
Open: 1st Marchto 31st October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 86 Reviews
                9/10 from 86 Reviews

Photos (7)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  86 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: October 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Jw1992 2 reviews from this member

 Saw this site on Motorhome channel & thought it would be ideal for our first trip in recently purchased motorhome as only 40 minutes from home & we weren't wrong!

The site is very pretty & well cared for, we received a warm welcome & were not only shown to our pitch but guided in as well.

The shower/toilet block was very clean & the water piping hot.

As site in quarry need good booster/aerial to receive tv signal. Electric hook up was fair way luckly we had long lead, looking around we saw this depended on which plot you were on. Although we didn't have children with us the playground was well placed for those that do right in middle.

The site shop is open 9am til 5pm & although we didn't purchase anything it seemed to have all the essentials & more.

Less than 10 minutes walk from site is restaurant, a Beefeater/pub, The Ming-chinese restaurant & a petrol station. There are bus stops near site but at this time of year there is no weekend service on any of the routes :-( but we managed to get to Knowle House Sevenoaks by walking & 2 trains as we didn't want to drive (all part of the adventure)!

Thoroughly recommend this site. 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Thewizard 5 reviews from this member

 What a great site. Flat pitch good size, facilities very clean warm and loads of hot water. Great shop well stocked and the owners are always there if needed. We felt very secure here. The kids loved the play ground and we witnessed the owners dealing with a very drunk and disturbed individual, they put themselves at risk and dealt with him very professionally to protect the site and its visitors, we have to commend them and will be here again very soon. All round great site 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Suziejat27 1 review from this member

 We have just returned from Gate House Wood Touring Park. We were very dubious about camping as this was our first time. The owners were very friendly and welcoming from the start and made us feel at ease. We were guided to our pitch, which was huge for our 6 berth tent and the electric hook up was close for access and lit up so we did not fall over it in the night!

Toilet/shower block was amazingly clean, bright and smelt pleasant too. Washing up area was clean with washers and dryers plus added bonus of fridge freezer. The site also featured a play area for the children which was well maintained.

The owners recycle most waste and bins are clearly marked. There are also two brick bbq's located on site. There is a shop on site which was very well stocked and reasonably priced. Site is situated in an old quarry and is sheltered by trees, if using a tent I would suggest stronger tent pegs as the ground is very hard in some areas and many of our pegs bent.

Overall we had a great time and the site was very pretty. We are definitely going again next year. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Keelere 2 reviews from this member

 This was our first ever camping trip. We didn't go too far from home, about 45 mins drive.

We forgot lots of stuff, but learnt lots for next time, and met lots of nice people.

Loved the layout of the site with a play park in the middle, so we could see our children whilst putting up the tent. (Note we didn't argue putting tent up or down. Bonus! Considering we were complete novices).

Stayed 3 nights.

Excellent facilities. Toilets were cleaned regularly and cleaned well. My daughters (5&8 years) enjoyed mopping the floor after their showers (even if they'd not showered they wanted to mop the floor! Perhaps I should keep a mop and bucket in the corner at home?).

We had fab weather which made it special.

The shop was good and reasonably priced if you forget anything.

Unfortunately the first night there was a party in the neighbouring field which had music blaring and DJ speaking (we could hear every word) until 2am.

We took our bikes but not many local places to cycle - without driving first.

We did go to shorne woods country park to cycle one day but got eaten alive by swamp bugs! Please take lots of mozzie spray with you if you go there. It has a lovely cafe though; we had amazing pizzas!

We also visited Tonbridge swimming pool one day - it's an outside and inside one - connected! Tonbridge castle is close by and beautiful. The pool has a small steam train out the front run by volunteers - very sweet.

Wouldn't recommend the local beefeater (royal oak) either as we went there one evening; we all had horrid meals and then we were overcharged for the experience!

Would definitely recommend campsite: most fun! 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: MadMum1972 11 reviews from this member

 I have just had my first solo run away with my two children, aged six and four. I chose Gate House Wood as the reviews all looked good and it was only 20 minutes from home, should I encounter any problems.

We had a fantastic time, the children loved the play area and were very quick to make friends. The staff were friendly, the pitches a good size, the toilets and showers were clean and there were good washing up and laundry facilities. There was also a nice touch with magazines and books for campers to use.

My four year old loved the little on site shop, which had an amazing amount of useful stock in there! She particularly loved the different mix of sweets and being able to pick them out herself, just like the old 10p mix ups we all used to have!

Although we live near to the area we discovered a beautiful park in West Malling that we have never been to. It had a great play area for the children, and a nice cycle track and footpath along the side of the lake.

We had a perfect visit, my children cried when we had to leave. We had a walk around the woods in the top of the site, which was looked upon as a jungle adventure by my two!

I couldn't have wished for a more pleasant experience and we will definitely be returning. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Katemi01 3 reviews from this member

 What a lovely place. Very very clean and small enough that the children can have a lot of independence. Showers always very hot and toilets always very clean.

Lovely wooded surround, shop stocks everything one needs in an emergency. We only stayed for two nights and was great for everything we needed.

The owners clearly care very much about the service they provide. Lovely little touches like a fridge and washing line provided.

Really enjoyed it here - top tip, only soft foam footballs are allowed for children to play with! 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nitaylor02 1 review from this member

 Stayed at this campsite for 2 nights with my husband and son. We were visiting Brands Hatch for the weekend and this site was only a 10 minute drive from the circuit.

The site itself was very well maintained, lovely big pitches (no worries that our 8ft tent might not fit!) Shower/toilet block was lovely and clean, nice hot powerful showers!

The little play park was perfectly situated in the middle so no matter where you pitch, you can watch the children.

A folder is available in the kitchen area with sample menus from local pubs and takeaways and another with local places to visit, as well as a good choice of books for you to borrow.

When we arrived, Dave showed us to our pitch and explained some of the site rules. He even lent us a mains hook up after we brought the wrong one! Both Dave and Karen are very welcoming and helpful.

Overall this was a lovely, well kept and welcoming campsite and we will definitely be returning! 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Momoses 1 review from this member

 My son has stayed here a couple of times and said it's really nice.

So we came down for the weekend with our unit as well and yes it is a very well kept site very clean and tidy toilets are spotless the owners work very hard to make your stay relaxing and friendly.

The shop is very well stocked and keenly priced no need to go shopping for anything. They have all the info for eating out and visting local places.

And their local butcher does some wicked burgars, chicken lamb and do try the sausages note always fresh delivered you can order the papers as well for next day.

If your leaving Mon or Tues you can buy a sausage & bacon Freshly cooked bap for a £1 saves all the cooking just another lovely touch to a lovely site 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mitchell1 1 review from this member

 We have just spent 3 nights at Gate House Wood and can confidently say we will be returning to this campsite. We received a very warm welcome from Dave and Karen on arrival and they were on hand throughout our stay if needed.

On arrival Dave guided us to our pitch and explained the site rules and facilities.

The site is well taken care of and the kitchen and toilet / shower blocks were always clean with plenty of hot water.

Our daughter (9) made new friends quickly and the play area was ideally located allowing parents to watch from afar whilst given her a little independence. In an ideal world a few more toddler friendly play equipment would have been great for our 19 month old but having said that it certainly didnít spoil our stay.

On our departure day Dave organised a leavers breakfast. This consisted of large Sausage or bacon baps for a £1. The smell of this cooking first thing in the morning was heaven especially as it was wet and a bit cold. This was great value for money considering the quality products used. This was a real treat at the end of a lovely break.

The site has a well stocked shop but major towns are close by if you want to venture out.

Keep up the good work and we hope to be back very soon. 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Sweetenham 1 review from this member

 We have just returned from two nights at this site. The owners were exceptionally helpful and pleasant, nothing was too much trouble.

The site itself was perfect for us. Facilities were clean, site was quiet at night, shop particularly good, eating places within walking distance if needed.

The setting is rural but with access to main routes and being an old quarry there was no need for hard standing even though we had a motorcaravan.

Although we no longer holiday with children the site was perfect for families with five to ten year olds who just want to play together safely with new found friends.

A visit to Ightham Mote rounded off the weekend. 


Previous     86 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Gate House Wood Touring Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Gate House Wood Touring Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Gate House Wood Touring Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Sevenoaks      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Kent

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 09/10 to 11/10
A three day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties set in Looe in Cornwall. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2359 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement