Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Gate House Wood Touring Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Kent > Sevenoaks > Gate House Wood Touring Park Reviews

Gate House Wood Touring Park
Ford Lane
Wrothah Heath
Sevenoaks
Kent   (Browse area)
TN15 7SD
Tel: 01732 843 062
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 56
Open: 1st Marchto 31st October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 81 Reviews
                9/10 from 81 Reviews

Photos (7)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf 1 mile   Tennis 5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  81 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Cogger61 2 reviews from this member

What a lovely site! We have stayed at this site several times now and we all love it. My husband and I and our two daughters aged 2 and 6 years. The owners of the site, Karen and Dave are really helpful and friendly. The shop is well equiped, you can even order fresh crossants for your breakfast! The shower block is extremely clean and very well maintained. The play area is fantastic, ours kids love it and it is checked daily for safety. It is a very friendly site. We recommend it to anyone who wants a lovely holiday with or without children. There are various takeaways in the local area and a co-op a few miles away which stocks everything you could need for your weekly shop. Thank you Karen and Dave. See you again soon.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Frederico 47 reviews from this member

We stayed at Gate House Wood with our Folding Camper for one night on our way home from France. Nice welcome from Dave. Good size pitches, well marked so you know your boundaries. The toilets, showers and wash up facilities lovely and clean. The facilities were heated and did not need a key or code. Key for barrier good for security. My wife bought some basics from the site shop which saved looking outside the campsite. The playground is more for larger children not much for my grandchildren aged two and four. We picked this site as it is close to the motorway and easy to find. Ideal stop off for people travelling from Northumberland or Scotland to the Channel Ferries.

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Avalonjuice 3 reviews from this member

We spent a long weekend over the last half-term break. The site was spotlessly clean and the pitch size was more than generous.

The owners were friendly, very helpful and always available but were never intrusive.

The shower and toilet block has to be one of the best we have ever used. Exceptionally clean and constant hot water even at busy times.

The utility room was also clean and tidy and the addition of a fridge freezer was an added bonus.

The playground was in the middle of the site so perfect to keep an eye on the children whilst still having a relaxing 5 mins at the tent.

The site is perfectly situated to explore. Maidstone and Sevonoaks were 2 places we visited. Both were easy to get to.

The little shop at Reception was reasonably priced and stocked with just the items we tend to forget. I would recommend buying the hop sausages and burgers as they were delicious. We stocked up to go home.

The only bit of a whinge we have is that the electric hook up was a bit of a distance and despite having quite a long lead it only just got there and we had to store the unit in the porch and not the tent.

Apart from that it was a lovely site and we would happily visit again.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bdeano 1 review from this member

Very nice and friendly site, we used it for 1 night to try out our new tent, the site is well set out with nice size pitches overlooking the children's play area which is basic but ideal for our little one she is 5 and it kept her entertained all day.

The owners are very friendly and made us feel welcome from the start of our stay, there is a shop on site that sells all the basics. There are 2 urinals 2 toilets 2 showers and 5 basins in the mens toilets all very clean and never had to queue to use any of them the showers had lovely hot water. There is a separate wash room which had a communal fridge freezer.

Offsite there is a garage, beefeater pub and chinese restaurant about a 5 minute walk we choose the beefeater pub which was good value for money although we did have to wait over an hour for our food because they misplaced our order (not good when you have a hungry 5 year old).

Motorway traffic was only noticeable at night though not unbearable.

I would highly recommend gate house wood, good value for money and a friendly site and would definitely go back again.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Morris3 1 review from this member

Just back from our first camping trip and chose this site as our first. We were delighted! this place is spotlessly clean and tidy and the owners cannot do enough for you (even lending us an extent ion lead when ours wasn't long enough)

My wife took some persuading to go camping as she likes her luxuries but the site had enough facilities to keep her happy while still retaining the feel that you are camping.

There is a play park in the middle and that kept our 9 year old busy for the whole weekend. It looks new and is a safe environment for the children to play in.

The shop is not huge but has most things you will need and will take orders for baguettes and newspapers for you to pick up the next morning.

There are restaurants within walking distance and places such as West Malling are just a short drive away where there is a Tesco Metro supermarket for anything the shop hasn't got.

We booked there and then to go back in August and got the last pitch for tent with a hook up which shows how popular this place is.

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Dave+trace 17 reviews from this member

We cant recommend this site enough, we've had 2 stops here in 12 months,

We use it as an overnight stop on the way to Dover as it is only 1 hour away, its so convenient, just off the M25/M20,

The owners cant do enough for you, great facilities, and a beefeater pub, Chinese restaurant and garage a short walk away.

In our experience the nearby motorways do not cause any disturbance. For longer stays the site is located to several local attractions including brands hatch.

The owners have set up an arrangement for the local Indian restaurant to deliver ! We are guaranteed to return.

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Seaswig 1 review from this member

This was our first trip out in our camper van. We arrived to the sun shining, and very friendly, and helpful owners.

Nothing was too much trouble and we were made very welcome.

The shop is very reasonable, with a good supply of everything you need.

The showers are immaculate,and there is constant hot water.

Also the utility room is wonderful. You can wash up, or use the washing machines for your clothes.

They even let you use a fridge freezer for your stuff free of charge.

The owners are experienced campers & have met all the essential criteria that you need when out in the sticks.

Nice part of the country with lots to see and do.

Would highly recommend to all.

We met some lovely people on the site too! Everybody was great.

Thank you for a lovely weekend.

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Rubyrose 2 reviews from this member

We spent two nights here last year in a tent.

First overall impressions were good, site was clean, well kept.

After pitching our tent, with two young children, we found the site to be 'not too child friendly'! Owner complained to us that the kids had left balls outside the play area, which was situated in the centre of the field! Also, complained and turned the children away for visiting the site shop alone, even though they were in view of our tent and no more than a few feet away. Also, after using the shower block, the owner seemed to be right behind us with his mop and bucket, waiting to clean up behind us.

Very pressured stay, won't be returning!

Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Lloyd Ball 1 review from this member

Just returned from a fantastic weekend at this site. The owners are very friendly and helpful, no complaints when my 3 yr old dropped the soap down the drain.Enclosed amongst trees, the feeling of being in the middle of nowhere yet 2 mins from a major motorway was a spectacular feeling. The toilet/shower blocks are warm and clean (they even SMELL clean). Lots of room for the little 'un to play and run about as well as the walk up round the site through the woods. Be aware! a thief operates in the site (me thinks a fox) as a pair of flip flops mysteriously disappeared.If you like to get out on the bikes be prepared for some hills as we found out halfway up one.Would recommend this site to all who likes a bit of peace and quiet or for somewhere to park up and go exploring.

Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bolandx6 1 review from this member

This was our first camping experience. It was a very clean and tidy site. Staff were friendly. Showers/toilets were clean. The playground was good for older children but not for younger ones. You can hear the M20 which could be quite loud if the wind was going in your direction. It was great having the picnic benches dotted around for people to use. Only criticism was that on the second time we visited, when we went to wash up our plates etc. On the day we left, there wasn't any hot water so we had to take it home dirty.

Previous     81 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Kent

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


770 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019