Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Scone Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Perthshire > Scone > Scone Camping And Caravanning Club Site > Reviews

Scone Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Scone Palace Caravan Park
Scone
Perthshire   (Browse area)
PH2 6BB
Tel: 01738 552323
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 120
Open: 01/03/2024 to 03/01/2025
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 92 Reviews
                8/10 from 92 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 No Shop   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  92 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Navigator43 6 reviews from this member

 We used this site as a base to visit the Scottish Game Fair this year. It was ideal for this purpose and we enjoyed our stay. Cheery and helpful wardens walked us to our pitch and offered any assistance should we require it.

Facilities were warm and clean and the rest of the site was well maintained.

There is a new facility nearby, The Lodge, adjacent to the site, which opened whilst we were there. It has accommodation and an excellent restaurant. However, I understand it is mainly for the use of Jockeys and Trainers when there is a Race Meeting but available to the public otherwise. We enjoyed two very pleasant dinners at reasonable prices.

Campers have the facility of a pleasant walk around the perimeter of the track outwith race days!

The approach can be a bit misleading and one must watch for the entrance on your right immediately upon reaching the Race Track car park.

We did not make time for a visit to the Palace but will do so on a future date as we will be using the site again. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Janine1947 43 reviews from this member

 Booked this site last minute. The sat nav took us directly but there is no direction signage until the site entrance.

The road to the site passes across the Perth racecourse car park. It was a very wet race day and mud was everywhere. The best thing about this site was the very friendly wardens.

We were offered first a large pitch to fit our motorhome and towed car on. Unfortunately we could not get any TV signal ( euro football finals night) so we asked to move and did but onto a smaller pitch. We were told that TV reception is variable throughout the site. The grass was very long and the paths in poor condition.

The very wet weather had taken its toll there were puddles everywhere. The toilets facilities were dated but clean and warm. Our main problem was the number of people who constantly walled very close to our motorhome by cutting across the pitch many of the grass pitches were behind the Hardstandings so access to facilities was across the Hardstandings.

The bus to Perth is approximately a mile away on the main road.

We only stayed one night so can't comment on the surrounding area. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: NMack 16 reviews from this member

 We stopped at Scone for 4 nights on our return home. The site is clean and tidy, although the water points are a bit of a trek from some of the pitches. Because of the recycling necessities, the rubbish is all out by the main gate, so no smelly bins on site in warmer weather.

The toilet block has lovely big showers and plenty of hot water through button pressed showers. Have to say they keep the block very clean. The shop has the necessities if you've forgotten something.

The site itself seems to be split in two, with the side in line with the front of the toilet block having wooden edged hard standing pitches and the side behind the toilet block line, looking a bit well used on the hard pitches and they seem a bit neat for awnings.

Include your awning in your Unit width if you book online to allow the wardens to pitch you in an appropriate location. There are also statics on this site in a separate area and two pre-erected tents.

Overall an ok site with plenty of shopping and eating options a short drive away in Perth. 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Chris5mph 54 reviews from this member

 A nicely laid out site with plenty of grassy areas and a sufficiency of hardstandings, reasonably spaced. As so often with camping club sites, the hardstandings are a bit small but the grass pitches are a good size.

The facilities are excellent, the showers are big enough even for me.

The site is well protected from weather by a circle of poplar trees but therefore has no views (can't have both!).

The hotel outside the gate is nearly finished now and building noise is much reduced, the A9 noise is only in the background and not at night.

Pleasant walks to the river and entertainment offered by oyster catchers raising their chicks and the resident hare occasionally racing across the site. 


Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: LBBK 57 reviews from this member

 We booked a grass pitch with electric hook-up in advance but arrived to discover that almost all the grass pitches were flooded after heavy rain. Fortunately we had extra groundsheets and rock pegs with us and the warden agreed to swap us to hardstanding for a four night mid week break. This cost an additional 4.

The site was noisy - probably the worst we have stayed on. 1. The A9 rumbles away in the background 24 hours a day but that is the least of your worries 2. As others have reported the oystercatchers do make an incredible screeching noise at night.

Earplugs required 3. The racecourse are building a new facility next door - 8am - dusk - drills, diggers etc making a daytime snooze also near impossible. We felt we should have been warned about this when making the booking. 4. One morning, 8am, the cesspit 'sucking out' tanker lorry appeared a couple of meters from our tent and ran its diesel motors for 45 mins or so whilst doing its job - bad luck/timing on our part!

On the plus side: friendly staff, clean facilities (though my husband reports that only 2 of the 4 gents showers were being used), plenty of hot water and good wi-fi reception.

Would we return? Yes, Perthshire is an undiscovered gem waiting to be explored but only once the building works have finished. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Wullie 8 reviews from this member

 First & last visit to this site for us, we left early knowing the traffic would hold us up, well we ended up early arriving at 11. 15 am, we parked up in the coned off area and waited.

When 12 o clock came we jumped out the car keen to get pitched up to find the office locked blinds down and some staff inside, then we seen a notice in the window saying new rule 1 PM entry, we returned to our van put the fridge onto gas so the contents stayed cool & the freezer kept things frozen.

Another 5 vans had came in behind us then another came in to block the place right up & not one warden came to tell us anything, nobody knew about the NEW rule and it was certainly not on our conformation. Anyway just before 1pm the wardens appeared showed us to our pitches, at last we could enjoy our stay in Perth.

The park was ok good play area for the kids etc, toilets were very new looking and kept clean, Perth was lovely as was the surrounding area. O forgot to say there was a power cut for around 4 hrs every body was out checking there cables etc the usual checks, It was raining so decided to phone the office no answer so on with the coat up to the office and behold there were a few staff and people asking about the power there was a sign in the window explaining why the power was off, that was lovely but why did the wardens not tell a few people on the site word would have got around, grrr.

We are members of the Caravan club 20 yrs + & was thinking of joining the Caravan & camping club, mmm not now thanks. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Blueboy2 11 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for 3 nights. The site is the racecourse. Had a bit of a problem finding it as the sat nav sent us down a little lane before the site. I rang the wardens who directed us to the correct road. The wardens were welcoming and took us to our pitch. We asked for a grass pitch and they put us next to our friends. We had lots of space. The site was busy and had both static and tourer caravans and tents on. Despite this is was very quiet. The toilets were spotless, showers good and the size of them was excellent. There was plenty of room to get changed without getting clothes wet. The site wardens clean often. The cleanliness of the amenity block is a credit to them. There is a small shop on site. The only downside is that the site is not near any local amenities so you do need to drive for pubs, shops etc. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bendog 21 reviews from this member

 Stayed here on our way back down from the Highlands after a tour of Scotland. Its quite a large site and has everything you would expect from a CCC site. Staff are friendly, toilets and showers spotless and although I could only get on a grass pitch witch was quite small the hard standings look a good size. The site is nice and quiet if you just want to chill out but there is plenty to do if you don't. Perth is just two mile away Scone Palace is next door and lots of walks. There are also a couple of pubs in old Scone a mile and a half away. Will stay here again when in the area. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mischka 85 reviews from this member

 This is a level site in a rural area, so it is mainly peaceful. However it is next to the race course and there was a party taking place on the Saturday evening. The music and partygoers were quite noisy, which was OK once we shut our van windows, but would have been intrusive if we had been in a tent. I did not notice exactly when it stopped, but it was definitely over by 2330.

The toilet block was spotless with good showers. Posters up about local events nearby which was a nice touch. There is a very large info room, which has info and leaflets but not a lot else. For its size, it could easily also be a recreation room of some description.

I recommend this site, with the proviso that it might be noisy if there is a function next door. 


Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Smeatonarab 12 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a weekend stay at this lovely site. On arrival, the wardens were very welcoming and friendly and took us to our pitch. Pitches are large with plenty space between them. The toilet/shower block was spotlessly clean with plenty hot water. Digital tv and mobile reception is excellent. There are plenty walks and Perth racecourse is next door. Will definitely be back in the future. 


Previous     92 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Scone Camping And Caravanning Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Is Scone Camping And Caravanning Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Scone      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Perthshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3833 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement