Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Scone Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Perthshire > Scone > Scone Camping And Caravanning Club Site > Reviews

Scone Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Scone Palace Caravan Park
Scone
Perthshire   (Browse area)
PH2 6BB
Tel: 01738 552323
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 120
Open: 01/03/2024 to 03/01/2025
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 92 Reviews
                8/10 from 92 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 No Shop   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  92 in total, now showing 71 to 80                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dunfie 5 reviews from this member

 We had a really nice weekend here with another family and we had a great time. Its a well run park in a lovely part of the world - certainly worth a visit.

The wardens were very friendly and made the whole process of checking and locating a pitch very easy. We were there with friends and they had no problem with putting us on adjacent pitches.

The toilets and washing up facilities were immaculate so there were no issues there.

If you get a chance take the path down to the Tay - it takes about 20 minutes and is a gentle stroll. There will probably be a few fly fishers on the bank but there will still be plenty of space for a paddle.

I agree with a couple of the other reviewers - some of the pitches are very wet and boggy. They also had an area cordoned off as it was so muddy. However my friend's 4yr old son didn't respect the tape and managed to get stuck in the mud - entertaining all the other children in the process.

Also, look out for those black rabbits! 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Kt10296 6 reviews from this member

 Just back today from Scone, having spent 3 nights with a touring caravan.

The plus points are for this site:

Location, 2 miles outside the lovely city of Perth, 20 miles from Dundee and the route up north from this location is fantastic. Site directly next door to Perth race course and the grounds of Scone Palace, and so there is numerous walks from the site for the dog, which includes walking on the banks of the River Tay.

Toilets immaculate with large sized cubicles for the showers.

Staff as ever helpful.

Minus points

The pitches were water logged. We had a hard standing pitch however I felt so sorry for those that did not. This site has always had a reputation for being on the boggy side and with the recent rain it was poor.

The only other issue was that there was a meeting for some club in the grounds of the race course and they were camping on the race course however were using the Camping and Caravan club toilets and showers. They walked straight through the entrance gates in their droves, making the members who paid 20 pound plus a night plus for the privilege of the facilities to wait in a queue.

Not good! 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Alan126 13 reviews from this member

 Enjoyed 3 days at Scone and I admit I like the site a lot, being in the van I got a gravel hardstanding pitch with 16 amp ehu, was able to drive straight onto pitch so no reversing or shoving required, tents and vans are all mixed in so no feelings of them and us.
The staff are very friendly and helpful, toilet block is quite big and spotless, showers lovely and hot. Too old for kids playpark and don't have a dog so couldn't comment on that. On site shop okay for essentials and there is a tesco express in scone village about a mile away as well as the supermarkets of perth.

Location wise very good with easy motorway access, plenty to do in the local area. Will certainly be back especially now I have joined the c&cc 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Artibee 3 reviews from this member

 O.K. Some of the trees are down but it is not as dramatic as some would have you think. Site is still getting work done and a few areas taped off whilst grass is becoming established. So that is the one and only down side at this great site.

Toilet block new and kept clean with nice powerful showers which you don't need coins for. Which makes life easier! Laundry- fine.

Playpark area fine and roads fine for kids on bikes. However, watch out for dog poo at back river exit! The dog owners fault though!

We stayed at site for 5 nights. Wardens nice and leave you to enjoy your stay unless you approach them. Perfect! Plenty to do in surrounding area to keep you entertained. All in all would definitely recommend! 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mike Briley 5 reviews from this member

 Easy to follow signs for Scone Palace and the Racecourse. The site has an excellent NEW toilet block which is beautifully maintained and also has good quality gravel roads. The site manager, Darren, was trying to re-seed some bare areas whilst we were there but it didn't detract from a nice stay.
We didn't find out until we left, but the Racecourse Owners and Trainers bar is open to campers for drinks and meals on Fridays and Saturdays. May be worth a visit, unfortunately we missed out.
No shop, but you can order newspapers on a daily basis from Reception. A site to go back to sometime soon. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Dot P 690 reviews from this member

 Great site within minutes of the palace. Totally away from the roads and next to the race course.

Wardens super friendly and supper efficient.

Site has had major work and brand new shower and toilet block now open. As previous reviews say the trees appear to have been removed at one end but at the bottom camping end they still remain.

Lots of work going on to landscape the site.

All in all recommend a stop here - we only stayed one night but would stay for longer if passing this way again. 


Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Fiona W 223 reviews from this member

 Got a real shock on arrival - we literally gasped in horror. Sure, the potholes were gone but so were all the trees except the perimeter Poplars, and for no justifiable reason that we could see - certainly not to upgrade the electrics or the sewage treatment system. Maybe folk were complaining about being shaded?
The CCC handbook is now misleading in two respects - the photo of a woodland glade is incorrect: you now see from one end of the site to the other, with clear views of all the other units (before, you could convince yourself you were at a small site because you saw so little of the many other units.)
The handbook reference to wildlife on site is also incorrect - with no trees to perch in, nest in and feed off (insects, seeds, fruit etc), we heard and saw no birds: its a very sterile site now: just a big field with a lot of tree stumps.
The access to the dog walk was very muddy and not clearly signed. The designated dog walk is a muddy narrow path by the burn - people walk along the parallel wide dry track beside the race course instead. I'd have stayed a holiday here before, but it's a staging post only now. We really didn't enjoy it this time. 


Date of Visit: October 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Fiona W 223 reviews from this member

 This is a useful staging post for a one-nighter, and is the site closest to Perth but is not particularly convenient for visiting the town. Parking in Perth is a problem (availability and cost), it's not in walking distance, buses are rare and stop very early; we had to take a taxi into town for an evening event - make sure you get a card from Reception when you check in.
Had been wet weather, but the site tracks were particularly muddy with a lot of bad potholes: we had to wear one pair of shoes and carry our smart ones to the site entrance to meet the taxi. Dog walk near the site is a narrow muddy path constrained by fences either side: luckily the adjacent field was unoccupied by stock or crops with an open gate, so the Spaniel got her muddy runabout there. If you walk quite a way, there is pleasant access to the river side.
There is a recreation room with TV and table tennis, which may be useful if you're in a tent and it's raining. Nearby Scone Palace is well worth a visit, Perth has some good shops and places to eat, and a huge swimming pool. Good woodland walks up Kinnoul Hill, or go to Crieff and walk up The Knock behind Crieff Hydro. 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Andy19952003 2 reviews from this member

 Had a four day visit here, the weather we had was scorching hot, it was a camping trip of many firsts for us but we all had a great time. The site is set away from all the hustle of the towns and villages and the only noise nearby would be the races right next door but nothing was going on when we were there, although I'm sure it would be great to see from the sides where there is a footpath alongside wich was great for evening walks. The toilet facilities on site were nice and clean the only draw back was the lack of showers with two toilet blocks onsite and two showers in each men and womens we found this a problem when we wanted to get the kids washed up for bed but couldn't because they were in use. The park I didn't really see but my kids seemed to have a great time in there. The only draw back with being away from the town was that the onsite shop was rather inadequate only stocking a few items this could have been a lot better. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pink Empress 8 reviews from this member

 For everyone who is not in the know. You have to pay an extra 6 if you are not a member of the camping and caravan club.

The site was very pretty and flat but due to rain was very very muddy. The car got stuck at points. There were huge parts of the grounds that were mud pools.

The showers and toilets were a short walk away from where we were camped but clean and nicely laid out.

The shop was very basic. There was nothing nearby, so we drove into town which was very pretty and worthwhile. 


Previous     92 Reviews in total, now showing 71 to 80      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Scone Camping And Caravanning Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Is Scone Camping And Caravanning Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Scone      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Perthshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3266 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement