Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Scone Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Perthshire > Scone > Scone Camping And Caravanning Club Site > Reviews

Scone Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Scone Palace Caravan Park
Scone
Perthshire   (Browse area)
PH2 6BB
Tel: 01738 552323
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 120
Open: 01/03/2024 to 03/01/2025
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 92 Reviews
                8/10 from 92 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 No Shop   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  92 in total, now showing 81 to 90                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Kitten2729 2 reviews from this member

 Just spent 6 nights here. The site was one of the best I've been to. The staff are really helpful and friendly nothing was too much trouble. They managed to squeeze us in for an extra few nights when the site was full. (most sites just tell you their full). For the size of the site it was really quiet and peaceful. There is a play park which kept our two entertained and they were able to cycle around as well.

The pitches are well spaced out and the toilet block was lovely and clean. There was quite a few cubicles with just wash hand basins in. A number of toilet cubicles and in the showers plenty of room to get undressed, a stool to put things on and plenty of hooks to hang your clothes, towel, etc. Mop and bucket to clean up the floor.

The shop will order you papers for the morning and we got our morning rolls there as well.

The gate closes at 11.00 and doesn't open until 7.00, but you can leave your car parked at the front car park so your not disturbing anyone.

The bins are located at the car park at the front, but it's just a short walk and it means you've not got people making a noise or rubbish spilling out around where you're staying.

We'll definitely be back. 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Cathymac 18 reviews from this member

 What a fantastic site. It's large but with all different areas and lots of trees and also lots of open space Etc is feels very cosy. Love the fact that tourers, campers and tents are all side by side. No segregation.The facilities are fantastic. A big big mention to the fabulous staff. I had a problem and broke down (jockey wheel collapsed and jammed and I couldn't tow) and they actually came out and rescued me and once on site helped me unhitch. Jacked up the van and when I returned with the new jockey wheel they fitted it. I cannot say enough good things about this site and the people running it. Not to mention the wild life and the dog walks. I will most certainly be back. Thankyou Scone Camping site. You are wonderful hard working people and you are doing a fabulous job 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Addyca 2 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a weekend at this site. Lovely site with good surroundings. However, as it was the game fair weekend there were some rowdy elements. I suppose this is to be expected. We will definitely return but the only real gripe were the bins. They were at the entrance which was a long trek from the end field. Not good for encouraging people to pick up all litter and recycle. 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Frethouse 14 reviews from this member

 A nicely situated site which is quite large with very pleasant little areas sectioned by trees. The facilities are good although I did feel that the shower/toilet blocks could do with a little update. There is even a dedicated shower for your dog if necessary! Scone palace is very close by and there is a beautiful walk down to the River Tay going past the racecourse. The town of Perth is quite close. I enjoyed our two night stay here and would use the site again. 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rachyk 1 review from this member

 Visited over Spring Bank holiday weekend. Lots of shelter from the wind as there are trees all around the site.

Toilet blocks were a bit dated but v clean and lots of hot water. Also had dishwahing, laundry and even a dog shower.

Right next to perth racecourse which would be great to visit on a race day but I wouldn't want to be trying to get in or out on a race day as you go down the same lane to get to the campsite as you do to get to the racecourse.

Nice walk down to the river.

Not within walking distance of any shops / pubs etc unless you're up for a long walk. The site shop sold papers, rolls and I think it had sweets too.

Did see a couple of pitches where the ground was quite soft - think they were ones which never got any sun to dry the ground.

We had a great time and would definitely go back for a quiet weekend.

For info - next time we would ask for pitch 37, 38 or 39 as they backed onto a hedge but got the sun from mid-morning until late evening. They were a bit more private than some of the pitches which were in the middle and I think could get cramped when the site was busy. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: IainM 22 reviews from this member

 Not a good site.

Small hard standings - had to fold the car mirrors in to get up the side of the 'van.

Facilities old and not particularly clean.

Loads of staff, but two were particularly unpleasant. Being asked in a sharp voice (and I know sharp voices because i'm a school teacher!) 'Why are you here' is not the best start to a stay on a site! Saw the same lady being very sharp and downright rude with a couple of elderly lady caravanners as was another male member of staff.

Unmade roads got very muddy during wet weather, so much so paying extra for a hardstanding was a waste of time since muck was trailed in from the roads.

Complaint made to the C&CC, but no reply received. Have complained again at the SECC show to their sites rep . Time will tell.

Sadly we won't be back. 


Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: ProfessorB 8 reviews from this member

 Here for 2 nights in July - access is not very well signposted - just head for Perth racecourse and actually take the racecourse entrance road - site entrance on right as you approach large open car park just before the racecourse buildings.
Site is large - busy - has the feel of a "transit" site for people travelling up and down Scotland - and for this purpose is ideal.
Although the site is across the river from the main A9 road, it is actually only over one mile away (as the "crow flies") from this busy road - and as such the noise of the road is noticeable - particularly at night when the site is quiet.
Site well sheltered and well laid out but grass very soft - some parts very poorly drained.
2 large toilet/shower blocks - always clean.
Dog walk available but for those who fancy a walk round the racecourse, it is very easily accessed on foot from the site.
Plenty of staff - very friendly - helpful. We learnt a new name for ourselves - recycled teenagers. 


Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Eel28 16 reviews from this member

 We stopped here for a few days on our way to the Cannich meet. Very easy to find, just follow the signs to the Racecourse! one thing that would be worth noting is, unless you are going for the races, I would avoid it when racing is on. we had no idea that a race meet was on while we were there, and spent over an hour being sent round and round the racecourse car park on returning one evening!

The site is very close to Scone Palace, which is well worth a visit and reasonably priced too.

The staff are very friendly and towed or camper on and off our pitch quite happily, this was due to the ground being very spongy underfoot and we were told that part of the site was under water a week or so ago - not really surprising due to all the recent rain the entire country had experienced.

As previously mentioned the toilet/Shower facilities do look a little tired, although more than adequately functional and clean.

The reception has a small shop stocking essentials, bread, milk, gas ice creams etc. there is also a recreation room which houses a table tennis table (bats and net available for a deposit at Reception), and an amazing amount of leaflets of the local attractions.

Would certainly consider going here again, as there was so much more to do than the couple of days we spent there, but would check there is no racing planned first! 


Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Cara89 30 reviews from this member

 We enjoyed our stay here. It is a lovely setting in amongst trees,different sectioned areas. It was safe for our young kids, nice park but also space for them too.T oilets and showers fine, we had no problems. Staff friendly.Nice wee shop/reception.
Only word of warning. We seen tents get flooded out(rainy time of it though) Caravans were ok. The inside of awning was JUST habitable! Staff helpful.
It was nice down by the river. We found a little sandy bit that amused the kids for quite a while, sitting playing and pottering. We would return to this site. 


Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: MalcolmR 35 reviews from this member

 C&C Club site at Scone is quite large and quiet beautiful it is well spaced out and well protected by many tall mature trees.
The staff on site was very helpful as ever with all the club sites. We were camping with a large family tent, the pitches were flat grassy spacious, and easy for pegging the lines. Shop on site and local shops are all within a few miles, the location is very quite with plenty of local wildlife. The site is ideal for walking, dog walking, fly fishing in the River Tay for 2 from site office. Weather was very windy and showery when we were there, but the site is very well sheltered with its trees from these elements which really helps.
As with several other C&C club sites the shower toilet block etc is looking a little tired now, and could be refreshed, there were ample facilities and kept very clean. The Hot water could have been a bit hotter (did have a boiler problem when we were there) Also the usual with all sites, an inexpensive item never enough hooks in the shower cubicles. When we were there a local event was being held at the Perth horse racecourse, so the tanoy was heard quite loud as it being so close to the site. It was only for one day and we visited the
event anyway. We choose this time not to have electric hook up and got a really good pitch alongside other friendly folk in Tents and motor home. Generally most people on site were in Caravans so if we wanted a pitch with electric hook up would have been with all the caravans. There is a small play park for the kids and enough of an area to kick a ball if wanted, for the dog plenty of walks for his constitutionals. Certainly will return and recommend this site to others who seek the more rural quieter sites. 


Previous     92 Reviews in total, now showing 81 to 90      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Scone Camping And Caravanning Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Is Scone Camping And Caravanning Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Scone      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Perthshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3651 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement