Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Scone Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Perthshire > Scone > Scone Camping And Caravanning Club Site > Reviews

Scone Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Scone Palace Caravan Park
Scone
Perthshire   (Browse area)
PH2 6BB
Tel: 01738 552323
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 120
Open: 01/03/2024 to 03/01/2025
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 92 Reviews
                8/10 from 92 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 No Shop   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  92 in total, now showing 61 to 70                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Angela999 11 reviews from this member

 Just returned from this lovely site, as mentioned we where shown to our pitch by a friendly warden.

Well kept grounds with a mix of tents and tourers with some static caravans.

We choose a hard standing pitch which was fine for us, the toilets and showers very clean, as was the dish washing area.

There is a leisure room with tourist information, we did not use it however did look as if it had plenty leaflets.

Also a laundry, but didn't use it however this was also clean.

Small children's play area.

As it is next to the race track we where able to walk around with the dog as well a nice along the river side.

Perth is only about 2 miles away from the site, with plenty shops and a large Asda as well as plenty fast food shops.

Perth also has lots of restaurants and bars with all the high street shops.

Scone is also 2 miles away and has a small Tesco express and a few bars that serve food.

Scone palace within walking distance from the site worth a visit.

Will visit this site again, easy to reach with plenty to see and do within a short drive of the site. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sophiedog1 16 reviews from this member

 We visited this site as members and were rewarded with the usual great facilities and helpful wardens that we have quickly come to expect from our membership. We were impressed with the integration of tents and tourers on the grass pitches which creates interactivity and friendliness.

Perth is a short drive, as is Scone. There is a nice riverside walk from the site, Perth racecourse is adjacent to the site. All in all, a great site in a great location. Perth has a superb selection of shops to keep everyone happy, from supermarkets to tartan tourist traps. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: LordG 3 reviews from this member

 Nice little site with spotless facilities, but staff who we felt were watching us like hawks the whole time. Within minutes of arriving one man shouted at our boys - who were messing about with a tap - so loudly that they both ran back to us crying.

The back of our pitch was over a stone-filled drainage strip, which allowed a mouse to get in and chew a hole in our footprint sheet.

A nice setting next to Perth race course but we felt it was really geared up for older couples without kids who leave their caravans there all year. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Irisgirl 2 reviews from this member

 Wonderful site where I spent 3 restful days. Very close to Perth, as well as being good area for rambling.

Staff very helpful and friendly, and showed me to my pitch - I had mistakenly booked a pitch with EHU and was offered a refund right away.

Cared about recycling, although there was no specific facility for plastics.

Nice spacing in between tents. What I liked was that tents were also scattered amongst the caravans.

The facilities were excellent and immaculate – was really impressed with the number and size of shower cubicles for ladies.

Site was so beautifully quiet that I did not realise there was a children’s play area.

The only noisy thing about the site was the dawn chorus of crows – probably noticed them more as I was pitched close to large trees. But since I live in a rural area, it was like being at home!

Would definitely return, as felt it was real value for money. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Beachbhoy 2 reviews from this member

 We are a family of 5 and stayed here for a weekend.

The site was clean and tidy and the shower block and toilet facilities are one of the best I have seen.

The site is not the best for families as the playpark is small and there is not much free space on site for the kids to play. It was a very quite site and we felt that the site was more for quite older people.

Location is beside Perth racecourse which is ideal for visiting surrounding areas of Perthsire. The nearest supermarket is in Perth which is about 10 minutes in the car the on site shop is small.

I don't think we would use this site again as a family. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Northern_dave 2 reviews from this member

 We had a really good time at this site and have no reservations about recommending it to other people.

We are a couple in out 50`s with no kids, and found the kids on the site well behaved, there is a small park for the kids to play in.

The toilets and showers were immaculate, they were closed from 11am to 12.30 for cleaning.

All other facilities were very good.

The wardens are very helpful and polite, but thay are strict about where to pitch the tent and the distance from other tents, it was explained to me this was for fire regulations and for your privacy.

The camp shop left a lot to be desired and was expensive, however Asda, Tesco and other shops are only 2/3 miles away in Perth so no real hustle on getting food ect.

Beautiful surroundings with the river Tay just a plesent 20 mins walk from the site. If you are in to visiting castles and stately homes you can get a treasure ticket that gets you in to Glamis castle, Blair castle and Scone palace for £20 a saving of £10 each.

All in all a really good place to stay, we extended our stay to 5 nights. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Nibbles1 11 reviews from this member

 We visited this site a few years ago with a tent and really enjoyed it so decided to return. We were welcomed warmly and allocated a pitch to suit our requirements.

There are a lot of hard standing pitches (perhaps due to previous drainage problems). Site was immaculately kept. Toilet and shower facilities looked brand new and always spotless. Shower cubicles were huge with lots of hooks and small seat. Toilets did close for cleaning but alternatives were available.

There was a rec room but not much in it. We were glad to see recycling bins at the entrance to the site. Playpark was small but didn't hear the kids complain, plenty open space elsewhere for them to run about.

A short walk or cycle takes you to the river. We cycled into Perth and followed a cycle trail along the river on the opposite bank.

Scone had several eating places and we visited The Wheel Inn which was a very family friendly establishment with good food and good service.

Weather was excellent while we were there and we can't wait to go back 


Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bryce01 3 reviews from this member

 We stayed at this campsite for 3 nights with another family.

The campsite is easy enough to find, approx 2 miles outside Perth.

Upon arrival we checked in easily and were 'walked' to our pitches and told exactly where to pitch and which direction our tent must face, my friend was told not to put her tent up until we were pitched up. The warden said he would come back and measure where she should go, and he did!

Our pitch was very uneven with a field drain running the length of the tent which has resulted in some damage to our groundsheet.

The toilets/showers are are spotless, however they are closed from 10.30am until 12pm for cleaning, I appreciate that they need to be cleaned but feel that it's a bit inappropriate for both the male and female ones to be closed at the same time, especially when the kids need to use the bathroom!

We took a walk along the race track, down to the River Tay and although the kids would have happily stayed there throwing stones in the water all day, I don't think the fishermen were too happy.

The kids playpark was basic but it did keep our 6 year olds amused for a while.

We joined the Camping and Caravan Club recently and this was our first trip away to one of their sites - all in all we were not impressed by this particular one and will not rush back. Felt it was a bit expensive and was more set up for caravans. 


Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: JanKelly 2 reviews from this member

 Really nice, clean well kept site. Warden very welcoming. We drove through heavy snow and encountered road closures due to floods on the way up but no problems with waterlogged pitch as previously mentioned. A lot of the pitches are hardstandings so maybe work has been done to rectify the drainage.

Washrooms were best we have encountered - always warm (great when there was a hard early morning frost), and spotlessly clean. Choice of spacious washing cubicles with radiators, open plan sinks and spacious shower cubicles. The only slight negative was there were only 4 shower cubicles - fine whilst we were there but I guess could cause queues in high season.

Scone Palace is well worth a visit, you can walk from the site -cut through alongside racecourse.If you are camping and caravan club members you get 10% off admission.

Perth is a beautiful city, also well situated for visiting other parts of Scotland.

Good choice of supermarkets in Perth (2miles) - some 24hour opening. Camp has small shop that sells lovely fresh rolls in the mornings.

All in all a lovely site if you want clean surroundings and are happy to make your own entertainment, or just relax! 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Leolion 12 reviews from this member

 Campsite next to Scone Palace and Perth Race Course. Make a visit to Scone Palace amazing history. Nice walks and walks for the dogs along the side of the race track to the river.
The site is a nice site but it suffers very badly in certain areas of water logging although the main parts are coned off but if it rains there are some parts of ground where the water runs.
Toilets / laundry / dish washing facilities are very clean and was impressed with the shower cubicles very spacious, again as other camping and caravanning sites go there is no alternative toilets to use when these are getting cleaned 10:30 - 12:30.
Shop on site not too bad although certain item you need to order the day/week before. £10 deposit for baby changing area. Children area again like basic camping and caravanning sites was a log pyramid with shute and swings.
All in all has the potential to be a good site if the drainage problem was solved, main facility area nice and staff helpful enough. 


Previous     92 Reviews in total, now showing 61 to 70      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Scone Camping And Caravanning Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Is Scone Camping And Caravanning Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Scone      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Perthshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4205 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement