Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Scone Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Perthshire > Scone > Scone Camping And Caravanning Club Site > Reviews

Scone Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Scone Palace Caravan Park
Scone
Perthshire   (Browse area)
PH2 6BB
Tel: 01738 552323
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 120
Open: 01/03/2024 to 03/01/2025
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 92 Reviews
                8/10 from 92 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 No Shop   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  92 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Val0712 33 reviews from this member

 OK stayed here last year at the same time for the 80's rewind festival and we were back again this year. Female staff even worse than last year no manners what so ever!

We were fully paid up members and booked and fully paid for our July 2012 pitch in November 2011.

On arrival we were told we would need to pay an extra 20. 40 as our membership had expired?

After 3 members of staff talked between each other then had another conflab we were told yes we had to pay an extra 20. 40?

Ok we thought were here to enjoy ourselves for the weekend festival so lets just get on with it.

Once set up on our pitch then they started putting caravanners / motorhomes everywhere! parked up the side inbetween! they were asking folk on arrival if they needed electric hook up if they didn't they parked them any where!

Ok there was a festival on next door and I understand they need to make maximum profit but don't think this is normal practice for the camping and caravan club.

Will be returning to this site only for the festival next year as there is no where other site near. There is nothing here in a 5 mile radius and hey that might suit some folk 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Johari 9 reviews from this member

 We camped in Scone, with friends, for the Jubilee weekend from 2-5 June, and thoroughly enjoyed it. On arrival, the welcome was very friendly, and we were guided to our pitch and advised how to pitch. The pitch was flat with EHU, conveniently sited next to our friends caravan.

The site is lovely and peaceful. There is little wind, with high trees surrounding the site, and lovely birdsong each day. The playpark wasn't too popular with our kids aged 7 - 10 although they did go there, they said it was too small as there was only one swing and a slide, so they scooted around on bikes and played on vacant pitches nearby. At one point they were advised to play on another vacant pitch away from units by the manager, which was fair enough and we happily heeded that. The shop was very popular with the kids too.

However, we also went for a lovely walk to the River Tay, and you could cycle around the Racecourse too.

The toilet and shower facilities were first class, looking like they'd recently been refurbished. As it was Jubilee weekend, I expected a wait for the shower, this only happened on one day. Everyone was very good at mopping their shower before the next person went in.

Nearby, Scone Palace was a lovely day out, and Perth Leisure Pool can be recommended.

As it was Jubilee, we took part in the Guiness World Record attempt at paper crown wearing (I didn't know there was one!), and the whole campsite turned out at 11am on 4 June to take part, 147 campers I gather. Turns out over 14,700 took part nationally and we broke the record, so we are all well chuffed at being record-breakers. That doesn't happen every day!

I'd definitely recommend Scone campsite. I give it 9 out of 10 solely due to the small playpark. 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Krazykamper 37 reviews from this member

 On arrival we were shown to our lovely grass pitch with EHU. The pitch was nice and level and the grass was in good condition.

There is a small play park for the kids to use. Not the best play park I have seen but the kids were happy enough. There are lots of nice walks outside the site.

The toilet and shower block were kept very clean and everyone made a point of cleaning the floor of their shower after use which does not always happen at other sites. It was a bank holiday weekend and I never had to wait for a shower. There is also a family shower room you can use.

The site was very quiet and peaceful and even with the kids playing at the park it seemed peaceful. The perimeter of the site has lots of high trees which provide some shelter from the wind.

We look forward to returning to Scone. 


Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Fiona W 223 reviews from this member

 We only stop-over here, as we knew the site when it was a pretty woodland glade full of birdsong and dry underfoot. We find it too open and bland now, and it struggles with the water table being so near the surface. If all the trees had not been felled, or others of the right species were replanted to provide some separation between groups of pitches, there would be much less waterlogging now as they would be sucking up the wetness.

We phoned ahead en route, and were told we'd have to lay up on the access track as there were no pitches left. However, on arrival there were a dozen hardstands available, and a friendly welcome.

The toilet block seems to have been refurbished - nice to have lights over each sink mirror. But it's a pity to see all the new statics taking up more room, something that seems to be happening at many CCC sites. It does change the character -and they were mostly unoccupied though the camp site was nearly full.

Dog walk is offsite, along the racecourse to the River Tay. It's not easy parking a motorhome in Perth, but the office has cards for a taxi for going out in the evening: just carry your pretty shoes in a bag to the front gate, or they'll get muddy! and change in the taxi. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Adamedwardsteather 42 reviews from this member

 We arrived in pouring rain and I really felt for the woman on duty who then walked us to our hardstanding. But also shows the customer service that everyone is escorted to their pitch and has things pointed out to them.

Showers etc spotless and very up to date. Mop provided so you can mop your shower after use.

Kids liked the small play area.

Site was much busier on the Friday than the Thursday possibly due to the Perth show.

Site has a barrier with key pad control. This is locked 23:00 to 07:00 to stop late returns from the pub waking everyone up.

The only snag really is it's 4 miles out of Perth with the nearest bus stop 1 mile walk. If money were no object, a footbridge over the Tay to the footpath on the other bank into town would be great but I suspect the M would be too much to ask. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jlaing1 1 review from this member

 Visited the site for the Rewind festival this year. Initially on booking I was told I had to pay a deposit as the website was live, and another person could book only remaining spot which was hard standing and wouldn't take an awning. Was desperate to book for festival, so agreed to all above.

On arrival, we found staff ok, but a bit snotty 'You're not members of the C & CC so will give you the rules etc."

The site given was lovely, could fit an awning ? albeit the warden wanted us to park just so, as she watched my poor hubby reverse under pressure!

Considering a lot of festival users were at the site, staff couldn't even describe how to walk to the actual festival site- bit poor I felt, given only rough directions were asked for.

Facilities - probably lovely and immaculate outwith high (festival season). Bit wet in shower block, and queues for (4) showers.

Shop- small but ok.

Scenery amazing.

Grounds well kept to the point of cutting grass around your van as your leaving!

Would return as Palace well worth a visit, as is racecourse where we watched polo practice. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Val0712 33 reviews from this member

 We stayed at this site for 3 nights at the end of july (for the 80's rewind festival) All the 120 pitches were full and the 4 female and 4 male showers could not cope with the amount of people!

The male staff were great and could not do enough for you but a couple of the female staff including cleaners could have been better mannered, and could have smiled. Manners cost nothing!

The site itself is in a nice location close to perth and scone and it is also situated next to perth race coarse.

The pitches are of a good size and nicely spaced out and the toilet block is bang in the middle so central for all campers, but the bins/refuge is at the entrance to the site so a bit of a walk from the bottom pitches.

Although we enjoyed this trip I don't think we will be returning in a hurry 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Aideebar 2 reviews from this member

 I can not recommend this site, We have out of necessity had to stay at this site for several years in a row and each year the site has got steadily worse, there are some good points, these sadly are outweighed by this serious Bad and Ugly one.

. Bad Water Drainage. With Ugly Results.

This site is located in a low lying field which has extremely poor drainage, hard standings also collect rain water, the lower tenting area and children's play park area, were both totally swamped on the last two visits in July.

The toilet block is locked if the rain gets heavy as the sewerage backs up and seeps out, so please be careful where you step during and after its been raining.

For the size of site there is only a few toilets and showers not nearly enough for when it is busy.

Okay that's the bad and ugly.

Now the Good.

The pitches are fairly well spaced.

There is a small on site shop that provides the basics.

The bin area is a good distance away from the main site and has the usual recycling facilities.

There is a good sized indoor recreation area ideal for table tennis, when there's wet weather, which there has been a lot of.

The site is not far from Scone and about 5 minutes drive from the centre of Perth.

Overall the site is okay, would be good if the drainage was properly attended to. Okay for a caravan-er who remembers his/her wellies, or camper vans, not the best for tents.

Until the drainage is sorted I will not be returning to this Scone Site.  


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Miss celie 7 reviews from this member

 First time here as a member of camping and caravanning club. We booked late and were given a large pitch with hook up under the trees. Fairly quiet site with good amenities toilets/showers were clean. Only downside was that the showers are of the type which switch off after about 30 seconds (although this is better than some sites ) Water nice and hot. Good location next to perth racecourse which would be ideal if going for a night or day at the races 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Carasash 3 reviews from this member

 Just back today and had a wonderful time at Scone campsite. Staff were brilliant and went out their way to be helpful.

Site was nice, clean, tidy quiet. I was there with my 3 kids and felt totally safe. There is a barrier to get in, lots of space between pitches, lovely dog walk along Perth race coarse. Toilets absolutely spotless.

Only thing negative to say is that although shop was open most of the day it was not well stocked, which was a shame. There was milk but only green top, there was marg but no butter, no bin bags etc.

Apart from that we will go back. 


Previous     92 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Scone Camping And Caravanning Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Is Scone Camping And Caravanning Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Scone      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Perthshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3455 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement