Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Scone Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Perthshire > Scone > Scone Camping And Caravanning Club Site > Reviews

Scone Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Scone Palace Caravan Park
Scone
Perthshire   (Browse area)
PH2 6BB
Tel: 01738 552323
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 120
Open: 01/03/2024 to 03/01/2025
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 92 Reviews
                8/10 from 92 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 No Shop   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  92 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Missteree 28 reviews from this member

 Rather disappointing for a Camping & Caravan Club site. Pitch although hard standing was small and would have been very difficult to park car if we had put awning up. Obviously in summer you could park on grass in but not just now given wet weather.

Toilets and showers clean enough but only 2 showers available (out of 4) in both ladies and gents. Needless to say both were queued every morning - not had to do that in a long time, never mind at the beginning of April!

Due to recycling policy no bins at all in toilets or on site other than in car park. I understand the local council has a strict recycling policy but surely it is not beyond the wardens to empty recycling/general waste bins from toilets? Goes without saying, some campers had left empty shower gel/shampoo bottles in showers.

Laundry closed for full weekend.

Wardens helpful enough on arrival but forgot to give us entry code so couldn't get back on to site the following day.

As others have stated although immediately next to Perth racecourse & Scone Palace, you will need car to go anywhere else.

Stanley Mills (Historic Scotland site) is about 9 miles away and an interesting day out if you like social history.

One last thing and obviously outwith control of C&CC and wardens - the noise from the Oyster Catchers drove us mad both day and night! Some regulars on site apparently use ear plugs - so be aware! 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Caro48 15 reviews from this member

 We only spent 2 nights here at the end of our tour of Scotland. The management were very helpful on arrival and the site was very clean and tidy. The facilities were excellent and spotless. We didn't use the race course club so are unable to comment on it, but we did walk down to the river and it was lovely. There were no views from the site, but it gave an impression of being in a woodland. We didn't have any children with us so are unable to comment on the child friendliness.

We visited Scone Palace and, whilst the palace itself was beautiful, we thought it was over priced for the amount of rooms that could be accessed, but if you are into fine art you will enjoy their vast collection of objet d' art.

We felt there was much more to see around and about, but we didn't have the opportunity to visit more of Perth and the surrounding area. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Purplebonnie 10 reviews from this member

 This site is in a great location for seeing Perth and surrounding areas. It was a little too quiet for our liking and therefore lacked a bit of the camping atmosphere that you get on other sites. The grass and pitches did look a little tired and untidy in areas.

The wardens were great and very amiable. The warden who showed us the available pitches was very helpful and patient whilst we selected a pitch from the options given. The site has a shop which was very well stocked.

The shower block was very clean and well looked after, whilst being cleaned the family room was available for use.

There was a small area for children to play, we don't have children, but I would say they would soon bore of it as it was limited. There is plenty of space around the site for dog walking. It is also situated right beside Perth racecourse, if you fancy a day at the races it is a perfect location.

It is necessary to use the car to get to all local amenities from this site. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pamzee 18 reviews from this member

 The usual Camping and Caravanning Club high standards. Immaculate facilities block with decent sized showers, lots of loos, washing up sinks etc. Spotlessly clean. During my stay the water boiler broke down and the wardens lost no time in ordering a repair, and they closed off some of the showers to conserve hot water which was sensible. Friendly helpful staff, clean site. Surrounded by trees, so good shelter from the wind. Site itself was quiet but quite a bit of noise from an out of sight but nearby busy main road. Noisy pack of oyster catchers live at site for some weird reason. Luckily for them they are cute and grow on you after a while. There is a racecourse right next to the site. But as there were no meets during my stay I can't say how much noise/disruption, if any, was caused by this. Scone Castle is well worth a visit. I didn't find Perth very interesting although its location a couple of miles away is handy. The Toby carvery just outside Perth was not up to the usual standard - unless you like half cooked roasties and soggy carrots. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: GlosLass 4 reviews from this member

 Nice clean site. Good toilet facilities etc. There were a great deal of notices telling you what not to do, which doesn't give a good impression.

It was very busy due to the Game Show on in the Palace Grounds and I was given a rather small pitch opposite the toilets with internal roads on 2 sides. I had my 2 dogs with me and there wasn't enough room for me to peg them out next to my camper van. I bought 2 wifi vouchers, but the system wasn't working and I was refused a refund, which was apparently due to the fact that the service is provided by a separate company, although it was the site that I had to pay for the service. On the first night I was there a group of people in a nearby caravan were extremely noisy and shouting until past 2:00 am. All in all I was not a happy camper. I was on a touring holiday for 12 days and this was the only site I was not happy with.

The game show was fantastic and I had a lovely day there. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Dot P 690 reviews from this member

 Only a few miles out of Perth and within a stones throw of Scone Palace. The site is literally a few steps from the racecourse.

First time we have come across statics on a C&CC site. Mainly tucked away in one corner but one stuck right outside the toilet block was an eyesore on site.

Surprised at how quiet site was. Appears to be a fair number of seasonal vans on site that weren't inhabited. The facilities block was excellent - looks fairly new and kept clean. Showers had good pressure but have to say water was at best very warm.

From site we wanted to go to the Palace warden advised have to go via the main road (couple of miles) we walked through racecourse and straight into palace from site on a footpath - not sure if there is a reason they don't want you to do this but gates were all open and seemed a set route.

All in all a good site to visit the palace or races and only a couple of miles from city centre. All the major supermarkets in the city as well as some stunning buildings and fabulous bridges over the Tay. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Wirralpair 3 reviews from this member

 We arrived on a very busy Saturday as the horse racing was on. The very helpful and pleasant staff found room for us on a flat gravel pitch serviced by both elec. And water. The water was especially handy as we'd forgotten our hose.

We didn't use the shop but it seemed as if all the basics were there.

The toilet and shower block was very clean and modern.

Motorhome service point was extremely handy too.

As we were only passing through we didn't stop in town but it looked interesting so next time we will definitely stay longer and explore. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mischka 85 reviews from this member

 We enjoyed our 2 day stay at this lovely peaceful site.

The toilet and shower block was spotless with plenty of hot water and push button showers that gave a decent length of time between pushes.

Small on site shop, but as we only bought ice cream from it I canít really comment on how well stocked it is!

We completed a great circular c 30 mile cycle ride from the site on very quiet roads, with a lunch stop at the Abernyte Antiques Centre.

We will definitely return here 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Galeforce 3 reviews from this member

 We had a great week here in July - despite the rain!

Reception at any site is where a first impression is given and it was immediately obvious that this site was welcoming and pro-active in ensuring that our visit would be an enjoyable one.

We were led to our pitch by a very friendly warden and quickly settled in before looking around.

The site is beautifully maintained as are all the facilities. I. E. Toilet block, waste disposal, washing up area, laundry etc.

The water point we used was very centrally located and therefore very accessible. (we have found ourselves rationing our use of water on other sites because of the distance or lack of comfortable access to water)Also, our electric hook-up was very close to hand.

TV reception was good although there was occasional interference which I think was due in part to weather conditions.

Most outings from this site require the use of a car but Perth is only 10 minutes drive from the site and is a very pleasant city to wander around. We had a lovely stroll along the river.

Scone Palace is another enjoyable outing and is only about a mile from the site. Definitely worth a visit!

We will definitely return to this site. Perhaps try to come when there is a race meeting on. That might be fun! 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: LayLay 3 reviews from this member

 We have been to this site a number of times and the 2012 Assistant Managers are especially helpful and friendly.

A super site if you have dogs with lots of walks, without having to go on to public roads.

Disadvantages are that no eating establishments within walking distance unless the races are on and wi-fi can be tricky depending the pitch you occupy.

A great stop over for anyone heading north. 


Previous     92 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Scone Camping And Caravanning Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Is Scone Camping And Caravanning Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Scone      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Perthshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2934 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement