Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Manor Wood Country Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > North West England > Cheshire > Chester > Manor Wood Country Caravan Park > Reviews

Manor Wood Country Caravan Park
Coddington
Chester
Cheshire   (Browse area)
CH3 9EN
Tel: 01829 782990  or  0772 817827
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 40
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 95 Reviews
                8/10 from 95 Reviews

Photos (27)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   Holiday Homes for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   Tennis On Site 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 
 Electric Car Charging Point

Reviews:  95 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Pcb123 11 reviews from this member

 Just had our first visit to Manor Wood and our 8 year old grandson has asked when can we go back ! The wardens are very friendly and offered us a choice of pitch.

The outdoor pool has apparently been enlarged for this year and because the weather was nice it was open which the grandson made full use of as well as the tennis court and games room. You can purchase eggs and milk on site but we had to go into Wrexham ( about 10 miles away) for anything else. There's a bus stop by the pub but it only goes to Chester so best take your supplies with you.

The pub is down the lane about 15 mins walk which also serves food but it is a bit pricey. The amenities block is lovely though there is nowhere to put your toiletries whilst in the shower so had to put them on the floor.

The site is spotless and well kept and as its only an hour away I think we will be visiting again. 


Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tom+Loz 10 reviews from this member

 Returning to touring after a 2 year absence due to a new addition to our family, we recently purchased a used caravan and decided to visit this site as a 'dry run' to set up the awning and see if it had any bits missing!

Having booked and paid by telephone prior to our visit, we arrived on site and were greeted by two friendly and informative wardens at Reception, which also appears to house the information point. We were checked in quickly, given a copy of the site rules which you sign for (site information and general Health & Safety) and were shown to the grass pitches where we were to set up.

The site itself is well laid out, with gravel hard-standings as well as grass pitches, together with attractive and well maintained shrub borders.

The grass pitches are located within an area adjacent to the open air, heated swimming pool (which we were informed was now closed).

The amenities block was adjacent to the swimming pool, housing under cover washing-up facilities, spacious and well lit of an evening, with piping hot water; laundrette facility within the Ladies loo and shower area, all spotlessly clean and providing toilet tissue, hand soap and ultra modern blow-air hand dryers (however, some loo seats do seem to need straightening and tightening up!); and Gents' loo and shower facilities next door. There are a couple of benches outside the building which is tastefully decorated with hanging baskets and tubs, together with barometer.

There are 16 Amp hook-ups on the pitches and night lighting post in the centre of the grassed pitch area. Grass appears to be well maintained, if a little bare in areas where people have not used breathable ground-sheets but, after the end of the main Summer Season, this was to be expected. The Warden did ask that, once we were set up, our car be parked in the car park adjacent to the toilet block. He did explain that this was to save the grass. This was no problem to us once we had off-loaded the car, as we could still see it from the caravan.

Adjacent to the car park is the kids play area and sand-pit. This is aimed at kids over 6 years old, however, looks to be well-built and safely enclosed away from the roadway.

As we were only at the site for 1 night, we had brought our food, etc. , with us and, as such, did not need to utilise local facilities at all. We do understand that there is a large Sainsburys at Chester, together with a Londis mini-mart approximately 8 minutes' drive away. In fact, this is very probably the only downside to this lovely site, in that there is no shop as such - you just need to be prepared and make sure you have everything you need before you arrive!

We found the site to be quiet after 10pm (our little one was flat out asleep at 8pm, even with seasonal tourers behind us playing dominoes in their awning rather loudly!).

All in all, this is a lovely site, with pleasant people, superb facilities and well kept pitches.

We hope to be returning again and again in future. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jayen 1 review from this member

 My two sons and I have just come back from a weeks stay at Manor Wood and it is definitely a place we will stay again. We had a lovely flat pitch for our tent and were advised by the smiley and very helpful wardens that we could park next to the tent if we wished (the website stated that we should park in the site car park which I was a bit worried about). Our neighbours were not too close and everyone made sure their their pitch was looked after and EHU wires etc were neat and not a trip hazard. All the campers seemed very nice `and of a decent sort, there were children playing of an evening, but by 9pm everyone was hushed and with their families. On arrival we were given the health and safety rules, which looked lengthy, but on actually reading them, they were all common sense. Ie. Do not let children go on their own to the fishing lake, no noise after 11pm, please completely unwind your EHU wire, that sort of thing. The site appears expensive as they charge for various supplements, such as per dog or pup tent, but on actually staying there, I do feel that the cost is worth it as if you don't need those items, you don't have to pay for them. The site was cared for with attractive hedges, areas of planting and well maintained paths and roads giving a smart and high quality feel to the park. Camping and hardstanding was mixed, so that not all the tents were in one place and the layout was such that we were not all in lines which can feel a little regimental. The toilet/shower block, was probably the best I have ever been in, absolutely spotless even late at night, warm and clean with handwashes and granite work tops to add to the quality feel. For the visually impaired, the doors are a different colour to the walls to aid visibility and the family/accessible shower cubicle also had a baby seat and changing area built into the wall. You can also borrow a baby bath if needed. Showers were a good temperature and the press button lasted quite a long time, hooks and a bench to put clothes on and again spotless. In the shower block is also a small washing room with three washing machines/tumble dryers, coin operated and again, new machines and very clean. There is an inside vegetable prep room, complete with large fridge/freezer so you can recharge freezer blocks or store food and two sinks in an outside covered washing up area. Also on the site is a small pool with chairs around, it is heated, but on the cool side, but there is an outside shower to warm up. I have teenagers so we didn't use the play area, looked safe, substantial and on a sand base. The games room was a good size, table tennis and pool, the tennis courts looked new and rackets were available to use. Cannot comment on the fishing, however they were beautifully landscaped and fenced off safely with warning signs for parents, there were always several keen fishermen there, so must have been good. The site is advertised as free wifi, however the signal only reaches as far as the information cabin next to the entrance. This is where most of the teenagers congregated, however they all seemed to get on well and made friends, no trouble whatsoever, in fact, one day, my 14 year old palled up with another teenager and they swam, played games and I hardly saw him all day. For anyone with dogs or who likes walking/bike riding, just the other side of the shower block was an amazing country foot path which went on for miles with views over fields and completely safe for children to go with adults. Bit muddy in places as we had a lot of rain, but the campsite has a 'welly wash' just inside the gate to the walk, we also used this to wash the dogs down.

A previous review mentioned wasps, there was a few, although no more than normal at this time of year with lots of people around. It is possible that there might have been a nest somewhere in a hedge last year, as there were plenty of places that could have hidden a wasp nest. Whilst we were there we went to Stretton Water Mill (1. 5 miles away) Cock O'Barton pub for tea (expensive but VERY high quality, not the place to go if you want a cheap tea with a large family which I didn't realise!) Beeston Castle (15mins away), Cheshire Ice Cream Farm, (15 mins away) if you have teenagers, look out for the 'Loft' upstairs where for a small fee, all sorts of fun and free F1 simulator type stuff available) my 20 year old techy thought that was a good way to spend the afternoon. We could also have gone to Crocky Trail and Erdigg House but the weather was too wet. Also bear in mind that the nearest supermarket is 10 miles away although there is a large garage selling food (large pack bacon 4) and a Budgens in the next small village.

Definitely recommend, for families and also just adults, as a single parent with two dogs and two teenagers, I'm possibly in the hardest group to match needs, but we had a great time and will go again. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Debsijo 3 reviews from this member

 My first instinct was that this site was run with a rod of steel, absolutely not! It's a well oiled machine. The couple who run it are knowledgeable, helpful & lovely.

The facilities are outstanding. The pitches & planting are impeccable. We had a day/night here and I can only say 'wonderful'. What a beautiful, clean & manicured site. In all of our travels I have never felt so luxurious on a site. Should have a spa! 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: AnnieMacs 1 review from this member

 Our first family camping trip was most definitely a big hit. We are so glad we chose this site. Checking in was easy and the warden showed us to our pitch which was close to the showers / toilets and more importantly for the 6 year old, the pool and the play area! Everyone we met were really friendly, we even spent the Saturday night in next door's tent watching the World Cup! A great atmosphere which really made the weekend.

The whole site is immaculate. The showers and toilets were really clean and tidy and even though the site looked pretty full there was never a wait for them or the washing up facilities.

There is enough to keep the children fully occupied if you don't want to leave the site - outdoor pool, play area, games room, tennis courts and lots of room for them to run around with.

We will most definitely be back. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mandinco 1 review from this member

 Hi fellow campers just had one nights stay with a family of six at manor wood country caravan park, we picked this site as we felt it was family friendly which seemed to be the case. We where shown to our camping pitch by the grounds warden who was very friendly. Paid in at time of booking price was reasonable with no hidden charges.

ecent size pitch for our 6 berth tent and 2 cars. There is a small but adequate play area, games room, a outdoor heated swimming pool which was a bit on the cool side but didn't keep children away, fellow campers very friendly.

Toilets, showers very clean and a abundance of different flavoured hand wash. Also feel campsite owner very helpful as departed site in heavy rain storm and was allowed to leave tent to dry and collect next day at no extra charge. Our only niggle about this campsite was we felt toilets where quite far from out pitched tent and where the toilets where situated there where lots of caravans which defeats the object as caravans already have toilets so feel the site would definitely benefit from another toilet block or a move around pitching tents closer to toilets.

All in all we had a great time and would definitely use this campsite again. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Battie 8 reviews from this member

 Stayed here the same time as the review below and felt I should leave my views. Lovely site with great facilities and the warden was working his backside off but always had time to help. Yes there was a lot of wasps but that appears to be the same everywhere this year. It doesn't help when people throw their rubbish by the bin instead of putting it in. The loose dogs I saw, one was escaped and having a wander and the other was playing ball with a young child ( the dog was tiny) neither came anywhere near our awning. The reviewer below was right behind us so I know which they mean.

I felt that the site really didn't deserve the criticism. I loved it, wife loved it and so did the kids and the couple we met from Middlesbrough enjoyed it.

We will certainly be returning again. I have already recommended it to friends.

Our only criticism was the woman behind moaning about the damn wasps! We all had to deal with them. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lolly87654 3 reviews from this member

 Beautiful site, the most immaculate and cleanest site we've been on. Toilets/showers were exceptional. Pool was a hit with the kids (although very cold) they kept having to get out for a warm! Site wardens very friendly. Had to park car in the car park but that wasn't a problem. We went on a very busy bank holiday and had a lovely time! Would definitely return! 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: KARAMAC 10 reviews from this member

 I have camped on this beautiful site several times before in different school holidays and always found it quiet and very well maintained. The pool is a godsend for the kids and the shower block spotless. But this year we found it a lot less enjoyable as there was clearly a problem with wasps, they were everywhere our tent extension was full of them each morning and my food and drinks were all stored in cupboards and fridge, they came all day long and stung the kids and adults several times most of the campers were having problems with them we mentioned it to staff but they said if we found a nest they would destroy it, setting up and packing away was a nightmare and I certainly wouldn't camp there again for this reason. Also there was a few dogs running freely chasing balls and not tied up like the rules state and a few times a lady was looking for her dog who was in and out of peoples awnings and tents. I own a large dog and I don't think anyone would want my dog loose on a site. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Michellerbrts 2 reviews from this member

 Spent two night here, the sun was shining which is always a bonus. The campsite was great. Our 9 year old daughter had a ball. We had visits planned to Chester etc but in the end we just stayed here all weekend. The showers and toilets are spotless, and spacious. Yes the pool was cool and on the small side, but it didn't matter everyone had a ball. I have just planned another 5 day stay in August can't wait,

PROS:- pool, tennis court, fishing, spotless, great kids area, and a great pub. Called the Cock O. Barton just a short walk away, and the ice cream man called on to the site and what a welcomed site that was! Friendly staff,

CONS:- just remember everything, as the only things you can buy on site are eggs and milk. And didn't get the best Tv signal, ( not the end if the world) 


Previous     95 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Manor Wood Country Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Manor Wood Country Caravan Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Manor Wood Country Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Manor Wood Country Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Chester      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cheshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


43509 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Play our
Easter Hunt


Easter Hunt

Follow the clues, find the answer, and win an amazing 12V and 240V 21.5" Full HD Smart WiFi TV with Satellite Decoder worth £399 provided by outdoor superstore Towsure!

Play Here


Advertisement