Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Manor Wood Country Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > North West England > Cheshire > Chester > Manor Wood Country Caravan Park > Reviews

Manor Wood Country Caravan Park
Coddington
Chester
Cheshire   (Browse area)
CH3 9EN
Tel: 01829 782990  or  0772 817827
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 40
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 95 Reviews
                8/10 from 95 Reviews

Photos (27)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   Holiday Homes for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   Tennis On Site 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 
 Electric Car Charging Point

Reviews:  95 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Clainger 1 review from this member

 This site has improved so much since we last stayed a couple of years ago.

The wardens were so helpful and accommodating on arrival and throughout our stay. They work extremely hard but always found time to acknowledge you and are very patient with customers.

The amenity block is now modern and lovely and clean. Could be improved by adjusting the angle of the shower heads and installing a shelf to put your toiletries on.

It is a pity that the football pitch has gone as it's now created a problem as children will play ball in between caravans so this may be an issue for some customers. It only takes one ball to hit a van!

We will definitely come back. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ramona580 1 review from this member

 Stayed for weekend with husband, son and 3 year old grandson.

Pros:-

Site beautifully presented. Flat and dry. Plentyof space for large tent, car and trailer. We were able to cordon off a large area with windbreaks to contain grandchild and also give him space to play and all of us to eat at the table and sit out.

Toilet block and showers nice and modern and clean.

Cons:-

No camp shop. We had forgotten one necessary thing and had to drive to Wrexham to get it.

Only one toilet/ shower block for the whole camp site. We had to trek across two fields to use it. The showers in the mens were to hot to bear.

Swimming pool was clean but very small and very cold. Warden said pool was heated overnight only and once the cover was off lost heat rapidly.

No playground for toddlers just for ages 6 - 14.

Camp rules said no ball games allowed but our field was full of children and adults playing football until it went dark.

Overall nice and clean but not enough amenities for us. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: OOPNORTHMICHAEL 1 review from this member

 Just stayed here for one night. Last minute booking but warden accommodating and gave me his best rate. Site was excellent, clean, friendly, modern spacious facilities, and an outdoor swimming pool (the water was warm but the weather wasn't!) would probably go back, loads to do locally including Delamere forest (the only place we visited) which is amazing.

Two issues I had,

1. Too many dogs not always on a lead (I don't mind them but my little girl is frightened, something dog owners seem to find unbelievable, or just plain ignore)

2. And no noise control.

Otherwise very good. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Harveybarnsdale 2 reviews from this member

 Nice site, stayed last year, lured in by the free advertising from the Caravan Club CL run on the same site by the owner.

Booked in this weekend but due to mother-in-law being terminally ill, politely explained and asked to move booking to later in year to more convenient time - we were also bringing extra business from friends. Owner very inflexible and not understanding and got curt reply refusing. Owner was right but not good customer service.

When we stayed last year site was good, pool is v small however. Cheshire hunt and dogs run right past site. Local pub in walking distance is good quality fare but very expensive as others have said and you need to be well dressed to be comfortable with 'Cheshire set'. Nice view of lights of Wrexham at night from site. 


Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Cogi333 2 reviews from this member

 Great Trip!

We visited this site 2 adults & 2 children 6 & 3 yrs. Luckily enough the weather was on our side. We arrived to the site, the warden shown us to our pitch. We were able to pick and choose between 10 pitches.

We pitched right beside the outdoor pool. (which is closed until the end of May). The Pitch we had no problems with. The electrics worked perfect right next to the toilet facilities. Which where the best we had ever used on a touring site, the warden & the cleaner do a great job & work very hard to keep them to there high standards.

The playground the kids loved, this was very safe they played for hours with many other kids. The only downfall was the sandpit the sand went everywhere, kids loved it though.

The fishing there are 3 lakes to choose from, plenty of room and always granteed to catch. 5 per adult per day & 2. 50 for children.

There is also a tennis court and a games room.

The surrounding area there is not much to do, but by a short drive there is some attraction Chester town, Chester zoo and the ice cream farm which we visited, a must with our young kids.

Pubs, the closet is 15 min walk away. Supermarkets we never seen any local, so make sure you stock up on the way into the site.

This is a great site & we all are looking forward to returning when the pool is open in the summer. For 21 a night this is a real gem.

Well done Manor Wood Country Caravan Park. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: LFCREDMEN5 3 reviews from this member

 Lovely site, picturesque and peaceful. Think mainly cos undiscovered by Chavs. One older lady from family who runs it needs to lighten up-tad intimidating. But countered by lovely young welcoming lady. Location pretty good for surrounding towns or entertainment by car. Good site that I just hope retains its quite unspoilt quaintness.

It may lack what others do facility wise but has an old fashioned charm of its own, because of its Outve the way location 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jill-w 2 reviews from this member

 Visit:- 2 adults + 2 kids (10 & 9 yrs) with touring caravan from 23rd to 26th July 2012.

This is a fantastic site which I would highly recommend. We had booked a grass pitch which, given all the rain we'd had, I was slightly apprehensive about - I needn't have worried.

The pitches were bone dry! All the facilities were immaculate and the owners should be very proud of themselves for maintaining them this way.

The outdoor pool was cool, but not cold and it didn't stop the 20 or so kids enjoying themselves.

The fishing lakes were a real hit with hubby - kept him quiet for a full day. The kids play area was great, although the sand does get everywhere! The whole site is well maintained with no litter or overflowing rubbish bins.

The nearest pub (Cock o Barton) was ok, but expensive for the choice of food.

There is another pub further up the road (can't remember the name) on the A41 roundabout - the food is much nicer, with a greater choice and less pricey!

All in all, this is a gem of a site which we will gladly go back to. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cricketwidow999 1 review from this member

 This was our 1st family camping trip, we chose Manor Wood as it was only 2 hours away from home (just in case the kids hated camping we could pack up & go home quickly)

Thankfully the kids loved it and this was mainly down to Manor Wood.

Lovely Clean, safe, secure & tidy site, with fantastic modern showers and toilet block with a laundry room & Veg prep area, We never once had to wait or queue to use the facilities and never ran out of hot water. The tent area was flat and spacious, with fantastic views and close to the shower block and the play ground.

Even the clouds and cold didn't keep the kids out of the slightly heated pool. The kids play area is a great added bonus, take a bucket and spade as the play area is full of sand in case the little ones fall. There is a pool table, table tennis table and a full sized tennis court to keep the older ones happy.

We found a Nice little nature trail and a few animals on site to keep the little ones entertained (Sheep etc).

There is a small shop that sell milk & eggs etc. Just in case you run out. Only down fall to the site is there's no Bar although there is a pub a very short drive away.

A must visit if you have kids is the 'Ice Cream Farm' which is about 15 min's drive away from Manor Wood its free to enter and loads to do for the kids Crazy Golf 1 each, Quad Bikes 1 for 2 laps, 3 unlimited soft play area inside, a little like a wacky warehouse (don't forget to take socks or you can buy a pair for 80 pence) Animals galour outside. The cafe is reasonably priced and the Ice Creams are to Die for 1 large scoop = 1. 70, but so worth it!

About a 20 min drive away is Chester Town Centre, but be careful where you park, 4 for 2 hours! We found a private car park all day for 4 which we though was good seeing we spent 4 hours shopping, although we called at Tescos in the centre on our way out and realised it was probably better to park there as if you spend between 5 & 10 in store (which we did) you get 2 hours free parking then 1. 50 per hour after, Although if you arrive after 3pm the council run car parks are actually free. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Pagey290 10 reviews from this member

 Hello me and my family wanted to visit Chester and surrounding attractions, (Chester zoo, elsham port )

And found manor wood perfectly located for what we needed,

We have visited a lot campsites and found this site spotless

The toilets were immaculate and showers where all hot and new,

We got pitched near the swimming pool on an open space with tents and caravans, which when it rained got very boggy

The site is mainly seasonal pitches and we didn't feel welcome, it didn't have a friendly/welcoming feeling, like you get at most touring sites. The wardens were very strict with which seemed one rule for seasonals and one for short stays. Facilities are perfect just not a friendly place 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Kazcla 2 reviews from this member

 What a lovely site. We only bought our first caravan in April but wanted a seasonal pitch and seemed to have dropped on lucky with this lovely site. We took a gamble as we had never stayed on this site before but immediately opted for a seaonal pitch so that we wouldn't miss out. The owners had only just got planning permission for extra pitches otherwise there would have been a waiting list to get a seasonal here. The site has everything you need and more. Games room, 2 fishing lakes, soon to be 3 of them. There is a family fishing lake which my hubby went on with our son and he loved it. Plenty to catch, my hubby cant wait to go onto the adult only lake where there are large carp waiting to be caught. Dotted around the park are information boards on the different wildlife that come to the park. We have even seen swans on 1 of the lakes. Pheasants are regulars here also. The shower blocks are beautiful. Both ladies and gents have a family shower room that consists of 2 showers in 1 room (no tears from the little one as he stood under his own shower, whilst I had my shower - fab idea!), a toilet and wash basin. These loos will definitely get a loo of the year award. They are immaculate and the showers themselves are high quality. Lovely hot shower with separate space to get dressed. There is a veg prep kitchen and a laundry room with washing machine and dryer, plus iron and ironing board! there's a games room with table tennis plus full size tennis court, bats are supplied too! there is an outdoor heated pool, which we havent tried yet as its not currently open but its in a great spot and will have the sun on it all day. There is also caravan storage on this site. There is a play ground with sand as the base. There is a pathway for a walk but we havent tried this yet. Stunning views and some of the other seasonal pitch holders have their plots immaculate. Beautiful flower pots and they even mow their pitch to keep it even more beautiful! cant wait to set up on our seasonal pitch to get everything into place. Some of the takeaways deliver to the site. There is a small reception cabin with an honesty box for eggs/milk and a few other bits. No other shop on site but who needs a shop, don't you usually go away with what you need and if you need to pick up a few bits there are shops in the nearby villages. We have stayed for 3 nights up to now and it is lovely and peaceful, just what you need after a week at work. I think we will try out a winter pitch and see how we go, as the park is open all year round - great! happy camping on our seasonal pitch. I don't think there is anything else to tell you. The owners do allow tourers on site, there is plenty of room for that too but I guess you need to book in advance. The nearest pub is cock o barton, lovely place too, not normal pub prices but it is a gastro/michelin star restaurant so nice for a special treat, they also have a lovely garden to sit in. Oh there's no ball games apart from on a dedicated field and no bikes are allowed, I gather that's for health and safety, which is fair enough. Enjoy if you decide to take a trip! 


Previous     95 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Manor Wood Country Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Manor Wood Country Caravan Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Manor Wood Country Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Manor Wood Country Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Chester      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cheshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


38713 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Play our
Easter Hunt


Easter Hunt

Follow the clues, find the answer, and win an amazing 12V and 240V 21.5" Full HD Smart WiFi TV with Satellite Decoder worth £399 provided by outdoor superstore Towsure!

Play Here


Advertisement