Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Manor Wood Country Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > North West England > Cheshire > Chester > Manor Wood Country Caravan Park > Reviews

Manor Wood Country Caravan Park
Coddington
Chester
Cheshire   (Browse area)
CH3 9EN
Tel: 01829 782990  or  0772 817827
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 40
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 95 Reviews
                8/10 from 95 Reviews

Photos (27)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   Holiday Homes for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   Tennis On Site 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 
 Electric Car Charging Point

Reviews:  95 in total, now showing 61 to 70                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: December 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Babydaisy1972 17 reviews from this member

 We thought this site was very nice - the facilities were well maintained and adequate. The toilet block was heated and there was a room next to it with a washing machine and a fridge.

Our pitch was fine with a good supply of electricity and a water tap right next to us.

There was a games room which was very useful as it was December when we visited so to be able to play table tennis with the kids was a great benefit. There was also a tennis court and again we had a few good knock abouts with the kids so great to be able to do something outdoors with them in deepest darkest December.

There is a gastro pub with gastro prices just a short walk away - we popped in for a drink and it was very upmarket and smart. We didn't eat there so can't comment on the food.

The gentleman who runs the site was very pleasant and helpful so top marks for customer service for him.

However on paying we got a shock - 68 for 2 nights for a caravan with two adults and two kids in the dead of winter! 


Date of Visit: November 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Youngamericans 2 reviews from this member

 Manor Wood is a lovely site, very pleasant owners. The toilet/shower block was spotlessly clean. A lot of time and effort has been put into this site to make it a lovely place to stay. I disagree with the previous comments about the pub at the roundabout which I presume is the Egerton arms. We ate there during our stay and the food was wonderful and excellent value for money. I would visit this site again and recommend it to others. 


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Hazelriley 3 reviews from this member

 This is the best site we have stayed in and we can thoroughly recommend.

We arrived straight from work on Friday evening and Nigel was there to meet us and take us to our pitch and allowed us to park in any direction we preferred. Because we are a middle-aged couple the pitch was in a quiet position which was just what we wanted, having said that there was very little noise even thought there were quite a lot of children on site.

Facilities excellent, only two showers but we never had to wait and the grounds are a credit to the owners.

Nice walking into Farndon about 3 miles away and a 10 minuite walk to the local pub/restaurant The Cock of Barton. Fabulous food and hospitality.

The owners of this site are very pleasant and welcoming - we will definitely return. 


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Joe999 3 reviews from this member

 This is one of the best campsites we have stayed at. The site is in a quiet rural position not far from the main road. There are lots of activities to do locally, including the Cheshire Ice Cream farm and Candle Workshop.

It is very secure, with a coded barrier access.

The site is extremely child friendly and has a heated swimming pool, tennis court, play area with large sand pit and a football area.

The site itself is quite small and so it can be difficult to get a pitch last minute, but the pitches are well spaced and give a choice of grass or hard, with or without electrics.

Whilst they don't have a formal shop, they do offer basics for sale such as eggs and drinks and sometimes have bacon, sausages from local farms.

The site offers a fridge/freezer for use free of charge and allows you to swap your freezer blocks with theirs overnight, which is a great touch.

The toilets and showers are excellent - very clean and modern.

They also have a laundry area, which I haven't used, but looks good.

We have stayed at this site a couple of times now (would have stayed more often had we been able to get a pitch!) and would not hesitate to recommend it to others. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Colchris 4 reviews from this member

 Delightful site, felt like I could have been in the south of france whilst swimming in the heated outdoor pool with our 4 children. Nice play area,

Toilets showers family room all spotless, laundry room excellent even got iron and ironing board in there. Take you own table tennis balls and tennis balls bats, rackets provided free, you can hire the balls.

Don't know if was just unusual weather but the wind was exceptional, very flat exposed site and lots of wasps when we were there

Would love to go back but getting in seems really hard as always fully booked, however we got a phone call from the owners advising us of a cancellation 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Shaymey 4 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for 2 weeks in July. The site is in a lovely quiet place. Spotlessly clean in a lovely area of Chester. Great activities around the locality. Beeston Castle, Candle Factory, Ice cream factory, Cheshire Oaks and many more. Our greeting on arrival was polite enough.

The pitches are ample in size and well kept. Several people did have issues with their allotted pitches whilst we were there and here seemed to be very little flexibility with the stewards to accommodate their wishes.

There is a playground for kids and nice fishing lakes for the anglers. The on site shop was hopeless so any shopping will require a trip to Wrexham which seemed to be the closest town (mind the Gatso camera on the way in)

All in all a good site that I would have no hesitation in recommending 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jensamrhysjim 1 review from this member

 This is simply a very good camp site ideally placed for visiting Chester or Wrexham (both 15mins away).

The site grounds are immaculately kept and a credit to the owners. The layout is good with good space between caravans.

The toilet block is of a high standard and although it only has two showers per sex we never had to wait even at a full to capacity weekend. There is also a family wetroom ideal for parents with young kids.

The outdoor pool is approx 6 metres by 4 metres, is free and more than ample for a site of this size although it would benefit from some more shelter from the wind.

The tennis court is also free and is full size with a concrete surface and looks fairly new and would put many a Tennis Club to shame. Again my teenage kids never had to wait for a game.

There is a small games room with both a full size pool table( 50p per game) and full size table tennis table( free if you take your own ball) which would benefit from better lighting and finish, that said it did the job.

The children's play area is modern and was well used during our stay.

Laundry room has washer and drier and costs 1 per 45 mins.

Ensure you follow directions on website and access site from A534 otherwise you face a difficult tow along narrow B roads.

We enjoyed our stay and plan to go back 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Stepperdoc 24 reviews from this member

 We have just returned for our second visit to this site and I am sad to say that the second visit did not match the first. This is probably due to the time of year as we were out of school holidays last year. As mentioned in other reviews, this site is ideal as a centre for exploring either Wrexham or Chester however it is located in a very isolated area with few facilities and no shops that we could find.

The toilet block was in constant use by children despite notices requesting that children did not use the facilities unattended. The floors in the ladies toilet were very wet and some rather nasty deposits on a toilet wall remained for the 3 days of our stay. There was adequate hot water but only 2 showers per male / female toilets. We are early risers so encountered no queues.

The caravan next to ours had an enormous awning and a large windbreak and I felt at times that we were far too close for any privacy. Also being on the pitch right next to the tennis courts meant a rather constant source of noise.  


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Chasandsam 4 reviews from this member

 We only stayed on this site for two nights just to try out our new folding camper, but it was such a pleasant stay, we could have stayed longer!

This was an excellent site, beautifully maintained, and the toilets and showers and other facilities were spotless. There was plenty to do, fishing tennis, swimming pool, a great children's play area. Our dog loved the long dog walk, but could do with a waste bin for the doggy bags, unless I missed it!

The weather was wonderful and we sat outside chatting to the other campers. I must say something about the beautiful gardens. I thought I was a knowledgeable gardener, but there were many flowering shrubs I've never seen before! I would recommend this site to everyone, young or in their twilight years like us! 


Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Alison Schmid 3 reviews from this member

 Relatively new to caravanning and I'm particularly fussy on choosing the right site. However, this this is a lovely caravan site. We went just after the Easter break with three children (aged 10, 5 and 3).

The toilet and shower cubicles are modern and immaculately clean and the family bathroom is a really good size. Laundry facilities were good. There isn't a shop on site but the reception has milk, eggs and bread always in stock. The owners were really nice and very helpful. The children's play area is decent enough and there is also a tennis court.

A really lovely site and we are going again in June with grandparents.

If you go mid-week make sure you ask for the 20% discount advertised on their main website.

Chester city centre took us about 15 minutes in the car, as did chester zoo. There is a fabulous ice cream farm nearby (on the way to Chester) well worth a visit, we spent half a day there for free (except the ice cream). Avoid the pub/restaurant at the main roundabout near the site, as the food was really awful! 


Previous     95 Reviews in total, now showing 61 to 70      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Manor Wood Country Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Manor Wood Country Caravan Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Manor Wood Country Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Manor Wood Country Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Chester      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cheshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


60272 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement