Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Manor Wood Country Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Cheshire > Chester > Manor Wood Country Caravan Park Reviews

Manor Wood Country Caravan Park
Coddington
Chester
Cheshire   (Browse area)
CH3 9EN
Tel: 01829 782990  or  0772 817827
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 25
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 87 Reviews
                8/10 from 87 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   Tennis On Site 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  87 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Wobbleydogg 4 reviews from this member

 Brilliant site, kids loved it, even though it rained.

Facilities were great and the huts with microwave sinks etc provided great cover for us cooking and washing.

Very helpful staff 
via mobile


Date of Visit: February 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 14 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: World master 3 reviews from this member

 I`d booked a seasonal for the 7 weeks or so, but then she asked where I was staying outside of the weekends? Had to pay almost double what was originally suggested.

The pitch was not very good, sharp thorns from the nearby hedge recently trimmed strewn over the pitch.

The toilet block had no heating and what little sunlight coming through the windows was lost in the huge caverns of the ceiling. Traffic in the wee small hours was quite a shock to me, one car on site at 3am?

It was quiet at night but it is in the middle of nowhere. Had a 15 minute walk to the nearest bus stop on a very busy junction. 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: JBSB 6 reviews from this member

 Lovely site surrounded by gorgeous countryside. Staff were very helpful when checking in, advising on local pubs and bus services. We ate in the Cock O Barton, about a 10 to 15 minute walk and would definitely recommend.

As we went mid week we had a choice of pitches (and at a discount price!). The site is really nicely landscaped and well maintained. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Austin McArdle 3 reviews from this member

 We stayed for a couple of nights in Mid August.

The site was maintained well while being clean and tidy.

Kim checked us in, talked us through some of the basic rules and showed us to our pitch, where we were then left in peace.

Although not the cheapest site it has good amenities including the pool, games room and two fishing lakes. The adult one contains carp up to 22lb, I can verify this by catching a couple close to that weight (just in front of the mini island) and for a fiver the fishing is great value. The smaller lake doesn't have carp but does have plenty of silverfish, chub and big perch.

Can happily recommend for families 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Eddie4321 1 review from this member

 This is a very clean and quite site with excellent facilities warden are nice and helpful and very friendly,

Fishing on site is good with several ponds, did not brave the swimming pool but looked good,

Hope to be back soon 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: SamOwen 1 review from this member

 We recently spent 2 nights at Manorwood Caravan Park and really cannot rate it enough. Situated in the countryside away from any main roads the site is lovely and secluded, quiet with the sounds of the countryside to enjoy.

The staff were lovely and friendly and gave us plenty of information on arrival.

There was an honesty shop next door with milk and eggs available and lots of information leaflets about the local area and places to eat. The only suggestion I would have is directions for a local shop which we had to google. Next door is an enclosed tennis court and also a football goal that the kids enjoyed.

There was also a games room that provided pool, ping pong and other games which the three kids and us enjoyed.

The pitch itself was lovely and clean, well kept and with a nice view of the fishing pond. The site itself was well kept and quiet.

We explored the shower block and again weren't disappointed. There were separate toilets, separate showers, a veg prep room with a freezer and fridge, dish washing facilities and a lovely heated pool with sun loungers. There is also several places for chemical waste to be disposed off. I would say it would be hand to have another toilet block because for the tents it can be quite a walk with little ones in the nights. Or putting the tents nearer to the toilet block as opposed to caravans which have toilets in.

There is a specified doggy walk as well as a welly washing area. There are several other ponds to be explored that can be fished in and on our walks we discovered the large overspill field which we enjoyed playing with the Frisbee and football on.

Myself and my daughter also enjoyed some early morning walks and exploring and weren't disappointed to see wild rabbits, a badger, heron and lots of other birds. It is a small enough site that I felt comfortable letting my children ages 16, 13 and 7 enjoy and explore on their own. All the other people staying in tents and caravans were lovely and welcoming too. There is also Wi-Fi available at a cost but we were so busy we didn't need to use it - infact none of us touched a phone all weekend other than for directions to the nearest shop.

A fantastic campsite that I really cannot recommend highly enough. We will definitely be returning. Well done ManorWood! 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tj5566 1 review from this member

 Just spent 10 nights here, second visit, all in all very good site

Good toilet/shower block very clean and modern

Outdoor heated swimming pool, can be very busy with children using it in all weather.

Washing up facilities could be improved, to have more sinks would be better, though plenty of hot water.

Children's play park again can be busy.

Two fishing lakes, not bad fishing.

Tennis court, free rackets, balls @1

The only complaint I had was the very large number of teenagers about 20! just roaming around at night, very intimidating for some people, I had to ask them to move on from outside our tent (Which they did). However a couple of nights later someone else's request was met with abuse!

I think these 'kids' came mainly from the seasonal pitches as they all seemed to know each other.

Can't say it spoilt our holiday but it does need addressing.

Days out where spent in Chester, Chester Zoo, Go Ape, and Ice cream factory.

Excellent Chinese/fish and chips in Holt down the road, or in Tattenhall both excellent.

Would we return?. Yes 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Macarw 19 reviews from this member

 Stayed for 6 nights on an electric hook up pitch in our large tent.

This was a lovely site with lots of facilities. There was a playground, games room with a table tennis table and a pool table, tennis court, ball game area and fishing lakes (all fenced off) and of course the outdoor swimming pool. There was a wi-fi room at reception which also had a fridge with eggs and milk available with an honesty box for payment. It was a secure site with a card to open the barrier both when arriving and leaving.

The pitches were well spaced out, and the site looked tidy and well kept. Our large tent was easily accommodated, and we could choose whether to leave our car next to the tent or put it in the car park. The pitches were not regimented, and seemed to be a mixture of caravans, motorhomes and tents. There were a few static caravans, and a lot of pitches which seemed to be seasonal ones.

The toilet block seemed quite new, the ladies had a laundry room just inside the door. (The smell wasn't very pleasant in that area). There were two washing machines and a dryer which were connected to a pay per electric box. We didn't use the laundry, but twice I met other campers who were having problems with a washing machine - it seemed that the programmes were not in sync with the time allowed on the electric meter, so the electric was running out before the washing had finished.

The showers never seemed to get busy, I never had to wait even though the site was quite full. The water was hot (sometimes too hot) and plentiful. The cubicles had a dry area with a seat and a coat hook, but they were a bit odd as they had a partition which only blocked half the shower spray from hitting the wet area, so the floor got very wet - as hubby found out when he discovered his shoes had filled with water after his shower! There were hairdryers in the outer area, but I didn't use them so not sure if they were free or not. There was also a baby bath on the side one day, not sure if that belonged to someone or was available for use.

There were two washing up sinks with drainers around the side of the toilet block, again the hot water was very hot and plentiful.

I thought cleanliness was hit and miss, the first time I used the shower it smelt of cleaning stuff and was immaculate, but later in the week the showers and toilets didn't seem to have been cleaned from one day to the next. Just outside the ladies there were some birds nesting in the light fitting, and underneath was an ever increasing pile of bird muck which wasn't cleaned away during the time we were there. It was the same with the bins, in one area the large bin was overflowing, but in other places the bins were half empty, I know it's down to campers not bothering to look for an empty bin - there were plenty about, but the site staff didn't seem to rectify the overflowing bin.

The pool was lovely and clean, it was securely fenced off and the gate was tricky to open for an adult, so I would say safe for little children playing on the site as they would find it hard to open the gate. However there was no lifeguard so the site was dependent on guests following the rules such as no under 16's unsupervised - rules which of course some families blatantly ignored!

It was very different to the previous site we stayed at where the wardens were very visible and patrolled the site regularly even in the evenings, here we only noticed the wardens when they were showing someone to a pitch other than that they were in the office at the entrance, and were not around after 6pm - an emergency contact number was on a sign.

There weren't any shops within walking distance of the site, there was a pub (not cheap but good food) however a 15 min drive away into Wrexham there is huge choice of supermarkets, shops and places to eat. There are 2 indoor fun pools in the area, both with flumes and one with a wave machine, two National Trust properties, one with a great adventure playground, and lots of family things in the area to do, the Crocky Trail, Ice cream factory, Candle workshops Techniquest hands on science museum and of course Chester Zoo to name but a few.

We would definitely book again in the future. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ian Skeldon 1 review from this member

 Arrived on site to a warm welcome, the few rules in force were explained and we were shown to our pitch.

The pitch was for mixed units and nobody was cramped ensuring enough room for windbreaks and privacy. Our pitch was level and well sited with shrubs and trees nearby giving a secure feeling, EHU was only 10m away, toilets, shower and sinks etc only a short walk away.

The showers were hot with plenty of water, no skimping on the ablution block as everything was clean and in good working order and I guess recently built.

Chemical and waste disposal were also close enough for conveinience.

There is a play area for children and the kids there seemed to love it, there is a heated swimming pool, again very clean and pleasant. Around the pool there are some sun loungers placed out so that adults supervising any under sixteens can do so in comfort.

Just up the road from the site (about 1 mile) is a public house that looks good from the outside but wasn't put to the test. A small town or village (Holt) is about 5 miles down the raod and Wrexham a further 5-6 miles on from there so if you have forgotten something it's no big deal.

I genuinely couldn't believe how quick the time there went, I wished I could have stayed there longer. Would I go back ? Oh yes, already decided to go back, the only question now will be when.

My only criticism, is that they don't do gas, however the farm next door does, so it's not a problem but that is why I scored the site facilities a 9 instead of a 10. 


Date of Visit: February 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: JACRM 31 reviews from this member

 Visited here for a 2 night stay.

There is an electric barrier at the entrance to the site (card operated)

There seemed to only be a handful of pitches for passing trade, most taken with seasonal caravans.

It's a nice well laid out site, plenty of pitch space. The roadway through the site is a little narrow, especially when you have a big caravan and your trying not to go onto the wet grass!

Toilet block was nothing short of immaculate, seemed to be recently built!

Kids loved the children's playground! 


Previous     87 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Manor Wood Country Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Manor Wood Country Caravan Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Manor Wood Country Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Manor Wood Country Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Chester      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cheshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 28/06
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4299 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020