Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Manor Wood Country Caravan Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Cheshire > Site Reviews

Manor Wood Country Caravan Park
Coddington
Chester
Cheshire   (Browse area)
CH3 9EN
Tel: 01829 782990  or  0772 817827
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 25
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 85 Reviews
                8/10 from 85 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (18)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 1 mile   Tennis On Site 
 No Beach   Watersports 10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  85 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: JBSB 6 reviews from this member

Lovely site surrounded by gorgeous countryside. Staff were very helpful when checking in, advising on local pubs and bus services. We ate in the Cock O Barton, about a 10 to 15 minute walk and would definitely recommend.

As we went mid week we had a choice of pitches (and at a discount price!). The site is really nicely landscaped and well maintained.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Austin McArdle 3 reviews from this member

We stayed for a couple of nights in Mid August.

The site was maintained well while being clean and tidy.

Kim checked us in, talked us through some of the basic rules and showed us to our pitch, where we were then left in peace.

Although not the cheapest site it has good amenities including the pool, games room and two fishing lakes. The adult one contains carp up to 22lb, I can verify this by catching a couple close to that weight (just in front of the mini island) and for a fiver the fishing is great value. The smaller lake doesn't have carp but does have plenty of silverfish, chub and big perch.

Can happily recommend for families

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Eddie4321 1 review from this member

This is a very clean and quite site with excellent facilities warden are nice and helpful and very friendly,

Fishing on site is good with several ponds, did not brave the swimming pool but looked good,

Hope to be back soon

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: SamOwen 1 review from this member

We recently spent 2 nights at Manorwood Caravan Park and really cannot rate it enough. Situated in the countryside away from any main roads the site is lovely and secluded, quiet with the sounds of the countryside to enjoy.

The staff were lovely and friendly and gave us plenty of information on arrival.

There was an honesty shop next door with milk and eggs available and lots of information leaflets about the local area and places to eat. The only suggestion I would have is directions for a local shop which we had to google. Next door is an enclosed tennis court and also a football goal that the kids enjoyed.

There was also a games room that provided pool, ping pong and other games which the three kids and us enjoyed.

The pitch itself was lovely and clean, well kept and with a nice view of the fishing pond. The site itself was well kept and quiet.

We explored the shower block and again weren't disappointed. There were separate toilets, separate showers, a veg prep room with a freezer and fridge, dish washing facilities and a lovely heated pool with sun loungers. There is also several places for chemical waste to be disposed off. I would say it would be hand to have another toilet block because for the tents it can be quite a walk with little ones in the nights. Or putting the tents nearer to the toilet block as opposed to caravans which have toilets in.

There is a specified doggy walk as well as a welly washing area. There are several other ponds to be explored that can be fished in and on our walks we discovered the large overspill field which we enjoyed playing with the Frisbee and football on.

Myself and my daughter also enjoyed some early morning walks and exploring and weren't disappointed to see wild rabbits, a badger, heron and lots of other birds. It is a small enough site that I felt comfortable letting my children ages 16, 13 and 7 enjoy and explore on their own. All the other people staying in tents and caravans were lovely and welcoming too. There is also Wi-Fi available at a cost but we were so busy we didn't need to use it - infact none of us touched a phone all weekend other than for directions to the nearest shop.

A fantastic campsite that I really cannot recommend highly enough. We will definitely be returning. Well done ManorWood!

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tj5566 1 review from this member

Just spent 10 nights here, second visit, all in all very good site

Good toilet/shower block very clean and modern

Outdoor heated swimming pool, can be very busy with children using it in all weather.

Washing up facilities could be improved, to have more sinks would be better, though plenty of hot water.

Children's play park again can be busy.

Two fishing lakes, not bad fishing.

Tennis court, free rackets, balls @1

The only complaint I had was the very large number of teenagers about 20! just roaming around at night, very intimidating for some people, I had to ask them to move on from outside our tent (Which they did). However a couple of nights later someone else's request was met with abuse!

I think these 'kids' came mainly from the seasonal pitches as they all seemed to know each other.

Can't say it spoilt our holiday but it does need addressing.

Days out where spent in Chester, Chester Zoo, Go Ape, and Ice cream factory.

Excellent Chinese/fish and chips in Holt down the road, or in Tattenhall both excellent.

Would we return?. Yes

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Macarw 16 reviews from this member

Stayed for 6 nights on an electric hook up pitch in our large tent.

This was a lovely site with lots of facilities. There was a playground, games room with a table tennis table and a pool table, tennis court, ball game area and fishing lakes (all fenced off) and of course the outdoor swimming pool. There was a wi-fi room at reception which also had a fridge with eggs and milk available with an honesty box for payment. It was a secure site with a card to open the barrier both when arriving and leaving.

The pitches were well spaced out, and the site looked tidy and well kept. Our large tent was easily accommodated, and we could choose whether to leave our car next to the tent or put it in the car park. The pitches were not regimented, and seemed to be a mixture of caravans, motorhomes and tents. There were a few static caravans, and a lot of pitches which seemed to be seasonal ones.

The toilet block seemed quite new, the ladies had a laundry room just inside the door. (The smell wasn't very pleasant in that area). There were two washing machines and a dryer which were connected to a pay per electric box. We didn't use the laundry, but twice I met other campers who were having problems with a washing machine - it seemed that the programmes were not in sync with the time allowed on the electric meter, so the electric was running out before the washing had finished.

The showers never seemed to get busy, I never had to wait even though the site was quite full. The water was hot (sometimes too hot) and plentiful. The cubicles had a dry area with a seat and a coat hook, but they were a bit odd as they had a partition which only blocked half the shower spray from hitting the wet area, so the floor got very wet - as hubby found out when he discovered his shoes had filled with water after his shower! There were hairdryers in the outer area, but I didn't use them so not sure if they were free or not. There was also a baby bath on the side one day, not sure if that belonged to someone or was available for use.

There were two washing up sinks with drainers around the side of the toilet block, again the hot water was very hot and plentiful.

I thought cleanliness was hit and miss, the first time I used the shower it smelt of cleaning stuff and was immaculate, but later in the week the showers and toilets didn't seem to have been cleaned from one day to the next. Just outside the ladies there were some birds nesting in the light fitting, and underneath was an ever increasing pile of bird muck which wasn't cleaned away during the time we were there. It was the same with the bins, in one area the large bin was overflowing, but in other places the bins were half empty, I know it's down to campers not bothering to look for an empty bin - there were plenty about, but the site staff didn't seem to rectify the overflowing bin.

The pool was lovely and clean, it was securely fenced off and the gate was tricky to open for an adult, so I would say safe for little children playing on the site as they would find it hard to open the gate. However there was no lifeguard so the site was dependent on guests following the rules such as no under 16's unsupervised - rules which of course some families blatantly ignored!

It was very different to the previous site we stayed at where the wardens were very visible and patrolled the site regularly even in the evenings, here we only noticed the wardens when they were showing someone to a pitch other than that they were in the office at the entrance, and were not around after 6pm - an emergency contact number was on a sign.

There weren't any shops within walking distance of the site, there was a pub (not cheap but good food) however a 15 min drive away into Wrexham there is huge choice of supermarkets, shops and places to eat. There are 2 indoor fun pools in the area, both with flumes and one with a wave machine, two National Trust properties, one with a great adventure playground, and lots of family things in the area to do, the Crocky Trail, Ice cream factory, Candle workshops Techniquest hands on science museum and of course Chester Zoo to name but a few.

We would definitely book again in the future.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ian Skeldon 1 review from this member

Arrived on site to a warm welcome, the few rules in force were explained and we were shown to our pitch.

The pitch was for mixed units and nobody was cramped ensuring enough room for windbreaks and privacy. Our pitch was level and well sited with shrubs and trees nearby giving a secure feeling, EHU was only 10m away, toilets, shower and sinks etc only a short walk away.

The showers were hot with plenty of water, no skimping on the ablution block as everything was clean and in good working order and I guess recently built.

Chemical and waste disposal were also close enough for conveinience.

There is a play area for children and the kids there seemed to love it, there is a heated swimming pool, again very clean and pleasant. Around the pool there are some sun loungers placed out so that adults supervising any under sixteens can do so in comfort.

Just up the road from the site (about 1 mile) is a public house that looks good from the outside but wasn't put to the test. A small town or village (Holt) is about 5 miles down the raod and Wrexham a further 5-6 miles on from there so if you have forgotten something it's no big deal.

I genuinely couldn't believe how quick the time there went, I wished I could have stayed there longer. Would I go back ? Oh yes, already decided to go back, the only question now will be when.

My only criticism, is that they don't do gas, however the farm next door does, so it's not a problem but that is why I scored the site facilities a 9 instead of a 10.

Date of Visit: February 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: JACRM 31 reviews from this member

Visited here for a 2 night stay.

There is an electric barrier at the entrance to the site (card operated)

There seemed to only be a handful of pitches for passing trade, most taken with seasonal caravans.

It's a nice well laid out site, plenty of pitch space. The roadway through the site is a little narrow, especially when you have a big caravan and your trying not to go onto the wet grass!

Toilet block was nothing short of immaculate, seemed to be recently built!

Kids loved the children's playground!

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: ClaireW60 4 reviews from this member

We were looking forward to visiting Manor Wood after reading the other reviews, we weren't disappointed. This is one of the nicest sites we have stayed on. It's a nice size not too many pitches but not too small either. We were welcomed at reception and shown to our pitch. We were at the end of the field so had plenty of room, even when the pitch to the other side was occupied later that day the pitch sizes were generous. The toilet and shower blocks were kept very clean even though I never saw anyone cleaning. Our kids (age 10) enjoyed the small play area but especially loved the pool, it's wasn't a very warm day but they said the pool was warm. Really great location for visiting Chester and Chester Zoo. There was some noise from the other kids running around near the play area until just after 10. 00pm (I think many of them know each other who have caravans there regularly) but once it went quiet it stayed quiet, we weren't woken by anyone in the morning either which can often happen when camping. All in all a lovely site and we already plan to go back next summer

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Candy Floss 8 reviews from this member

Friendly helpful welcome.

Level pitch, gorgeous views. The fishing lakes are fenced and safe for little ones.

Facilities are clean, loved the family showers really made showering enjoyable, 4 yr old had his own shower and no water in his eyes. Result.

We used the fridge freezer. Very clean.

The pool is fab. It is heated, loved it.

Daughter enjoyed the tennis court. Son loved the play area.

Brilliant site with loads to do in the area, will be returning without a doubt.

Previous     85 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cheshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Outwell Sleeping Package worth over 399 Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to 175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1359 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


Play the UKCampsite.co.uk
Easter Hunt


Easter Hunt

Follow the clues, find the answer, and win a fantastic Easter prize - a TV / DVD Combo worth 399!