Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Manor Wood Country Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > North West England > Cheshire > Chester > Manor Wood Country Caravan Park > Reviews

Manor Wood Country Caravan Park
Coddington
Chester
Cheshire   (Browse area)
CH3 9EN
Tel: 01829 782990  or  0772 817827
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 40
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 95 Reviews
                8/10 from 95 Reviews

Photos (27)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   Holiday Homes for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   Tennis On Site 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 
 Electric Car Charging Point

Reviews:  95 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Madasmad 13 reviews from this member

 Arrived to a warm welcome from Angela and after usual formalities was shown to my grass pitch with electric hook-up. Pitch in great condition and very level. Good position for us as near to showers, play area and swimming pool. However you have to park you car in a car park and not next to your van.

I very nice site very close to a great pub - The Cock o' Barton with nice open views to the Welsh hills. The weather was perfect for our stay so I can't comment on the wind factor mentioned by others.

Rate expensive @£30 per night for 2 adults and 2 children but I will go again. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Joosie 2 reviews from this member

 I seem to have had a different experience to everyone else on this site. I found it very unwelcoming, we have 3 children and the rules are so restrictive we felt that they couldn't do anything!

Although it was very quiet when we arrived, on the day we left there were far more children and it was far noisier, so we were perhaps obeying the rules too much! I would suggest that this site would be far more suitable for couples wanting a quiet break away.

It is also extremely expensive, it cost us £33 per night by the time you pay for each individual child on top of the pitch fee, and the pool, which is supposed to be 'all weather' wasn't open until we left.

I would not use the site again. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Alphonso De Lard 24 reviews from this member

 We had a long weekend here, staying on the tent field, which on our arrival was quite exposed to the wind. During the weekend the field seemed full, containing a selection of tents and caravans. As expected on Sunday the field emptied apart from just a handful of units.

The caravan field remained quite full, so I can presume that there are many seasonal outfits on this site, which also offers both undercover and outside storage facilities. Next time we stay here, I will probably ask to pitch on the field near next to the facilities to save the “236” steps to the loo my OH counted. (She always counts the number of steps at each site we stay at, apparently 236 is too many).

The toilet block was always clean, and as other reviewers have already stated, there are only two showers in each block. Even so, I didn’t have to queue at all, and the site was busy over the weekend, so I guess a lot of the caravanners use their own facilities.

There is a nice play park for the kids, and the outdoor pool was lovely, although we did have to ask for this to be opened on Monday morning, as we wanted to take a dip before we left the site. The daughter and I also had ten minutes playing table tennis, although I thought the £1 charged for a table tennis ball was a little steep. The tennis court was in use most of the weekend, mainly by children, but I also noticed several adults having a knock-up. I can’t comment on the fishing lake, other than I noticed a couple of fellow campers giving it a go, whether they caught anything I don’t know.

We had a truly lovely, if expensive meal, at the Cock O Barton pub. Perfect for a special occasion, maybe not for those looking for cheap pub grub. We also had a meal at the Grosvenor Garden Centre, (home of Caseys camping store – small Cabanon display, with a few Outwells, Vangos etc. And some lovely looking folding campers, with a great accessories shop also), which was quite expensive, but tasty, (overheard some other diners also saying their jacket spuds were lovely, but over priced).

Nature on sight – we saw rabbits, a small bird of prey, geese, an owl (barn I think) was nesting above the internal caravan storage garage door, plenty of birds. Locally, we saw many other birds of prey and a heron.

Things to do… (Or things we did)… Lots of lovely picturesque villages to drive through. We had a day in Chester walking around both the shops and the wall, and also had a trip to the zoo, (expensive but a lovely zoo).

We would stay at this site again, great rural location but close enough to Chester to provide lots of things to do, and nice well looked after facilities. 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Itsyum 111 reviews from this member

 A nice site, good facilities very clean but only 2 showers for each ladies & gents, not really enough for such a large site especially during bank holiday periods !

Site is well laid out with 2 fishing pools and an outdoor swimming pool (which was closed during our stay)

There's a large children's play area and tennis courts

The site is a bit remote as there is nothing within walking distance. We took our cycles and used the bridal ways to the next villages 2 - 3 miles away, a nice ride

The site is very open and extremely windy so check the weather before setting out (the tent opposite us collapsed and no one kept a windbreak up all weekend)

All in all quite expensive considering how remote this place is, but it's a well run nice site but don't think we will return 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Adeishblue 12 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from 3 nights at Manor Wood. Excellent site, swimming pool great and we even had the sunshine. The toilet/shower blocks are lovely and warm and clean.

Great flat pitches for tents and plenty of room.

A Chinese takeaway that deliver to site if you don't fancy cooking one night ! and an ice cream van that visits ! A great base to explore Chester, Cheshire and North Wales.

A great site will definitely use again and would highly recommend. Not the cheapest but as the saying goes 'you get what you pay for'. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Gaza121 2 reviews from this member

 Visited the site during a lovely spell of weather and had a good stay, The site is well kept with clean toilets/showers.

The site has 2 fishing lakes on site however a charge of £5 per day is required on top of the site fees to fish.

A nice site however I feel cost wise it is a very expensive site.

The hardstanding pitch that we were on was not level and had no waste water or fresh water supply. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Baybird 3 reviews from this member

 Just spent 4 days here and it was fantastic. The weather was perfect and although the campsite was full it still didn't feel overcrowded.

Previous reviews have mentioned the fact that there were only 2 showers but even on a busy bank holiday weekend no-one in our party had to queue for a shower.

Great place and can recommend the Cock o Barton for fantastic food and brilliant service.

It was a bit pricey but there were 5 of us and we did have 4 bottles of very nice wine. Lots of lovely walks nearby too. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Philalli 2 reviews from this member

 We stayed at Manorwood for 3 nights over the bank holiday weekend, the site warden Angela was very helpful and showed us to our pitch which was hard standing and spacious with its own grey waste point and close enough to the water point to reach with our hose.

The site is very well maintained and laid out, the toilet blocks were immaculate, the showers were hot and spacious. (Although there was only 2 in the ladies). The site are quite strict about noise so everywhere was quiet by 10pm.

There are lots of facilities on the site (Games room, Pool, tennis courts which all looked good but we did not use them so can't really comment.)

There is a pub which is a 10 minute walk away at the top of the road called the Cock O Barton which is really lovely, great service, lovely decor and fabulous food, although not particularly cheap (if your imagining pub grub prices) it is worth paying the extra as it is more like top quality restaurant food than a pub. If you eat before 7pm (on the day menu) you get a similar menu for half the price and can still eat in the restaurant part. 4 of us had 3 courses coffee and a couple of drinks and the bill was just over £100.

The lane you approach the site from is narrow and could be a worry if you met another caravan / motorhome coming in the other direction, but with arrival and departure times being a few hours apart it is probably not likely and I would not let this put you off.

We travelled to a Retail Park near Wrexham with a Sainsbury's an Argos, Homebase, Boots etc. Which was about a 15 minute drive and no problem to park in the motorhome. The town centre was just a few miles further on.

We had great weather which always makes a site feel nicer but I couldn't really fault this one and would definitely stay again.

Only negative would be the price for visitors, they are charged £4 to park (not even on a proper car park) which seemed a bit excessive when we had paid £72 for 3 nights! 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bobi 4 reviews from this member

 Stayed at this site for 5 nights. A Lovely family friendly site. Very clean shower block and toilets, a great play area for children surrounded by sand.

A good base for sightseeing. We visited Chester, Blue Planet Cheshire Oaks, Ice Cream farm and Albert Docks Liverpool.

Although there were a lengthy list of park rules ie No noise after 10.00 pm, no ball games, no groups, dogs to be kept on leads. During our time at the park, the caravan opposite ours was with another 3 caravans the adults of which would be playing football and their terrier was on a number of occasions off its lead as the adults would throw a ball for it to run off and fetch. 


Date of Visit: March 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: FionaW1971 21 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a short break here and it is a lovely site. Although for us its just a few miles away, the setting is so beautiful and peaceful and you could be anywhere.

On arrival at reception there wasn't anyone there but a number outside to phone and a very nice lady came to meet us and showed us to our pitch.

Our pitch was fantastic right in front of the play area (wouldn't suit everyone) but for our children being 6 & 4 this was excellent - hardstanding pitch with electricity, close to the toilet block and car park area.

The playframe is suitable for children from 6 years old, our 4 year old son managed it just about ok - it was a challenge but he loved that about it and we kept an eye on him. The frame is surrounded by sand, so expect sandy kids but it is the 'clean' golden sand which just brushes off - so if you have children don't forget the bucket and spade!

This is a lovely get away from it all site, lovely views and very peaceful. There is a pub within walking distance but from the website it seems pretty formal - I think the Egerton Arms up the road (5mins drive) would be more casual.

The only tiny niggles we had were noisy children late at night playing in and around the toilet block, but there were signs up by the owners that this wasn't allowed to be fair! Also we wanted to speak to the owners in the morning to see if we could pay to have a late departure as it was such a lovely day, but there wasn't anyone in reception or answering the phone - it is low season after all so probably to be expected.

We will definitely visit again but for longer next time, the children cried when we left and have said they want to come again when the pool open! 


Previous     95 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Manor Wood Country Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Manor Wood Country Caravan Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Manor Wood Country Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Manor Wood Country Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Chester      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cheshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


40609 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement