Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Manor Wood Country Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > North West England > Cheshire > Chester > Manor Wood Country Caravan Park > Reviews

Manor Wood Country Caravan Park
Coddington
Chester
Cheshire   (Browse area)
CH3 9EN
Tel: 01829 782990  or  0772 817827
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 40
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 95 Reviews
                8/10 from 95 Reviews

Photos (27)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   Holiday Homes for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   Tennis On Site 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 
 Electric Car Charging Point

Reviews:  95 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Fertile Phill 11 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a weekend here and to be honest, it wasn't long enough.

Wardens very helpful and accommodating.

Facilities probably the best I have seen on any site.

Site itself is kept immaculate.

Fishing for £5. 00 a day is super value and the pond is well stocked. We all caught something!

Pool was closed but will be good when open.

Tennis court is free and there is a games room with pool and table tennis.

Playground is of a good standard, lots of happy kids.

All in all worth every penny @ £24. 00 per night for 2 adults and a child. 


Date of Visit: March 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Miss A 1 review from this member

 Just returned from Manor Wood, this is one of the better sites we have been too!

The toilets and showers have recently been refurbished to hotel standard, plenty of showers with powerful HOT water.

The park was immaculate, children never moaned once.

Good to see the owners promoting local village shops 5 minutes away, even the takeaway delivers to the park free of charge.

Also some excellent pubs within walking distance serving great quality food and ale as well as some fantastic places nearby to take the kids. WE WILL BE BACK! 


Date of Visit: February 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Slimseydy 33 reviews from this member

 Stayed for 3 nights paID over £75. 00 for the stay, 2 adults, 1 child, low season. I booked what I thought was a delux super pitch as the owner stated on the phone after reading the website so I could give the caravan a good servicing & clean out first trip of the year, but when I arrived I paid delux superpitch prices & was directed to a serviced pitch all be it hard standing next to the tennis court, not what I expected for my money.

Think they have just had a steam roller go over the grass with some gravel to make hard standing pitch. As no thought has gone into the sizes of pitch. The floor was like a lime stone gravel & with it being winter season comes straight into the van, carpets now need a deep clean & the van is in a worse state now than when it arrived to be cleaned up. the pitch was only big enough for caravan, the owner was away so I couldn't question the cost against pitch allocation. One of the static residents booked me in. Lucky enough I had no neighbours so used next pitch to park up, must be awkward in the summer as everyone has a tow car. they do have some nice what I would call de lux superpitches surrounding the lake, all large enough with slate base & again fully serviced, but they are all taken by seasonals.

the park itself was nice enough & I used the tennis court & games room with my son, although you have to keep going down the opposite end of the games room and wave to activate the light sensor, gets very dark in there.

Wrexham only 10 mins & found a great pub called Gate Hangs High for food & hospitality, check it out you wont be disappointed. Pub by the site road entrance, is ok if you don't mind spending £20 for a gammon & chips each so we stayed clear. Not interested in michelin stars just want to eat. This was a nice park & peaceful but don't think I will be returning 


Date of Visit: January 2012 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: BiffyBoffy 23 reviews from this member

 We used this site for one night to visit Chester and the Zoo in the winter, which are both a 20 minute drive away. We arrived at 17:00 after a days looking round Chester. The check in hut was unmanned (I think itís a working farm), but there was a number to ring in such situations. We were told where our pitch was and that that they would come see us later on to make sure we were settled in.

The site is open plan with hard standings and a small area on grass all set around a lake.

The toilet block / alfresco washing up facilities were clean, warm and there was plenty of hot water.

We didnít see any shops near by so buy everything on your way in if youíre not staying for long like we did.

We didn't venture off the site as we arrived at dusk and left early for the zoo next day but there appeared to be plenty of well signposted footpaths around the area.

This site is ideally suited for Chester town centre and all the other attractions around, did I mention the zoo!

We paid £13. 50 for our van and two adults with electric hook up which we though was cracking value, (until we paid and were told there was a supplement of £5 for a Saturday night!) We got let off this luckily. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Callie968 56 reviews from this member

 Cannot fault this brilliant site we stayed for 2 nights over August bank holiday weekend and would definitely re vist & recommend.

Pitches

Spacious and flat we had a super pitch and thought it was well drained and a great size. Lovely flat landscaped site extremely peaceful & quiet with lovely views.

Site facilities

Without doubt the best swimming pool we have used on a site, spotless, lovely paved area with sunbeds and chairs and covered area for parents to sit if it rains. As it was cold the owner heated it to max for the children and it was like a bath. A focal point for the children and mine were in it for 2 days solid, they adored it,

Nice play area but could do with a few swings/roundabout as there is just a multi activity frame and I don't think suitable for under 5s, also bark chippings I feel would be more parent friendly than sand, as it was damp it stuck to everything and consequently our caravan was covered in sand ( a small moan ! but the plus point is the smaller children enjoyed digging in it !)

Heated toilet/Amenity block very clean plenty of soap, toilet paper and hot water large spacious showers & laundry room.

Games room with pool/table tennis great for teenagers if the weather is wet.

Fishing lakes nicely landscaped but rather expensive @ £5 per day I thought !

Staff

Very friendly and helpful, welcome pack given on arrival, milk and eggs sold at the reception and many tourist info leaflets. Easy booking process

This site as mentioned is quite remote there are no shops in walking distance so go prepared.

The only improvements I feel could be made to this site is a shop I feel the owners could make a bomb, Newspapers Bacon and BBQ meats and sweets would be a good start but I feel this may be capitalised on by the owners in due course !

Well done Manor Wood we loved it ! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kevs 1 review from this member

 We recently stayed on this site, toilet and shower facilities clean but only 2 showers in each, which is okay if site isn't too busy! Large family room - no bath only shower. Also only 2 dish-washing sinks, and had to queue to use these several times. The pool was freezing, even though it said it was heated, but certainly wasn't during our stay.

We have a 3yr old and the park was too old, there were several young children staying on the site and the play areas were certainly directed at older children.

Large, spacious pitch, but found it a bit of a pain not being allowed to leave the car by the tent and having to put it in the car park.

10miles to nearest supermarket - only milk and eggs sold on site - and the only way we could find this was by using the tomtom.

Site very remote!

However, site was nicely maintained, with a bridal way alongside which we walked along in the evening and around the ponds. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Thegreens5 4 reviews from this member

 Fantastic little venue - great for kids. A group of us mums went with all the kids - 9 in total and we had a fantastic few days.

The weather was good so we spent most of the time in the pool but there is also a great play area, tennis court and indoor games room.

Friendly site, good sized pitches and good amenities. There are only two showers in the ladies block but we never had to wait and they were spacious so there was enough room to fit a few kids in and dry them and get them changed.

Quite expensive to camp here so I wouldn't stay for more than a few days but because the weather was good and we used the pool so much it was worth it. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Donaldgehrmann 3 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for 2 nights and found the site very quiet. The kids were disappointed that the site didn't allow cycling. Nice pitches and the staff were friendly.

The toilets were very clean but the camp site didn't seem very busy at the time we were there.

Easy bridle ways for cycling right at the camp site

Taking you to a village but there is a bit of a road to finish the journey to the village pub.

The village pub at the end of the bridle way served food as long as you got there before 2pm for lunch.

All in all, No complaints 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lisapauldoherty 7 reviews from this member

 We had a large pitch on flat well drained ground and we were directed there by the owner who was extremely pleasant and helpful which made the stay even more pleasant.

The weather was mixed and windy but our tent was fine and the weather never spoilt it. The pool is fantastic. It's only small but its really warm and ideal for young children. We swam in it when it was raining which was a good laugh.

The showers and toilets are spotless and the family room is ideal for anyone with young children we have 3 kids 3, 4, and 7 and we all got in with plenty of room.

The family room was also spotless. The views were also fantastic and everyone on the site were friendly. The kids got to stroke the sheep which they loved.

We will be back here, it is quite expensive but you get what you pay for in my opinion. See you there soon! 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jessica rabbit 8 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a weekend at this wonderful site. On arrival, we were greeted by a man at reception who gave us a welcome pack and a key fob to get through the security gate. He led us to out pitch which was right next to the park (as someone else said, it may not be for everyone but having a 3 & a 4 year old we thought it was perfect)

The welcome pack had some leaflets in for days out etc and a chinese take away menu. We were told that we were welcome to use the tennis courts and the rackets were free of charge, they just ask you for £1 for tennis balls and if no-one is in reception you can leave the money in an honesty box.

The pitch was great. It was hardstanding and plenty of room for the awning and car. The kids park was great and it sits in sand so our kids were happy to sit with their bucket and spades and build sandcastles.

There is a drinking water tap right next to the park which all the children tended to use for either cleaning the sand from their hands and feet or adding water to their castles.

The toilets were very clean and nice and warm. We used the family bathroom which is a wet room with a very powerful shower with plenty of hot water. Their are lovely soap pump bottles in the toilets and an antibacterial hand wash.

The fishing on the lake seemed to be good and we saw a few people catching on there.

We didn't use the games room but its definitely handy to have for older children, especially if the weather isnt great. The outdoor pool was lovely. It is heated so the kids were happy.

We will definitely be visiting this site again, its been one of the best we have been to. Fantastic for families 


Previous     95 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Manor Wood Country Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Manor Wood Country Caravan Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Manor Wood Country Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Manor Wood Country Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Chester      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cheshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


60031 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement