Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Manor Wood Country Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > North West England > Cheshire > Chester > Manor Wood Country Caravan Park > Reviews

Manor Wood Country Caravan Park
Coddington
Chester
Cheshire   (Browse area)
CH3 9EN
Tel: 01829 782990  or  0772 817827
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 40
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 95 Reviews
                8/10 from 95 Reviews

Photos (27)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   Holiday Homes for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   Tennis On Site 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 
 Electric Car Charging Point

Reviews:  95 in total, now showing 71 to 80                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Yvonnepadley 15 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from visiting Manor Wood, it was a very very wet Good Friday when we arrived. I was rather worried when upon checking in I was told to wait for Nigel to return to hitch us up to pull the caravan on to the pitch. However, I could fully understand this when I saw how wet the field was that we were sited on.

We did manage to get on to the pitch but we decided not to put up the awning as the field was completely sodden. Having said this the tourers in the main area which was hardstanding with tarmac roadways were ok. The approach to the site is very narrow with a blind bend so again a bit of preying was needed when we arrived and left.

The site itself is very well cared for and the owners work hard to maintain the facilities there. The toilet / shower block was spotless but there were only 2 shower cubicles with 1 family area. The play area for small children looked very good and well used. There was a small games area which was pretty dark and dingy looking but housed a pool table, table tennis and a football table.

There were 2 fishing lakes on site and again these looked in good order and were used daily.

There were fantastic views of the surrounding countryside but the site was a bit too far out of civilisation for my personal preference. Chester was a good 10 miles drive away. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Antnic10 7 reviews from this member

 Excellent for visiting Chester & surrounding areas. Pitches v roomy. Angela (site warden)was v friendly,approachable & helpful (they even hung out our washing 1 day when we went out for the day!). Great kids play area,outdoor pool & free use of tennis court. Excellent clothes washing facilities - front loader washing machine (makes a change from prehistoric top loaders on sites) & free use of iron & ironing board. Now for the downside(s)- could do with more than 2 showers & 1 washbasin area for the size of the site - had to dash on morning to get in without queuing. Washing up area was tiny & could do with more sinks. And site was overrun with wasps - I appreciate they can't help this but a few traps etc dotted around may have culled them a little. Dont let this put you off as they were minor faults & we would definitely go back at a later date (armed with wasp traps next time!). 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Saz123 5 reviews from this member

 Well what can I say this site is fantastic.Only being 36miles from our home it was great for the weekend stay.

The kids park and pool were a great hit.Very helpful and friendly staff always there to offer there help.

Fantastic views no matter where you pitch,we was pitched rite in front of the play park which was great as we could see the kids at all times.

The shower and toilet block look new and are lovely and kept very clean at all times.

Well worth the money will be going back very soon. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Yvonnelane 1 review from this member

 Great Campsite lovely staff took us to our pitch on arrival, given a key to toilet block which was a couple of minutes walk from us but very clean and had everything you needed, lots of taps on site to do your washing up and get water from. It was our first camp trip with our 2 children who are both under 4 they loved it the excitement of sleeping outdoors. We were very lucky with the weather and had clear skys all night and sunshine all day. I would definitely recommend this campsite lovely rural area. They even deliver Chinese to the site if you don't want to cook. We didn't go for this as only stayed one night but I'm sure if we would have been there a week we would have ventured. We will definitely be going back and taking the dog next time. We went bank holiday weekend so paid 19 pound for the night as kids under 5 go free well worth the money 


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Smoggydunc 7 reviews from this member

 This is our 4th year of coming to Manorwood and once again were blessed with the most amazing weather. The focal point is the pool whereby the kids play can play all day- it could the south of France rather than Coddington when you get the weather.
The impeccable high standards are there for all to see- great friendly staff on the site- the site is safe for the kids to potter about and there are so many friends for them- play area is also a great focal point for them.
Only downside is the cost which seems to be escalating- 24 for a 4 man tent with no hook up is very expensive and the constant grass cutting all day did impair the tranquillity and peacefulness. But don't let that put you off its the best site you will ever go on- superb! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dave and Lisa 6 reviews from this member

 Fantastic, brilliant, excellent, super, unbeatable, etc you get the picture.

That's all the superlatives done with, now for the details.

This is a small site in wide open countryside with absolute peace and great views. The amenities and facilities are great.

We were greeted by Angela who was very pleasant and helpful even though we arrived well before the official check in time.

All pitches are set, be you tent, trailer tent or caravan, but there is loads of room between pitches and all have electric hook up included in the price.

The toilet/shower block has two showers per sex although we never encountered any queue's and the block is spotless. There is also a family bathroom. There are plug sockets available so you ladies that need hair straighteners will be ok! lol.

We went fishing on one day, it costs 5 per day, get your bait right and the fish throw themselves at you, well worth the money for a days relaxing by the lake.

There is no shop on site to speak of (the size doesn't really justify it) but there is a fridge freezer in the check in block that you can use for your cooler cold blocks and that has milk, eggs and pop for sale. If there is no one about there is an honesty box to pay for things.

There is also a tennis court, with racquets and balls available to use.

We will absolutely, definitely be back. 


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pam-T 2 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from our first camping adventure.

Both Nigel and Angela were fantastic hosts, as it was our first time Angela showed us to our plot and explained where our boundaries were, the hook up and water stands and showed us where the toilet block and play areas were.

I say adventure as when we arrived at the site we found we had left the keys for our roof box at home! Nigel was great he gave us some tent pegs (ours were in the box) and gave us directions to the local halfords in Wrexham and Chester to see if they have spare or replacement keys for the box (no such luck)

Having no cooker (in the box) Nigel showed us menu's of the surrounding pubs, take aways that deliver on site and shops to get supplies, Angela gave us a couple of bricks to stand our throw away BBQ on that we bought.

The site is very quiet and clean Nigel and Angela were always about cleaning or watering the beautiful flower displays.

The site was fairly full but we never had any problem getting a shower or using the toilets to say there was only 2 showers and 4 toilets for each sex.

The children's amenities were great, there were a lot of children there but as there was the play area, the pool, the tennis courts and the games room there was enough for them all to do.

My husband said he would arrange to fish the next time he came as the ponds were clean and those who were fishing were bringing in nice fish.

If I had to be negative about anything it would be that we didn't book for long enough as it was a beautiful site and we will return to again and again  


Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sebbridle 2 reviews from this member

 Site was beautiful. Very friendly and helpful staff. They gave us a lovely big pitch as we have a 9 berth tent. The pitches are very well spaced. Lots of dog walking areas. There are only two showers for men and two showers for women. And not many toilets.

Can not fault anything else though. The owners really seem to encourage wildlife and the sound of oyster catchers (not really what we expected in Cheshire), lapwings and ravens among many more really made our stay more special. Loved this site and would recommend it.

There are a lot of caravans there that are seasonal pitches and statics that ensure there is no anti social behaviour on the site. Don't want to sound pompous but that always really matters to us! 


Date of Visit: January 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Goldy2810 1 review from this member

 We have just spent 2 nights at Manor Wood and cannot fault the place. From the initial phone call to book, the staff were amazingly helpful. TomTom got us lost but when we called for directions we were guided in. We were greeted by a friendly host who showed us to our pitch and pointed out the facilities. As we had arrived late we ordered a Chinese to be delivered from the local take away which is highly recommended.

Toilet/shower blocks were both spotless and were heated. Laundry and family bathrooms were also available, again both clean and more than sufficient. Due to the cold weather the external water supplies were frozen but the laundry room was used instead with a supply for filling aqua rolls.

Site is secure with access via a key fob which requires no deposit. Swimming pool was closed but the area looked well maintained with plenty of sun loungers and chairs which would be great in the warmer months. Site also had a tennis court, fishing lake, a family room with pool table, and an outside play area / climbing frame for the kids.

Manor Wood is a credit to its owners who obviously take a lot of pride in the place. We will certainly visit again, and would recommend to anybody. Only advice is do not follow TomTom ! Stick to the main road and wait for the signs for Manor Wood. 


Date of Visit: September 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: The Gamblers 14 reviews from this member

 We booked at Manor Wood at the last minute as several of our preferred 'regular' sites were full.

We were not disappointed. Angela and Nigel are possibly the most welcoming hosts I have ever experienced at a caravan site.

The site itself is level offering extended views across the Cheshire countryside. On site you can swim in the heated outdoor pool, play tennis on an excellently maintained court or play table tennis. The children have a very good play area to amuse themselves.

In brief, well maintained, very clean, great hosts and excellent facilities.

One ever so slight downside, only two showers in the mens. Not very often do I have to queue but did have a short wait here.

And guess what. The sun shined and we actually sat outside!

Will definitely be back at Manor Wood. 


Previous     95 Reviews in total, now showing 71 to 80      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Manor Wood Country Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Manor Wood Country Caravan Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Manor Wood Country Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Manor Wood Country Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Chester      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cheshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


40747 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement