Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Manor Wood Country Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > North West England > Cheshire > Chester > Manor Wood Country Caravan Park > Reviews

Manor Wood Country Caravan Park
Coddington
Chester
Cheshire   (Browse area)
CH3 9EN
Tel: 01829 782990  or  0772 817827
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 40
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 95 Reviews
                8/10 from 95 Reviews

Photos (27)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   Holiday Homes for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   Tennis On Site 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 
 Electric Car Charging Point

Reviews:  95 in total, now showing 81 to 90                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Newtothislark 6 reviews from this member

 Just had an excellent time this weekend at this site, it is very clean, well laid out and has lovely facilities. At great play area for the kids, games room, swimming pool & tennis court. The only downside to the site is the amount of rules and the strict way they are policed by the lady Warden, no cycling on site, no ball games, no leaving your car near the caravan etc. And the best one; ''the rule is, we can change the rules any time we want''

Would I go back, a big 'YES' 


Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Louisaj 4 reviews from this member

 We spent 2 nights on this site with 2 other families and would highly recommend it. The site is spotless as are the showers / toilets. Although there are only 2 showers and toilets in both the female and male blocks, the site seems to be mainly used by caravanners so we didn't experienced any problems with waiting. (There were about 7 tents on the whole site) We were provided with one key per family for the toilet / shower and a barrier key for the entrance.

The toilet/shower block was warm and you could control the temperature of the showers yourself which is better for the kids.

There is a family bathroom (through the gents toilets, but ok for ladies to go in) and a laundry room with washing machine, tumble dryer, iron and hairdryer in the ladies.

The washing up area had two sinks side by side meaning I was literally rubbing arms with the person washing up next to me but it was clean and tidy!

The site is large, quiet, with very spacious pitches and friendly helpful wardens who lent us an EHU extension lead when ours was too short!

The play area was in good order (5+ years) and built in a sandpit, so the younger children were quite happy building sandcastles even though they could not use the actual climbing equipment.

The swimming pool kept the children very happy indeed, the adults sheltered under the seating area as it was raining, but there are some sun loungers around for those glorious sunny days??! The pool is fairly small, our 5 kids and one adult more or less filled it!

There are two large fields, one with goal posts, plenty of walks and two fishing ponds. We had no need to use the shop, so can't comment.

As the weather was so bad, we went to the Ice Cream Factory (free) on the Sat morning. Spent an enjoyable couple of hours there looking at the animals and deciding what flavour icecream to have! (between 3-4 pm is when they bring the cows in for milking.

We have been to the Crocky Trail on a previous occasion and would thoroughly recommend it for a day out, great fun for all providing you wear your old gear and wellies!

Unfortunately, with the wind threatening to blow the tents away, we were packed and heading home by 9.30am Sunday. The field (Oak?) we were on was quite exposed, lovely in good weather, with great views over the Cheshire countryside but a bit hairy in the winds we had!

All 3 families would not hesitate to go back to this site, it would be great for longer stays too as there is so much to do in the surrounding area and with village shops about 1-2 miles away its not too far to stock up on essentials if required.

Can't wait to go back! 


Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Krienkes4 1 review from this member

 This is one of the best sites we have ever been too.
The staff/wardens were very friendly and helpful. The showers/loos were always clean and tidy. The only complaints we had are the fact that the kids play area was really for 5yrs+ and that the pool was closed around 5pm even on these long sunny days which could possibly extended a little. The shop stocks very little and there arent any big shops nearby which we could find so take what you need with you(food wise). Otherwise its a great site. Would definitely go back. 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Stevie9398 6 reviews from this member

 We enjoyed our stay at Manor Wood very much. The owners are very friendly and helpful. The site is level and spacious. As previous reviewers have commented this site benefits from a lack of road noise at night.

Our two boys liked the play area. There is also an outdoor swimming pool which was due to open a week or two after our visit.

The toilet and shower facilities were very clean. However during our visit there was no hot water in the ladies washroom on the Saturday evening. My wife reported this to the staff and all seemed to be working again by Sunday.

One other minor issue was the fact that there were only two washing up sinks for the site so I had to wait a while on a couple of occasions.

In summary this is a good site which we would consider using again at some time in the future. 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Fernman 19 reviews from this member

 A highly organised site, in beautiful countryside. I was given a large area in which to pitch my tent, park, etc, on perfectly level grass. The site was surprisingly busy, in spite of the chilly weather and 24hrs of rain. The facilities are very new and are kept spotlessly clean. Unfortunately, these are a bit limited, the gents has only 2 showers and 2 wc's (and a 3rd one in the disabled/family room).

Unlike most Cheshire sites, this one is not near a noisy road. Yes, there were some high-flying passenger jets early in the morning, but at home I hear planes from Heathrow and Northolt, so I'm used to it, they didn't bother me.

I enjoyed good value dinners at the Durham Heifer pub, run by very friendly people, about 3 miles to the east on the A534.

Would I return? Only a maybe, I'm afraid, because of those facilities. You don't expect to have to queue for a shower or a toilet when you're paying £18 a night. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Besty148 3 reviews from this member

 This is the BEST campsite I have ever been to!.

The showers and toilets and other facilities are clean and excellent.

The pool is very clean and safe, the playground is for any age† -brilliant!

The managers are very friendly!

Also twice a day an ice cream van comes for the children!

YOU MUST TRY THIS CAMPSITE! Jess age 10 


Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Fluteannie 4 reviews from this member

 This is an excellent site.† It's quiet, well-cared for, toilets and showers are lovely and clean (and heated!).† The owners are very welcoming indeed.† We arrived in heavy rain, and as we were pitching our tent, one of the wardens came to help us (it was just me and my two kids that weekend).† As the ground was getting wetter by the minute, he very kindly went to get three large wooden boards for us to put under our tent - probably saved us from sinking without trace!† They even gave us some elastic bands to tidy up our guy lines when we were packing up at the end of our stay.† Other good points - lovely kids playground, tennis courts, swimming pool with sunbathing terrace.† Surrounding countryside is lovely and Cheshire Ice Cream Farm is well worth a visit.† Chester itself is gorgeous and too interesting to do justice to in one day.† All in all, I would highly recommend this site - do visit! 


Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lloydandverity 4 reviews from this member

 This was our first "tester" weekend with our new tent, the family (2 kids, 4 and 2) had never been before so we were looking forward to a good weekend and to see if we were going to catch the camping bug!

This is a perfect site for those tenters who still want a little bit of the home comforts - it has EHU, superbly maintained showers and toilets and generally is a very tidy and well kept site.

The lady in the warden hut was very friendly and helpful, walking us to our pitch and telling us about the use of their fridge/freezer.

The pool was really nice to have, the only slight downside is that it was very busy (understandable as we had fine weather) to the extent that 3 quearters of the pool was taken up by teenagers bomb diving!† Stay in the shallow end with the little ones and you should be fine!

Would recommend it to anyone, and will be visiting again! 


Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Smoggy dunk 1 review from this member

 We have just spent a fabulous weekend at Manor Wood Caravan Park. I took my 4 and 5 year olds in a tent for £18 a night, we were greeted by a very friendly lady who showed us to our pitch and also told us about some of the attractions in the area for my children.
The pitch also included electric hook up for a tent and an outside light, which was very useful- never heard of this before. The fishing was excellent and only charged us a pound and the free swimming pool was just superb but very cold first thing on a morning. The kids played for hours in the childrenís play area and sand pit aswell. The male toilets were impeccable with a family room so I could shower my daughter and get her ready in privacy, I thought this was an excellent idea especially for a single man and his daughter. There was no rowdy people and the site was very quiet even at 10.30pm. We were left alone with no intrusions and complaints by the caravan management which does happen on other sites.
I and my kids would watch the resident barn owl catching its food in the next field, it was amazing to sit and watch. A great place to go is the Nags head which is very child friendly and does excellent food. The only down side is the aircraft noise late on a night and the tent field being open so you donít really feel that you are in the country side- but these are just minor things- probably the best site we have been on in 5 years! 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Hookup 19 reviews from this member

 We rate this site EXCELLENT. Well laid out and maintained with generously sized pitches It is kept clean/tidy and has the best toilet/shower facilities of any site we have ever used. Central for trips to places of interest, Chester via Park & Ride etc. Takeaway foodies can have Chinese or Kebabs delivered to the Gate. Best to bring your own wine and beer. Site has a warden patrolling, late night noise is not tolerated so don't over indulge. Will not hesitate to use again.
 


Previous     95 Reviews in total, now showing 81 to 90      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Manor Wood Country Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Manor Wood Country Caravan Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Manor Wood Country Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Manor Wood Country Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Chester      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cheshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


60620 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement