Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisements

Reviews of Bosworth Water Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Warwickshire > Nuneaton > Bosworth Water Park Reviews

Bosworth Water Park
Far Coton Lane
Market Bosworth
Nuneaton
Warwickshire   (Browse area)
CV13 6PD
Tel: 01455 291876
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 100
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 76 Reviews
                7/10 from 76 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (22)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf On Site   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach On Site   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  76 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilet / shower facilities will be open. Some communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Janey45 1 review from this member

 We have just come back from a stay here. We chose the site for it's facilities for disabled. Pros:

The site is lovely. The lake a beautiful setting, staff very helpful and friendly. Playground for children is fun, cafe very pleasant and clean. Field for tents great for children to play and run around. Watersports looked well organised and very professional. We thought it was very good value for money. Market Bosworth is also a lovely village. Can recommend chinese and bakery.

Cons: The lake is open to the public and can get busy. Also you do get the feel that you are camping on an open site eg one night at 4am I was woken by some men running around then kicking a ball(I assume worse for wear) and it frightened me wondering if they were people who had entered the site up to no good because the site is open. I guess this could happen any where but I did feel vulnerable. They left and to my knowledge there was no trouble.Although I was unnerved.

Showers were clean they did get mucky but that's to be expected with the volume of people using them. It's also the campers that make a site and if you get people who do not take care of the facilities ie I went in for a shower and one family had their dog in there! That's about their standards and you can never account for that.

Disabled toilet was good although we had cold shower which was a nightmare for my son. Bad timing - we showered him when water consumption was high and consequently he had a freezing shower. Was warm the next time though when less people using. If you do have someone with a disability the site is ramped. You have a key for the separate shower and staff were happy to charge up our wheelchair overnight.

Also we had a major wasp problem. My little boy stung 4 times

Ok it sounds bad from that but we did enjoy our stay overall. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: NathanL 3 reviews from this member

 If you're looking for a campsite with watersports (ie canoe, windsurf, dinghy sailing, fishing, pedalo) have a look at this place. Our kids are a bit small for this but we saw lots of groups receiving tuition and some people launching their own craft.

We used and can recommend

- sandy beach for our children to swim and splash

- pedalo (bit pricey though)

- bags of fish food (30p each) to feed the shoals of carp that hang around the jetty

- large wooden pirate ship play park

- large areas of open green space

- a walk round the lake

- bring a kite

- the fish shop called The Batter of Bosworth approx 1 mile away

Look out for various sporting challenges/races & special events held on site.

Mens WC/shower block got watery & muddy after about 10am (no shower curtains in the 3 shower cubicles). Noise eventually died down at night. We camped on the overflow field which was mostly level ground and good for tent pegs.

We luckily managed to avoid pitching between the goal posts (they're not immediately obvious) but did experience an intense football game at close quarters. We noticed the posts were convenient to hang a volleyball/badminton net.

There's a sign next to the reception area that says Warning Free Range Children which described the site very well. The shop ran out of bacon & bread. We used the mini supermarket in Market Bosworth. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nicky g 2 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a 2 night stay and what a great site, went with husband and 2 small children and we all thoroughly enjoyed ourselves, well kept site, clean showers, great park for kids, fantastic little beach and roped off area in the lake to swim in so the children safe.

Also lots of open space to play football, fly kites etc. Will definitely be visiting this site again, always makes a great stay too with helpful staff. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tonyneilcole 1 review from this member

 We stayed here for two weeks in early July, and would happily recommend that place to anyone, particularly with kids.

I'll start with our one negative point, simply because it arose first. We knew about the payment to enter the campground for the first time, so weren't worried about that. Since we were staying for two weeks, a single payment wasn't that much per day.

The problem arose in that we were delayed in leaving for the campground, and since we knew we were going to be late we phoned ahead to check if there was anything special we needed to know or do. We were told no, and if we arrived after the office closed, we could simply pay the next day.

What wasn't mentioned was that the barrier actually locks at 10pm, and can only be opened with a resident card. A nice idea for security purposes, but obviously something we needed to know about. We arrived in plenty of time, but I had to go out to get something. I returned at 9.55 and, of course the barrier was already locked. I only got the car in because a resident was willing to lend me his entry card.

I mention this not just as a minor annoyance, but because it indicates one administrative problem. With just a little more attention to details, things like this can easily be avoided. And more generally it would improve the feel of the campsite, which already feels friendly, and a great place to stay, but could benefit even more from that extra level of professional service.

That said, the campsite was a great place to stay, and we have already booked another stay in August.

There are two bathrooms, one that is always open (for the day people mainly), and one with a combination lock (for the residents). The bathrooms were always well maintained. They did get messy on the weekends, but this was only because of the enormous numbers of people, not because of a lack of cleaning. The showers themselves were also great, always hot, and with reliable water pressure. In short, we had no complaints at all about the bathrooms.

The highlight for the children is the adventure playground, which is shaped as a pirate ship beside a castle. There is also, right beside it, a large fallen-over tree with a tyre swing on it. Our kids (9 and 7) had an enormous amount of fun at the playground, and didn't tire of it even after two weeks.

The lake is also well used. There is only a small swimming area, but it is large enough. Our kids also thought it was neat when fish from the lake (quite large ones) came into the swimming area with them. The area around the lake is also well-maintained, providing a really nice walking area all the way around the lake.

There are some activities you can pay for, such as renting a paddle boat or playing crazy golf, but most are unreasonably expensive. The paddle boats, for example, were 10 for 30 minutes. Unsurprisingly they sat unused all week, only to be used occasionally on the weekend. The managers might want to consider giving those staying a week or more discounted rates on such things, as we certainly would have used them had they been cheaper, and probably more than once.

There are unfortunately no laundry facilities, and we had to drive about 15 minutes to Coalville to find a laundrette we could use. Realistically I don't think it makes sense for them to install a laundry, though, as there are so few people on the campsite during the week that it wouldn't be worth it.

In terms of location, it's pretty much in the middle of nowhere, so not somewhere to stay as a base for nearby tourism. But if you're looking for somewhere that is well maintained and provides something to keep kids entertained, you would be hard pressed to beat this campsite. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mumanddr 11 reviews from this member

 Just stayed for a beautiful hot and sunny weekend.

Good points

Lots of hot water, staff friendly and helpful, large area in middle of field to play. Nice washing up facilities in camping field, half price canoe/boat launch fees, beach area for kids.

Bad points

Toilets muddy and wet all the time (we've not had rain here for a month), only 4 toilets in ladies for whole site so often queue, noisy til gone 11pm, site packed with day visitors so busy. Some pitches very close together.

If you like sailing / windsurfing / canoeing / fishing and its a sunny weekend it is perfect - otherwise you could probably do better as not cheap. 

Advertisements

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jnovelli 5 reviews from this member

 First visit to the campsite with two other dads and their children. Before I go into the good stuff. I would propose that this site sends out the access passes to the front barriers on payment of deposit so that on arrival there is no requirement to pay an additional amount for entrance to the park. We actually walked down to pick up the barrier passes so to avoid paying for all cars going through.

Right moan over - we had 3 pitches located towards the back of the site area and all were very clean and tidy. The amenities were very good and regularly cleaned. Both the shower blocks and pot washing utilities were great.

We are arrived on friday evening and it was pretty quiet. All campers / tourers respected the surroundings and we had no issues with noise etc. We did not use the boating facilities but spent both days around the boomed off area swimming in the lake. It was delightful.

The saturday got busy as day trippers turned up - but again no issues, just lots of people enjoying the open air. The pricing for the pitch was ok - but possibly a little high to accommodate the sailing facilities.

We did not use any of the other facilities such as the shop/bar but they looked very good. What was exceptional was the Fish bar just as you go into Market Bosworth. Yummy.

Would recommend for a long weekend and also for a week if you take advantage of twycross zoo only a few minutes down the road. 


Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nic3101 29 reviews from this member

 There was about a 60%/40% ration in favour of tourers, and they mixed the tents in with the caravans, but there was plenty of room for everyone.

The showers/loos were immaculate, but the washing up area only had two sinks - although that didn't matter too much due to the amount of caravans there that weekend.

There is EHU - but we didn't bother with ours, so not sure if the electric is included in the price. In terms of costs, for a family of 4 with a Coleman Velhas 8 tent, cost us 15 per night, I believe the 2 man tents are between 9 & 12 per night.

There is a really lovely Pirate Ship themed play area, also, crazy golf (payable separately), plus, and for us, the best thing, a man-made beach by a roped off area by one of the lakes (I think there are 3 lakes), we consumed many ice-creams whilst enjoying the surprisingly hot weather.

There are also water sports on-site payable locally, such as Kayaking, canoe's, pedalo's, water skiing etc.

There's a small bar that serves alcohol and bar food is available (didn't try any as took all our own), but there was a private function in the evening, so sadly, missed out on the evening glass of wine by the lake. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: 2old4this 5 reviews from this member

 I vowed never to return after our last visit but my boys wanted to give it another try when we couldn't get in at Deepdale campsite. On arrival I scrambled for the 3 barrier fee and drove onto the site and went to check in, not the quickest procedure (as has been noted in other reviews) before finding a pitch which wasn't difficult on an almost empty site.

Getting a sense of deja vu I removed a large number of cigarette butts from the pitch while my boys shot off on their bikes for a quick scout around.

The site on our last visit was filthy with waste food on the ground and overflowing bins and the whole place had a run down feel about it. I'm pleased to say things had improved and the cost per night with the entry fee included is good value.

I'm sure one of the reviewers only found one of the shower blocks which was used by the windsurfers and tends to get dirtier than the campers' toilet and shower block which were kept clean throughout our 3 night stay.

The little beach and roped off paddling area is good for the kids to play in and big enough for a few inflatables without the worry of them floating out to sea!

The King William pub in Market Bosworth is about a mile away and has a great atmosphere with friendly locals, a pool table, good music and great beer and is well worth a visit.

One thing I hadn't noticed on our previous 3 visits was the amount of aeroplane noise which kept me awake at night but didn't seem to fly over after about 7am.

I've come to the realisation that the camp site is a poor relation to the watersports and day visitors where most of the income is generated so it's not going to get the best attention from the owners, but having said that, it's back on the list for a short stay within an hour from home now we know what to expect. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dawnandsi 4 reviews from this member

 Visited this site for a midweek break back in August along with three other families. The mums went along early in the afternoon with the kids to set everything up as most of the dads were working and couldn't come down till early evening. Unfortunately the weather on the Wednesday coincided with the backlash from Hurricane Bill over the other side of the atlantic so they all had a fun time trying to set the tents up in horizontal rain and gale-force winds! By the time the dads arrived later that evening the weather had totally changed and remained sunny and calm for the rest of the week.

We pitched in the main field as we didn't need EHU. Basically it was pick a spot and set up, with the ability to park the car right by the side of the tent if desired. There weren't many there when we arrived but it slowly filled up towards the weekend. Never felt really cramped though and there was a massive amount of space in the middle of the field where the kids could play football, rugby, cricket etc. The adventure playground is great and the site felt safe enough for the kids to go wandering off in groups (ages ranged from 6 to 13) and they always seemed to be able to occupy themselves. There was a bouncy castle available at the weekend (2 for 10 minutes) and plenty of sweets and other kiddy bits to buy from the shop on-site.

Lake is pretty. Lovely grassy banks which gently slope into the water and a beach area which leads into a roped off section of the lake if you wanted to take the kids for a swim and play in the sand. I ran round it a few times early in the morning and reckon it's about 3/4 mile. Apparently it's quite shallow all the way round and they offer plenty of watersports (boats, canoes, windsurfing etc) for older kids and adults. Fishing is offered on the lake during the day and there's a triathlon club that meets there for a swim on a Thursday evening and Saturday morning. I've mentioned the latter because I think if you wanted to you could pay a small amount and go for a proper swim round the lake.

Showers were fine. There was a locked campsite block which they gave you the door-code to when you checked in, plus male and female changing facilities and toilets in what looked like the watersports centre building. These seemed to be quieter and I used them for showers each morning with no complaints. They're basic but clean and the water pressure from the showers was refreshingly hot and good! Other half used the womens showers in the campsite block but that definitely seemed to be busier, especially early morning. There's also a washing up hut on-site which you just wander over to as and when.

Found the whole site to be very friendly, both with fellow campers/caravanners and the staff. The cafe is a little bit pricey but the food portions are large! We stayed on the site all weekend but it is near to Twycross Zoo as an option for a day out, plus Bosworth Battlefield for those that like a bit of history. We found a brilliant camping shop about 10 minutes drive away in Measham (Winfields) which should be able to provide you with anything you forget, or break, whilst staying there!

All in all a great site and one we would return to again. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: LGHeritage 11 reviews from this member

 Camped in a tent/non-EHU pitch. For non EHU it's pitch where you like on that section of the site. Wasn't busy, so plenty of space, but could see it being a problem at weekends as those there first do spread themselves out.

Excellent kids playground on-site on a pirate theme which kept my 2 (8 & 10 years) busy for hours. Only downside is that it's on the opposite side of the road from the tent pitches so younger children would have to be supervised, you wouldn't be able to see them from your pitch. Lake on site was fantastic. Canoes etc. Available to hire, staff helpful, and rescue boat out on the water most of the time in case anyone had problems. There's also a small beach, and an area of lake roped off for paddling safely. Good food at the on site cafe; opening hours variable, but always seemed to be open for lunch. Also a small crazy golf course which was fun.

Shop sells basics such as milk & bread.

Only downside, as mentioned in lots of other reviews, is cleanliness of showers/loos. I appreciate that it's a water sport venue so people will have wet muddy feet, but the current cleaning of once a day isn't enough. By the end of a day the waste bins were overflowing and sinks filthy. If they made some small changes e.G. Hand driers instead of paper towels, and a mop to clean shower after use, it would make a big difference.

Didn't go out & about from site so can't comment on local amenities.

I would return as it's child and dog friendly, and the right distance for 1 or 2 nights for us, but would keep Crocs on in the shower! 


Previous     76 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Bosworth Water Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Bosworth Water Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Bosworth Water Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Nuneaton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Warwickshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4470 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisements


Advertisements