Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Bosworth Water Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Warwickshire > Nuneaton > Bosworth Water Park Reviews

Bosworth Water Park
Far Coton Lane
Market Bosworth
Nuneaton
Warwickshire   (Browse area)
CV13 6PD
Tel: 01455 291876
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 100
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 79 Reviews
                7/10 from 79 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (22)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf On Site   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach On Site   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  79 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Julie Chamberlain 1 review from this member

 Very clean, good size pitches, staff very friendly

The down side for me was the toilets/showers, I think it was the colour but it felt dark and dirty 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Dobson04 9 reviews from this member

 Arrived for a 5 night stay at this campsite following a booking online as this site had availability following the re-opening due to the Covid-19 shutdown. Elsewhere was fully booked I know why now this site wasn't!

Following concerns after reading some awful reviews we decided to ring reception to allay our fears. This only added more concern when met with a abrupt female member of staff who clearly wasn't interested in answering our questions. This made me want to cancel our booking, so much so that me and a family friend drove over to have a look at the site to see how it was prior to our break/holiday.

We arrived to messy day toilet facilities (I appreciate that this is due to the public) however the facilities are tired and in need of updating which adds to the look of dirtiness. We had a wander around the site facilities and was met with dirty washing facilities which again we can appreciate are caused by the on-site public. We stayed on site for a couple of hours and decided we would continue with our booking in just over a weeks time as the site seemed ok and we were out of other options.

On arrival to the site for our 5 night break we were met with an awful smell of sewage (which the general manager did apologise for on our arrival) This was not a good start. A huge truck arrived over the next few days pumping out the sewage drains and appearing to try and rectify the issue and smell. It was disgusting!

We did have a nice break mainly due to us being with extended family, there were a few issues that made our stay disappointing and reluctant for us to return to Bosworth Water Park. Here goes.

The day facilities and site passcode facilities were dirty at times, these facilities are tired and in need of renovation which adds to look of dirtiness. That's taking into consideration the fact that shower trays and floors are always slightly dirty when camping (that's camping) we always wear crocs/sliders whilst showering as no matter how many times the floors are cleaned, the sheer volume of people using the facilities will negate this.

The new family block was fantastic and clean (only issues are that the water is way too hot for young children and the lights fail to come on at times) which caused our 10 year old niece to fall and injure herself whilst using them. We ended up having to wash our 4 and 5 year old in a lukewarm bowl of water instead at our tent.

The washing up facilities were good on our section of the site but the other washing up facilities were dirty and tired. The residential area where we were pitched, behind the watersports hut was untidy, weed ridden and a very unpleasant space that needs sorting as this let's the overall look of the park down. I don't know if the residents or the park are responsible for this but the hardstanding had grass and weeds growing through and the general area was so messy and unkept. We even had a resident's family member keep parking on our pitch whilst visiting her family. Considering the park was closed due to Covid-19 you would have thought that gave them enough time to tidy up before re-opening.

Considering our initial interaction with a member of staff on the phone, all other interactions with staff members were friendly, pleasant and helpful during our stay. The opening hours of the shop and cafe seemed to be whenever the staff felt like opening/closing rather than set times which was a little inconvenient at times.

The water sports and facilities are in essence a great asset to the park, however the lake and lagoon areas are in major need of sand (you can actually see the material underneath the sand), it is that bare and thin. Not sure if it's builder's sand but it stains your clothing/swimwear. The water seemed clean and ok to swim in though. The kids enjoyed feeding the ducks and fish.

The final two nights added to our issues with the site, when on our walk to use the facilities we noticed a large mass of maggots crawling all over the floor and up the drinking water tap wall and towards the shower block. They were everywhere! There was no sign of rubbish or food lying about anywhere, so we assumed it must have been due to the sewage drains located close by (which on our arrival) they were having trouble with. We took photographs and videos to show the staff as it was awful and unhygienic. The next morning/day they were gone. The next night they were back.

I would say the site is very disappointing which is such a shame (it has so much potential). I would be so reluctant to return in the future unless it was revamped or I was desperate for a site local and there was no availability left anywhere else. As a camper of 9 years this has to be one of the least pleasant sites we have visited. The only plus point is the water facilities/ducks which the kids enjoyed. 


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Clouvinaxes 3 reviews from this member

 We 've spent 5 nights, looking forward to spend some time to spend by and on the lake, but unfortunately we've quickly decided we wouldn't bother, it's dirty and not attractive at all, I guess good for fishing,

Now regarding the campsite, pitches are big BUT apart from that there's no good thing to say about it, it's disgusting the showers and toilets are never clean properly even when they'd say they are clean twice a day. Not enough during theses times, social distance is impossible, 3 showers with 2 of them you couldn't lock the doors and 4 toilets for a full capacity camping isn't correct. Washing area dirty also at all time, nobody wearing mask in shop,

This is the worst site we've been in 6 years with been camping. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Terry blount 1 review from this member

 Great site for kids plenty to do. BUT. Absolutely plagued by wasps a totally relentless onslaught from them

Toilets and shower smelly and dirty

Would go back but it has to improve. Overpriced also 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Dmurray1 3 reviews from this member

 This is a no frills park and it doesn't pretend to be anything else. The site staff are very friendly and are always there to address any concerns. The camping field is great for letting your kids (and adults) play. The play park is good for a range of ages and is right next to the paddling lake which is a laugh a minute but as expected gets very busy when the sun comes out. There's a fair bit to do if you like being on the water with pedlos and canoes or just chill and feed the fish which will practically eat out of your hand. Great place to stay for a long weekend and in my opinion is good value for money but only if the weather is good. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Scowps 1 review from this member

 We chose this site for a quick weekend getaway, which for that it performed well. Arrived Friday afternoon and located our super pitch, right on the water front - great! After slotting the caravan into the usual position and finding the Elec some distance away (our 20m cable just reached), and then discovering the water and waste were on the 'wrong side' we had to reposition the 'van to face the water to get everything to reach (but this worked out much better). We were next pitch to a seasonal (there's a lot of them on site) who also had their van facing the water. The pitch was fully gravelled so no grass, (not a problem with rock pegs) and was fenced three sides with a 3ft fence and gate onto the waterfront. So all's good. The weather was fantastic so upped the front of the awning and sat with a bevvy or three overlooking the activity on the water front - kids playing in the sandpit, the canoes and sailing boats. Our 6yr old loved the Pirate Play park (just a note - they're building a new under 5s park but that was fenced off when we were there - guess finished in another few weeks). The play park is in the 'public zone' - people pay a day ticket to use the water park and the campsite is just one element of this and open to anyone who has paid a day ticket. OK, facilities - the toilet block, how shall I put this, not the best I've ever seen. The Gents was heated, had three push button showers and security code. All I can say is we used these as minimally as poss as they always seemed really dirty! The showers every time I looked had sand and dirt in the trays, as though people had marched from their tents across the (very muddy) field or the sandy beach area and gone straight for the shower, with no cleaning after them or thought for the next person. Chemical emptying - we're relatively new to caravanning but have been on a fair few sites now - this was the worst in this regard - an open (outside, not under cover) manhole with a 4 foot drop (careful of splashbacks!), next to the industrial bins, a hose pipe and nowhere to wash your hands. I can't comment on the potwash as didn't use it. The bonus for this site is the family activities - we went on the pedaloes (13/30mins), the crazy golf (don't know the cost as had a Groupon voucher!), the cafe bar on site seemed well attended and great to get warm/dry if your camping (it chucked it down part of Saturday). I had a walk round the site after it had rained - the camping site doesn't look well drained - large puddles everywhere and the campers were clearly in the mud.

Overall we had a good weekend but probably because we were pretty much self contained with water/shower etc - I think our feelings would be different if this was last year and we were in our old tent! 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Thedeedar 4 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from 5 nights at Bosworth water park, unfortunately the hardstanding was more like hardcore. Our pitch was in an excellent spot overlooking the lake but the hardstanding was very poorly maintained and deeply rutted. The electric hook-up is very poorly placed where children play and people have instant bbqs close by. The toilet block while regularly cleaned is very tired and too small for the amount of pitches. The park itself is lovely but spoilt by inconsiderate dog owners who let there animals run loose and jump in the water which is clearly marked keep on leads and where young children play. There is a lovely walk to the canal which you can also walk alongside. Excellent park for day visits with children plenty for them to do. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Scoopthedigger 1 review from this member

 Childrens:

Childrens playground is excellent huge adventure pirate ship, crazy golf, and a large beach area around a separate shallow lagoon pool reserved for children swimming / paddling / inflatable toys. These are all very popular with locals coming for the day not just campers, on a sunny day hundreds of cars will come in. The playground location is good - close enough for the kids to head off there by themselves, far enough from the pitches that you don't get the kids noise on your pitch.

The lake:

The main lake is shallow enough and small enough to walk around / in whilst helping a learner windsurfer (my son). It was an ok place for a pure learner. However it is not very big and has two large islands taking up about half the area and ruining the wind in the rest of of it. For anything other than 'messing about' or pure early learners, its not really worth trying to sail or windsurf (we did try). We had hoped to be able to have a good windsurf whilst the kids used the playground, but really the lake isn't worth it as a sailing /windsurfing location for anyone better than early intermediate. It is cheap though (5/day for camper residents). As a location for hiring a pedalo / kayak, its ok, although seemed a bit pricey (12/ half hr).

The campers facilities - are a big disappointment if you are used to CC or C&CC, or a high end commercial site. These are quite basic.

There is one main toilet block for all campers/caravanners. This is completely closed several times a day for a full clean (which it seems to need, it was constantly getting filthy) meaning you had to carefully time your shower / toilet trips, and some of these cleans were at peak time (e. G. 8pm for 30-40 mins! and again around 10pm). I don't really understand why so much cleaning time was needed, the good sites manage a single daily clean around lunchtime and still look pristine in the evenings. This one doesn't achieve that. There did seem to be a poor attitude amongst the campers of not making any effort to keep the facilities in a decent state yourself (toilet brushes lying around on floor, toilet paper on floor. Too much paper causing blockages. Etc)

Only 3 showers in each, 3 toilets in the mens, 4 toilets in ladies, at the weekend when site full there were queues. There are a second set attached to the reception building but they are really basic but they are at least toilets. There was however plenty of hot water, never had a bad shower there. There is one clean water point (two taps) for all to share by the main toilet block - nothing distributed around the site. It has a fixed hose which always makes me shudder (never trust anything but my own hose).

There is a big square drain hole in the ground for toilet emptying next to the site bins, and this is shared for grey water, there is no separate grey water point (not nice) and no 'flush'. There are 2 very large site biffa bins, however these were overflowing by saturday morning on a busy weekend with emptying not expected until the monday. And there was evidence of vermin raiding (chicken bones strewn around) of the overflowing rubbish.

Security:

There is no curfew for driving in/out - no 11pm lockin at the barriers like many sites. So we did sometimes hear cars going in/out very late / early hours. Also due to the layout people tended to come in quite fast to the camping area.

The pitches:

The website talks about the best hardstanding pitches being by the waterfront, and they are, but they are mostly taken permanently. There is an odd setup with about half, or maybe more, of the hardstanding caravan pitches being permanent residents - this is not mentioned on the website. These all have 3 foot high close boarded fences all the way round them, which gives a strange feel to the site. It says that serviced pitches are available but they aren't (they are all taken by permanents). The hardstanding pitch we had was a good size though and we managed to pitch looking at grass rather than someone's fence.

The local area:

There is lots to do for families: twycross zoo, bosworth battlefield, steam railway, conkers discovery, canal towpath walk/bike riding, national forest, coventry transport museum, leicester space centre, other stuff we didn't get to.

In short - its a nice area, but for a caravan/camp stay in this area I would not go back to this site due to its quality. We had hoped that the lake would make the watersports a big factor for this site, but due to the lake's small size and the islands, that wasn't the case either. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Callie968 57 reviews from this member

 Easy check in friendly receptionist unfortunately all downhill from this point.

Filthy facilities there was a keycode for access but door was left on latch so used by hundreds of day trippers as well as camp site, floor filthy everytime I ventured in, 3 showers & 4 toilets for site with 300 + visitors, showers dirty scummy cold and drab with long queues.

Potwash had 2 sinks with no hot water the whole 4 days we were there.

Grass field for tents only inches between tents no pitching rules so very like a festival, tents crammed in on every spare patch of grass impossible to walk through field in some parts as tents were so close together.

Nowhere to visit in area close by, nowhere to stroll to and nearest shop was in Market Drayton.

Children over 10 all bored unless they were fishing as playground for children under 10, blue lagoon freezing, crazy golf oversubscribed and falling apart in places.

Pitches needed attention although spacious they needed raking, weeding and tidying

No security so many day visitors wandering through campsite, random cars turning around on our pitch no clear marking s preventing people strolling into camping areas.

Dogs running around off leads with children around

Cannot recommend or re visit but thank you to young girl on reception for listening x 


Date of Visit: March 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: MD321 4 reviews from this member

 The site seemed just what we were looking for having large lake to walk the dog around and a nice spot to enjoy the calm of being by water. There was also a great walk down the road following some well sign posted public footpaths that took you along the canal across a golf course ending up right in the heart of Market Bosworth. We found a nice pub called the ye olde red lion that was very popular with the locals, had friendly staff a good local ale and they welcomed dogs in too.

The only down side was the facilities on site are not great, the showers and toilets were cold, smelt and needed updating and mostly a good clean. There was three shower cubicles, one had a shower curtain hanging off and all three shower trays were full of dirt like someone had had a shower with muddy wellies on ! This was echoed by my other half who said the men's were also in a similar state.

I though maybe they had had a busy day and someone would check but there were still the same the day after. If these were the only showers on site available to all, their disarray could be excused. However these had a key code solely for campers.

There also didn't seem to be anywhere for campers to wash their pots & pans. 


Previous     79 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Bosworth Water Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Bosworth Water Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Bosworth Water Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Nuneaton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Warwickshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet New Forest Caravan & Motorhome Show 21/05 to 25/05
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4877 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement