Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Bosworth Water Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Warwickshire > Nuneaton > Bosworth Water Park Reviews

Bosworth Water Park
Far Coton Lane
Market Bosworth
Nuneaton
Warwickshire   (Browse area)
CV13 6PD
Tel: 01455 291876
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 100
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 77 Reviews
                7/10 from 77 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (22)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf On Site   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach On Site   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  77 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: LGHeritage 11 reviews from this member

 Camped in a tent/non-EHU pitch. For non EHU it's pitch where you like on that section of the site. Wasn't busy, so plenty of space, but could see it being a problem at weekends as those there first do spread themselves out.

Excellent kids playground on-site on a pirate theme which kept my 2 (8 & 10 years) busy for hours. Only downside is that it's on the opposite side of the road from the tent pitches so younger children would have to be supervised, you wouldn't be able to see them from your pitch. Lake on site was fantastic. Canoes etc. Available to hire, staff helpful, and rescue boat out on the water most of the time in case anyone had problems. There's also a small beach, and an area of lake roped off for paddling safely. Good food at the on site cafe; opening hours variable, but always seemed to be open for lunch. Also a small crazy golf course which was fun.

Shop sells basics such as milk & bread.

Only downside, as mentioned in lots of other reviews, is cleanliness of showers/loos. I appreciate that it's a water sport venue so people will have wet muddy feet, but the current cleaning of once a day isn't enough. By the end of a day the waste bins were overflowing and sinks filthy. If they made some small changes e.G. Hand driers instead of paper towels, and a mop to clean shower after use, it would make a big difference.

Didn't go out & about from site so can't comment on local amenities.

I would return as it's child and dog friendly, and the right distance for 1 or 2 nights for us, but would keep Crocs on in the shower! 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: KelvynJ 3 reviews from this member

 I know these reviews should be positive but I'm afraid on this occasion there is very little positivity to spread around. This camp site is a disaster in the wet weather or following a period of prolonged rain. The owners need to spend money and fit proper drainage channels.
Onto other matters, camp site was quiet (mid week stay) and report are that noise is controlled. Toilet blocks (x2) have a total of 3 showers each for male / female + communal shower in one block for male. Shower blocks were clean but floor very muddy but owners excused as they tried their best.
Take a torch as the site is poorly lit. Camp site road is not made up and is just a mud skating course in the rain, again poor. Some tourers having to be pulled out by 4x4's and its flat!. Pitch size is Small, forget the 5mtrs separation distance, you are not going to get that at busy times on this site and half the pitch was unusable due to smelling rotten grass sitting in endless puddles.

Onto other facilities - The beach is not a beach and do not be deluded. It's a small corner of the lake measuring approx 25mtrs in length and 1mtr wide, with a small sand pit area measuring approx 10mtr x 5mtrs. Ok for the kids but will be very crowded when the sun is out. The swimming area is cordoned off from the main lake and measures approx 25mtrsx10mtrsx1mtr deep. The kids liked it, but I suggest wet suits for the kids as ours had as the water is icy cold.

Ok - other points to mention - The dreaded 3 car barrier when you arrive. I parked up before the barrier and walked the 400mtrs to the reception area. Very poor slow service on the reception desk, took ages to get checked in, and I was first in the queue. They did promise to refund the 3 if I had paid it. Card failed to work the second day.

Fishing is very good and provides a good respite from the perils of this site. Only 2/day for campers permit to fish. This is not really a family camp site, it's a fisher persons paradise or windsurfers play ground. Got the impression that unless you are carrying a fishing rod or a full body wet suits you are in the minority. A lot of others day visitors to the site. Nice walk around the lake (approx 30mins total).

A visit to Battle of Bosworth visitors centre is highly recommended. 15 for the family and nice walks. Only 10 mins drive and will keep the kids occupied with wearing armour and interactive sessions - Very good.  


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Janos 3 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for four nights, along with friends who had a touring caravan. The two pitches which we had booked on the lake front, paying ten pound per night deposit, which is more than a five star site asks, were both still occupied when we arrived early afternoon. We were found two other sites and the people on our booked sites didn't leave until after 1800hrs.?? but we were told to vacate by 1100hrs, when we asked.

The toilets etc were cleaned once each day, at 0900-0930hrs, which is when most people want to use them. Good showers but only three, plus three sinks without plugs (they should buy the drop in type which cannot be stolen) and three loos. Not at all adequate when the place is busy, although the code system is good for keeping the day visitors out.

The two stand pipes are ok for filling water butts, but no use for some motorhomes. We were lucky as our motorhome has a pump fill and we could fill a water container and pump water in.

The shop was really no use for campers. Just white bread and the smallest size milk. The main stock was for kids sweets, toys and sailing clothes.

Really, there is just a nice lake and basic site, as the cafe closed up to two hours early if it felt there was not enough custom. They wouldn't serve four of us at 1600hrs on sunday, even though closing was supposed to be 1830hrs.

This could be a gem of a site with a bit of investment. Unlikely to happen though, as it's already charging quite a lot and seems to be mainly interested in day visitors. Very good play area for kids and a little man made beach as well.

Nice lake, dogs loved it, worth maybe fourteen pounds a night inc elec. Ok for a stopover on the way to somewhere else or a short break.

Bosworth is really nice and yes, the chippie is a good one. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Gailbonney 30 reviews from this member

 Stayed here during half term. 17.50 per night for 2 adults, 2 children, 2 dogs a tent,a utility tent and EHU! The site was busy but not full with plenty of other children for mine to play with. The pirate ship/ fort play area is away from camping bit so if with younger children they will need to be accompanied but this is fine as there is seating nearby. Also ensures not disturbed by older children playing later. There is a nice small crazy golf at 2 each. The lake is lovely to walk around and there are lots of fish to be seen.

The shop is basic but there is a local shop in Bosworth (5 mins by car) which sells most things and stores further afield.

The site is staffed by several young adults (surfer types!) who do a very good job at keeping it clean and tidy and were always very busy and friendly. Showers warm and free but were push button so a little difficult with children.

Lots to do and see around the area but could just chill at site or if interested hire canoe / kayak / rowboat and enjoy the lake.

Dogs loved lake which they were able to paddle and swim in!

Only real downside was washing up facilities (2 sinks) which could be busy. Otherwise brilliant site which we will be returning to soon 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Musicalmonkey 2 reviews from this member

 This campsite is great fun for the children, however, the toilet blocks are not sufficient for the amount of pitches and they're always filthy. They cleaned the toilets at 9am (when people wanted to use them) and they remained closed for half an hour. When they re-opened they had barely been cleaned, the floor was soaking wet and muddy (it was a sunny few days) as it looks like it's used a lot by people doing the water sports.

There are only 3 toilets, 2 urinals and 3 showers to cover all of the pitches.

It's quite noisy with children playing around the caravans, but if you have children that want to run around then this is for you.

This is not for a peaceful weekend away, but is good for an active family. The 'beach' is popular on a warm day, and Market Bosworth village is close by, which is absolutely gorgeous.

The entrance fee is very disappointing, I feel they should refund that when you check as it should just be for the many day trippers, but I was told we have to pay that as well. For 10 deposit you can get a card to let yourself in during your stay, but just be prepared with 3 in change when you first get there. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Frisby43 1 review from this member

 Lovely site. Visited for the weekend with friends and family. My young children had a great time on the play area and sand area by the lake. There was also plenty of room for them to run around. This is a great site for dogs - most were kept on a lead and not left to wander. There were a couple of units that were noisy into the wee hours over the two nights that we were there but that did not pose a problem for us personally.

The toilet / shower block was cleaned every day however they were very often wet and muddy as there aren't really enough for the number of units.Pitches are spacious.

The site on the whole is friendly, has a good atmosphere, and is generally clean and well maintained. There are drainage ditches around the park that could be hazardous for children - one member of our party did get somewhat stuck while trying to retrieve a ball.

Only a short drive to Market Bosworth where there are a number of shops / takeaways etc 


Date of Visit: February 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Senor Pablo 10 reviews from this member

 Just had three nights at the site with my wife and teenage daughter.

Please bear in mind that the ground was saturated from previous weeks' snow!

Site obviously very soft, but approach road to site no problem. Once past the site office, the road condition was terrible. Road surface very poor and potholes everywhere! Temporary 'fill' had obviously been attempted but of no use! Site was a quagmire, but as expected so no complaints there.

Note in previous reviews the comments about the barrier. It is a bit of a con as they do not refund it and it adds 2 on top of your spending before you even set foot in the place!

As we arrived after office hours, we had to leave the site for supplies and re enter. I contacted the warden and he said that he would refund our re entry 2. This he did which was appreciated.

Nearby Market Bosworth is beautiful, the butcher, baker & grocers all recommended. (Butcher opens at 0730!) Very friendly in the village.

Back on site, the cafe does not open until 1030. At the weekend, lot of disappointed and disgruntled people circling the building! Prices a bit steep but adequate.

Site itself is well planned out and the lakes are lovely. Obviously well used even this time of year. Anglers, model boats, dinghys, etc. Plenty of cyclists, dog walkers as well.

Excellent for dog walking I might add.

Couple of whinges: Toilets were small and basic.

Only three showers in each, one of the womens was 'out of order'. Shower cubicles very small!

No circulation, so building steamed up very quickly. Toilets were messy with all the mud around and were cleaned daily. Hosed down but left to drip dry!

I would recommend the site location though and Market Bosworth itself. 


Date of Visit: February 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Elps 2 reviews from this member

 We towed our beloved caravan on a 6 hour round trip to get here- looked promising online, and on the brochure the site sent out after we had booked.

We had purposely set out to find a site that could accommodate us on a hardstanding pitch, being February and all, and having two children and a spaniel, so Bosworth fitted the bill after the lady taking the booking assured us they would assign us to pitch 3.

On arrival, we were told it was taken, and to pitch anywhere, however the caravan area was a sodden bog. Not even our workhorse of a 4x4 would assist in backing the caravan onto anything at all that constituted a pleasant pitch.

Eventually picked a bit of grass that was only ankle deep in mud- found it hard to believe that the owners hadn't appeared to have bothered to address the mud problem with shale/sand/anything during half term

No heating in the shower block! Had also asked whether the bar/ bisto would be open during our stay - we were told it would be, but there was no sign of life in the time we were there whatsoever.

Decided to leave the very next morning, cutting our trip short 


Date of Visit: September 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Fionarouse 3 reviews from this member

 Had a lovely weekend in the main last weekend. Play area, pitch and access to the water was brilliant and we all had a super time.

Disappointing bits were that the toilet block seemed to always be dirty and was quite limited in the evening when the second loo block wasn't open. No-one seemed to keep an eye on what was going on - on both Friday and Saturday people playing loud music and having a party until well after midnight. Think it as little cheeky that those staying on the site have to pay for entrance onto park - no warning when phoned up to book. We had two cars as had brought canoe trailer so cost us 6.00 just to get in - next time we will know to park at gate but not much space to pull over with a caravan or trailer without blocking.

All in all will be back again as setting and facilities were great. 


Date of Visit: September 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Snowybun 2 reviews from this member

 Fully recommend this site we stayed 3 nights.

Toilets and showers cleaned every day.

Our son loved the play area which was a pirate ship and fort.

Local shop not far at all and agree lovely fish and chip shop in Market bosworth.

Only 20 minute drive from Drayton manor which we took our thomas mad son to and Twycross Zoo not far.

Would definitely go back to this site. 


Previous     77 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Bosworth Water Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Bosworth Water Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Bosworth Water Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Nuneaton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Warwickshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6302 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement