Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Folly Farm Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > New Forest & Hampshire > Winchester > Folly Farm Caravan Park Reviews

Folly Farm Caravan Park
Crawley
Winchester
Hampshire   (Browse area)
SO21 2PH
Tel: 01962 776486
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 32
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 62 Reviews
                8/10 from 62 Reviews

Photos (8)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming <5 miles   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  62 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lorraine Pritchard 1 review from this member

 We stayed at Folly Farm for 3 weeks, and had a very enjoyable stay. It was May bank holiday and the park was nearly full.

The park is under new ownership and the new owner is making improvements all the time. There are toilets, showers and a small kitchen for campers.

Close by there is a Waitrose, Aldi, Chinese Takeaway, & a chip shop.

It is just a lovely peaceful site.

We will be back. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Enjoylife 3 reviews from this member

 This is a quiet, pretty campsite, perfect for chilling out and enjoying the outdoors. Our children loved playing on the newly installed wooden play equipment and we enjoyed relaxing on the picnic benches and listening to the birds.

The facilities were always clean and we found them perfectly adequate, although the new owners informed us they plan to upgrade them at the end of the summer. The grass was kept short and there are no farm animals or chickens here anymore, so no electric fencing to worry about.

There are two supermarkets within a five minute drive and a great pub in the very picturesque village of Crawley which is walkable (about a mile). A ten minute drive takes you into the centre of Winchester and there is a bus stop right outside the campsite if you need it.

We chose a pitch overlooking the meadow where we watched the swallows and house martins darting in and out of the grass. We had a wonderful stay and I would thoroughly recommend this site if you’re looking for a quiet, peaceful spot to relax and enjoy all that nature has to offer. We will be back again soon! 


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Pippylongstocking 2 reviews from this member

 Ideally located to visit Winchetser and surrounding area. We stayed in the back field which has lovely views over surrounding country side.

Friendly owners, basic facilities, level pitches, would recommend. 


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Dodgyjax 4 reviews from this member

 Delightful field, surrounded by beautiful mature trees. Walking distance to an incredible pub in the stunning village of Crawley. Friendly owner who actually likes dogs. Excellent walking in the Stockbridge area which will keep us returning to this site often.

Young children seemed very happy climbing trees and playing in the wendy house, older kids would not be happy.

The entrance to the site is unpromising, first view is of the recycling bins, and true, the wash-house block is a bit sad looking but inside it's warm and the kitchen area has a microwave and frige freezer for campers use, alongside T towels and a plate of cookies which the farmers wife had made.

We were charmed by the place and we hope you'll like it too. 


Date of Visit: October 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Struth 19 reviews from this member

 As per the previous review, all it would take is a little TLC to make this a really good site.

The facilities are a bit tired and could do with sprucing up. They smelt a little damp and uninviting, so as we were only there for a long weekend we made do with our own facilities in the caravan. The grass could have done with a cut, it was too long. The owner is lovely and even came round to ask if we needed a hot water bottle!

Be aware satnav users, ours sent us in the wrong direction completely, the entrance to the site is a bit obscure and could do with a sign opposite.

Having said all this, we had a lovely quiet weekend, the site has a homely feel and is quite relaxing. It is an excellent location for Winchester and the steam railway. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Iron maiden 8 reviews from this member

 What to say about this site. Unloved. All it needs is a bit of tlc and a good clean. Then it would be a great little site.

The field is flat and well drained and this was essential with all the rain we have had this summer. It never felt boggy and the only mud was round the gate. This could be easily sorted.

The facilities are a separate toilet, a separate shower and a disabled shower room with toilet and hand basin. The only other basin was just by the door in. At a cost of 80p for 8mins for the showers, we found it plenty of time for us both to take a shower.

There are wall heaters in the shower rooms but they are a some kind of timer and came on at set times but never at a time when we wanted to shower. If you don't like spiders then you may have a problem as the shower block was full of old and new webs.

In the week we were there they were never cleaned properly but as we were the only ones on the site they never got that dirty. Wouldn't like to think what they would be like if the site was full.

In the kitchen there is a fridge and freezer, microwave, kettle and toaster all free to use. There are also utensils you can use but again they needed a good wash.

Mrs Pickup the owner was a lovely character and her hens which were allowed to roam free added a bit of comedy to the week but be warned don't feed them you can imagine why. The eggs are on sale at the farm.

There is a small village about 25mins walk with a beautiful old church and a pub which does food. We only called in the once the owners were friendly and had only just taken over. They have a plans for the pub and the menu and bar menu looked good. But there is no shop. Shops for provisions are a short drive away in Stockbridge or head towards Winchester

The other pub mentioned in previous reviews is now a private house.

The site is close to Winchester and Salisbury both historic and well worth a visit. We also went down to Portsmouth and there are some national trust properties in the area.

At £18 per night including EHU which we don't use it is about right for the area but I considered it on the pricey side compared with sites in other parts of the country. 


Date of Visit: February 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mummyjade 1 review from this member

 Lovely place! My little boy was 12 months old when we went and he had great fun running around with the chickens. Everyone was lovely and the facilities where decent size. Glad they had a family room we could all use. Ground was nice and level easy to pitch up our soulpad bell tent and plenty of space for it and happy for you to help yourself to logs for our frontier stove. Nice and peaceful too. How we like it! 10/10 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: HesterLyons 1 review from this member

 Stayed here last week and we absolutely loved it, but I can see how this site is not for everyone.

The facilities are dated and minimal, there is one sink, one toilet and one shower, and the same for disabled (we used this as a family room as there were no disabled visitors, and everyone was fine with this).

The play area is for brave parents only and is definitely unsafe being made up of a couple of wobbly metal climbing frames with a slide, a rope(y) swing and some worn play houses. The chickens eat everything you may leave lying around.

On the other hand there is a fridge / freezer, microwave, toaster, kettle, coffee, tea and sugar and a free washing machine for general use in the kitchen.

The showers are hot and lovely and we managed to easily shower the three of us in the eight minutes (toddler included).

Everything is cleaned at least once a day and there are plenty of mops and brushes to give it a quick sweep yourself if it gets mucky again.

The kids had a wonderfully unsafe and thus adventurous time in the play area and also loved the wendy house, there are free frisbees and bowling balls lying around, and there are woods to explore behind the camping fields.

The site is very quiet and has large pitches, so there is plenty of room to roam.

Electric hookup is included in the price. The warden and helper are relaxed and helpful. The site feels welcoming and safe even if its basic.

All the people we met in the six days we stayed were friendly and equally relaxed and the children made some nice new friends. The chickens are in their coop during the night and we weren't disturbed by them or the cockerel too early in the morning (although we did have a hedgehog in our tent one night!).

We had owls at night, and woodpeckers and song birds during the day.

So - If you want everything sparkly, safe and new then avoid this site as you will be disappointed.

However if you like a bit of basic DIY camping with a lot of nature about, this site is for you. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Rachel Amos 1 review from this member

 I thought this site was great.

We were a party of 9 (5 children aged 3 to 11) one caravan and one very large tent.

There were lots of pluses for our type of party in particular: very small play area and we stayed near it. Perfect for the little ones (I don't need top notch equipment attracting the teenagers) who used it multiple times; a lovely wood with the ability to make camps; very quiet and relaxed site, nice laissez-faire attitude; chickens wandering into the awning; lovely eggs to buy; other animals; nets for playing badminton and football which was nice - meant that we could play with no worries in the middle of the site and it felt very family friendly.

We were near the water and the electric hook-up was easy, the grass was full and soft if a bit sticky and prone to getting everywhere but better more grass than less. The kitchen suited us, we washed up easily and it has a nice view of the apple trees. It seemed a perfectly good size for the site and had a thoughful supply of many things that lots of camp sites don't.

The showers also worked well for us, I used the disabled shower with my 3 year old and we had plenty of water and were quite clean afterwards! A few selfish people did not seem to clean the floors after themselves so maybe a notice of what to do would help but on balance the lack of bossy notices was nice. The loos and shower were spotless when we arrived but had quite a lot of traffic over the weekend.

We went from the site to the New Forest for the day - a good idea as we got swiftly out to the motorway and home the next day. I chose this site instead of staying in the Forest and it turned out to be a really good plan. It did mean we did not do much locally, but the children were too busy making a den to even go to the swings in the village.

Lastly my eldest son and I watched the ducks being driven into bed in the duck house as the sun set and he was entranced by that! I would really recommend the site if you like a family friendly but quiet site. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tessa Dog 4 reviews from this member

 This is a good but small site, it has all you need for a short stay in a tent, washing up facilities, microwave, washing machine, fridge freezer & showers.

The problem was it all needs a bit of TLC. The toilet/shower/washing up block was filthy by lunchtime. It needs a sign to say 'this area is not cleaned therefore please clean up after yourselves!'.

2 toilets for the size of site advertised did not seem enough. The campsite grass had not been cut for some time compared to that of the caravan field making you feel very second class!

On arrival with 2 small children, to be told the electric fence which ran the length of the tent field some 20 meters away from all the tents was still on due to cattle in the field was unbelievable.

The playground facilities in particular the climbing frame/slide, although used, needed at least a good jet wash or though ideally replacing. 


Previous     62 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Folly Farm Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Folly Farm Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Folly Farm Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Winchester      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Hampshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 09/10 to 11/10
A three day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties set in Looe in Cornwall. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5148 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement