Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Folly Farm Caravan And Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > New Forest & Hampshire > Winchester > Folly Farm Caravan And Camping Park Reviews

Folly Farm Caravan And Camping Park
Crawley
Winchester
Hampshire   (Browse area)
SO21 2PH
Tel: 01962 776486
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: 28/04/2022 to 30/09/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 76 Reviews
                8/10 from 76 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (8)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   Wild Swimming <5 miles   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  76 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: February 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mummyjade 1 review from this member

 Lovely place! My little boy was 12 months old when we went and he had great fun running around with the chickens. Everyone was lovely and the facilities where decent size. Glad they had a family room we could all use. Ground was nice and level easy to pitch up our soulpad bell tent and plenty of space for it and happy for you to help yourself to logs for our frontier stove. Nice and peaceful too. How we like it! 10/10 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: HesterLyons 1 review from this member

 Stayed here last week and we absolutely loved it, but I can see how this site is not for everyone.

The facilities are dated and minimal, there is one sink, one toilet and one shower, and the same for disabled (we used this as a family room as there were no disabled visitors, and everyone was fine with this).

The play area is for brave parents only and is definitely unsafe being made up of a couple of wobbly metal climbing frames with a slide, a rope(y) swing and some worn play houses. The chickens eat everything you may leave lying around.

On the other hand there is a fridge / freezer, microwave, toaster, kettle, coffee, tea and sugar and a free washing machine for general use in the kitchen.

The showers are hot and lovely and we managed to easily shower the three of us in the eight minutes (toddler included).

Everything is cleaned at least once a day and there are plenty of mops and brushes to give it a quick sweep yourself if it gets mucky again.

The kids had a wonderfully unsafe and thus adventurous time in the play area and also loved the wendy house, there are free frisbees and bowling balls lying around, and there are woods to explore behind the camping fields.

The site is very quiet and has large pitches, so there is plenty of room to roam.

Electric hookup is included in the price. The warden and helper are relaxed and helpful. The site feels welcoming and safe even if its basic.

All the people we met in the six days we stayed were friendly and equally relaxed and the children made some nice new friends. The chickens are in their coop during the night and we weren't disturbed by them or the cockerel too early in the morning (although we did have a hedgehog in our tent one night!).

We had owls at night, and woodpeckers and song birds during the day.

So - If you want everything sparkly, safe and new then avoid this site as you will be disappointed.

However if you like a bit of basic DIY camping with a lot of nature about, this site is for you. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Rachel Amos 1 review from this member

 I thought this site was great.

We were a party of 9 (5 children aged 3 to 11) one caravan and one very large tent.

There were lots of pluses for our type of party in particular: very small play area and we stayed near it. Perfect for the little ones (I don't need top notch equipment attracting the teenagers) who used it multiple times; a lovely wood with the ability to make camps; very quiet and relaxed site, nice laissez-faire attitude; chickens wandering into the awning; lovely eggs to buy; other animals; nets for playing badminton and football which was nice - meant that we could play with no worries in the middle of the site and it felt very family friendly.

We were near the water and the electric hook-up was easy, the grass was full and soft if a bit sticky and prone to getting everywhere but better more grass than less. The kitchen suited us, we washed up easily and it has a nice view of the apple trees. It seemed a perfectly good size for the site and had a thoughful supply of many things that lots of camp sites don't.

The showers also worked well for us, I used the disabled shower with my 3 year old and we had plenty of water and were quite clean afterwards! A few selfish people did not seem to clean the floors after themselves so maybe a notice of what to do would help but on balance the lack of bossy notices was nice. The loos and shower were spotless when we arrived but had quite a lot of traffic over the weekend.

We went from the site to the New Forest for the day - a good idea as we got swiftly out to the motorway and home the next day. I chose this site instead of staying in the Forest and it turned out to be a really good plan. It did mean we did not do much locally, but the children were too busy making a den to even go to the swings in the village.

Lastly my eldest son and I watched the ducks being driven into bed in the duck house as the sun set and he was entranced by that! I would really recommend the site if you like a family friendly but quiet site. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tessa Dog 4 reviews from this member

 This is a good but small site, it has all you need for a short stay in a tent, washing up facilities, microwave, washing machine, fridge freezer & showers.

The problem was it all needs a bit of TLC. The toilet/shower/washing up block was filthy by lunchtime. It needs a sign to say 'this area is not cleaned therefore please clean up after yourselves!'.

2 toilets for the size of site advertised did not seem enough. The campsite grass had not been cut for some time compared to that of the caravan field making you feel very second class!

On arrival with 2 small children, to be told the electric fence which ran the length of the tent field some 20 meters away from all the tents was still on due to cattle in the field was unbelievable.

The playground facilities in particular the climbing frame/slide, although used, needed at least a good jet wash or though ideally replacing. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Hels-bells 4 reviews from this member

 Stayed here at very short notice for the weekend with a group of 8 campervans and it's a charming little site with everything you need for a short stay.

As written in some of the previous reviews, the toilets could do with updating but they were clean, not too far from the pitches (vital at 3 in the morning!) and all fully functional. There were also a couple of showers and a small kitchenette including a washing machine, fridge with freezer section, iron and other appliances to assist with your stay.

Chickens and ducks roam freely and provide a source of entertainment when it rains! Electric hook-up was plentiful and there were picnic benches dotted around that you can use. 18 per night didn't seem too bad to include electric, awning, dogs, kids, etc. One of our group even had his vehicle and a trailer tent to park so the pitches were plenty big enough.

Nearest pub is closed which was a real shame but the next closest is 1 mile away and had it not rained for most of the weekend, we would have paid it a visit, mentioned the campsite and received 10% off our meals!

Overall this is a great little find and I'm sure we'll be back for another group campout! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Chunkiechops 1 review from this member

 This is the 8th time we have camped at Folly Farm and have always found it very welcoming, friendly and well cared for.

Mrs. Pickup is the perfect host and cannot do enough to make sure your stay goes without any hitches. She even gave the children eggs at Easter time - how lovely!

The toilet blocks are clean as long as you wipe the floor with the mops provided, once you have showered - nothing you would not do at home! and there is always toilet paper.

There is a separate kitchen with microwave, toaster, fridge/freezer and washing machine. We usually do our washing-up at the sink in there too as it's convenient. There is also a washing line outside for use.

The site has a children's play house and small play area, there is also a badminton net - just take your own racquets and shuttle cocks.

We tend to go in a group as it's more fun, so have several children roaming around at the time. It is very safe for the children and we can sit back and relax knowing they are all having a fun time.

Chickens can be a bit of a nuisance but if you don't feed them they tend to leave you alone. Don't leave any food un-attended as they will have it! The cockerel is noisy in the morning but it's a farm, what do you expect?!

Locally, you have Stockbridge, a cute little village with nick-nacky shops. There is a Sainsbury's if you turn left out of the site and travel for about 10 mins. Very useful. A pub, The Rack and Manger is across the road and takes about 10 mins to walk to through the woods.

We are camping again at the end of August - we can't wait. Cannot recommend this site enough - at 18 per night including a hook-up it is perfect and a real bargain! 


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Uk traveller9 11 reviews from this member

 Having read some of the reviews it was with trepidation that we booked this site. It was, at 16 per night far more than we usually pay. However, this fee applies whether you are a single tent camper or a large family.

We were delighted with the site. The site owner was really friendly and helpful and, on arrival we were given a pack of local information which included local shopping, places to eat and where to buy fuel. Electric hook up was included in the fee.

The site itself was level and well kept. Grass cutting seemed to take place daily. There were several picnic benches dotted around the site. We had one on our pitch and thoroughly enjoyed eating our meals at it. There was a playhouse for children as well as a play area and goal nets.

A whirlygig was available for drying washing.

A real bonus was the kitchen area which provided a kettle, toaster, microwave, fridge / freezer, iron, ironing board and a washing machine (bought new 2 weeks ago). There were containers of tea, coffee and sugar as well as crockery and cutlery that could be borrowed.

We were invited to help ourselves to apples from the orchard and told to take damsons home with us.

On one day a huge Victoria sponge appeared in the kitchen with a note to help yourself - it was delicious!

Eggs were for sale and chickens and ducks roamed the site. They tried to help themselves to our food and were frequent visitors in the awning!

Unfortunately a few selfish people did not clear the shower and kitchen area after use. Cleaning materials were available. Toilet paper was always available.

The wooded area gave a super walk down to the local pub.

All in all we would thoroughly recommend the site and would certainly revisit.

Charging for the shower prevented their abuse and we never had to queue for them. As for 80p for 8 mins being a rip off. We had 4 mins each! 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: CrazyMads 1 review from this member

 Pros.

Lovely site for families. The owner was lovely and very friendly.

Wooded area where the children could go explore. Nice level grassy areas for pitching tents.

Free roaming chickens. Ducks eggs for sale daily.

Short walk through the woods to the local pub.

A kitchen area for washing up. Fridge freezers for storing food/ice packs if you wished.

Use of a microwave.

Use of a washing machine which wasn't very clean and broke down during my stay. Use of a toaster which was broken. However, not many sites even offer a kitchen facility so this was a bonus.

Two electric showers which cost 80p for 8 minutes. Plenty of time. You need to stock up on your 20 pence pieces though!

Cons.

The children's play area definitely needs a revamp. The equipment is not safe, but the children were more interested in the woods thankfully.

The Toilet/Shower facilities weren't cleaned very often. It did seem to me that the two toilets were not cleaned at all during my 3 night stay. I wore my crocs when showering!

Beware the electric fencing

However, I would stay again and would be delighted if the toilet/shower facilities had a revamp. If not I'd have to take my rubber gloves next time and give them a clean myself. 


Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Eriba Barnicott 4 reviews from this member

 Lovely spot - green, lush, trees, free-range chickens and, despite being next to the road, very quiet.

Lovely owners too, very helpful and considerate. Let down by the slightly sparse and dated toilet facilities but saved by a homely kitchen, complete with microwave and fridge. Nice touch.

Difficult to bathe a toddler in the shower area and I have to confess to feeling they could have been cleaner. Some nice play equipment was let down by a Winter's layer of mould and moss, yet to be cleaned off. However, overall, pretty good and a charming spot. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: L15A 3 reviews from this member

 This is my favourite site so far! I think it was the roaming chickens, ducks, geese that did it for me. The kids had fun with the badminton net, kiddies play area and general freedom to investigate other farm animals (beware the electric fencing though). The facilities were good with free washing machine and all other kitchen appliances. Showers were 80p for 8 minutes which was plenty of time for us but they were not very clean. The owners were friendly and chatty. Great price 16 all in including hook up, however some of the pitches were smaller than others so that is a bit pot luck. I would definitely return! 


Previous     76 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Folly Farm Caravan And Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Folly Farm Caravan And Camping Park?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Folly Farm Caravan And Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Winchester      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Hampshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save 15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2561 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement