Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Folly Farm Caravan And Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > New Forest & Hampshire > Winchester > Folly Farm Caravan And Camping Park Reviews

Folly Farm Caravan And Camping Park
Crawley
Winchester
Hampshire   (Browse area)
SO21 2PH
Tel: 01962 776486
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: 28/04/2022 to 30/09/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 76 Reviews
                8/10 from 76 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (8)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   Wild Swimming <5 miles   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  76 in total, now showing 61 to 70                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Weewelshyboy 2 reviews from this member

 Firstly let me say that this is a fantastic little site,especially for families. Myself, my wife,and three of my children aged 12,9 and 18 months (the WELSH's) have just had the most wonderful three days at Folly Farm, with one days torrential rain not being a problem at all.

We were welcomed by extremely friendly, and down to earth owners who cannot do enough to ensure that your stay is as pleasant and problem free as possible. The amenities are fine. Toilets, shower(80p for 8 minutes no problem considering it is only 16 pounds per pitch with EHU),use of washing machine,microwave,and fridge/freezers absolutely free ! I doubt very much that this is the case on many other camping sites. BRILLIANT !

The kids loved the free space to play games,feed the freely roaming chickens,and basically have a great time.

We have booked up for another weekend at the end of August 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mr love and justice 3 reviews from this member

 After being given a choice of where to pitch we elected to stay in the overflow field. We like a bit of space and this gave us plenty of room and a beautiful view over the fields watching the swallows and house martins. A bit further to walk to the facilities but we are fairly self sufficient anyway.

We liked this site and will definitely return. The woods and the play area provided the children with plenty of opportunity to play and explore. A fairly short and very pleasant walk through the woods leads to the local pub which now hosts a very good Italian restaurant. We enjoyed a good meal in comfortable surroundings with friendly attentative staff.

Out and about Historic Winchester is a short drive away which is a good day out whatever your interests. Danebury hill fort is also very close as is the pretty town of Stockbridge.

Overall this is a nice site in a lovely location with friendly staff. As has already been mentioned the toilets and showers could do with a bit more TLC but for a short break it's not something that would put us off. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Kerry2815 5 reviews from this member

 The best caravan site we have ever been to - Leon is a fantastic helpful happy guy who was just the best - he really made the holiday a pleasure.

We had 6 adults, 7 kids ranging from 4 to 9 and they all had the time of their lives. Lots for them to climb and do - only downside was we had a bit of an issue with the middle climbing frame with a swing in the middle - 4 injuries in 3 days - we felt it was quite dangerous. Other than that a very secure small friendly site and want to go back! 


Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Stevemaria 7 reviews from this member

 This is a lovely location for a site, the kids loved the playpark and the freedom of the woods. The ground itself is level and easy to position on. I didn't go into the camping field so can't comment there. It's within easy reach of Legoland and Chessington (obviously it's a day trip but we did it no problems in the car), the Rack and manger pub is great too.

The only snag I would mention is the loos and shower. I also think 80p is a bit much for the shower and during the week we were there, the loos were pretty dirty, not the loo itself, but the floor / tiles / sink. In the showers itself it was better, but the mop in the bucket needed cleaning to be truthful so it was hard to mop the floor afterwards.

The kitchen area was great, no problems at all.

Would I return to this site? Yes I would, but I would think twice before booking due to the toilets lack of cleanliness. If they sorted this out it would be excellent. 


Date of Visit: March 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: MountainBikeTourer 1 review from this member

 I found this a nice, friendly, quiet site but with one big reservation: price.

Richard, the owner, was adamant that everyone paid the same price, so my own small tent pitched between a couple of shrubs by the field edge and bicycle were charged exactly the same as a family with a double axle caravan, extended awning and 4X4 vehicle drawing power from the electricity point — £16 per night. Which I think is unfair. From my experience, this sort of site would normally charge £8/night for ramblers / cyclists tops.

I was surprised there was also a charge for the shower: '80p for 8 minutes, you don't need more than that do you?', was how it was pleasantly put.

The toilet block and facilities are a bit dated, but the microwave saved me cooking over the Camping Gaz stove in the fading light.

Cyclists: take the back roads in via Crawley. Really. The main Winchester - Stockbridge road is very dangerous as it is narrow, hilly, has no shoulders and I think bicycles are rare. Rather than slow to pass, I had a number of drivers simply pull out into oncoming traffic at full speed, with resulting cacophany of horns and bellowed curses — not aimed at me but at other drivers. Still, disconcerting. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: MrsD69 1 review from this member

 We were greeted by the kindest smile on top of a ride on mower. Thoroughly lovely chap, one of the most laid back people I have ever met. Nothing too much trouble and made our stay a memorable one. The toilets and showers weren't fabulous, but they weren't completely gross, the kitchen was more than an added bonus with two fridges which came in handy storing the food for the hungry 40 birthday guests! The children loved the play equipment AND the wood beyond, the freedom for them was bliss and there were camps made and exploring for the two full days we were there. We had the back field completely to ourselves and played cricket on both days. We were warned about the electric fence, but still the grown up (?) boys had to touch it just to see, it is real, so watch the little ones, actually watch the big ones! It was a fabulous weekend for weather and the owners made sure it went off well for the Birthday boy, encouraging us to use all available picnic tables and space. There are places to go and visit in the surrounding areas, but if you want to have some rest, some quiet and sit in a field and pontificate, this is the place to go.

All welcome, old, young, dogs, big tents, small tents, low well contained camp fires. The fees were more than reasonable, as previously mentioned the owner charges per unit rather than per person which is great for families. Be open minded and have a try. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Gary_crutchley 22 reviews from this member

 Folly Farm is an excellent site, set in some picturesque Hampshire countryside close to the village of Crawley, and we certainly enjoyed our stay there over the busy August Bank Holiday weekend.

The facilities offered by the site are quite unique, the highlight being a small kitchen area that includes a kettle, fridge-freezer, sink, microwave and microwave. Even though we always have an electric pitch, and have a small fridge ourselves, the extra facilities on offer at Folly Farm were very useful indeed.

There is a small shop that stocks absolute essentials such as bread, milk and eggs. Other items on sale included apple juice, and a range of gifts.

The main camping field, which is where you enter the site is where the electric hook-up points are located. The field itself is very gently sloping, but there are no marked pitches, so as long as your hook-up lead is long enough you can pitch pretty much as you please. We have a nine-berth Vango tent, and had no problem at all installing it near to the small children’s play area.

As well as the play area, there is a woodland area that children can explore. Another obvious attraction for the children are the chickens that have free range over the site. Our children loved feeding them, and consequently we had a poultry queue outside the tent each morning! There are also pigs in a field near to the shop, which the children also enjoyed watching.

The owners are very friendly indeed, and couldn’t have been more helpful. The price we paid was £16 per night, including electric, which we found reasonable. They charge per unit, and not per person, which for families is definitely an advantage.

Folly Farm is just a few miles from Winchester and Romsey, half an hour from Southampton, and an hour from Portsmouth, Bournemouth and the New Forest. So everywhere is within easy reach, and there is no shortage of potential activities. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mrsjmillar 2 reviews from this member

 What a lovely, chilled out site. We loved the chickens roaming the place and the picnic tables were a very welcome as we somehow broke one of our chairs.

Facilities-wise it was great to have access to a fridge and freezer and a microwave. Toilets and showers fine too.

It was rainy so we went to a fab swimming pool in Romsey with slides, lazy river etc, I would definitely recommend that if you have kids. 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: KandE 6 reviews from this member

 We (three couples) had a three day weekend at Folly Farm Touring Caravan Park.

Generally very good stay. The grass was well kept. The site was spacious. 14 Pounds per night for the tent regardless of how many people were in it is not to bad. Cost of showers had just gone up to 80p for an eight minute shower. The man has plenty of change if necessary. There is a nice little kitchenette with fridge and washing machine. Had lots of BBQ tables around the place. Good location and not much noise.

We found the man we dealt with rather forgetful, mildly impolite and strange, but very harmless.

The bathrooms and toilets were OK. Not great, but not to bad.

We would be happy to return. 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lucyb159 1 review from this member

 Stayed at this campsite with two toddlers and could not have been made more welcome. The grass is really well kept and there is a fence that keeps that chickens, ducks and children in. Our children loved the animals - including watching the pigs being fed. There is also a play area with a slide and climbing frames and a badminton net.

Being in a tent we really appreciated the picnic tables that were available and one was moved to our pitch by the owner.

The shop was open twice a day when we were there - the home-made rock cakes being especially memorable, but a range of food, cards, camping essentials and children's toys were also available. Eggs can be bought at any time from outside the farm-house.

The kitchen facilities were great - especially the free use of a microwave, kettle, fridge-freezer etc. There are three uni-sex toilets and two showers. The showers take 3x20p for 8 minutes (I think!).

Nearby Stockbridge is delightful - lots of foodie shops and pubs and sits on the river Test. Crawley is a beautiful village with a great pub - we had a lovely Sunday lunch there.

If you like smaller sites with the facilities that count and a warm welcome, this is great campsite. 


Previous     76 Reviews in total, now showing 61 to 70      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Folly Farm Caravan And Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Folly Farm Caravan And Camping Park?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Folly Farm Caravan And Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Winchester      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Hampshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2697 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement