Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Folly Farm Caravan And Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > New Forest & Hampshire > Winchester > Folly Farm Caravan And Camping Park Reviews

Folly Farm Caravan And Camping Park
Crawley
Winchester
Hampshire   (Browse area)
SO21 2PH
Tel: 01962 776486
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: 28/04/2022 to 30/09/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 76 Reviews
                8/10 from 76 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (8)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   Wild Swimming <5 miles   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  76 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Skinnysticks 9 reviews from this member

 Lovely site. Pretty field, dirty toilets. Inadequate for number of people staying there. If the dirty water in the toilets goes above flip-flop level, it's time to move on. No hand soap, no hand towels, full bins and dirty showers for the 24 hours we stayed there. Online booking is great. Have to pay by cash on arrival.

Pub in village closeby closed down. Could be idyllic if they sort out the facilities. It's not cheap.

Budget prices mean budget facilities. This wasn't cheap. Up your game Folly Farm. 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Alisonperk 1 review from this member

 Stayed for 5 nights in a tent with electric hook up and 2 dogs. Site well maintained and clean. Well kept pitches.

Road nearby but did not bother us at all.

Site has great potential with few little improvements and attention to detail would make a great place to camp. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Sylvan 1 review from this member

 This site is well positioned to visit a number of areas and would appeal mainly to families There is good play equipment and the children were enjoying themselves using it. The woodland dog walk is lovely - it could be made nicer if all the stray baler twine and bits of metal fencing were removed.

We went during a bank holiday weekend and it was very busy and noisy until late into the night. The pitches are not large and, for the amenities currently on offer, we felt it was very expensive. Showers are an additional cost on top of the £24 pitch fee.

The chemical toilet waste was a manhole and there weren't enough drinking water points. The portaloos were very smelly. -thankfully we didn't need to use them but could smell them when walking past. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: TheTs 8 reviews from this member

 Most of the reviews on here are old. If we had booked the site we thought we had, having read the reviews we wouldn't have been keen HOWEVER.

The site has been recently taken over on the new owners are working hard to put the love back into the place and be incredibly helpful.

The site itself is level, with good shelter from attractive trees (cue lots of lovely birdsong) and although a little dated, clean and appropriate facilities, with a great kitchen area for campers (tents).

The site is well positioned for Winchester and also for Farley mount country park. We were only there for the weekend but would definitely go again. This time booking on purpose! 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lorraine Pritchard 1 review from this member

 We stayed at Folly Farm for 3 weeks, and had a very enjoyable stay. It was May bank holiday and the park was nearly full.

The park is under new ownership and the new owner is making improvements all the time. There are toilets, showers and a small kitchen for campers.

Close by there is a Waitrose, Aldi, Chinese Takeaway, & a chip shop.

It is just a lovely peaceful site.

We will be back. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Enjoylife 3 reviews from this member

 This is a quiet, pretty campsite, perfect for chilling out and enjoying the outdoors. Our children loved playing on the newly installed wooden play equipment and we enjoyed relaxing on the picnic benches and listening to the birds.

The facilities were always clean and we found them perfectly adequate, although the new owners informed us they plan to upgrade them at the end of the summer. The grass was kept short and there are no farm animals or chickens here anymore, so no electric fencing to worry about.

There are two supermarkets within a five minute drive and a great pub in the very picturesque village of Crawley which is walkable (about a mile). A ten minute drive takes you into the centre of Winchester and there is a bus stop right outside the campsite if you need it.

We chose a pitch overlooking the meadow where we watched the swallows and house martins darting in and out of the grass. We had a wonderful stay and I would thoroughly recommend this site if you’re looking for a quiet, peaceful spot to relax and enjoy all that nature has to offer. We will be back again soon! 


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Pippylongstocking 2 reviews from this member

 Ideally located to visit Winchetser and surrounding area. We stayed in the back field which has lovely views over surrounding country side.

Friendly owners, basic facilities, level pitches, would recommend. 


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Dodgyjax 4 reviews from this member

 Delightful field, surrounded by beautiful mature trees. Walking distance to an incredible pub in the stunning village of Crawley. Friendly owner who actually likes dogs. Excellent walking in the Stockbridge area which will keep us returning to this site often.

Young children seemed very happy climbing trees and playing in the wendy house, older kids would not be happy.

The entrance to the site is unpromising, first view is of the recycling bins, and true, the wash-house block is a bit sad looking but inside it's warm and the kitchen area has a microwave and frige freezer for campers use, alongside T towels and a plate of cookies which the farmers wife had made.

We were charmed by the place and we hope you'll like it too. 


Date of Visit: October 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Struth 19 reviews from this member

 As per the previous review, all it would take is a little TLC to make this a really good site.

The facilities are a bit tired and could do with sprucing up. They smelt a little damp and uninviting, so as we were only there for a long weekend we made do with our own facilities in the caravan. The grass could have done with a cut, it was too long. The owner is lovely and even came round to ask if we needed a hot water bottle!

Be aware satnav users, ours sent us in the wrong direction completely, the entrance to the site is a bit obscure and could do with a sign opposite.

Having said all this, we had a lovely quiet weekend, the site has a homely feel and is quite relaxing. It is an excellent location for Winchester and the steam railway. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Iron maiden 8 reviews from this member

 What to say about this site. Unloved. All it needs is a bit of tlc and a good clean. Then it would be a great little site.

The field is flat and well drained and this was essential with all the rain we have had this summer. It never felt boggy and the only mud was round the gate. This could be easily sorted.

The facilities are a separate toilet, a separate shower and a disabled shower room with toilet and hand basin. The only other basin was just by the door in. At a cost of 80p for 8mins for the showers, we found it plenty of time for us both to take a shower.

There are wall heaters in the shower rooms but they are a some kind of timer and came on at set times but never at a time when we wanted to shower. If you don't like spiders then you may have a problem as the shower block was full of old and new webs.

In the week we were there they were never cleaned properly but as we were the only ones on the site they never got that dirty. Wouldn't like to think what they would be like if the site was full.

In the kitchen there is a fridge and freezer, microwave, kettle and toaster all free to use. There are also utensils you can use but again they needed a good wash.

Mrs Pickup the owner was a lovely character and her hens which were allowed to roam free added a bit of comedy to the week but be warned don't feed them you can imagine why. The eggs are on sale at the farm.

There is a small village about 25mins walk with a beautiful old church and a pub which does food. We only called in the once the owners were friendly and had only just taken over. They have a plans for the pub and the menu and bar menu looked good. But there is no shop. Shops for provisions are a short drive away in Stockbridge or head towards Winchester

The other pub mentioned in previous reviews is now a private house.

The site is close to Winchester and Salisbury both historic and well worth a visit. We also went down to Portsmouth and there are some national trust properties in the area.

At £18 per night including EHU which we don't use it is about right for the area but I considered it on the pricey side compared with sites in other parts of the country. 


Previous     76 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Folly Farm Caravan And Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Folly Farm Caravan And Camping Park?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Folly Farm Caravan And Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Winchester      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Hampshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2666 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement