Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Folly Farm Caravan And Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > New Forest & Hampshire > Winchester > Folly Farm Caravan And Camping Park Reviews

Folly Farm Caravan And Camping Park
Crawley
Winchester
Hampshire   (Browse area)
SO21 2PH
Tel: 01962 776486
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: 28/04/2022 to 30/09/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 76 Reviews
                8/10 from 76 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (8)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   Wild Swimming <5 miles   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  76 in total, now showing 71 to 76                 Previous 10         Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Neeto 7 reviews from this member

 Pros and cons to this site.

The pros first: it is well maintained and looked after with a nice kitchen with fridge and washing machine and toaster and electric kettle. There are adjacent woods for the kids to play in and other stuff on site to keep children occupied, a short 5-minute-walk through the woods to the nearby pub with OK food and beers, ducks and chickens running through the field give it an authentic farmy feel.

The cons: it is expensive at £14 per night if like me it was just an adult and child, unpleasant fertiliser smells waft over from the farm, the shower (take plenty of 20ps with you) is barely adequate, the rather proprietorial farmer may force his Daily Mail views on you, next to a busy road with a lot of traffic noise.

You pays your money and takes your choice. 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Redfibee 5 reviews from this member

 The pitches cost £14.00 per night. The field was flat and mown.   The hens wandering around gave me some hygiene concerns, as we have 3 children. At times there was a strong smell of pigs. There was plenty of play equipment for the children, and we were able to put our tent within a few metres of the play area.
 
The facilities were good, we had access to a kettle, fridge, washing machine, hot water to wash up in indoors. There were 3 toilets and 2 showers, which were not kept very clean, but I've seen much worse.
 
Although shop opening times are on a board, they are not adhered to. Indeed, we had our doubts as to whether or not a shop existed, as when we finally managed to buy some milk, (£1.00 for 2 pints) it was fetched from inside the house.  


Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Leann2 1 review from this member

 We were in a large group of 5 adults & 12 children ranging in age from 5mths to 14 yrs.
We arrived in pouring rain and was greeted by Rosemary the owner who made us very welcome. We were offered a choice of pitches, the main field which had a play area and was near to the shower/toilets or the overflow field. We chose the overflow field which we had all to ourselves apart from the ducks and chickens. Putting up tents in rain isn't much fun but Rosemary was very helpful and even offered to dry any wet clothing or bedding for us. We were also offered the use of the showers in the main house, but we never needed to as there was 2 showers and 3 toilets avalible.
There is also a kitchen area with a fridge, fridge/freezer, microwave and washing machine, plus tea & coffee which are all free to use. We were made to feel at home and were told where the nearest shops and places to visit were. We did visit the science museum Intech, just past winchester town & all the kids loved it. It was a fantastic week its a small but extremly friendly and clean well run site with plenty to see & do we will most certainly be going back very soon. 


Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Undecided 8 reviews from this member

 Stayed here two nights for a wedding in nearby Stockbridge. Nice site and good mix of tents, caravans and campervans. Pub only fifteen mins walk through woods so you do need a torch for the return. Especially when the food is good and the beer better. I hope Leon ( campsite official ) sees this - the showers / toilets were in need of more TLC and we had to purchase our own hygienic wipes. If you don't tell people they will not know. The kitchen area would be fab for tenters - a really good idea. Warning - we did need a taxi back from Stockbridge to the site ( exactly four miles for the wedding ) - £27.00 so I suggest if you follow our example make sure one is a designated driver. I hope to stay again - Leon is a very friendly host and the site is worth a visit. 


Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jon Powell 7 reviews from this member

 This campsite is small and basic. However what it may lack in some facilities it more than makes up for with little touches. There are just two unisex showers and three unisex wcs. However in my short stay I never had to queue. There is just one washing up sink but again there was never more than one person queueing (I think that 'I'll do it later' became our mantra).

What this campsite does provide is a very relaxed, easy going atmosphere. To make life easier there is complimentary tea and coffee in a kitchen area, a free to use washing machine, a free to use fridge freezer, a free to use microwave and mugs and utensils that can be borrowed.

For children there is a small play area with climbing frames and slides, a wooden wendy house and other toys left in the camping field. Chickens and ducks roam freely and add another attraction for children (my three year old got herself lost following the ducks but never got too far away). The chickens can be a pain when eating breakfast but there are picnic benches to sit at dotted around the campsite.

Local shops are in Stockbridge or Winchester, each 4-5 miles away. There is a small shop on-site for basics only open at peak hours. The walk through the wooded area to the pub was a great adventure for my daughter having to use her torch to walk back. The pub did great food but had no children's menu so proved a little pricey. A good selection of decent beer was also available.

We used this campsite as a base in order to visit the Marwell Zoological Park. We spent nearly six hours there and could have spent longer. We hope to visit both the zoo and the campsite again soon. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lentwistle 3 reviews from this member

 We stayed here in August after not being able to find anywhere else to stay due to booking late and were pleasantly surprised by this campsite.
It is based on a working farm and chickens roam the site which can be mildly annoying however you can buy various items of farm produce such as eggs and conserves.
It is situated right next to a bus stop so you can easily take the bus into either Winchester or Salisbury, buses come every hour (approx.).
The facilities include a kitchen with washing up sink, microwave, washing machine and fridge, three toilets, two showers and washing line.
The ground is a good soft soil with very few rocks good for tents.
The owners are very friendly and more than happy to help with any requests or enquiry's.
The only downside to the site is that the showers cost 60p and you need to keep a good stock of 20p pieces.
There is a pub about 5-10 minutes walk away down a forest path from the side of the site. Take a torch if you plan on going because there is every chance you will need it. 


Previous     76 Reviews in total, now showing 71 to 76     Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Folly Farm Caravan And Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Folly Farm Caravan And Camping Park?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Folly Farm Caravan And Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Winchester      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Hampshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3319 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement