Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Trevayne Farm Caravan & Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Saundersfoot > Trevayne Farm Caravan & Camping Park Reviews

Trevayne Farm Caravan & Camping Park
Monkstone
Saundersfoot
Pembrokeshire   (Browse area)
SA69 9DL
Tel: 01834 813402
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 60
Open: 01/04/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 138 Reviews
                8/10 from 138 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  138 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Adbar 2 reviews from this member

 I've just returned from a lovely stay at Trevayne Farm.

There is a great sea view from the campsite and there is a great beach a short walk away (although the walk is more of a climb down hundreds of steps)

The location on a hill overlooking the sea does mean you are quite exposed if the weather gets bad.

The facilities at the site are good. There are ample toilets and showers which are cleaned regularly with hot water and good water pressure in the showers.

The shop sells local bacon, burgers, vegetables and eggs along with other essentials and offers phone charging and ice-pack freezing. There are also washing machines and driers available.

This was a very friendly, safe-feeling campsite with no trouble or noise at night.

We would definitely come back if we want to visit this area again. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Avignon 5 reviews from this member

 this was our forth (maybe) visit to Trevayne. The staff were as friendly and helpful as ever: they'll freeze your ice packs, there's free wireless and charging for your devices (I camp to get away from them!)

The prices were fair (21 p/n for family of four plus dog) - I believe charging for a dog is unjustifiable by the way as I look after it, clear up after it etc!

Facilities: toilet block/showers - plenty of cubicles, clean as ever, still new looking, with disabled shower/toilet, handsoap (some of the time) and paper towells. Bins - looked after/contained and emptied regularly.

Noise was always at a minimum after the expected times - no gangs of lads or rowdy neighbours - have never had a worry at Trevayne. I feel it is a very well managed and family/couples focussed.

It's location is good, with a great view of Tenby from the coastal path, and a direct route down (160 steps)to the beautiful Monkstone beach.

The shop (open 8-7) was well stocked with milk, butter, bread and other essentials, loads of locally sourced goodies - all at reasonable, sensible prices.

Downsides: they had fenced off the field which the tenby field (L-shaped) surrounds - this was nice previously as the kids could run freely through it away from your tent: great for frizbee or kite flying.

That said there is loads of other space around the site. We had horrendous wind on the Tuesday night (which nearly killed our tent, but this could happen anywhere!

The location of the site: walking to the nearest facilities (local pub and Londis) would take approx 20-25 mins, but as I said the shop on site stocked more than enough goodies!

Overall: Excellent: we'll be back! 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mariecath 3 reviews from this member

 This is an absolutely amazing site! Myself, my 8 year old daughter and friend with 8 year old son stayed for 10 days at the end of July. We were lucky enough to have lovely weather nearly every day.

The sea views from Tenby field were lovely and the beach at the bottom of the dreaded steps is one of the best I have ever visited, just don't take too large a picnic down with you as hard work on the way up!

The waves were great for surfing and the beach and rock pools were a joy. The facilities at the site were very good. Loved the al fresco bathroom as really felt like a spanish setting.

The farm shop had lovely local produce and the staff were probably the most helpful and friendly from any campsite I've visited. The one night of bad weather we ordered a pizza delivery direct to the tent which was a great bonus.

The surrounding towns are beautiful with great beaches and lots to do for families. Highly recommend Mews surf bar and grill in tenby for great steaks and seafood.

Will definitely be back. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: MellyMae 2 reviews from this member

 Arrived at the site, reception was closed and it was pouring with rain. The pitches are not clearly posted and I think we pitched in the wrong place. A kind gentleman gave us a hot flask of coffee while we were pitching the tent. Think he felt sorry for us. The weather dried up but the field was saturated - although we had had so much rain.

The facilities were fantastically clean and the showers were lovely and warm. The staff around the site were friendly and helpful. Our boys really enjoyed petting the pigs. The beach was well worth the walk with great views along the coast. Overall we had a great time and would definitely visit again, a lovely site for families to visit. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Cuckoobrenda 2 reviews from this member

 We loved this site, we stayed in the Monkstone field, with fantastic views over the bay. There had been a lot of rain and although the ground was wet we pulled onto the hardstanding ok. It is three quarter mile from the main road down a narrowish tarmac road, so no traffic noise. Toilets are little dated, but were always clean, only 1 shower per male/female toilet but I never had to wait and the water was hot. Staff very friendly, and helpful. The walk down to the beach is quite steep, with lots of steps, but well worth it when you get there, really lovely beach. Unfortunately due to the wet weather the ground was too muddy for us to walk to Tenby or Saundersfoot, but would love to walk it in dryer conditions. Tenby is a great place, lots of little streets hiddn away, with many independent shops, and a wonderful beach, vast amount of sand for the children. Saundersfoot is also lovely place with a great beach, noticed life quard stations on both beaches. One thing I feel I must say is, if it gets really windy on the monkstone field I would advise you to take your awnings down as the site feels the full brunt of it. We will definitely visit Trevayne again asap 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: JonWal 4 reviews from this member

 We arrived at Trevayne for a long weekend, my wife, my 3 year old son and myself for our first ever camping trip. The weather was not in our favour, extremely windy and heavy rain. We were directed to our pitch and given a map. No problem finding a decent pitch.

The toilet/shower blocks were very clean, whenever I went there appeared to be someone cleaning.

Monkston beach is just a short walk away located at the bottom of the campsite, but be wary about the steps. The beach itself is clean and lots of rockpools to keep my son amused.

Very close to both Tenby and Saundersfoot. We shall definitely be returning here in the future. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hectycat 5 reviews from this member

 We have just returned early from a stay at Trevayne farm. The main reason being the field for the tents was an absolute quagmire. I appreciate that it has been raining for months, so anywhere we went would be boggy, but the field appeared to have no drainage with lots of waterlogged areas. It got so bad after a few days of being pitched that the water started to come up through the tent floor. Also, the mud absolutely stank of cow dung, which was horrendous inside the tent

The campsite itself was in an amazing location - although the website says that there are sea views from Tenby field, we feel this is stretching it a bit! Unless you are standing on top of your car, there are very few pitches that you can see the sea. It also seems to cater for the caravans over tents as all the best pitches (with sea views) are for caravans only.

The beach at Monkstone is stunning and well worth the trip down. It took us 10 minutes to get down and 20 minutes to get back up and this was with a 3 and 5 year old (who managed the hike back up well)

The biggest gripe about the site is the toilet and shower block. Being 'open air' made visits there very unpleasant in the horrible weather we had. I can imagine that they are OK to use in hot sunny weather, but it was hideous on cool windy days. We really could not understand why they thought open air facilities are a good idea in Wales! There were a couple of showers that were indoors on the caravan areas, but they were very much in need of updating as they were dark and neglected. Having said this, the facilities were always spotlessly clean

The staff on site were very helpful and the shop was well stocked.

There is also a Londis just up the road which is about a 15 minute walk or two minutes in the car which has a good selection of goodies and the staff here were extremely polite and helpful

It is a very easy walk or drive to Saundersfoot, which had some great restaurants and pubs - we loved the Royal Oak which had great food and we could take the dog into the bar area - a must in the rainy weather at the moment. In fact there were many pubs in the area that were happy to have children and dogs which was a real bonus.

Trevayne Farm is a fantastic base and there are loads of great things to see and do in the area. If you can put up with the al fresco washing area (and go when it is drier) it would be a great place to stay. Unfortunately for us, these facilities have put us off returning 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Scubakeefy 7 reviews from this member

 What a cracking little site. Easy to find from the main roads but so far away from them all you hear is the birds and the sea all day.

Great for kids as it is a working farm so the chickens are friendly and just love cream crackers!

Toilet facilities are a bit basic and could do with an uplift but all work and are clean.

It is a little bit of a effort to the beach down a track and some steps etc, but well worth it. Bring a canoe, inflatable best, as if you can get it down to the beach, you can paddle round to to Tenby or Saundersfoot as we did, which was great fun.

Tenby is lovely, Saundersfoot smaller scale but nice. Fish and chips is a must too.

Overall, great place for the first few days of our Welsh tour in our new motorhome. Great place to start 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: TinTenter24 6 reviews from this member

 We chose this site because of the location, and mostly because of the footpath to the beach (which we never saw in the end!). We tried phoning several times prior to arrival, but could not get a response, so decided to go anyway and take a chance knowing that there are loads of sites in the area and we would be able to get in somewhere if not here.

We arrived early evening to find they closed as early as 5. 30pm, and a notice on the door said to find a pitch and come see us in the morning. We walked through the site first to find a pitch, and as directed on the notice we first tried the Monkstone field, with the sea view, which was very nice and neatly trimmed and tidy but alas full up, so we then walked to the Croft field, where there were some pitches, but the whole field was under an inch of water and other tourers were complaining of an inch of water in their awnings!

We luckily found a vacant hard standing pitch, although the van overhung and the jack pads sank into the watery grass about 3' and wanted to go more, and in the morning went to settle up for the three nights we wanted to stay. We were told we could not have the hard pitch and we would have to move to the waterlogged field. We said that we would love to stay on the hard pitch, but if they intended to move us onto the waterlogged field, then we would rather not stay, and I offered to pay whatever their going rate was for the hard standing pitch.

They began being very rude and eventually suggested that we leave anyway, but not without first having a real go at us, just because we had stated that we didn't wish to be sited in a flood. We didn't blame them for the rain, but with better drainage, the site would be more desirable. This is Wales after all, so drainage should be the main priority!

If I can try to be objective about the site in general though, the Monkstone field is really lovely, and the views are amazing. The Croft field was mostly full of seasonal pitches, all with high grass growing around the vans, it did look very untidy, and the track was severely potholed and the rain had made the field flooded almost all over. The weather is not their fault, as they clearly pointed out, but the drainage is their responsibility.

I didn't use the facilities, but my wife and kids did, and they said they were quite adequate, and the open air thing was quite novel. There was only one water tap, a long trek from our pitch, and serving many pitches.

Over all, I would never visit this site again, despite the great location. They clearly have no customer service ethic and no people skills at all. We wished that the real owners of the farm were about to see how their customers were being treated. Poor show all round mostly due to the teenage staff running the place. 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Valleytraveller 8 reviews from this member

 We are new to caravaning so we, two adults, a toddler and our dog, booked a bank holiday break in Tenby. The site was easy to find but the lane is a bit narrow in places, we just squeezed past an oncoming car.

Staff in reception were helpful and directed us to our pitch. We were in croft field which was level, all grass but with no views. The grass was really wet given the rain we have had. The big problem for us was we couldn't find our pitch. They are only marked on jockey wheel slabs so we had to ask a few people and keep jumping out to look.

The site was pretty full being a bank holiday but all was quiet by 10 pm.

Facilities were generally very good, open plan fairly modern shower blocks. Two problems. I never did find the grey water point, spent 10 minutes looking for it with a fellow traveller. Had to use a drain in the wash area. Secondly, the toilets at the end of the day were filthy. The wife told me the ladies were fine but the gents showed definite signs of use, if you see what I mean. Why no toilet brush so people can clean up after themselves? Showers were warm and clean.

Would we go back- yes, but would hope to see signs marking pitches and the toilets cleaned more than once a day. 


Previous     138 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Trevayne Farm Caravan & Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Trevayne Farm Caravan & Camping Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Trevayne Farm Caravan & Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Saundersfoot      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Pembrokeshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet UK Monster Truck Nationals 21/08 to 22/08
Camping available with Monster Truck rides, drag racing, wrestling, plus live music ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4316 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement