Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Rosetta Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Borders > Peebles > Rosetta Holiday Park > Reviews

Rosetta Holiday Park
Rosetta Road
Peebles
Borders   (Browse area)
EH45 8PG
Tel: 01721 720770
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 140
Open: 01/04/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 6/10 from 79 Reviews
                6/10 from 79 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  79 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: NettieG 5 reviews from this member

 This was only my second time camping and this time I joined my sister and her family.

We requested and were granted pitches next to each other and thankfully these were on the top field, which is level. Although they couldn't guarantee the specific pitches we requested (my sister visited there a few weeks beforehand) the staff clearly went out of their way to accommodate us as the pitches were granted.

First impressions are the staff are very friendly and helpful and the site clean and spacious. I did observe that the first field is on a slop so not ideal particularly for larger tents. The pitches in the top field are very spacious and you can park your car right by your tent, which is good.

As commented in previous reviews, the toilet and shower facilities are very dated and not always clean. Someone had spat in one of the toilet cubicles and toilet paper was strewn everywhere. However, one of the receptionists happened to be at hand and as soon as I told her about it she was straight on the phone to get it sorted, which is was. Next morning, however, I was very disappointed to note that most cubicles had no loo roll and the paper towel holders were all empty. In their defence though the site was very, very busy.

I also observed the bin area was a real mess but this wasn't the fault of the wardens; this was because people didn't tie their bin bags when they were full and old food etc was hanging out of the bags on the ground.

Overall, I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Rosetta and certainly wouldn't rule out returning although not for longer than a couple of days. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Vonix 3 reviews from this member

 Spent 2 lovely relaxing nights at Rosetta in our tent(we are regular visitors). 1st time in 4 years it stayed dry! Toilets were kept clean and loo roll and hand towels in abundance.

I noticed there have been some 'refreshing' work since our last visit a few months ago. Such as painting in loos and lots of cheery coloured flowers on windows. Bins were cleared regularly. Staff very friendly. Lovely views from top field.

Short walk to Peebles town centre where there is a variety of shops to keep you occupied and lots of places to see. Definitely be returning. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Fiona W 223 reviews from this member

 We had been apprehensive about coming to the site, having read the reviews about toilets and general cleanliness. However, no need to worry if you are given an EHU pitch at the bottom of the slope with the seasonal caravans (and no views). There are two toilet blocks here (old fashioned but clean, plenty of toilet rolls & hot water, 2 showers, dish washing indoors)- I think that it would be worth the short walk down from the higher tent area to use these toilets if there's a problem with the ones at the courtyard building. Also, several rubbish bin areas that were emptied daily - the rubbish bin enclosure for the tent area at the top of the hill did overflow, with fewer bins for more people. CDP out in the open by each bin area - don't empty your cassette on a windy day!

Two minor quibbles - many of the hardstands do have a nice slabbed patio, but our 'drive' had such a slope that we had to put both wedges under one wheel to get almost level. Secondly, the big trees at the bottom of the site mean you get sun either in the morning or the evening: only a few pitches have no trees nearby and therefore get sun at both ends of the day. If we come back, we'll ask for one of these. Dog run at one side of the site, in woodland along the perimeter: lots of rabbits to chase. Lots of children at the caravans, all cycling round on the track or running around on the grassy slopes - I didn't overhear any complaints about the play area being at the top of the site.

I would prefer this site to Crossburn in Peebles - they are by the busy main road and their access barrier comes down at 8.30 pm so you can't check in later. At Rosetta, Reception was closed but a map in the window showed us where to pitch up and we paid next morning. It's clear, based on past visits compared to this one, that the site is moving to more statics & lodges and less camping.

Peebles is a great wee town - fantastic old-fashioned, award-winning butcher; acclaimed wine shop; good swimming pool. The area is fantastic for mountain biking - the 7Stanes at Glentress is nearby. Also great for visiting old houses - visit Traquair and buy their beer. And loads of forest and riverside walks if you have a dog: look out for Ospreys fishing! 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Daveybuntu 3 reviews from this member

 Generally good camp site.

Staff were friendly and helpful.

The toilet block/showers were a little bit 'retro'. Clean, to start with, but became less so over the weekend as the site got busier.

The kids play area is in a poor state of repair.

Also, most of the tent pitches are on a slope which isn't ideal.

We had a good time though, and the town of Peebles is a great place to visit. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Charlieboy 2 reviews from this member

 Having just come back from a few days visit. I have to say I was rather disappointed with the campsite. We were on a good sized pitch with fantastic views but the toilets and facilities really let it down.

The toilet blocks were never cleaned when we were there.

The bar was only open on a weekend so was the restaurant.

The was rubbish left all around the whole of the campsite on view.

The area of Peebles though I have to say was lovely and everyone you spoke to was really polite. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Topaz2 2 reviews from this member

 We enjoyed our few days at Peebles. The site is in an attractive setting but needs a bit of loving care. It seemed to have allowed itself to fall behind. The toilets could do with modernisation and there was garden and other rubbish lying about the potentially lovely site.

Peebles itself is a lovely town with several good eating places. The campsite is within easy walking distance of town and very near the golf course. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jeannie1066 2 reviews from this member

 I took my son and nephew to rosetta for 1 night, we got a very warm welcome and really enjoyed our stay, despite the torrential rain!

We got a great pitch with fantastic views, and I was impressed with how clean the toilets and shower block was, boys loved the small games arcade and pool table. Peebles is a lovely small friendly town, we went swimming and also visited the kailzie fishery, John the owner was very helpful and showed the boys how to cast their lines properly.

We had heavy rain all of monday night and site was very muddy, but you couldn't expect anything else!

The pub on site is lovely with great character, but they didn't serve meals on monday night.

All in all a very enjoyable time was had by all despite the rain, id definitely be back, probably with a few friends. 


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Louise Young 2 reviews from this member

 While I have used this website many times, this is the first review I've submitted. I usually check out the reviews here before booking a site, but this time it was a join trip with another two people and they organised the site.

I have to say I was really disappointed. We've used this site before, when I was a lot younger and with my parents, and it seems that not much has been done over the years regards maintenance.

While the views are lovely up the top, the small track to get the caravan up there was pretty bad and you drove through what felt like a vehicle yard to get there. The nicer pitches at the bottom on flat level are now kept for seasonal pitches.

The ground is very sloped and we spent ages trying to get the caravan even.

There is a really nice stone courtyard where the toilets are located, but the toilets themselves felt like unloved school loos. The shower stalls are very old fashioned and the water wasn't very hot. And the tabletop area next to the sink wasn't washed down once the whole weekend we were there.

Sadly it all just felt a bit unloved. Maybe the static section or the seasonal section is better maintained 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Fireeves 4 reviews from this member

 Visited this site as it was the closest to Glentress Mountain Bike Park. It was reasonably priced, close to the town and seemed to have all the facilities we required.

The tent field is, as described, right next to the toilet/shower block, bar, laundry and TV room. However the level of the pitches varies greatly, as does the drainage on them - make sure you are happy with you pitch before setting up.

The facilities, while there are many, are basic, and quite a few of these were out of order (Hair dryer, washing machine, 3 x ladies toilets). There are charges for Hot Water for washing up (only 1 sink) but not for showers. It would have made an overall better impression if everything was in working order!

It was a pleasant site, in a good location but I would perhaps look elsewhere if I was re-visiting the area.  


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Di4u 2 reviews from this member

 Spent 3 nights here mid august tent with electric put on top field and was quite disappointed. The tent spaces are fine but the toilet shower block wasn't good at all 2 toilets out of order for all the days we were there. Hairdryer that costs 10p to use out of order. Only 2 showers in ladies and men when the tent field is full it is quite a wait. Only one dish washing area having to pay 20p every time for hot water. Play area small games room 4 slot machines in it 2 out of order 1 pool table and the tv room was just like a cave and cold at times. Pub was small so quite crowed if the tent area is full. All in all this park needs some updating in my opinion  


Previous     79 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Rosetta Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Rosetta Holiday Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Rosetta Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Peebles      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Borders

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3419 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement