Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Rosetta Holiday Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Borders > Site Reviews

Rosetta Holiday Park
Rosetta Road
Peebles
Borders   (Browse area)
EH45 8PG
Tel: 01721 720770
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 120
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 6/10 from 75 Reviews
                6/10 from 75 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf 1 mile   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  75 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Andy McKay 14 reviews from this member

Stayed here for 8 nights in September, site far better than then expected from some of the poor reviews. Staff really helpful when we arrived and allowed us to choose our own pitch due to some heavy rain making the grass slippery in places. Lovely site set amongst trees and very quiet even at each weekend, we didnít visit the bar so canít comment on that aspect. The showers which a lot of reviews have slated were fine (we used the ones furthest from reception on the touring site). Although internally the wash room and shower cubicles look a little dated the shower controls and heads looked pretty new and more importantly delivered plenty of piping hot water with proper on / off taps (no push buttons here). Even better was the underfloor heating in the gentís washroom, great for warming your toes whilst having a shave. Storm Ali swept over us during the week but to be honest it didnít really bother us as the site is pretty sheltered although the wind did blow a couple of trees over near reception which were soon cleared away. We would definitely stay here again as the site is good value and not on a main road with an easy stroll into Peebles, itís also a great base for hiking and cycling.

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Fiona W 174 reviews from this member

Return visit, as the location in Peebles (a Borders town that's doing very well) & the huge dog run on site suits us, and Traquair is always worth visiting. Had been wary coming back because my formal complaint about the showers two years ago still appeared to be valid.

Pleased to report that all the showers in the lower touring area have new fittings, and are now powerful & hot (and not press-button). No complaints there! In addition, as repeat customers, we got a discount - £20 mid week reduced to £16, £25 weekend reduced to £20 (hardstand & EHU). Again, no complaints there: the price seemed fair.

The site has planning permission (quickly found online) dated 2015 for extending the static caravan area, lots of chalets & 130 houses. The plan includes moving the touring pitch uphill to behind the house. There was no sign of work starting, but I wouldn't expect any investment in the lower touring area now - a motorhome service area would be handy: if you're staying more than a few days, you'll need a canister or bucket to carry grey water to the drain below the standpipe as there's no dump. You'll also need your own water pipe to fill up with fresh water.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Border Tart 2 reviews from this member

We visited as two families with 4 kids between us aged 10-5yrs. We were located on the top tent field. I don't know if this is random or we were put up there because it was closest to the playground but we would have preferred to be down the bottom field where is was quieter and not as packed in.

The toilet and shower facilities have seen better days and there didn't seem to be a routine for cleaning - the men in our group said there was blood in one of the sinks on the Saturday morning and it was still there when leaving on the Sunday.

To get to the toilets you have to go past the entrance to the bar. On the Friday night it was karaoke night and we had to shuffle the kids past smokers and drunk people just to get teeth brushed!

The site served a purpose, it was in a decent location, Peebles is lovely, and the cost was reasonable for a tent pitch with hook up - but I would rather pay a bit extra to have clean facilities.

We won't be visiting again.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Richardh1905 15 reviews from this member

Pleasantly located site within walking distance of Peebles town centre. We were allocated a decent pitch down at the bottom of the site. Good dog walking possibilities around.

Facilities were a bit 'tired' perhaps, but certainly adequate. Didn't visit the on site bar.

Peebles is a great base for walking and mountain biking. Good trails in Glentress forest park, and there is also an easy cycle trail running along the course of an old railway line to Innerleithen.

Traquair House is worth a visit, too. The maze is great family fun.

Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Chumbeiro 12 reviews from this member

Pleasantly located 25 minutes walk from the town centre and with pitches in mature parkland this site has so much potential. Unfortunately the facilities are sadly lacking.

We used the site to access the nearby 7Stanes MTB trails; small campervan, two adults, hardstanding, electricity included (but not wanted or needed) and stayed for two nights, total price £45.

The biggest issue that we had was the facilities, or more accurately, the lack thereof. Touring area has two dated, small toilet blocks with two showers and two toilets each for M/F. After a day's muddy riding it was impossible to have a hot shower due to the lack of water pressure. A previous reviewer (12 months ago) said that he'd pointed this out to management and 'no one else had complained'. I tried three of the four showers during the stay and all were totally inadequate, each producing a slow dribble of hot water from unstable shower heads at 38 degrees. Turning the temperature down from the maximum temperature stopped the water flow completely. I'm not exaggerating.

No-one seemed to be available in the site office when we were on site to make our complaints known.

If you have your own shower in your unit, great. Give it a go, you may have a much more positive experience.

Appreciate that our stay was in the last week of the season so perhaps the management intend to invest in new facilities over the close season?

We'll definitely return to Peebles but sadly not to this site.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Evyb1 1 review from this member

Just came back from staying in a hire caravan on this site, was here last september and back again in may 2017, truly wonderful holiday park and will be booking again, as we cant wait to come back. Staff are very friendly and helpful, the scenery is beautiful. Everything you need and want is on site

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Welshy165 5 reviews from this member

First time visit to Rosetta I have been to Peebles a few times before and have always stayed at crossburn due to the bad reviews of Rosetta. First impressions were good, very big campsite, staff were friendly and helpful. Hard standing pitch was flat, it's a bit tricky to get onto pitch though as we had to reverse up a grass hill. Nice little bar on the site with very reasonable prices. Now for the bad bit. There are 2 toilet blocks but they are tiny and look like they date from the 1970's only 2 showers and 2 toilets in each block. On the Saturday night one of the gents toilets blocks was locked with a sign saying out of order. This only left the 1 toilet block open for the whole touring area. This could be a great site if they spent some money on new toilet blocks to bring the caravan site up to date.

Date of Visit: October 2016 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: Bigger 1 review from this member

Spent 2weeks at Rosetta holiday park. The staff couldn't do enough for us and were very happy to help and it didn't matter what time it was. The park is a perfect base to explore Scotland. We will definitely be booking again next year

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Fiona W 174 reviews from this member

Site almost deserted on our 2-day visit, we hadn't booked. It's an informative check-in process, and the site brochure has a number to phone if there are any problems out of hours. We could change our pitch if we chose, let the office know next morning. More suited to caravans than motorhomes, we thought, as many pitches are accessed across soft grass or are on a slope. There's no motorhome service area for taking on fresh water or emptying the grey water. We didn't see anyone dodgy on site, and indeed there was an elderly person there on their own so we didn't think security (or lack of it) was an issue. Totally quiet at night, bar the owls. Pretty parkland setting. Excellent for the dog as the big unmown upper field between the statics and the golf course is off-lead.

The main problem was the showers. Low pressure I can understand, but water dribbling down the wall from a floppy shower head is not a shower. A stool or seat would be handy too. I talked to the owners when we were leaving, and recommended they try to take a shower themselves. I was told that no-one had ever complained before, and that the showers are to be refurbished over the next few months. Because of the showers, £20 was over-priced compared to similar sites we'd been to in the Borders. That's the off-season price too.

It's a 20 minute walk into town. The very best wine & spirit shop we know! Beautiful war memorial in a courtyard by the museum: Peebles lost one tenth of its menfolk in WW1. There are Motorhomes in the riverside car park, many Borders towns allow free one night stops.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Hjf139 11 reviews from this member

Camped here to mountain bike at Glentress, Took pooch with us and site was great, ideal location for Glentress and walking distance to Peebles and tesco and pubs. Bar on site as well. Field set aside especially for pooch walkies which was great being able to let him off lead. Fresh air must have done him some good as he slept later every morning. Re-booked to go back a couple of weeks later before we left the site and got a discount off next booking. Already looking at couple of bookings here for this year.

Previous     75 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Borders

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Outwell Sleeping Package worth over £399 Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3176 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


Play the UKCampsite.co.uk
Easter Hunt


Easter Hunt

Follow the clues, find the answer, and win a fantastic Easter prize - a TV / DVD Combo worth £399!