Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Roseberry Tourist Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge > Roseberry Tourist Park Reviews

Roseberry Tourist Park
Earith Rd
Willingham
Cambridge
Cambridgeshire   (Browse area)
CB24 5LT
Tel: 01954 260346
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 80
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 97 Reviews
                9/10 from 97 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (15)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  97 in total, now showing 61 to 70                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: October 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Babstreefern 27 reviews from this member

 I'm submitting this some years later. We stayed on this site. Its in the middle of nowhere, but what a great find. The chap met us and took us to our pitch and before we could get the motormover set up, he'd manhandled the caravan on the pitch. Brilliant.

Before walking away, he told us to pick as many pears as we wanted, as this park is set in an orchard. We took a full carrier bag away with us, and it wasn't until March the following year, when they were fit to eat. Just as we wanted, they were juicy and to die for, better than shop bought ones.

The facilities were spotless. You are not on the doorstep for shops, so you will need to go into the local villages for things. I may be wrong, but the nearest fish & chip shop was in nearby Somersham, but as I said there may be some closer, but must admit they were really nice.

I would definitely come back again. Can't remember any set rules. Really, just common sense is all that is needed. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Darylg 1 review from this member

 This is a lovely site with great facilities.

As we have two young children (plus baby) we asked for a space overlooking the children's swings.

On arrival we were given the choice of three pitches, all overlooking the play area.

We chose one whose hardstanding was big enough for the car, van and awning.

The turn into it was a bit awkward (and my caravan reversing a bit rusty!) but we were guided in extremely well and patiently by the warden.

Everything was explained to us and a copy of the site rules given to us.

I would like to comment about the site rules in particular as other reviewers have criticised the site for these. We did not think that the site rules were at all unreasonable. Most sites don't permit ball games at all so it was good, we thought, that they had actually allocated a special area to allow ball games to take place. We felt that letting everyone know what the rules are meant that everyone was responsible for following them, without any confusion. Consequently the site was lovely and clean, well kept and not at all noisy.

We found it reassuring that the owners/wardens were visible on site, carrying out cleaning and maintenance.

The toilets and washrooms were spotless.

Everyone took care to keep them tidy after use, as with the wash-up areas too.

Constructive criticism would be that the children's swings are pretty basic and old. (They do work though!)

Also, we felt that the Wi-Fi was expensive so opted not to use it - we decided it was a positive thing and made us 'get away from it all' though! Although if we were there for more than a couple of nights I don't know how happy we would be without Wi-fi but as the cost per day went down the longer you booked it for, it would have been fine.

Note though that WiFi access fees are per device. So if you have more than one smartphone / tablet /laptop you would need access codes for each - all charged individually.

Note also that most of the pitches are on good hardstanding, so you will need steel pegs etc.

Summary - a fantastic site at very good rates. We will definitely be returning. 


Date of Visit: March 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: SUFC99 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed for the first time, over Easter for 10 days overall. Found the owners and wardens very friendly and helpful. The facilities are very well kept and the shower blocks are the cleanest we have come across in a long time. Not a single cob web or insect in sight! The nicest touch of all was to find an Easter egg sat outside our awning (and everyone else's) left by the Roseberry bunny, lovely touch!

If you are looking for a good base to explore the Cambridge area and beyond, you could not find a better, quieter location. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mrs bradley 1 review from this member

 Have just come back from spending a lovely weekend camping at roseberry with two other families, this is one of the nicest parks I have ever stayed on. The proprietors are extremely helpful, friendly and efficient . The pitches are large and well cared for. The whole site is superbly maintained but the toilet and shower blocks really are something to write home about, in fact they were absolutely the cleanest and best toilets and showerblocks I've ever seen, immaculate and a really lovely fragrance both in the shower blocks and reception.

I have read a couple of reviews of people saying that there are too many rules. Well the only rules we were asked to follow was that children should not play football on site only in the designated area, and also to keep to a 10 mile an hour speed limit, we were very grateful for these rules, nobody wants children constantly kicking a football around them and risk knocking your drinks and dinner off the picnic table. All the children in our group play for a local football team so we were very pleased that the children could go and play in the play area without fear of annoying us and fellow campers.

Would def use this smashing camp site again, 


Date of Visit: March 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Steffanie 2 reviews from this member

 I have to agree with the other reviews. 'Rules' is the name of the game here. Bit over the top and did put one on 'tender hooks' and reduced the enjoyment of an otherwise clean and well maintained site.

Warden was lovely, very friendly and helpful. Extremely clean and well presented toilet facilities. Would be perfect if it was more relaxed.

Road noise is ever present and the speed of the traffic makes turning in and out with a van on the back a bit hairy.

Would not return as we like a less 'restricted' site. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Fostermum 10 reviews from this member

 I spent a long weekend at this site - very helpful owner & warden - accommodating a small group of us on our 'mini meet' all pitched together in a lovely corner of the site. It was a bonus to be given a solo campers discount on top of what I thought was a very reasonable tariff.

The first thing that struck me was that the grass was beautifully kept as was the whole of the site. The owners obviously take a great pride in the upkeep and look of the site; I have to say it seemed more geared towards touring caravans and motor homes though - there were lots of 'rules' which ensured the quiet, clean and tidy site was maintained.

Barbecues were allowed and slabs provided to protect the grass; there is a dog walking area and a small children's play area. Ball games are not permitted apart from a very small area near the road and we were surprised that one of our group was asked to take down their small flagpole.

The facilities are well maintained and regularly cleaned - a nice touch being the hand soap and cloths provided. There are 4 washing up sinks all under cover and masses of hot water. Showers were wonderful - powerful and constant (I hate those push button ones!).

The owners ensure everyone adheres to the 6 metre safely rule between tents and will advise as to where to pitch. No pitching bum into the wind as all tents have to line up in the same direction - I was asked to move my kitchen tent as it was not in line with my main tent.

There is a laundry on site although I didn't need to use it. No on site shop so stock up before you visit - however there is a Tesco superstore a short drive away. There was some traffic noise at night from the nearby road but it didn't disturb me.

There was a lack of facilities for the disabled - I observed an elderly lady struggle to manage her zimmer frame in the toilet/shower area. There were no baby changing or family areas either.

The site has a large number of pear trees and we were told to help ourselves - they were gorgeous!

All in all, a beautifully maintained, clean site, quiet and peaceful and close to Cambridge and other areas of interest. 


Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Cosmickimbo 5 reviews from this member

 We stayed here end September/October. Very helpful owner and staff. We were on a hardstanding which was extremely difficult to hammer pegs into for the awning. Not only did the owner loan us his hammer, he also helped us to hammer the pegs in.

The whole site including the toilet/shower block was clean and well maintained. We had blackberries from the bushes lining the park every morning and pears from the many pear trees on the site.

The road outside the site is busy - I suspect a lot of this is due to the park and ride just a couple of miles away which goes to

Cambridge, St Ives and Huntingdon.

There is a large Tesco's at the A14 junction in Bar Hill and a well stocked Co-op in the village of Willingham.

All in all, a fabulous holiday and we will return! 


Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Donna Y 1 review from this member

 Our Daughter lives in Cambridge so this site is very handy being only a few miles away and being open all year is also an advantage.

The village of Willingham is but a mile away with good shopping facilities including cashpoint.

Pub serves good food reasonably priced and friendly. Also close to garden centre at Huntingdon.

Our only real criticism of the park would be not enough for the children who stay to do, the play area is a little bit sparse and dated, otherwise the site is clean and peaceful. 


Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: 3madboyz 14 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a weekend at Roseberry after meeting up with a few of our camping buddies.

We were pitched along the back hedge behind all the touring caravans etc in an area that the site allocates the tents with EHU to. The facility block is in the middle of the site and so every pitch has decent access to it.

I would whole-heartedly agree with the comments that the other reviewers have made about the site being extremely well maintained and well presented, the shower block was always clean and had plenty of hot water in the showers (which also had decent pressure!) and outside (covered) washing up area, The downside with the amenities is that there were no disabled facilities or family (baby change etc. ) area, There is a step into each block and not much room to move around if you use a walking frame or wheelchair.

We found that there were lots of 'rules' with this site and thought it quite bizarre when we were told to pitch our tent facing the wind? There are no ball games etc allowed either and although there is a large grassed area next to the play area, we were told that if we wanted to kick a ball with our lad, that we would have to use an area that borders the (very busy and noisy) main road that runs alongside the site. Needless to say, we didn't get the ball out.

The play area is old but kept our littlun amused for the duration, However, I'm not sure how he would have got on if we had been at the site longer due to the the rule against other popular camping activities such as kite flying, badminton, frisbee etc.

We didn't really venture out as we just wanted a weekend of relaxation so I can't really comment on the local area but what we did see of the local Village was really quite nice.

Overall this site is very well laid out and well presented, The dog exercise area is a nice touch and is absolutely spotless but to be honest, I feel that this site is more suited to tourers and doesn't (In my opinion) particularly cater for families that well, the road that runs alongside the side is quite noisy even at night and although I fall asleep quite easily, a friend of mine found it quite difficult to fall asleep at all!

The site rules seem to be a little overkill and although we are by no means a rowdy bunch, a few of us felt a little on tender hooks for the duration of our stay and for this reason alone we won't be returning. A shame really as it is a wonderful site 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ian+Lins 1 review from this member

 We go to Cambridge several times a year and the site we normally use was full with it being Bank Holiday and me forgetting to book until the last minute !

So we found this park by chance and are so glad we did.

On arrival we were greeted by the wardens who were very friendly and showed us to our pitch.

The park is lovely, immaculately maintained and as it was once an orchard there are still quite a few pear trees, all of which were heavy with fruit, which were free to pick.

The toilet and shower block was warm and clean with plenty of hot water.

Overall we found the park more than suited our needs and the wardens friendly and helpful.

We wont be going back to the other site now we have found this little gem. 


Previous     97 Reviews in total, now showing 61 to 70      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Roseberry Tourist Park child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Roseberry Tourist Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Roseberry Tourist Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Cambridge      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cambridgeshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save 15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1846 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement