Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Shear Barn Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > South East England > East Sussex > Hastings > Shear Barn Holiday Park > Reviews

Shear Barn Holiday Park
(was Hastings Touring Park)
Barley Lane
Hastings
East Sussex   (Browse area)
TN35 5DX
Tel: 01424 423583
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 330
Open: 01/03/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 102 Reviews
                7/10 from 102 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   Holiday Homes for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  102 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: September 2023 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Lottiealot 1 review from this member

 We have used this site before as have the couple we travelled with, however, it has now turned into what can be described as a workers site.

Commercial van and trucks turning up at all hours, l would be very wary of letting young children be unattended due to the amount of traffic on the site.

The dogs and children were a problem, toilets were left very dirty by the people. Security very pleasant but totally ineffective.

It's a shame as a good location, the taxi service into the town was cheap and plentiful, but sadly let down by who was there.

We wish we had read the reviews on other sites before going as we would have gone somewhere else, as despite what has been said by the management this has been going on for some months. 


Date of Visit: August 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Huckster 7 reviews from this member

 Park was too busy. Noise went on after 2 in the morning keeping us from sleeping. No one came to stop them. Children were running around the caravans and campervans not controlled.

Only plus side was the cleanliness of the site.

Left a day early. Would not recommend. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2023 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Amtglm 4 reviews from this member

 Booked 6 nights, stayed 4, mainly due to wet windy weather!.

Nice but very large campsite, alongside a static caravan site. Bar / Restaurant facility on site with entertainment, however dogs not allowed into either.

Small makeshift bar area downstairs to accommodate dogs, however you cannot enjoy the entertainment, bit disappointing if you are a dog owner.

Used 2 shower / toilet blocks closest to us, one was more modern than other but reasonably clean and today, although toilet rolls were often empty.

Good location to explore town, old town especially lovely, very steep downhill. Getting back was a good workout.

Would go back but wish facilities were more dog friendly. 


Date of Visit: July 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Other
Reviewer: Annad8 1 review from this member

 We camped for 4 nights to attend Pirate weekend. The weather was pretty horrendous however our pitch was fantastic.

We had good shelter from trees and bushes.

This is the 2nd time weve been to Shesrbarn and its a lovely site, large, spacious, nice facilities and friendly.

Even though its out of season, they laid on a breakfast BBQ over the weekend.

Wed keep returning because its such a lovely and affordable site close to the beach. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2023 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Sunjor 21 reviews from this member

 Site is in a great location, 2k walk into Hastings with a long set of steps for the last bit of the trip, definitely doable unless you have any disabilities.

Also in the Hastings Country Park so ideal for walking especially if you have a dog with you.

All the staff we encountered were friendly and helpful.

The only downside for us was the cleaning regime in the toilet/shower blocks, it was quite busy over the weekend and there were no extra checks made and the blocks were still quite dirty the next morning, also there was some littering on the site.

I also think that at peak times the facilities would be insufficient to cope with demand. Hot water ran out in one block when I went to wash up in the evening and was still out next morning.

Despite the shortcomings we would return outside of busy times. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Grandad essex 13 reviews from this member

 Shear Barn is a well kept site, The hard standing pitches that we were on were very large.

We had no problem with WC/Showers while we were there. Grounds tidy,

Hastings sea front 5min drive shopping centre the same. Takeaways 5 min driveaway.

Site restaurant a bit pricey for what you get. Site swimming pool was good and well heated.

The only downside to this site is the approach roads they are tight and can be difficult if you meet oncoming traffic and the hedge on one side could cause damage to caravans /motorhomes if misjudged. 


Date of Visit: April 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Colinc 1 review from this member

 Great site with great facilities.

Restaurant fantastic with friendly staff and a great atmosphere and location.

Really enjoyed it and would definitely recommend to others. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Aham10 1 review from this member

 Lovely atmosphere, adequate facilities.

Plenty to explore on foot without going down the very steep hill to the town.

Nice atmosphere in the restaurant, reasonable value.

Not many shady or flat pitches if you are not wanting electricity hook up. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Obid4n 1 review from this member

 Excellent location and sea views.

Plenty of space for outdoor games to keep everyone entertained.

Dog friendly with great walks.

Good toilet and shower facilities.

Pool was a bit small but adequate.

Good price.

Will be going again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Lozzorella 2 reviews from this member

 We visited Shearbarn in August with 2 children under 8. We asked to swap to be near the playground which they did very helpfully. The playground was adequate, the kids loved it and we could see them at all times from the pitch.

We had our dog with us so couldn't use the clubhouse inside, but I popped in to see and was very busy Friday/Saturday night. There is an outdoor seating bit with a couple of tables but felt this could be made more of ie. Heater/umbrellas for those with dogs or who wanted a quiet drink but maybe they aren't allowed to do this?

There was a burger van the first night (not amazing) and a fish and chips the next night. Both were open for breakfast baps etc the next day, sweets, drinks etc. There are takeaway suggestions at reception so we ordered a curry to site and it was lovely! Due to the code at the gate you do have to go and meet them so may bit a bit of a walk depending where you are.

There is an indoor pool but unfortunately my daughter was ill so we left a day early and didn't get to use it.

Our pitch was good, near the toilets which were clean (I didn't use showers as we have one in the van). My husband had trouble finding where to empty the waste but found it in the end!

I think its been mentioned the road up to this site is a bit narrow but we managed it, although it may put some off :) Hastings is a lovely seaside town, very dog friendly as they can go to the fun fair and some restaurants, lots of outdoor seating and lovely walk along, with big wooded playground.

We would go back to Shearbarn, great for families. 


Previous     102 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Shear Barn Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Shear Barn Holiday Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Shear Barn Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Shear Barn Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Hastings      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in East Sussex

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2840 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement