Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Shear Barn Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > East Sussex > Hastings > Shear Barn Holiday Park Reviews

Shear Barn Holiday Park
(was Hastings Touring Park)
Barley Lane
Hastings
East Sussex   (Browse area)
TN35 5DX
Tel: 01424 423583
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 330
Open: 01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021
           01/03/2022 to 31/10/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 92 Reviews
                7/10 from 92 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  92 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Wendy5 1 review from this member

 Great site. Facilities excellent and clean. Recommend it.

Although busy it was very quiet after 11pm.

Bit of a trek downhill into town.

Get a cab back from hastings town as very steep hill! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Hutch0809 1 review from this member

 I’m not normally a holiday park fan and we were lucky that we went when the site was relatively quiet.

It was lovely! The staff were very friendly and helpful, facilities as clean as you’d expect on a large site and the views nice. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Hana Jurcagova 1 review from this member

 We loved this campsite. It's closeby to the beach and in beautiful surroundings.

The facilities were clean and sufficient. I would definitely recommend this site and we will surely return. 


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Criticexpert 3 reviews from this member

 Perfect location to access Hastings via the country park and Cliff Railway down into the town. However, the access to the site is horrendous.

Driving a motorhome, almost couldn't access the site at all via a narrow residential street - residents clearly aren't happy about the traffic so won't park considerately, resulting in me scratching an entire side panel from front to back of my vehicle.

Access is via a coded barrier - code wouldn't work and there was no staff to ask. Didn't actually see any staff on the touring field in fact!

Toilets are outdated - in need of modernisation. So if you shower, you have to put all your clothes on the floor. The whole block was freezing. And to empty your grey waste water, you have to lift your wastemaster up onto a drain - not ideal!

A fight broke out in the playground - no staff on hand to break it up! Didn't feel safe. Shop is poor - couldn't get any supplies. Bar menu is poor. And children's play park/soft play area is well below standard. Disappointing! 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pitsea boris 1 review from this member

 Absolutely lovely huge site, nice and scenic all the staff are helpful. The only down side to this site was two of the three toilet/shower/washing up blocks wasn't great.

And the only nice one was right at the main gates witch is where all the caravans are. There are no family wash rooms so majestic it aa bit hard with young kids. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: AndrewMoorey 36 reviews from this member

 The approach to the site is a tortuous route up a narrow steep hill with cars parked on one side. You are sent an email with your pitch number prior to arrival and on the day they email you the current barrier code together with T&Cs, a site plan and some other attachments that won’t open.

On arrival the place has a neglected feel to it and you have to manoeuvre round a fairly narrow concrete road to find your pitch. We had difficulty getting on to our pitch as there were some commercial vehicles parks randomly in the area.

We set up and took stock. The showers and toilets in the middle of the site were best described as tatty and tired, not helped by being very dirty, and despite both of us being in need of a shower we decided to use the one in the caravan. Water not a problem as there are many scattered round the site.

Not unexpectedly as the schools have just broken up so we were prepared for the noise but not still going on well after midnight added to several groups of people obviously partying on especially a large group of Eastern Europeans talking very loudly nearby.

We hitched up and left first thing in the morning. The people who have taken over the site recently have a real job on their hands to get this place up to some sort of standard, we certainly won’t be returning, there is little to attract in the area as Hastings is a very down at heel place 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Wiggy010 8 reviews from this member

 Not too impressed at £28 per night. I linked to their own directions and ignored my cars sat nav and found myself up against a 6ft 6in width restriction with my caravan, would have thought they checked.

Site located up a very steep road with cars parked all the way down and you just hope that no-one comes the other way, then the very narrow part with bushes on the right hand side, very, very tight.

Site is basic and beginning to get tatty, confusing to pitch and just nobody around most of the time. Has this site just been taken over by the chalet company across the road? Waste water aimed at the washing up rooms drain outside?

Bin lorry twice emptied the rubbish at 5. 45 AM. Just nobody seemed to care about the touring site.

Far too expensive for what you get. 


Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sonic 76 2 reviews from this member

 The access road to the site is very tight when towing a caravan and faced with multiple parked cars, upon arrival to the site you go through a security barrier and straight to your pitch, at least you should, but someone was parked on ours already! I tried to call reception, but had to call five times before I got someone to answer, then she directed us to another pitch with someone also on it and finally told us to pitch anywhere! No one came to speak to us about the problems we had with our pitch, I wasn't happy with the reception and management of the park at all. The site was waterlogged and extremely muddy, I have never stayed anywhere so muddy except for a music festival! Wellies were definitely required. The washrooms were basic but had recently been painted and were always kept very clean.

The leisure area was good, the pool was the warmest I have been in! However you are looking at having to pay £4 per person to get in, this soon adds up when there are several of you and you want to make use of the pool. The Gym consisted of a couple of exercise bikes and a rowing machine, not sure it can really be classed as a gym?

The bar was very nice, drinks and food a reasonable price and the food a good standard. There was absolutely no entertainment at all for adults or children despite me staying the middle week of the Easter holidays.

Without free entertainment, swimming etc, this was very overpriced as all I essentially paid for was a pitch and some electric in the middle of a very muddy field. If I wanted to stay somewhere without entertainment a pool etc I can stay at sites much cheaper than Shear Barn. I would consider going back, but only if there were no other sites in Hastings that offered a better value, I would sadly struggle to recommend the site to friends either. 


Date of Visit: February 2018 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 Please note this location was previously known by two names ShearBarn Holidays and Hastings Touring Park. They have now become one, which is now known as Shear Barn Holidays And Touring. It merges the camping / touring and the holiday homes aspects into one. 


Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sarahh56 52 reviews from this member

 We are staying here currently and after reading previous reviews I am pleasantly surprised. We are staying near the entrance and the showers are clean, hot and powerful. It is a very nice site. The bar adjacent to the site is good but at peak times you need to book a table for a meal to get a seat. The site is accessed but several steep narrow roads which is fine for experienced towers. Hastings can be walked to in about 29 minutes (longer on the way back as very steep hills) 


Previous     92 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Shear Barn Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Shear Barn Holiday Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Shear Barn Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Shear Barn Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Hastings      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in East Sussex

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan / Motorhome Show 03/02 to 06/02
Compare and contrast the latest caravans and motorhomes from the country’s leading manufacturers ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3372 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £599 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth £1,999

Open Today's Window