Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Beddgelert Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon > Beddgelert Campsite Reviews

Beddgelert Campsite
Beddgelert
Caernarfon
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL55 4UU
Tel: 01766 890288
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 89
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 205 Reviews
                8/10 from 205 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (13)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   No Bar   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <1 mile   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  205 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 8 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Nigel2 2 reviews from this member

 I used the grass camping pitch which is set in an open area surrounded by woodland.

The site is in a beautiful setting with a river flowing along two sides. While it is fairly undulating, it's fairly easy to find a relatively flat area to set up. There are plenty of handy picnic tables dotted around the site.

No cars are allowed on the grass (which is a good point) and there is only room for 6 or 7 cars in the parking area; so, there were times when I had to use the main car park near reception.

It's a 3 minute walk to the main shower and toilet facilities although there is a unisex toilet next to reception at half the distance (but watch out for the tree roots in the night). Unfortunately, the showers are of the push button type so are uncontrollable. On three of the eight nights that I stayed, I had to endure cold showers as the hot water had run out.

For a lone camper like me in a small backpacking tent, it was quite expensive; I was charged the same price as two people sharing a house sized family tent, which seemed unfair, especially as there are no marked out pitches.

The shop and bakehouse proved useful and it's only a 20 minute walk to Beddgelert if using the road, or 40 minutes if taking the scenic footpath.

All in all, I enjoyed my stay, just a shame about the showers. 


Date of Visit: November 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Yates69 7 reviews from this member

 Lovely back to nature site with lots of extras, from the forest retreat with the roaring fire and supplies to the bake house, I can recommend the gourmet burger.

We were given a choice of any free pitch to set up at. If taking an awning or tent youíll need rock pegs.

The pitches are hard standing in the trees, EHU is included with the pitch, along with Free WIFI.

The showers were hot and I liked that the cubicles have not only hooks and seat but shelving as well, there are Wall heaters on movement sensors to keep you warm.

The Welsh highland railway runs along the edge of the site, I know itís not running at this time of year but was still interesting non the less.

A good site that has a good range of walking routes.

We like it so much weíve rebooked, benefiting from the discounted rebooking offer. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Other
Reviewer: Daveib 1 review from this member

 Lovely woodland site, good facilities and plenty of space with roomy hard standings. Friendly staff and an on site bakery.

Added bonus that the Welsh Highland Railway runs right passed the hard standings. Toots steam n all.

Nice walk off road down to Beddgelert. Takes about 30mins. Once there a walk down the river to Nantmor is great. Especially when the river is in flood. Rhyd-Ddu is 5km away so the summit of Snowdon is in reach for those who like a good days walk.

Beddgelert Wood is great too. Lots of fire roads to walk and ride. Couldnít find anything challenging for my mountain bike though.

Beddgelert bikes have now set up home on the campsite so local knowledge and bike hire is available.

Only downside was the no existent free WiFi.

This site will stay on my list of will return 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 8 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Helen2 1 review from this member

 This is a lovely forest campsite with good facilities and friendly staff.

Some of the hardstanding pitches are very sloped, others are manageable with leveling blocks.

Loved the option for fresh baked breads and pastries each morning and fresh cooked food from a good menu range to take away in the evening.

Fab walks from the site. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Rolf69 1 review from this member

 Very nice site staff, very helpful

Lovely walks through woods. cycle track great

Going again very soon

Few miles from village

Parking on site is very easy. Plenty space to move your motorhome or caravan

Nice peaceful site, cant wait next visit. see you soon thanks again 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Joyhay 1 review from this member

 Wonderfully clean, well sign posted camp site. With fantastic facilities!

Beautiful walks just a couple of strides into the forest. Absolute bliss x 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Ritchieroo 3 reviews from this member

 We spent a week here in our new caravan with awning on electric hook up. Lovely place to visit, pitches are in little pockets in the woods with a lot of tree cover. Hardstandings - most reasonably level some slope a bit. We checked in advance if the pitches were long enough for our caravan and awning and the campsite said no problem however when we arrived there were only 2 pitches remaining neither of which would have been long enough. I had anticipated this and brought the small awning just to be sure, luckily. The ground is quite stoney so the aqua roll had a bumpy ride back from filling up.

There is a shop which is quite pricey and is more like an expensive deli than ordinary supplies. We liked the bake house which does takeaway food in the evenings and breakfast items to order the night before. Complimentary WiFi available which was a bit hit and miss.

For shops Beddgelert is a 30 minute walk along footpaths and has a small supermarket, cafes and pubs. Supermarkets in Caernarfon are easy to get to by car. There is a bus stop right outside the campsite not sure which bus runs here but probably reachable by public transport.

There are a few off road cycle trails on the woods above the campsite which were fun to ride with really good views of Snowdon and the other peaks. Itís really good for cycling and hiking.

The only mobile network available there at the moment is EE and we had no problems with phone reception. TV signal was ok for us in the caravan.

We had a look at the camping grass pitches and these looked good, level ground with a river skirting around the outside of the pitches. Nice places to sit out and chill (in nice weather!).

Would we visit again? Maybe, but there are other great sites In North Wales probably a bit easier to reach from the south east. We did find some sections of the A road quite challenging and would recommend approaching this site from Caernarfon if towing or in a large vehicle. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Eabber 1 review from this member

 Beautiful setting in the forest with secluded pitches.

Beautiful off road walk in to Beddgelert but quite a long walk for little legs.

Brilliant value for money. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Julie1 1 review from this member

 Not enough sinks to wash dishes.

No notices up telling people not to leave litter on the ground.

No notices 're. Danger of water rising and overflowing on to banks of river. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: February 2020 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Joker3327 3 reviews from this member

 Oh my god. Why has it taken so long to find this place. Took the chance to use an offer on here for 30% off but even at full price the place is great.

There is a great shop with cafe on site with all you need. Oh and 600ml bottles of Estrella ! there is a shop that serves food til late. From Pizza to burgers to Curry!

The location is perfect for the hikers amongst you with Tracks all around and through and all sign posted Rhy du Path is close for Snowden.

Moel hebog is behind you too. Or you can stroll into the woods and watch the wildlife of which there is an abundance. Pet friendly with loads of Dog walks. And off road route into the village itself with 2 great pubs.

Site facilities are spotless.

Myself the wife and Rodney the campervan will be back again and again. 


Previous     205 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Beddgelert Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Beddgelert Campsite?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Beddgelert Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Caernarfon      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gwynedd

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest W Midlands and Wales 03/07 to 04/07
Exciting family entertainment with weekend camping ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5098 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement