Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Beddgelert Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon > Beddgelert Campsite Reviews

Beddgelert Campsite
Beddgelert
Caernarfon
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL55 4UU
Tel: 01766 890288
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 89
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 213 Reviews
                8/10 from 213 Reviews

Photos (13)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   No Bar   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <1 mile   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  213 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: March 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Other
Reviewer: Dthom5 1 review from this member

 Been here before and loved it. Here again a few years later, it was a relaxing brake for me and my 9 year old grandson.

There are lovely walks through the woods and a nice walk to beddgelert.

Facilities on site very clean, on site shop making food, we had a nice pizza.

We were on hard standing in woods, we had good weather and it was nice to be woken by the birds.

Would definitely come again 
via mobile


Date of Visit: December 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Htlid5 1 review from this member

 Very friendly and caring staff, location of course excellent (it is in Snowdonia after all))

Mens showers, although clean, they are in need of updating to bring it up to the standard of the rest of the facilities provided.

Thank you 
via mobile


Date of Visit: November 2021 Unit:  Other
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Heath63 15 reviews from this member

 I have not been to this site since it changed over, prior to that, I was a regular visitor, over the years.

There has been changes, the introduction of Log cabins. Log cabins on the old EHU for tents, to be fair, this area use to become water logged and mushed up and other areas. They do look smart and blend into the environment.

The grass pitches for tents, has new improved parking, keeping cars of the field, there is only a distance to wherever you want to pitch, so no hardship. Only a short walk to the facilities.

Plenty of hot water for showers total bliss, yes push button, no issue, all about saving water, plus shower gel dispensers as well. The washing up, laundry, DCP are in the same block, plus canine shower.

There has been work in reception, a small shop, buy various drinks, basic foods those little items, at times can be forgotten.

The bike hire, Adventure place has moved onto the site in addition of the option of a takeaway, can pre order breakfast and from the bakery.

All the staff where friendly and helpful.

Definitley a big improvement around the site, albeit fewer tent pitches, however tents can be pitched on hard standing plus EHU.

Certainly return, still one of my favourite sites.

Walks galore for all, plenty of trails for walkers and mountain bikers.

Great base for the surrounding area.

The play area has gone, however they seem to provide activities for children. 


Date of Visit: September 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Llamas 1 review from this member

 I had stayed in Beddgelert campsite a few years ago, so this was a second visit. It's a great base for Snowdonia activities.

Since last visit it's focused more on forest cabins, which look very smart, but if you are in a tent the only facilities block is a significant walk and not signposted, which was a bit of a pain for being on period.

The facilities block could do with some little details like a bin in the ladies shower block (the only one is for nappies only) and decent mirrors but the showers were warm and clean. One of the showers is very powerful and warm, the next one has far less pressure so pick carefully.

The tent field is lovely, but there are a lot of midges from the river.

I'd also suggest more signage in general, to the toilet block, opening hours for the shop, the start of the path to Beddgelert etc.

The opening hours for the shop were a bit of a surprise for a campsite (8. 30-5) and you have to pre-order pastries the day before so easy to get caught out on the little things (it is written in the leaflet).

The food at the "bakehouse" was great, get in early. 


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Alan15 3 reviews from this member

 Great location, plenty of mountains and lakes nearby.

Pitches are good size, facilities very clean, staff very friendly, takeaway excellent!

Beddgelert town very pretty, great ice cream. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Lowery 1 review from this member

 Fabulous site the showers and toilets spotless.

Nice walk into Beddgelert

We will be back again.

Ideally situated for getting around snowdonia.

On site facilities excellent I would highly recommend it. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: SanJ61 2 reviews from this member

 Beautiful location in amongst the forest. Everything you need on site, well stocked shop, bakery and cycle hire. A walkers paradise, ideal place if youíre looking to climb Mount Snowdon.

Lots of pathways through the woods in every direction except into the lovely village of Beddgelert. If you want to walk it, you need to take to the road which can be busy at times and there are no pavements.

The village has a variety of eating places to choose from, a popular ice cream parlour and a small shop for all your essentials. Facilities are kept clean with hot, powerful showers despite being the push button type.

The pitch sizes was ideal for my campervan but looked a bit tight for a caravan plus car.

Its the second time Iíve stayed there and I would definitely go back. 


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 8 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Nigel2 2 reviews from this member

 I used the grass camping pitch which is set in an open area surrounded by woodland.

The site is in a beautiful setting with a river flowing along two sides. While it is fairly undulating, it's fairly easy to find a relatively flat area to set up. There are plenty of handy picnic tables dotted around the site.

No cars are allowed on the grass (which is a good point) and there is only room for 6 or 7 cars in the parking area; so, there were times when I had to use the main car park near reception.

It's a 3 minute walk to the main shower and toilet facilities although there is a unisex toilet next to reception at half the distance (but watch out for the tree roots in the night). Unfortunately, the showers are of the push button type so are uncontrollable. On three of the eight nights that I stayed, I had to endure cold showers as the hot water had run out.

For a lone camper like me in a small backpacking tent, it was quite expensive; I was charged the same price as two people sharing a house sized family tent, which seemed unfair, especially as there are no marked out pitches.

The shop and bakehouse proved useful and it's only a 20 minute walk to Beddgelert if using the road, or 40 minutes if taking the scenic footpath.

All in all, I enjoyed my stay, just a shame about the showers. 


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Barryeee 4 reviews from this member

 Very disappointing. Overpriced and facilities are tired and in need of a major upgrade.

Toilets and showers are old and water never more than luke warm. Pitch sizes and access vary and are mainly under large trees.

Only one motorhome service point and the grey water drain was blocked throughout our stay. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: November 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Yates69 7 reviews from this member

 Lovely back to nature site with lots of extras, from the forest retreat with the roaring fire and supplies to the bake house, I can recommend the gourmet burger.

We were given a choice of any free pitch to set up at. If taking an awning or tent youíll need rock pegs.

The pitches are hard standing in the trees, EHU is included with the pitch, along with Free WIFI.

The showers were hot and I liked that the cubicles have not only hooks and seat but shelving as well, there are Wall heaters on movement sensors to keep you warm.

The Welsh highland railway runs along the edge of the site, I know itís not running at this time of year but was still interesting non the less.

A good site that has a good range of walking routes.

We like it so much weíve rebooked, benefiting from the discounted rebooking offer. 
via mobile


Previous     213 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Beddgelert Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Beddgelert Campsite?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Beddgelert Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Caernarfon      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gwynedd

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4129 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement