Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Riverside Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lancashire > Lancaster > Riverside Caravan Park Reviews

Riverside Caravan Park
High Bentham
Lancaster
Lancashire   (Browse area)
LA2 7FJ
Tel: 01524 261272
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 55
Open: 06/07/2020 to 31/01/2021
           01/03/2021 to 31/01/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 107 Reviews
                9/10 from 107 Reviews

Photos (18)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  107 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

We are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Bobnjean 10 reviews from this member

 Some of the best facilities we have seen on any site. Immaculate toilets and showers. Excellent waste disposal rooms (They even have an automatic toilet cassette cleaning device if you don't mind paying £2 for the privilege). Grandkids loved the adventure playground and the nearby river bank where they built small dams and went 'shrimping'.

Location is good for local exploring as covered by many earlier reviews.

Only negatives for us were the pitches were very tight. There just isn't enough space between your awning and the next van, not even for a car, so little privacy. And travelling from Lancaster involves a twisty and narrow road to Bentham. A heavy cement mixer, on our side of the white lines missed us by maybe 1" on one bend.

Great site that will suit many, but we wouldn't visit again, due to the lack of space between pitches. 


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Alty55 1 review from this member

 The site is very well kept, clean and tidy. We had a hard standing pitch there was plenty of room.

The site has some nice dog walking areas and is close enough to the town to walk in.

Itís also well located for loads of places to visit or just stay on site and chill out.

We had two dogs with us, there was a lot of people with dogs when we went.

COVID is still an issue for some at the moment but this site is handling it very well it didnít do anything to upset the short stay we had.

Very nice thank you. 


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Srbutt 1 review from this member

 Very well kept clean and tidy, staff extremely helpful, showers and toilets modern and clean.

Following Covid recommendations extremely well.

Lots of good walks and lots of interesting places to visit within a short car ride. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Coopertroopers 46 reviews from this member

 Very well maintained site within walking distance of the town, follow the short cut given at reception, with its various pubs and shops. Nice walk to Lower Bentham with footpath all the way there or through the fields if preferred.

We had fish and chips from the takeaway in Higher Bentham and definitely recommend, although be prepared to queue !

The hardstanding pitches are on tarmac with a stone area at the side for the awning, this did mean that we couldn't quite peg right up to the side of the van due to the tarmac, didn't cause us an issue as the weather was fairly calm.

Facilities block very clean and warm. Individual, unisex shower rooms - the showers are operated by sensor and come on for five minutes and then go off for five minutes before they can be started again. I found this to be quite wasteful as five minutes is too long for a quick shower, but not long enough for washing hair.

There is an off lead enclosed dog walk but it was a fair walk back through the static part of the site so not overly convenient to the touring area.

Will return. 


Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Lally1972 5 reviews from this member

 Wow this site has got to rank amongst the best. The facilities are excellent and everywhere is immaculate.

Dog friendly and has a walk. WiFi is included in the price, which was average for time of year. Staff friendly and helpful.

Local area has nice walks, pubs in village dog friendly and serve both good beer and food. Everybody very friendly. With a car Leeds or Lancaster not too far away. Not a lot to do in village itself bar walks 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: March 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: LesleyandPeter 35 reviews from this member

 This site is wonderful.

Facilities are amongst the best we have experienced, and are immaculate.

The whole site is very well maintained, quiet and relaxing.

We had booked on a grass pitch and advised it would be okay despite the wet weather, we had to be towed off within minuets of trying to pitch our van, it added to the fun of touring, first time for everything, although I expect the grounds men weren't very happy at the repairs needed to the grass.

The surrounding area offers lots of interesting places to visit for all ages and interest.

Dog owners won't be short of places to walk, and eat out. With lots of nearby villages, including Bentham, offering dog friendly pubs. ( we didn't sample any so unable to recommend)

Malham Cove is very pretty and worth a visit. Ingleton falls and Ingleborough cave are just a ten minuet drive away, we wern't unable to do the Ingleton falls walk as it was snowing and blowing a gale, a great reason to return.

The bakery in Bentham is very good, their savoury and fruit pies were delicious.

This area is close to so many other beautiful places we shall no doubt return. 


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: TheParkers 5 reviews from this member

 Beautiful site with excellent facilities and a really nice location. Although a winding road to access off the M6 Motorway and a tight access into and out of small town/ village it is

Well worth the slight inconvenience. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Valvelifter 10 reviews from this member

 This is without exception, the cleanest, most well cared for and pleasant site we have ever stayed on. The pitches are level and well spaced. The showers and toilets are immaculately clean, warm and comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful. The site is less than a mile from the village centre. There is a well equipped playground and a dog exercise field. I would have rated this site higher but the pubs and restaurants in the village were rather disappointing. We will stay here again but will come prepared for self catering next time as we only found one pub worth revisiting. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Raysmiffy 14 reviews from this member

 This site has a 5 star AA rating amongst it's many awards, and it is easy to see why.

Has to be one of the best toilet blocks I have ever used in 30 years of touring.

This huge site is very well looked after with attention to detail that a lot of other sites should take lessons from.

Not too expensive too, and to think we stumbled on this site by accident. A lucky find!

Bentham (Low and High) is an easy walk away, with good dog friendly pubs. 


Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Coral67 12 reviews from this member

 We stayed here over the Eater Holidays and as it was also my 50th Birthday. We had never been before and as it was my birthday we hoped it would be a lovely site, I need not of worried from the minute we drove up the drive way to the site I knew it was going to be a great holiday and it was.

The pitches are large and we had a fully serviced one which was great, they also have statics so makes it a large site but to be honest it didn't feel that big once we were there, It was very quiet and tranquil, our pitch was not far from the reception, (small shop in reception) toilet block, games room, Library, Launderette and play park. The receptionists were lovely and very welcoming although it didn't say on the website about £10. 00 for a key fob for the toilet block, but that wasn't a big deal and you get it back when you leave, the toilets were immaculate, and plenty of hot water, you run your hand over a sensor and it comes on for 5 mins so no having to keep pushing a button, there is also a family bathroom if your children prefer a bath and I think it was £1. 00 for hot water for that but we didn't use it, Disabled toilet was great as I am in a wheelchair and had no problems.

The Play area and Games room got my children's approval age 14 and 10 and games room is great for rainy days most items were 50p so not too expensive.

There is fishing on site which my children also enjoyed, (rod licence is needed) It was 3. 50 per day or £10. 00 for a week to fish in the river, the pond is more expensive but we didn't go there.

There are lovely walks along the river and a few pubs near by if you fancy a stroll.

All in all yes I will be going again very soon we loved it, and the children didn't want to come home.

If I had one little niggle it would be only one of the rules about NO segways /hoverboards but Non electric scooters and bikes are ok and they go faster than my children's hoverboards do, there does seem a lot of rules but I guess they are there for a reason and you can see the rules before you book, but as I say it was only a little niggle and they coped without there segways lol. 


Previous     107 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Riverside Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Riverside Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Riverside Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Lancaster      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lancashire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...





Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1898 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement