Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Riverside Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lancashire > Lancaster > Riverside Caravan Park Reviews

Riverside Caravan Park
High Bentham
Lancaster
Lancashire   (Browse area)
LA2 7FJ
Tel: 01524 261272
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 55
Open: March To January

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 107 Reviews
                9/10 from 107 Reviews

Photos (18)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  107 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Nicktatlow 4 reviews from this member

 Our first trip in our VW was to this site & found it to be a fantastic site, easy to get to as long as the sat nav doesn't take you over the top hill - use the one main road it's much easier.

The facilities were fantastic & when you go in the toilet/shower block it's nice & warm too. The playground & safety for children was fantastic, we would definitely feel safe with our child here. The grass pitches are as good as the hard standing since we bent a few pegs pegging the awning in.

Would definitely recommend this site & surrounding area. We had an Indian the first night which was very scrummy but didn't get chance to try the pubs. Had a lovely stay & likely to return. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Amanda Palmer 2 reviews from this member

 Beautiful site, nicely kept, very quiet and relaxing. One of the best sites that my family and I have been to, it kept our 14 year old and 10 year old occupied all week with the play area and the games room, the staff were friendly and helpful. Only down side was the toilet block was a little bit smelly at times.

Just a short 10 min walk into High Bentham. The Horse and Farrier pub does great food and the real ale is fantastic. Went into both the butcher shops and both were very friendly, would recommend it for a quiet peaceful holiday, would definitely go back. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Janjohn 4 reviews from this member

 What a fantastic site, great park for the kids-didn't see my granddaughter from Friday till Sunday apart from when she wanted food or sleep! Huge pitches, loads of room. Facilities great, showers are timed and although ok for me my friend didn't have time to rinse off conditioner so had to do a mad dash into the next shower.

Warden very helpful when electrics went.

Will definitely return, close to home so we may become regulars. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Staceyharold 3 reviews from this member

 This site is absolutely gorgeous! I am the most fussy person ever and I never settle for rubbish.

Best site I've ever been to!

Child friendly, unbelievably clean toilets and parent & child bathroom

Brilliant park with lots of things including zip wire!

Bentham village just a 2 minute walk and what a stunning little village it is to!

If you're to go anywhere this year, go here. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: The LB 16 reviews from this member

 Third visit to this superb site. Great location, friendly staff, big level pitches. Toilets and showers great big playpark for kids. River runs through park, what more can you ask for.

Good walks from site, high bentham short walk from site with shops and pubs, horse and farrier good pint of copper dragon.

Good value for money about 19.00 a night very scenic site. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Nobs 9 reviews from this member

 Have left this review because other reviews did not mention the waterfalls at Ingleton). Deliberately visited this site for the weekend, as near to Ingleton and wanted to do the Ingleton waterfalls walk after a very very wet week which we knew would make the waterfalls spectacular (which they were).

Have visited the site before so knew the high standards to expect. The ground was very wet but this was not a problem as the site owners provided us with some sort of matting for us to drive onto on the grass, which meant we had no problems sinking into the ground.

As previously mentioned the site and toilet block were immaculate, the toilet block being heated - what a luxury compared to some sites!

Do do the waterfall walk (especially after heavy rain) if you like walking. It's 4.5 miles in total a little strenuous with some climbing but well worth it for the several waterfalls encountered en-route.

There is a parking charge for the car park at the entrance to the walk in the centre of Ingleton (sign posted). Ingleton itself is a lovely little place to visit.

Back to the site - we have visited several times over the years and would definitely visit again. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Piffy57 37 reviews from this member

 Very enjoyable three days on a very well maintained site. Staff are very helpful and friendly.

On arrival, check in was quick and we were brewing up within 15 minutes of parking up! Lovely walk alongside the river where the dog thoroughly enjoyed himself.

Washrooms etc are well looked after and very clean.

Drives to Kirkby Lonsdale, Ingleton and Settle are good days out.

One thing to look out for though. We came from the Preston area, came off at J34 through caton, but our Sat Nav sent us down a narrow track and over big hills before we arrived at the site. Advice is follow signs to Bentham and Lower Bentham and you will be fine.

Pubs are nice and some allow dogs in.

The site could do to sell newspapers, it was a long walk to get one!

Verdict, a big yes from us and yes we will go again. 


Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Hillhillhill 7 reviews from this member

 Just returned from 2 nights here with our 3 children (all under 8). We stayed on a grass pitch which was close to the river. The pitches were spacious and dry. The river was lovely and shallow near the edges for the children to paddle in.

The play area was very good and was visible from our pitch.

The toilets and showers were lovely and clean and even had music playing. The showers were unisex (which I have never come across before) but they were fine and had large cubicles with a chair and plenty of room to change.

We walked into the town - Bentham on Saturday afternoon, about a ten minute stroll, we used the spar and saw that there were a couple of pubs open but other than that, all the other shops seemed to be closed.

We thought the price was a bit expensive but, the site was so nice and in a lovely are that we would definitely go again. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Virgincampers09 2 reviews from this member

 What a fantastic site this is!

It is situated only a 10 minute walk from the centre of High Bentham with great country walks in the surrounding area.

The pubs are friendly and welcoming and the Horse and Farrier even accepts dogs. We had a lovely meal there with our 3 children and dog - the staff were fantastic and locals so friendly, chatting away to our children, who loved every minute of it.

The site itself has a shallow river running right along it - the sound of the river was lovely to wake up to and the children were delighted to see families of ducks outside the caravan every morning waiting for their breakfast!

The site caters brilliantly for children and dogs. The play area is fantastic - loads to do for a wide range of ages, and we barely saw our 6yo the whole time we were there!

The indoor playroom was great for when the rain came down and there was lots of room around the site for bikes/scooters/rollerskates etc.

Also, there are dog hooks conveniently situated all around the site (park, toilets, reception etc.) which makes life a lot easier when you have small children and you're needed to push them on the swings/take them to the toilet etc.

The toilets and showers were immaculately clean with lots of hot water which although timed, were plenty long enough. The underfloor heating was very welcome too!

The pitches were nice and roomy although ours got extremely muddy and boggy, but then we did unfortunately, get typically wet August weather.

Overall, I would say this is a fantastic site and would definitely recommend. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Summip0 8 reviews from this member

 Arrived in High Bentham and managed to get round corner without taking another cars bumper off - phew!

Campsite very well sign posted and easy to enter.

This is a 5* caravan site and it is maintained to the highest standards, the loos were spotless most of the time, as were the showers - we all loved the showers! Loos ponged an odd odour, not sure what it was but kids made comments but I thought the loos and sinks were perfect.

We were situated opposite the kids playground and this was excellent for keeping an eye on our youngest daughter, that said, we liked the look of the next row which, had a bank down to the river and would try to stay on that row next time. The one downside of being opposite the park was that with so much site maintenance going on, there were several days where we had to listen to several hours of lawn mowers, strimmers and various other bits of heavy machinery, a JCB passing through sat with its engine running for ages and the noise was unbearable for those few hours BUT this was only an issue on two days and the rest of the time it was just perfect - just a down side of where we were pitched and the site is so wonderfully clean and tidy, its hardly an issue.

The staff were excellent - better than excellent and bent over backwards really to make our stay perfect - I bought Internet at 10 for the week and the television wire, this was 1.50 a day, our new telly didn't seem to want to grab chanels so the lovely girl on reception got me to take the telly and she set it all up for me - excellent.

The shop sells camping stuff and bits of toys but sadly no milk, bread, sweets etc - they did have eggs though.

Fantastic pub - Horse and ferrier, did good take away Pizza and lovely meals - another great pub if you do the walk around the site is the Sun Dial, good beer at good prices and a very nice landlord.

Kids loved the park, they played there loads and gave us a well deserved break, the games room was good too.

Other than the bit of noise, this has to be the most perfect site that we have ever stayed on and we do intend to visit it again, would ask for a different spot next time though.

Brilliant laundrette, a bit busy at times with washing left in machines :-( but on the whole it was good, also an excellent info room with books.

Oh and it was excellent value too! 


Previous     107 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Riverside Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Riverside Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Riverside Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Lancaster      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lancashire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5843 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement