Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Riverside Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lancashire > Lancaster > Riverside Caravan Park Reviews

Riverside Caravan Park
High Bentham
Lancaster
Lancashire   (Browse area)
LA2 7FJ
Tel: 01524 261272
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 55
Open: 01/03/2021 to 31/01/2022
           01/03/2022 to 31/01/2023

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 114 Reviews
                9/10 from 114 Reviews

Photos (18)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  114 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Kathryn J 16 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a 3 night stay. Very impressed by the site very well looked after and the pitches are large and open.

Toilet block clean and showers lovely and hot no silly constant pressing to keep shower running. 5 minute walk into High Bentham across the railway line. Nice pubs dogs welcome.

Lots of lovely walks from the site especially the views from the golf course.

The only downside was that the site advertises their own lovely dry cued bacon and sausages, but the shop had run out of bacon and none ready for 2 weeks and the sausages were frozen.

The shop did not sell food only milk and water and camping accessories. Will come back again. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Leggy66 4 reviews from this member

 Visited this site early April, very large busy site. A lot of children but the site provides lots to do for them, and the river is great for their fishing nets. Brilliant facilities, clean warm and great power showers. Staff friendly and helpful, Short walk to the pub and food good as well.

Did a walk with a map from reception, we were warned that the path is not marked clearly and they weren't wrong. We found ourselves in peoples back gardens, being stared at by a ram as we walked past it's lamb and finally had a shot gun pointed at us (they were actually shooting a rabbit that ran past us). All good fun.

Would return and recommend although if I did go back I would avoid school holidays and maybe even weekends but if you have children you can't go wrong. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Wilsosd 14 reviews from this member

 Just stayed at Riverside for a week, and have to say cannot disagree with the many favourable comments posted previously. However that said for me against all the many positives the site is probably verging on too commercial and leans very much to the static caravan user.

Pitches: in their various guises: Grass, hardstanding and fully serviced are all of good size and fairly level throughout the site.

Facilities: Toilet/shower block generally very clean and well looked after, just one small gripe especially as we have a younger child the showers are timed to run for 4 minutes only and then you have a 5 minute gap before they will start again, simple question WHY?

Other facilities included a shop mainly equipment and not much if any food, an amusements room, a great playground area and a really useful information room with free wifi (if you could get on it).

For the countrysider this site is a great base for exploring within 45 minutes of the Lake District, ten minutes of the Trough of Bowland and the Yorkshire Dales on your doorstep.

Many have recommended the Horse and Farrier for food, unfortunately and we are by no means snobs, the place is in need of a good clean so much so we didn't stay to eat.

The Inn at Wray is however to be highly recommended,only 5 miles from the site (10 minutes by car) the pub and the food are fantastic, especially with the offer of the 1p (yes that's 1 new penny) starter and desert when you order a main meal. A full 3 course meal of good, well prepared, local pub grub for less than a tenner per head, by the way try to phone in advance to book, we had a slight wait but did get a table (though worth the wait). 


Date of Visit: March 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: MerlinMcguire 8 reviews from this member

 Spent 3 nights at this site in good weather. Previous comments apply, it is very well maintained, toilets and showers are excellent, super pitches have tv points and full water service. A bit pricey at 30 per night for 2 adults / 2 kids. Playground excellent / river access good for kids to splash about. There are a lot of seasonal tourers on site and it was fairly quiet on a mid March weekend. Large static area on the other side of the river. Shop has useful camping accessories, not the cheapest. Bentham has plenty of shops and about 3 pubs. Would recommend. About 13 miles from the M6, the last 5 miles down a B road which is quite twisty and narrows in parts. 


Date of Visit: March 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Schmorgie 9 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a lovely weekend at this site. Helpful, friendly staff. Wardens visible without being intrusive. Pitches all level with plenty of space. Site well maintained throughout. Lovely river running through, great for paddling so remember your wellies!

Toilet blocks always lovely and clean no matter what time of day visited. Cannot comment on the showers as we used the family bathroom - 1 for 25 mins. This had a toilet, hand basin, shower, separate shower over small bath and baby bath. Again, lovely and clean but a little chilly in the room (although the water was nice and hot).

Shop - as others have commented - really only sells camping stuff, but this isn't a problem as Bentham has a co-op for any essentials. Bentham also offers a selection of pubs and restaurants.

Good information room with plenty of leaflets on things to do in the area.

Excellent children's play area (small children need to be closely supervised as some of the embankments are very steep). Good games room with pool tables, air hockey, arcade games etc.

Plenty to do in the area, Clapham village is lovely, with access to Ingleborough cave via a nature trail and further on, Gaping Ghyll. Skipton, Settle, Lancaster and Morecambe Bay are also within easy reach. Ingleton Falls close by too.

Hard to fault this site. Look forward to returning in the near future. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: October 2010 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Frangirl 5 reviews from this member

 Only the second trip out in our Ford Freda Campervan, we decided to head to Riverside to make the most of the facilities. The site was much more 'corporate' than we were used to, and the price is high. However, the wardens were friendly, the site immaculate, and the facilities first class. The site was safe enough to let the kids (3 and 5) cycle around and go off to the adventure playground, which they loved.

The only slight downside was that the showers only came on for about 4 minutes, then went off for 5 minutes. OK if you were expecting it, but not if you'd missed the signs and were in the middle of washing.

A great surrounding area with Ingleborough, caves and waterfalls a short drive away. 


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Deejay44 3 reviews from this member

 A great site that could be better if the pitches were not so close to each other. Kids could do with somewhere kick balls about instead of near the vans. Can't fault the toilets very clean and well kept. The grass well kept and short. The river that runs through the site is very picturesque.

There are some good walks nearby. Lovely village but rather odd as most of the shops closed on Saturday afternoon. Nice pub 10 minutes walk from the site.

I doubt we would go back to this site purely on the proximity issue. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Nicktatlow 4 reviews from this member

 Our first trip in our VW was to this site & found it to be a fantastic site, easy to get to as long as the sat nav doesn't take you over the top hill - use the one main road it's much easier.

The facilities were fantastic & when you go in the toilet/shower block it's nice & warm too. The playground & safety for children was fantastic, we would definitely feel safe with our child here. The grass pitches are as good as the hard standing since we bent a few pegs pegging the awning in.

Would definitely recommend this site & surrounding area. We had an Indian the first night which was very scrummy but didn't get chance to try the pubs. Had a lovely stay & likely to return. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Amanda Palmer 2 reviews from this member

 Beautiful site, nicely kept, very quiet and relaxing. One of the best sites that my family and I have been to, it kept our 14 year old and 10 year old occupied all week with the play area and the games room, the staff were friendly and helpful. Only down side was the toilet block was a little bit smelly at times.

Just a short 10 min walk into High Bentham. The Horse and Farrier pub does great food and the real ale is fantastic. Went into both the butcher shops and both were very friendly, would recommend it for a quiet peaceful holiday, would definitely go back. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Janjohn 4 reviews from this member

 What a fantastic site, great park for the kids-didn't see my granddaughter from Friday till Sunday apart from when she wanted food or sleep! Huge pitches, loads of room. Facilities great, showers are timed and although ok for me my friend didn't have time to rinse off conditioner so had to do a mad dash into the next shower.

Warden very helpful when electrics went.

Will definitely return, close to home so we may become regulars. 


Previous     114 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Riverside Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Riverside Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Riverside Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Lancaster      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lancashire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 13/01 to 16/01
Largest selection of caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes in the North of England ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3592 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement