Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Riverside Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lancashire > Lancaster > Riverside Caravan Park Reviews

Riverside Caravan Park
High Bentham
Lancaster
Lancashire   (Browse area)
LA2 7FJ
Tel: 01524 261272
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 55
Open: March To January

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 107 Reviews
                9/10 from 107 Reviews

Photos (18)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  107 in total, now showing 61 to 70                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Taylorsanddog 3 reviews from this member

 What a lovely well kept site, warden very helpful, lent us a long elec hook up as ours was too short. Toilets and showers always clean, warm and with piped music, same for washing up which was indoors, why do sites think we want to wash our pots outside??? do we do that at home!
Notice board with loads of info re local pubs and places to eat plus menus and prices most of the pubs nearby let dogs in so no need to leave ours in car or alone in van. V. Quiet and relaxing at night and wake up in the morning to the sound of ducks waddling round site looking for breakfast.
Info room with leaflets of things to do places to go and book and games / jigsaws to borrow. Ideal for younger families would be boring for older teenagers who need more in the way of onsite entertainment. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Dazjo1 11 reviews from this member

 I strongly disagree with the previous review. The showers are not communial the ladies are on the right with gents on the left the same as the toilets. You can use any free shower but they are in lockable cubicle so its not a free for all like the last reveiw reads! The site was full and never once did we wait for a toilet or a shower. The site is quite big but you have to remember a lot of caravans now have their own toilet/shower so wont all be using the facilities.

I watched the webcam before we went but to be honest I didnt notice the CCTV cameras 'following you around' The dog walk is just off the drive up to reception to be honest we didnt see it until we were ready to come home but we didnt have a dog. The information room has a box of dog poo bags which are free to take. The village is a good 10 min walk and it is all up hill so be aware. We had a lovely meal in the indian and can recommend it. DH told me to add the fishing is excellent! Please dont be put off by any of the previous comments this is a lovely site and deserves full credit. 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mcgarryfam 4 reviews from this member

 Our first visit to this site and wasnt sure what to expect on arrival but were pleasantly surprised. After travelling from the south on a very narrow and winding road the campsite opened into a wide expanse of space.
All areas were very neat and tidy. Reception was very efficient and modern although we were told when booking that we could select hard or grass standing on arrival but our pitch had already been allocated. Pitches are generous in size and no complaints there. Eveywhere you look there are cctv cameras and it feels a bit like big birther is watching you.
The toilets are as stated previously stunning, initially. When you think that there are only 5 loos and 5 wash cubicles each, for a site which holds many more than the 61 stated, its not really a lot if the site was full I can imagine having to queue fo a wee. The showers are at the back of the building and are communal, thats not a problem. The problem we found was that your shower only lasts for 4 mins and takes a further 10mins to re-set itself, so if you have to shampoo and condition your hair wash youself its not a lot of time.My 3 year old barely had enough time to be cleaned. Everything in the toilet and shower block works by sensor from lights to taps. Out and about the village itself can be a bit of nightmare for driving in.
On market day there is a police presence to keep the traffic flowing freely. The scenery surrounding the area is lovely though. On a final note after having paid £1.50 per night per dog, there isnt really a proper designated dog walk (this takes the form of a public footpath, which incidetaly runs through the site) and you are not permitted to leave your dogs alone in your unit at any time. 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: 12tintrev 3 reviews from this member

 Fantastic site. Wardens are very helpful, pitch is allocated on arrival, all pitches, grass or hard standing, looked level. Great childrens play area and games room should give all the little ones hours of fun. Site shop could really have stocked some food, i.e. bread, milk, butter, etc. but when asked, they said village is only 10 mins walk away.

The river runs through the site, but this is not fenced off, quite dangerous I thought, if you have little ones, also no life belts to be seen. In my view, a big safety issue that needs to be addressed.

Now to the jewel in the crown, the toilet and shower block. Four words to describe this facility: Out of the World.

We did take the 10 min walk into the village, plenty of shops, a couple of pubs, an indian and a fish and chip shop.

All in all an excellent site and well worth a visit again. 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Dowen2004 1 review from this member

 Well, our first weekend with our 'new-to-us' caravan. I have to say that I am very impressed with this site. It all started with the warden who was very helpful and after advising him that we were newbies to caravanning he offered to come and help me set up with no hesitation. The toilet block is immaculate, very clean and new. It looks as though it is cleaned many times during the day.
The pitch sizes and grass areas were very wide and open plan - great to let our little daughter run around and experience some real freedom! The playground was also more like an adventure park - with lots and lots of different things to do - this isn't your average playground with swings and a roundabout. It would keep most children amused for a while.
We were in pitch A2, close to the reception (which was handy!), close to toilet block and also close to the river to see the ducks swimming. The ducks even came to say hello at our caravan in the morning! Will definetely be booking here in June to take my wife and other little one. Well done and keep up the good work! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: October 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Dave487 8 reviews from this member

 Went here for five nights and had an excellent time. Site was quiet during the week but was full at weekend for the annual High Bentham firework/bonfire. Although the regular one had been cancelled the owners staged their own with a tent offering burgers and hog roast. The site was clean as usual and the kids play area was great. The village itself is well stocked and we enjoyed good meals at The Black Bull and The Punchbowl (a bit further away). The TV and radio signal is poor in this area but the electric hook up points have a TV socket to plug into. This provided a great signal for my new LCD TV with built in Freeview. (Real luxury!). Will definitely go back again. 


Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Gizmodemogwi 3 reviews from this member

 A nice clean and tidy site. The toilet and shower block was superb.There was a pool room on site but nowhere for wrinklies like us to go and sit and meet with other campers. The area was really great with a very nice river running alongside the site. Hookups were on almost every pitch. Plenty of space between pitches.Not a quiet site as there were lots of children running about and shouting etc, but then it was the school holidays, and they do have to play. All in all it was a very pleasant stay. We would go back there again. 


Date of Visit: September 2007 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Walshfamily34 2 reviews from this member

 Just come back from a weekend stay here. We originally booked somewhere else but on arrival was disappointed as not as website described! Well back to this review. We arrived at 6.30pm after a short drive from our pre bookedsite,hoping they had vacancies and accepted arrivals at this time of night as we our two young children with us. Reception was a happy, clean friendly place and had no problems with us booking on. £20 a night was a reasonable price for our family unit (this included electric). There is a ten pounds deposit needed for the toilet/ shower block and a five pounds deposit required for the family shower room but these are refundable on departure. The toilets and showers are very clean, modern and spacious and they are triggered by sensors which stayed on enough time to wash myself and my daughter including the usual tantrums that come with hair washing! Before camping I didn't realise how much a toilet/ shower block would mean to me! This was a pleasure to stay here and we will be back. The children's play area looked fantastic but we did not have time to explore this fully on this visit, but we will next time. Highly recommend this site, it doesn't have a club or shop but the village is full of pubs and food places( 10 mins walk)so this not a problem. A good base for ingleton falls. 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ellie112 2 reviews from this member

 Just returned from 3 nights at this site.  Very busy, being Bank Holiday, but didn't feel crowded or noisy.  Excellent facilities for kids,  Won 'Loo of the Year' Award for 2007.  Showers are so roomy, but need more hooks! Plenty of walks from the site. Agree need more bins on dog walks.
 
Want to highly recommend the Masons Arms 10 mins away, on A65.  Best pub food had for years!  Huge meals, very freshly cooked, good price.  Went into High Bentham on Sat afternoon to browse, and found nearly every shop shut, except for Spar. Ingleton Waterfalls walk 3 miles away -well worth the effort for great views.  


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Alkaz 10 reviews from this member

 My husband and myself stayed here over Aug bank holiday. The last time we visited was about 10 years ago when our kids were a lot younger.
 
The first thing that I could'nt  believe when I rang to book was the price, it was £15 per night for 2 adults and that included the electric and awning, of course you would pay more if you had children and dogs.
 
There has been a lot of money spent during the time we last visited, the facilities are first class. The site showers last for 4 minutes then shut off, but it will come back on in about 40 seconds. You also have to remove dirty shoes before you go through to the shower area, some people didn't bother so consequently my cubicle was full of grass.
 
Reception staff were very friendly and helpful, we asked about the walk to 'Big Stone', it was a 4 mile round trip but the views from there are great, the 3 peaks are clearly visible as are the lakeland hills.
 
We ate a wonderful Sunday lunch (at 3pm) at the Horse & Farrier in the village. The fish & chip shop was a huge disappointment, we didn't use any of the other takeaways.
 
I have to agree with an earlier comment about speeding round the site, on our return from going out a smaller car could'nt wait to get past us as we were passing the first lot of statics and it sped over the bridge to the other area.
 
The site operates a no noise policy at night, it was mostly quiet after 11:30pm. There is also a no ball game policy, most parents respected this, but some weren't very sympathetic when it was'nt their caravan and car that was hit with a football.
 
I would definitely visit this site again, it being only a hour away from home. The surrounding area is very pleasant and makes a change from the more busier Lake District that we frequently visit.  


Previous     107 Reviews in total, now showing 61 to 70      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Riverside Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Riverside Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Riverside Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Lancaster      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lancashire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6288 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement