Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Riverside Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lancashire > Lancaster > Riverside Caravan Park Reviews

Riverside Caravan Park
High Bentham
Lancaster
Lancashire   (Browse area)
LA2 7FJ
Tel: 01524 261272
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 55
Open: March To January

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 107 Reviews
                9/10 from 107 Reviews

Photos (18)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  107 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Valwil16 2 reviews from this member

 I think this must be one of the best sites my husband and I have been on, we could not fault a thing oh maybe apart from the shop not selling the basics like milk bread and papers but no problem my husband drove into the village of High Bentham to get these, talking of the village there was a nice selection of oldie worldie pubs and a small social club that has a sign outside saying visitors welcome and they did make us welcome it was really nice. The toilet and shower block on site looked like it had just been newly refurbished they were very smart, and kept very clean. If you are a television addict like me you will need an aerial extension lead but no problem if you don't have one they hire them out at the shop. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Gayle crilly 2 reviews from this member

 Riverside is a top site with a fantastic toilet and shower block.The showers have a four minute timer on but the family /disabled shower has no timer on so me and my four year old daughter used that one and it was great.( you leave a deposit at reception and they will give you a key).The site was great for kids.There is a children's park and a stream (ankle deep) for the kids to play in.I would defo return to this site the kids loved it. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Dave487 8 reviews from this member

 We've been many times and the reason for this is because it is a brilliant, clean site, well placed to High Bentham village which has all we need, (pubs, shops, take aways, etc). We were on pitch B1, a hard standing near the road and there was a drain smell, which I also smelt in the toilet block. I know this has been commented on before, so they must have some kind of problem with the drains. The toilets were clean as were the showers and they always are. Any faults on the site would be minor. The best pub to eat in we found, by far, was The Coach House opposite The Black Bull. They had a steak night on Thursday and we enjoyed excellent fillet steak for 10.50. The beer was good too. The Horse and Farrier let me down badly this time. They advertise their pizzas, but we waited for ages and found that the topping was sparse on a dry, hard bread base and the pizzas bland in taste. We couldn't finish them because they were that bad. When the waitress took the plates away I told her but she just smiled nervously and didn't have the ability to address the problem. The beer was dearer too. There is a short walk from the site along the river to The Punch Bowl Hotel which is a lovely pub. Good beer and a sandwich. I didn't get chance to try their evening meals. In all, an excellent site in an excellent location, with friendly staff and we are already booked again. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jasonluby 3 reviews from this member

 Stayed here when we had the fabulous weather at the end of May so this did help, but I have to say this is the best site we have been to yet. Immaculately clean shower and toilet area with plenty of space to get dry etc. Great games room with air hockey, pool and giant connect 4.

I didn't actually go up to the park area as my husband checked this out and then the girls were off for hours.

Lots of space to ride bikes and roller blades.

There is a river which runs by the side of the caravan park which only ran ankle deep. The shop, which sells all you need for camping except the food, sells little water shoes and nets. We spent hours in there catching small fish, the kids were in there element.

There is a co op and a spa within walking distance in High bentham and a nice little bakers which do lovely chocolate brownies.

There is also a train station just outside the camp site (however I only heard one train a day whilst we were there), you can get the train up to Windermere which takes about half an hour I believe.

The campsite will also let you stay on until 5pm on your day of departure for a fee of 4 which we found really helpful as it meant we missed all the traffic on a very hot day.

I can honestly not fault this site and would recommend everyone give it a try at least the once. I will certainly be returning. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: JoBas 1 review from this member

 We stayed at Riverside for a week over May half term. This is a great site for folks with kids and dogs . As they were all in abundance !

This is a very child friendly site. We hardly saw our six year old, as she was either in the play park (which is great); in the games room (not so great as you need lots of spare change !); or playing in the river.

We stayed on a fully serviced pitch (W1)- which was right next to the amenities block. This was very convenient - but not particularly private, as everyone walks past your pitch to empty their rubbish, toilet etc. Also, our pitch had a huge tree behind it, so between about 3 and 6pm, we were in complete shade, whilst the rest of the site was still basking in sunshine !

If you are willing to use your water hog and waste master, then we would recommend asking for a pitch on either A, B,C, or D. You will be nearer the river, have more hours of sunshine, and less 'traffic'.

The shower block is great, and yes, the shower only runs for 4 mins. That is ample time for even the most thorough of shower cleaning folk.

The shop is well stocked for all your caravan needs, but it does not sell any food basics. High Bentham is only a 5/10 minute walk. Make sure you find out where the short cut is, otherwise you a trekking up a very steep hill.

We took our bikes, but the area is very hilly. If you head for Caton, there is a great cycle path that takes you right into Lancaster. It is on a dis-used train track - so a lovely easy ride for all the family.

All in all a great site. The wardens are very friendly and extremely helpful. We will certainly return. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bri+den 3 reviews from this member

 Visited Riverside for a weekend, in between 2 may bank holidays.

Large site, with numerous static caravans, all of which seemed to be empty.

Large central toilet block with separate unisex shower block. Toilet area nice and clean with heating, although there always seemed to be a 'drain' smell in the air. Separate cubicles with basin, 2 hairdryers.

Showers are separate from the loos, so if you need to use loo or clean teeth you have to go back into toilet area (hairdryers are also in there).

Showers are free but timed, and the cubicles although clean could do with some extra ventilation as condensation seems to be a problem (walls were always running with water).

Electric hook up with tv socket, very sensitive as constantly 'tripped'. Ok if its warm and dry outside, but a bit of a pain in the dark and rain (resets on hookup post).

Lighting at night only seemed to be around the loo/reception area, so take a torch if you come in after dark.

Large play area with plenty of equipment suited to older kids as well as little 'uns. Indoor play room with some games etc.

Shop only sells camping related goods/toys, shame as its large enough to sell the basic food items.

Heavy rain when we were there, so site seemed a bit waterlogged.

A good spacious site, but although advertised as 5*, the little 'niggles' let it down, more like a good 4*. Slightly more expensive than some, so would think again about a second visit. 


Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Steve-o54 7 reviews from this member

 Cannot recommend this site enough, everything about it was first class, it's not only a beautiful and quiet site, but the facilities are excellent, and the staff are lovely and friendly.
The village is only a 10min walk and has everything you need (recommend the food at the farriers pub) it was an ideal base for us to explore the surrounding area. Will definitely be going back again. 


Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Paul@Bank 134 reviews from this member

 Very pleasant & quite site. Cannot add to the other positive comments on this site made by other reviewers.
Only minor problem - no shop on site for even basic provisions (milk, bread etc). But village only 5 or 10 minutes walk with Co-op and Spar, plus a couple of bakeries and butchers (nb local shops closed on Thursday).

Very good walking area with many walks direct from site/immediate area. 


Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Shoney 5 reviews from this member

 What a site,

Nestled in a valley along the river Wenning it is in an idyllic position. There are a large number of statics, which are for owner use only and you drive past all these which sets the scene perfectly for when you approach the newish excellent reception

We have been using this site for many years as avid tenters, and now we have moved up to a tin tent the site seems to have grown with us. This may be a downside as I see the future pushing tents out completely.

However, with that said there is investment on this site year after year, shower blocks are probably the best I have ever used.

There is plenty of stuff for the kids to do in and out of the rain on site although a circular walk around the river is a must, ask the warden.

Very level site, a doddle to pitch.

The owners and staff are extremely helpful and pleasant. There was a new fishing lake being built when we last went but was not open, if this does open I would advise plenty of time to pre book. You can also fish the river for fresh trout.

High Bentham offers shops for all your possible needs as well as a plethora of pubs with real good home cooked food

We will be returning here season after season it is proving pretty tricky to top, I am not sure why we keep looking elsewhere ! 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jessicasdad 2 reviews from this member

 Just been back for our second weekend here in a month! Cant fault the site for anything. The showers are warm and clean, (maybe timed but plenty of time to shower, if you have children there is a family shower which lasts longer or you can use the disabled room, deposit for key and then you can stand under it as long as you want! if you wanted to!), and we never queued for a loo even when the site was full the first time we went.

Last time we went had been a very wet week and the grass pitches were a bit waterlogged in places, they had stopped taking bookings because of this, but my little one loved it and so did the ducks.

The staff are all helpful, the play area is great for the kids, the games room seemed to keep the younger kids entertained while it was raining and if the weather is hot (as it was the first time we went) kids and adults a like were playing in the river. The Village is 10 mins away but although up hill its not a mountain and there's plenty of pubs and a few takeaways ( only tried the chippy, very nice) to refresh yourselves with before returning.

We will be returning. 


Previous     107 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Riverside Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Riverside Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Riverside Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Lancaster      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lancashire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4555 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement