Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Riverside Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lancashire > Lancaster > Riverside Caravan Park Reviews

Riverside Caravan Park
High Bentham
Lancaster
Lancashire   (Browse area)
LA2 7FJ
Tel: 01524 261272
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 55
Open: March To January

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 107 Reviews
                9/10 from 107 Reviews

Photos (18)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  107 in total, now showing 81 to 90                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: September 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Kazrover 5 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a really pleasant stay at this lovely site. Family members have stayed here before and raved about it so thought we'd try it. The facilities are excellent for the kids (being, three boys of 14, 12 and 9). There is a beck which is really safe for them to go wading through and there are little fish in which the boys loved catching and of course putting back. There is also a great adventure play area which the boys loved and there were lots of other children of all ages enjoying these facilities.
There are really great facilities for us dog lovers with a dog walking facility and plenty of good walks nearby. The staff were so helpful. We asked for a hardstanding pitch and were amazed with the facilities included for the price including digital tv. The on site camping supplies shop is extremely well stocked and yet again the staff are so friendly and very helpful. We loved it so much that we have left our caravan in storage (for a minimal charge of £2 per night) until we arrive back their this fri.
The toilet facilities are excellent and the park is extremely well kept. Great park a must visit. 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Danlaur 9 reviews from this member

 Just got back from our first visit to Riverside last weekend. This really is an excellent site. 
 
Toilet and shower facilities are kept extremely clean and are amongst the best I have seen.
 
We travel as a small group of friends. Only difficulty we did have was the booking more than two plots at once with them. Which the owners would not facilitate,( ?? )  although they happily did put us together !
 
Village of High Bentham is nearby with a few "villagey" shops, pubs, sheep auction ( ! ) etc.  Kirkby Lonsdale is also not too far away, again with more shops,  pubs !. And the whole area has numerous walks with some stunning views.
 
Great modern Children's play area ideally set a little away from the vans. 
 
We were met with some bad weather, which benefitted the swelling river running through the site. would definitely return to this site . 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jackiec28 15 reviews from this member

 We were very pleased with the site. The toilet/shower facilities are excellent. The showers have a timer on them. They are on for about 5 minutes (long enough for a good shower and I have very long hair) they then switch off for 5 minutes. This is an excellent idea as there is nothing worse then waiting over 20 minutes while somebody selfishly hogs the showers.
There is plenty of space around so although the site was busy it didn't feel crowded. As stated in earlier review there are plenty of rules but this didn't appear to stop anybody enjoying themselves and most rules are just "common sense"
There are children from toddlers to teens and all seemed to mix well. In fact the two 16year old I took enjoyed themselves so much that we have only been home 2 days and already asking when they can go again.
There are lots of walks around the site (also some on site) in the information room there is a large map showing public walkways.
Highly recommended  


Date of Visit: May 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: FlintLock 15 reviews from this member

 Riverside is a David Bellamy Gold site situated beside the river Wenning at High Bentham on the Yorkshire side of the Yorkshire / Lancashire boarder. The approach to the site can be tricky in parts with narrow bridges and sharp corners depending on the approach especially at High Bentham. Driving with care shouldn't cause any problems.
The site itself has a large number of statics and seasonal tourers sited. At the time of our visit, few where accommodated, thankfully, as there is only one toilet block which is quite large and the best I have seen and in immaculate condition. The naughty bit was, a £5 fee with £2.50 refundable, on return of the key, for use of the family room if your child prefers a bath! There was even a bin for Sharps in the washroom.
The site also accepts tents and the fields are flat. Wash facilities could be a problem when the site is full. There is a dog walk both sides of the river with paths leading to Lower Bentham approx 1.5miles.
Ideally situated for visiting Yorkshire National park where the caves are worth a visit at White Scar. A 10-15min walk into High Bentham will give you Pubs, Take away and shops for most needs. A nice selection of Cheeses, taste before you buy, can be had at the Wensleydale cheese factory shop at Haws, which is frequented by none other than Wallace and Grommet!
Yes I would go again but not in high season. 


Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lfay 1 review from this member

 This is an excellent site.  The toilet and shower facilities are extremely clean and well maintained.  The views are lovely with the village nearby which has lots of shops, pubs etc.  We assumed the site shop would sell bread, milk etc but it did not so be prepared particularly if arriving late. 
The children's play area is a fantastic facility.  The site has an informal curfew at 9.30pm which when we were was needed as there was lots of noise.  
We were met with extremely bad weather so we cut our visit short.  If the weather had been fine we would have liked to extend our stay as we were enjoying it so much.  We would definitely return to this site hopefully with better weather and no holes in our tent! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Calypso 2 reviews from this member

 Superb, last visited in 2004 with tent, campsite has got bigger and better since then, more pitches for tourers / tents, better playground for kids, new laundry block incorporating a free library with (chargeable) Internet access. Ice cream van visits site at 5 pm every day. Also large gated play area at entrance for ball games etc. Away from caravans.
This site always remains one of my favourites, as previously stated, plenty of rules, but to the benefit of genuine campers.
  


Date of Visit: June 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Playford 14 reviews from this member

 This site was recommended to us and exceeded all expectations. Excellent Layout, loads of space around numbered and marked pitches. Access to the river and a great play area kept the children entertained. A great shower and toilet block with great facilities for campers. A short distance away from some great places to spend the day. Highly recommended. 


Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Scot 1 review from this member

 This is a fantastic site! Well maintained and the cleanest toilet block that we have ever been in! Also music while you wash etc!
 
The site is flat with plenty of room on pitches. Staff all friendly and only a 5 min walk to shops, pubs etc.
 
Highly recommended, in  lovely surroundings by the river and lots to see and do in the area. We will be back! 


Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: SUEUK 5 reviews from this member

 A fantastic and well maintained site with superb toilet and shower block, utility room, laundrette, campers kitchen and even a library.  Tent pitches are spacious and level and grass closely mowed with electric points and water close by.  Lovely childrens playground. Village within walking distance with nice pubs all serving food.  Staff on site very helpful and friendly. We would highly recommend this site. 


Date of Visit: June 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jason L 4 reviews from this member

 This is by far the best Caravan site we have stayed on. This is a very high standard of site set in the beautiful country side at the side of the river Wenning. The site is very well maintained, Toilet blocks are unbelievable, the childrens play area is fantastic, everything is just perfect about this site. There are a lot of rules to this site, but these rules are certainly for the good of the site.

The pitches also offer television points which give you 10 channels including a kids channel and sports channel. A journey into the little town of High Bentham is a ten minute walkaway and offers pubs & takeaways. Caravaners, campers, all are made to feel very welcome here. 


Previous     107 Reviews in total, now showing 81 to 90      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Riverside Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Riverside Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Riverside Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Lancaster      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lancashire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5665 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement