Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Riverside Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lancashire > Lancaster > Riverside Caravan Park Reviews

Riverside Caravan Park
High Bentham
Lancaster
Lancashire   (Browse area)
LA2 7FJ
Tel: 01524 261272
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 55
Open: March To January

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 107 Reviews
                9/10 from 107 Reviews

Photos (18)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  107 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Frederico 47 reviews from this member

 Conway Crusader Folding Camper. The roads into Bentham are not very good for caravans and camping trailers. From the A65 take the B6480 near Clapham. It is a bit longer but a sensible road. If you take other roads and meet something big coming the other way you are trouble. Perhaps a 'local' can help.


I booked a weekend here in July but my car broke down just after we left home. I emailed them and they sent me a credit note for my deposit. Very nice of them. My Wife and I camped here for four days in early September.

It was a holiday on our own after an enjoyable but stressful ten day, large family camping holiday in France. The pitch we had was very nice. TV, Water and drainage on the pitch.

Our camper was on hard standing and the awning was on dry gravel stones. No problem with our Geordie, tough pegs. The toilet/ shower block was very good, 4. 97 star (nearly 5 star). Nice tiling, lovely and clean.

Separate, private washing areas. Tiny complaint, showers wet the whole floor including the dressing area making it difficult to keep my trousers dry when dressing, but there is a chair which was helpful. No problem if you wear shorts or skirts. The reception staff were very friendly.

The children's play area looks very good. The first morning when I was sitting after my breakfast a duck came wadddling up and went past me into the awning. I got some bread and hand fed it. I called it Chris after Chris Waddle the footballer. He came every day after that.

The river looks very inviting for paddlers, little fish catchers and duck feeders. We went to Skipton for the day and enjoyed a cream tea beside the canals. A very nice little town. We had a nice bar meal in the Black Bull on Saturday night at Bentham, the management and staff were very polite and friendly.

The town butcher and a small cafe near him also deserve a good mention. Highly recommended. 


Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Gone glamping! 4 reviews from this member

 Just had two nights at this site. Got to say on the whole we were very impressed. The weather was horrendous and rained non-stop for two days, fining up when we were ready to pack up.

The female staff were great, very helpful and welcoming. However, we did struggle with the male warden, who was incredibly miserable, which kind of put a slight dampener on a beautiful site.

Toilets and showers were immaculate, spotlessly clean at all times of day and night. Showers as said previously are unisex and have a 4 minute running time, which was not a problem for us, (two adults and an eight year old)

The on site shop cannot be relied on for essentials, stocked mainly camping accessories. However, there is both a co op and spar in the village. As well as numerous banks, fish shop, Indian and lots of pubs!

The games room was a welcoming shelter and entertainment provider, given the weather.

The speed bumps going into the site were too big and not having a four wheel drive we bottomed the car going out and noticed others had done the same given all the visible scrapes!

Bentham was a 10 minute walk up a slight hill from the site. Rain started as got to the top so ended up finding the nearest pub to have a meal at, which was the black bull. Got to say the decor needs upgrading and worn out cushion covers replacing. However, had a great meal-v large portions and could not fault the food at all!

There are a lot of static caravans on this site and a new development starting to accommodate more.

A great weekend was had by all, despite the weather. And we will definitely be returning! 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Barbara 02 2 reviews from this member

 Have visited this site about three times now and have just booked another weekend.

Absolutely fantastic location with Bentham about 10 minute walk away with lots of shops and lovely pubs.

The site itself is well kept with friendly staff to greet you. The pitches are well kept with plenty of room and are all near to the toilet block so there is no struggling in the pitch dark to get to it.

The toilet block itself is faultless, spotlessly clean no matter what time of day with separate loo and shower areas, even the luxury of music playing in there!

There is a nice dog walking area on site ideal for early morning or evening dog walks where most of the time dog owners seem to be responsible and clean up after the dogs.

A real gem of a site where we will look forward to regular visits. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Kathryn J 16 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a 3 night stay. Very impressed by the site very well looked after and the pitches are large and open.

Toilet block clean and showers lovely and hot no silly constant pressing to keep shower running. 5 minute walk into High Bentham across the railway line. Nice pubs dogs welcome.

Lots of lovely walks from the site especially the views from the golf course.

The only downside was that the site advertises their own lovely dry cued bacon and sausages, but the shop had run out of bacon and none ready for 2 weeks and the sausages were frozen.

The shop did not sell food only milk and water and camping accessories. Will come back again. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Leggy66 4 reviews from this member

 Visited this site early April, very large busy site. A lot of children but the site provides lots to do for them, and the river is great for their fishing nets. Brilliant facilities, clean warm and great power showers. Staff friendly and helpful, Short walk to the pub and food good as well.

Did a walk with a map from reception, we were warned that the path is not marked clearly and they weren't wrong. We found ourselves in peoples back gardens, being stared at by a ram as we walked past it's lamb and finally had a shot gun pointed at us (they were actually shooting a rabbit that ran past us). All good fun.

Would return and recommend although if I did go back I would avoid school holidays and maybe even weekends but if you have children you can't go wrong. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Wilsosd 13 reviews from this member

 Just stayed at Riverside for a week, and have to say cannot disagree with the many favourable comments posted previously. However that said for me against all the many positives the site is probably verging on too commercial and leans very much to the static caravan user.

Pitches: in their various guises: Grass, hardstanding and fully serviced are all of good size and fairly level throughout the site.

Facilities: Toilet/shower block generally very clean and well looked after, just one small gripe especially as we have a younger child the showers are timed to run for 4 minutes only and then you have a 5 minute gap before they will start again, simple question WHY?

Other facilities included a shop mainly equipment and not much if any food, an amusements room, a great playground area and a really useful information room with free wifi (if you could get on it).

For the countrysider this site is a great base for exploring within 45 minutes of the Lake District, ten minutes of the Trough of Bowland and the Yorkshire Dales on your doorstep.

Many have recommended the Horse and Farrier for food, unfortunately and we are by no means snobs, the place is in need of a good clean so much so we didn't stay to eat.

The Inn at Wray is however to be highly recommended,only 5 miles from the site (10 minutes by car) the pub and the food are fantastic, especially with the offer of the 1p (yes that's 1 new penny) starter and desert when you order a main meal. A full 3 course meal of good, well prepared, local pub grub for less than a tenner per head, by the way try to phone in advance to book, we had a slight wait but did get a table (though worth the wait). 


Date of Visit: March 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: MerlinMcguire 8 reviews from this member

 Spent 3 nights at this site in good weather. Previous comments apply, it is very well maintained, toilets and showers are excellent, super pitches have tv points and full water service. A bit pricey at 30 per night for 2 adults / 2 kids. Playground excellent / river access good for kids to splash about. There are a lot of seasonal tourers on site and it was fairly quiet on a mid March weekend. Large static area on the other side of the river. Shop has useful camping accessories, not the cheapest. Bentham has plenty of shops and about 3 pubs. Would recommend. About 13 miles from the M6, the last 5 miles down a B road which is quite twisty and narrows in parts. 


Date of Visit: March 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Schmorgie 9 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a lovely weekend at this site. Helpful, friendly staff. Wardens visible without being intrusive. Pitches all level with plenty of space. Site well maintained throughout. Lovely river running through, great for paddling so remember your wellies!

Toilet blocks always lovely and clean no matter what time of day visited. Cannot comment on the showers as we used the family bathroom - 1 for 25 mins. This had a toilet, hand basin, shower, separate shower over small bath and baby bath. Again, lovely and clean but a little chilly in the room (although the water was nice and hot).

Shop - as others have commented - really only sells camping stuff, but this isn't a problem as Bentham has a co-op for any essentials. Bentham also offers a selection of pubs and restaurants.

Good information room with plenty of leaflets on things to do in the area.

Excellent children's play area (small children need to be closely supervised as some of the embankments are very steep). Good games room with pool tables, air hockey, arcade games etc.

Plenty to do in the area, Clapham village is lovely, with access to Ingleborough cave via a nature trail and further on, Gaping Ghyll. Skipton, Settle, Lancaster and Morecambe Bay are also within easy reach. Ingleton Falls close by too.

Hard to fault this site. Look forward to returning in the near future. 


Date of Visit: October 2010 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Frangirl 5 reviews from this member

 Only the second trip out in our Ford Freda Campervan, we decided to head to Riverside to make the most of the facilities. The site was much more 'corporate' than we were used to, and the price is high. However, the wardens were friendly, the site immaculate, and the facilities first class. The site was safe enough to let the kids (3 and 5) cycle around and go off to the adventure playground, which they loved.

The only slight downside was that the showers only came on for about 4 minutes, then went off for 5 minutes. OK if you were expecting it, but not if you'd missed the signs and were in the middle of washing.

A great surrounding area with Ingleborough, caves and waterfalls a short drive away. 


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Deejay44 3 reviews from this member

 A great site that could be better if the pitches were not so close to each other. Kids could do with somewhere kick balls about instead of near the vans. Can't fault the toilets very clean and well kept. The grass well kept and short. The river that runs through the site is very picturesque.

There are some good walks nearby. Lovely village but rather odd as most of the shops closed on Saturday afternoon. Nice pub 10 minutes walk from the site.

I doubt we would go back to this site purely on the proximity issue. 


Previous     107 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Riverside Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Riverside Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Riverside Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Lancaster      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lancashire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5606 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement