Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Caerfai Bay Caravan & Tent Park

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Pembrokeshire > St Davids > Caerfai Bay Caravan & Tent Park Reviews

Caerfai Bay Caravan & Tent Park
Caerfai Road
St Davids
Pembrokeshire   (Browse area)
SA62 6QT
Tel: 01437 720274
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 107
Open: March To November

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 112 Reviews
                9/10 from 112 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  112 in total, now showing 91 to 100                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Fernlea 1 review from this member

 Really nice site, safely situated on top of the cliff to the side of Caerfai bay. We had EHU in the 3rd field with fabulous views although sometimes SLIGHTLY obstructed with other tents, although the site certainly wasn't overcrowded. The best views on this site would be near the cliff side or the top of the 3rd field but these pitches don't have EHU,(you can't have everything!).

The Pembrokeshire coastal path is accessed almost immediately at the entrance to the site and the walks are out of this world. Towards St Davids approx. 20-40 mins (depending on how quickly you walk) we walked slowly with a 4 year old with a promise of delicious locally made ice cream in St Davids, you can do this as a circular walk, coming through the centre of St Davids and back downhill via a quiet road. St Davids is just lovely, nice little shops and of course the cathedral, not to be missed.

It takes approx. 10 mins to get to caerfai bay through the campsite and easily down via a stepped path with a hand rail. The bay is rocky at high tide but as the tide goes out there is a large expanse of sand and it is absolutely beautiful, with fabulous safe bathing and rock pools to explore.

There is a takeaway on the site, open on certain evenings which is good value and delicious.

The facilities are of a good standard and cleaned regularly.

There is no shop on this site but at the entrance to Caerfai farm (campsite across the road) there is an organic farm shop which sells essentials plus freshly baked croissants in the morning and home-made cakes. There is a small supermarket in St Davids and a fab grocer, also a good deli with unusual pates etc.

We have 3 boys ages 4, 14 and 16. The older two love to surf and we often dropped them at Whitesands and either stayed or walked to St Davids Head, but they were equally happy messing around at Caerfai bay and although there is no play area or games room on the site they made friends and were quite happy. The little one had his bike and we had a kite and swingball with us.

If you are unlucky and don't get good weather there is lots to do, there is a really helpful tourist information centre in St Davids. Pembroke castle is well worth a visit and the boat trips are excellent.

Do you think Pembrokeshire council will pay me for this review?

Seriously, it is a fab place to visit. Oh just one more thing ~ I rang the site this morning to book for this year (August 2009). Owners very friendly and helpful. Really looking forward to it. 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Sarasama 1 review from this member

 I spent a thoroughly enjoyable week here with my 2 young children in a static van and I will definitely go back next year.

The van was immaculate and very comfortable. In fact the whole site was immaculate but the location was even better. Perched right above caerfai bay, the views are amazing, from every pitch I think, and you are right on the coastal path and a couple of minutes from the beach.

There is a little shop just next door and a great supermarket in the town. There is also a nice pub a few minutes walk up the road from where you can also see the sea. It was lovely walking back. At the top of the road there is another lovely pub which does nice food too.

St davids is walkable but was slightly too far for my little ones but car parking was so cheap it didnt matter. For the big sandy beach experience we drove 5 mins to whitesands and 10 mins to newgale and you couldn't be disappointed. Haverfordwest is about half an hour away. And fishguard 15/20 mins so the location was great. There is a good bus service that runs around the area too.

St davids is a lovely little town, sorry, city. The cathedral is breathtaking. There are plenty of nice little shops and although we never dined out, a lot of the restaurants looked nice too.

The sites owners are very friendly and very hospitable. There are plenty of recycling facilities, nice launderette and drying areas handy for our wetsuits! plenty of room to play! 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lindaelaine 1 review from this member

 Probably the best site we have ever visited! The veiws are stunning. Owners are very friendly and helpful and the facilities are spotless.I saw someone cleaing at 6am.

The site was almost full but the atmosphere was very relaxed and peaceful. A short walk up the road is a small shop that baked freash croissants and a pub that served excellent food. Also it was a short walk into St David's.

The Pembrokehire National Park path runs in front of the site and it has possibly the most beautiful scenery in Wales/UK.

We hope to visit again this summer. 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Fedex 4 reviews from this member

 Arrived without booking, the owners were execellent and allowed us to pick our pitch, which had the best views ever. The toilet and shower blocks were clean and well kept, st davids city is a great place with good pubs and food, the local supermarket CK's had a lot of offers on with food and drink, there is also a local coastal bus service which charges 2.00 return. 


Date of Visit: March 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sweetpeaheidi 9 reviews from this member

 Just got back from Easter break at this site.Excellent site,what more can I say?

Showers clean,hot and free.(Large family room with washbasin,toilet and small bath)Toilets clean.Only fault not heated but with Easter being so early and the weather we had this probably isnt normally an issue.Washing up facilities excellent,loads of VERY HOT water at no extra charge.Laundry 2.40 for washing machine,two tumbledriers 20p for approx 7 mins.Plus washing line in sheltered courtyard.Also had drinks machine and microwave although never used them.We only used block by reception but there is another block in middle of site.No playground but pitches were big enough to allow kids to play by caravan,they were also clearly marked and instructions given on how to set up.St Davids less than mile away has supermarket,chipshop,pubs(pub less than five min walk from site)Stunning views out to sea,small beach five min walk away but path is quite steep in places!Rocky onto the beach.(our 3yr old just managed but not exactly pushchair friendly)Good cliff top walks for dogs.If the site was a bit more local for us we would be there everytime! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2007 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Jillyb54 3 reviews from this member

 We stayed here in the beginning of September. The views from this site are beautiful. The facilities were fine, and there was plenty of space in the shower rooms. You can easily walk into St Davids from here, and then follow the coastal path back to enjoy the fantastic scenery. 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Sallymorgan 7 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for a weekend at the end of August. The view was breath taking. The field is sloping, although at reception you are told which pitches are suitable for which unit.

We found the site to be peaceful & glimpsed the owners patrolling at night, although we could hear some Pub noise from St Davids when the wind changed.

The showers are some of the best we've seen, there are several family rooms, one with a bath, perfect for younger children, ample hot water & fan heaters!

The site is a short 10 min walk from St Davids, on the way you pass a organic farm shop & the pub at Glan-Y- Mor campsite.

The site is a stones-throw from the Pembrokshire Coastal path, & a climb down to Caerfi beach which as the tide goes out has caves, rock pools & a lovely beach.

We hope to go back for longer next year. 


Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Fern_finch 9 reviews from this member

 This is a fantastic campsite. It is located just outside St Davids, right on the beach - can can almost claim to have a private beach ! Located about 5 minutes walk from the Caerfai Farm Shop (which sells organic farm products - great for BBQ), 10 minutes from a pub and 15 minutes from St Davids itself.

The site is ideal for walkers as the coastal path runs right past it, and buses stop right at the top of the road.

The tourist information centre is at the top of the road - although it was being rebuilt during 2007.

The site itself is made up of 3 feilds, one for Static caravans, hard standing pitches etc. The next for hook ups, and the last for the hard core campers.

Two big toilet blocks (always spotless) family rooms etc.

Staff are more than happy to help with any problem and are fairly laid back.

Despite it being a very big site, sometimes with youngsters on outward bound trips, it is very quiet at night - no noise at all.

There is a slight hill rolling down towards the sea - not a major one, so you'll not wake up on top of each other. This means that pretty much every pitch has a fantastic view of the sea.

The only thing I must warn is that due to the location (ie the Atlantic Ocean) the site does get her fair share of wind. Those of us in big tents should make sure the guide ropes are all okay - might even be worth investing in one of those storm straps. The wind can really get up really quickly - we were there in a force 8 gale: fortunatley we had a substitute tent, so no drama.

This is our second visit, and I think that actions speak louder then words. It is well worth a visit. 


Date of Visit: March 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tycroes_Two 16 reviews from this member

 We stayed here as part of a two-centre West Wales holiday (Caerfai Bay followed by Cei Bach, near Newquay) Two superb sites in prime locations.

Caerfai Bay is perched on top of cliffs just on the edge of St Davids, with breathtaking views across the bay. The coastal path runs alongside the site, so there are excellent walks on your doorstep, plus a small beach and bay. St Davids is a brief walk away.
When we visited the site was lightly booked and some new facilities were being prepared for the coming season. All of the existing amenities are of an excellent standard, complete with baths and baby changing facilities. The showers were superb :o)
This seems a very friendly site and the staff went out of their way to make us feel welcome. We will be back :o) 


Date of Visit: October 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Fishpicker 2 reviews from this member

 My partner and I stayed with our dog in the third field so had a lot of piece and quiet. We had a very pleasant stay and the lady who took our booking was friendly and helpful.

There was a group pf D of E coming to stay by we were advised of this and they were kept out of the way. We didn't even notice them.

The showers were included in the price and there was lots of piping hot water in the showers and the washing up area.

So all in all a great little site right on the coast path and only 10 mins stroll from St Davids.

Would visit again. 


Previous     112 Reviews in total, now showing 91 to 100      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Caerfai Bay Caravan & Tent Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Caerfai Bay Caravan & Tent Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Caerfai Bay Caravan & Tent Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near St Davids      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Pembrokeshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 09/10 to 11/10
A three day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties set in Looe in Cornwall. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1738 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement