Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Caerfai Bay Caravan & Tent Park

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Pembrokeshire > St Davids > Caerfai Bay Caravan & Tent Park Reviews

Caerfai Bay Caravan & Tent Park
Caerfai Road
St Davids
Pembrokeshire   (Browse area)
SA62 6QT
Tel: 01437 720274
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 107
Open: March To November

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 112 Reviews
                9/10 from 112 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  112 in total, now showing 61 to 70                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jellyjam 4 reviews from this member

 We have spent many years camping at this fantastic site. We love St David's, so it's really a no brainer!

The facilities are exceptionally clean and there are plenty of sinks for washing up too. The main block, near reception, is brilliant and very well thought out, lockers for charging phones/tablets etc. , books for children and adults alike, washing up areas and washer driers, with a drying area out back. Cooking facilities and a secure indoor play area for little ones safety. Leaflets of every attraction imaginable and there own comprised folder of local takeaways.

There is a small shop just outside the site entrance, serving everything form local meats and cheeses to ice lollies and St David's itself is a very short walk from the site. As is the Pembrokeshire coastal path and Caerfai's beautiful little secluded beach.

Simply perfect! :) 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jane H 3 reviews from this member

 This is a well-maintained site in a beautiful location. The shower/toilet blocks were kept very clean and I never had to queue for more than a couple of minutes for washing up or shower. The wetsuit room is a nice feature, as was the family/laundry room (although a few more washing machines might be nice).

We loved the area too - the beaches are fabulous, there's great coastal walking, St Davids is lovely, and there's some good castles and other attractions within reach.

All that said, we did have a problem with the pitch. We were given one of the most exposed pitches and as we have a large family tent it got absolutely hammered when the wind blew strongly. As it is a good quality heavyweight tent and we repegged regularly, it stood up OK. But it was a constant worry, and the fact that the pitch sloped significantly did not help.

Overall, I would return to this campsite, but I would request a flatter pitch in a more sheltered part of the site. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Zagbeav 3 reviews from this member

 A lovely clean, tidy and picturesque site. The views are stunning across the bay. We chose the site because of the family washrooms which were excellent for our 14 month old and were clean, tidy and well equipped. (He has never been so clean on a camping trip)!

The nearby beach cove was beautiful with plentiful sand at low tide and ideal for a paddle. St Davidís is short walk from the site and has nice tea rooms and local shops.

The site is exposed and therefore the wind is slightly more prevalent than other places within the UK, however this is no different to anywhere else along the welsh coast line and you just have to be suitably prepared for it.

We would recommend the Thousand Islandís Jet Boat trip which was an amazing experience of getting up close to the birds wildlife and dolphins.

This is a lovely family site which we hope to return to as soon as possible. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Olly70 3 reviews from this member

 Having taken holidays in Pembrokeshire for many years now we are so pleased to have finally found our perfect campsite.

Caerfai has it all. Location is perfect with stunning views across the bay. Yes it's exposed to the wind, but it's worth it for the view. With proper pitching and Delta's you will be fine. We have a Kampa Filey tent and it was happy enough in 30mph winds during the stay, although I did annoy the wife with my constant checking of the guys.

St David's is only a 15 minute walk up the lane (quicker if you don't have kids in tow). There's a decent supermarket in the city and a big Tesco's and Morrison's in Haverfordwest which is 14 miles away. The Grove pub is the first place you get to as you walk into the centre. A decent meal with drinks for a family of 4 was under £45.

Then of course there's the beach down the slope from the site - very picturesque, but not quite as clean as some of the more popular beaches in the area such as Whitesands. The coast path goes right past the entrance and there are fabulous walks in either direction.

The facilities on the site are great. The main block in the touring fields was always clean although I would recommend choosing an 'odd' time for taking showers as the water was only tepid at peak times.

I always held a theory that sites with great locations didn't bother investing in their facilities, because they knew they would still get the punters in. Caerfai blows my theory out of the water as it has the perfect location AND excellent facilities.

If you are visiting north Pembrokeshire this site is highly recommended. 10/10 all round 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Lillie73 19 reviews from this member

 We camped at this site in our campervan, the site was full but never seemed crowded. To wake up to the view every morning was wonderful but it could get quite windy, so we were unable to put the awning up the first night.

There were so many facilities available microwave, phone charging, irons just to name a few and it was kept very clean. The walk into town did take us about 15 mins and it was quite a hill going up.

There was a range of places to eat in the town with varying prices

The organic shop just outside the site was very handy and had quite a good stock of items. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Janetstockdale 4 reviews from this member

 Fantastic site, good clean showers, well stocked shop with very tasty fresh baked croissants. We would definitely return.

We had excellent weather so we were never short of walks to do along the coast from the site.

The Celtic Coaster is a local bus, ideal if you want to do a walk from St Davids to Whitesands (8. 5 miles) and bus back, the bus does a loop so pick up a timetable.

St Davids is lovely, the Cathedral is worth a visit. There is a large well stocked Nisa store (great for BBQ food and freshly baked bread).

If you go to Solva have fish & chips in The Harbour Inn they are so nice!

The area and campsite is well worth a visit.

We highly recommend both 


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Rogvette 3 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from this site having stayed a week and found it very good. Its situated a 5 minute walk down to a very nice sandy beach and water we could safely swim in, and a pleasant 15 minute walk into the middle of St Davids. So the location is perfect, and the views lovely.

The facilities are first class with a very clean modern shower and toilet block. Everything in terms of chemical disposal and water points are straightforward and easy to find. Its quite a large site which we are not usually keen on, but being cleverly divided up into three fields you get the feeling and quiet atmosphere of it being much smaller.

I did notice a rather negative review left from someone who stayed a couple of months back, I am sure mixed in amongst the numerous good reviews here that people can draw their own conclusions. In fact I see the owner felt the need to respond and frankly having now stayed there I don't blame them for sticking up for one of the best sites we have ever been on.

I will only comment further on the negative reviewer about they found they cathedral rather dreary. I believe it has been on its present site for about a thousand years, although most of the existing structure only for a few short centuries. It is free entrance but as they receive no state aid a voluntary contribution is mentioned. We actually found the cathedral beautiful and fascinating. Perhaps those that find centuries old structures dreary could address their comments to the ancestors of the original architects or St David ? If still dissatisfied, then refer to the cathedrals most senior management. Ie. God. 


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Krogb70 2 reviews from this member

 Campsite offers superb scenery, clean, pretty, sandy beach and bay which is very sheltered, within a 15 min walk. The price you pay for the fantastic views is that you are camped on a very exposed clifftop so if its windy you're the 1st to know. Wear an extra layer!

Toilets & showers were all working and very clean. The family rooms that attracted us to this site were available, clean and made life much easier for bathing a 2 & 3 year old.

No issues with cold water etc. As mentioned on previous reviews & no issues with inclement weather or weaver fish which I believe are out of the campsites control. They're just an unwelcome addition to any british coastal holiday.

Kids had a great time playing around the tent, rolling balls around the sloping bits of the field and chasing after them, counting ships and boats and singing to the cows in the adjoining field.

Wonderful view of the stars at night - a little light pollution but not too bad - satellites easily visible mainly travelling south to north and several shooting stars to the east.

Site was clean, well maintained, well run and open to feedback. Everyone we spoke to was happy to help with everything from chatting about boat trips to getting an up to date weather forecast.

St Davids is pretty, cathederal is intersting, ice cream shop is fabulous, lots of eateries and locally caught crab was very tasty.

The boat trip we took around Ramsay Island was interesting, well run with good commentary and the seals were very friendly and came right up to the boat. It was a bonus to be able to see seal pups on the beaches around the island.

We had a fabulous time and will be returning. 


Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Morwyn 5 reviews from this member

 We first went to stay at Caerfai about 3 years ago. I had never camped before, and it was fantastic. Facilities were good, and the site was well run, the staff happy and courteous. We are now considering a weekend 'for old times sake' and I most certainly want to stay at Caerfai. St Davids is wonderful, quiet and quaint. The only possible problem is the weather! 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Smiffinch 24 reviews from this member

 The views are stunning from this site. We pitched in the tent only (no electric) field so we had plenty of room. The walk was longer to the toilet block but it was worth it to be away from the caravaners (sorry!)

From the site you can walk down to Caerfai beach which is lovely (not large but can swim there) and also along the Coastal Path to St Non's Chapel etc. The site is in fact located right on the coastal path, so there were several walkers there.

The facilities are very good, nothing to complain about. There are a lot of notices though telling you what and what not to do, takes some reading!

No shop on the site which is a shame, you can go up to the organic shop at the site up the road, but it's very expensive. St Davids has enough shops and a supermarket though.

The best beach nearby is Whitesands Bay - beautiful sands, surfing, body boarding, and a nice little cafe/shop. We ended up going there several nights to eat as the pubs and restaurants in St Davids were so busy.

The boat trips are definitely worth it, but if it's raining they still go out so don't forget your wet weather gear. 


Previous     112 Reviews in total, now showing 61 to 70      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Caerfai Bay Caravan & Tent Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Caerfai Bay Caravan & Tent Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Caerfai Bay Caravan & Tent Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near St Davids      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Pembrokeshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 09/10 to 11/10
A three day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties set in Looe in Cornwall. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1909 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement